DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the loops and the straps inserted into the loops as recited in claim 1 and the pentagonal shaped tarp as recited in claims 4, 8, 13 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (2,493,749) hereinafter Brown.
Brown discloses:
Claim 1: A weather protection system comprising:
one or more long side wall tarps (Fig. 12; 37), wherein the one or more long side wall tarps are configured to cover a long side wall of a building (Fig. 1), and wherein the one or more long side wall tarps are rectangular shaped tarps (Fig. 1; the side wall tarps are depicted as rectangular);
one or more roof tarps (Fig. 1; 10), wherein one or more roof tarps are configured to cover a top of a building (Fig. 1), and wherein the one or more roof tarps are rectangular shaped tarps (Fig. 1; 10 are depicted as rectangular);
one or more short side wall tarps (Fig. 3; 95), wherein the one or more short side wall tarps are configured to cover a short side wall of a building (Fig. 1);
one or more extension tarps (Fig. 26; 100), wherein the one or more extension tarps are attached to at least one of the one or more short side wall tarps along a length of the short side wall tarps (Fig. 26; 100, Col. 6, Lines 13-18);
one or more straps (Fig. 2; 134/135);
one or more strap attachment members (Fig. 9; 133), wherein the one or more strap attachment members comprise one or more loops, and wherein the one or more loops are disposed upon the long side wall tarps, roof tarps, short side wall tarps, and extension tarps (Fig. 9; 133, Col. 7, Lines 17-24); and
one or more straps, wherein the at least one strap is inserted into at least one loop (Fig. 9; 134/135 are inserted into 133).
Claim 2: The weather protection system of claim 1, wherein the weather protection system comprises four long side wall tarps (Fig. 12; 37, Col. 3, Lines 1-5 describe 2 side walls on each side).
Claim 3: The weather protection system of claim 1, wherein the weather protection system comprises four roof tarps (Fig. 1; 10, Col. 3, Lines 1-5 describes any desired number of roof tarps).
Claim 5: The weather protection system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more short side wall tarps comprises a triangular shaped tarp (Fig. 26; the top segment of 95 has a triangular shape).
Claim 6: The weather protection system of claim 1, wherein the tarps comprise at least two layers of material (Fig. 12; 37 and 39).
Claim 9: The weather protection system of claim 5, wherein weather protection system comprises four triangular shaped tarps (Fig. 26; the top segment of 95 has a triangular shape, where there are 2 segments of 95 at each end of the structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (2,493,749) hereinafter Brown.
Claim 4: Brown discloses the weather protection system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more short side wall tarps comprises an irregular shaped tarp (Fig. 26; 95 is depicted as an irregular shape), but fails to disclose a pentagonal shape.
While Brown fails to disclose a pentagonal shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to change the shape of the to use a pentagonal shaped tarp in order to maximize coverage without using excessive material, since it has been held that changes in shape have no patentable significance absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV) (B) – Changes in Shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side wall tarps of Brown to be a pentagonal shape, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would maximize coverage without using excessive material.
Claim 8: Brown discloses the weather protection system of claim 4, wherein weather protection system comprises four irregular pentagonal shaped tarps (Fig. 26; there are 2 segments of 95 at each end of the structure).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (2,493,749) hereinafter Brown, in view of Erbetta et al. (2003/0005953) hereinafter Erbetta.
Claim 7: Brown discloses a weather protection system of claim 1, but fails to disclose one or more bladders, wherein the bladders comprise one or more tubes and one or more cap members, and wherein the bladders are configured to be positioned around the perimeter of the building.
However, Erbetta discloses one or more bladders (Fig. 1; 22), wherein the bladders comprise one or more tubes (Fig. 1; 22) and one or more cap members (Fig. 1; 24), and wherein the bladders are configured to be positioned around the perimeter of the building (Fig. 1; 22 are depicted around the perimeter of the structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Brown to include the bladders, as taught by Erbetta, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the attachment of flooring to the structure.
Claims 10-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (2,493,749) hereinafter Brown, in view of Marsh (2023/0258009).
Claim 10: Brown discloses a method of using a weather protection system comprising:
one or more long side wall tarps (Fig. 12; 37), and wherein the one or more long side wall tarps are rectangular shaped tarps (Fig. 1; the side wall tarps are depicted as rectangular);
one or more roof tarps (Fig. 1; 10), wherein the one or more roof tarps are rectangular shaped tarps (Fig. 1; 10 are depicted as rectangular);
one or more short side wall tarps (Fig. 3; 95);
one or more extension tarps (Fig. 26; 100), wherein the one or more extension tarps are attached to at least one of the one or more short side wall tarps along a length of the short side wall tarps (Fig. 26; 100, Col. 6, Lines 13-18);
one or more straps (Fig. 2; 134/135);
one or more strap attachment members (Fig. 9; 133), wherein the one or more strap attachment members comprise one or more loops, and wherein the one or more loops are disposed upon the long side wall tarps, roof tarps, short side wall tarps, and extension tarps (Fig. 9; 133, Col. 7, Lines 17-24); and
one or more straps, wherein the at least one strap is inserted into at least one loop (Fig. 9; 134/135 are inserted into 133).
Brown fails to disclose covering a building with the structure.
However, Marsh discloses covering a building (Fig. 1; 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the structure of Brown to cover a building, as taught by Marsh, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide protection from inclement weather when under construction or renovation (abstract).
Claim 11: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 10, wherein the weather protection system comprises four long side wall tarps (Fig. 12; 37, Col. 3, Lines 1-5 describe 2 side walls on each side).
Claim 12: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 10, wherein the weather protection system comprises four roof tarps (Fig. 1; 10, Col. 3, Lines 1-5 describes any desired number of roof tarps).
Claim 13: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the one or more short side wall tarps comprises an irregular shaped tarp (Fig. 26; 95 is depicted as an irregular shape), but fails to disclose a pentagonal shape.
While Brown fails to disclose a pentagonal shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to change the shape of the to use a pentagonal shaped tarp in order to maximize coverage without using excessive material, since it has been held that changes in shape have no patentable significance absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV) (B) – Changes in Shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side wall tarps of Brown to be a pentagonal shape, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would maximize coverage without using excessive material.
Claim 14: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the one or more short side wall tarps comprises a triangular shaped tarp (Fig. 26; the top segment of 95 has a triangular shape).
Claim 15: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 10, wherein the tarps comprise at least two layers of material (Fig. 12; 37 and 39).
Claim 17: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 13, wherein weather protection system comprises four irregular pentagonal shaped tarps (Fig. 26; there are 2 segments of 95 at each end of the structure).
Claim 18: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 14, wherein weather protection system comprises four triangular shaped tarps (Fig. 26; the top segment of 95 has a triangular shape, where there are 2 segments of 95 at each end of the structure).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (2,493,749) hereinafter Brown, in view of Marsh (2023/0258009), and further in view of Erbetta et al. (2003/0005953) hereinafter Erbetta.
Claim 16: Brown discloses the method of using a weather protection system of claim 10, but fails to disclose one or more bladders, wherein the bladders comprise one or more tubes and one or more cap members, and wherein the bladders are configured to be positioned around the perimeter of the building.
However, Erbetta discloses one or more bladders (Fig. 1; 22), wherein the bladders comprise one or more tubes (Fig. 1; 22) and one or more cap members (Fig. 1; 24), and wherein the bladders are configured to be positioned around the perimeter of the building (Fig. 1; 22 are depicted around the perimeter of the structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Brown to include the bladders, as taught by Erbetta, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow the attachment of flooring to the structure.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635