DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1, 10 and 19 being independent.
Notice of AIA Status
Obligation Under 37 CFR 1.56 – Joint Inventors
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 11, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,141,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of instant application are anticipated by and/or are obvious variants of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,141,906 – as shown in the following claim mapping table.
Claims of the Instant Application
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,141,906
1. A system comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices storing computing instructions configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
determining, based on telematics data of a vehicle, one or more GUI position values and one or more corresponding GUI time values for the vehicle;
facilitating a rendering, on a GUI of a mobile device, an interactive animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle on an electronic map of a geographic area by rendering one or more geospatial graphics at the one or more of GUI position values and the one or more of corresponding GUI time values,
wherein the interactive animated graphical representation of the trip is delineated by a geographic stop destination;
displaying one or more photographs associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area;
and facilitating a rendering, on the GUI of the mobile device, a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values, wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay, images of at least one of the one or more geospatial graphics on the electronic map over a time period.
10. A telematics system for generating guided user interfaces (GUIs), the telematics system comprising:
one or more processors configured to:
receive telematics data from a vehicle including a geographic position of the vehicle and a time value of the geographic position; determine, based on compressing the telematics data, a plurality of GUI position values and a plurality of corresponding GUI time values including a first GUI position value, a first GUI time value corresponding to the first GUI position value, a second GUI position value, and a second GUI time value corresponding to the second GUI position value;
render a plurality of geospatial graphics in a chronologic order on an electronic map of a geographic area to form an animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle, the plurality of geospatial graphics including a first geospatial graphic at the first GUI position value and at the first GUI time value and a second geospatial graphic at the second GUI position value and at the second GUI time value,
wherein the animated graphical representation of the trip is delineated by a geographic stop destination,
and wherein the plurality of geospatial graphics are sequentially different based upon corresponding GUI time values;
display one or more photographs associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area, wherein the one or more photographs comprise one or more historical photographs taken by one or more other users while stopped at the geographic stop destination;
and render a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values on a graphical user interface on a mobile device, wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay, images of at least one of the plurality of geospatial graphics on the electronic map over a time period.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more geospatial graphics comprise a first geospatial graphic and a second geospatial graphic, and
wherein the first geospatial graphic is visually different from the second geospatial graphic if a first GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values is different from a second GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values.
11. The telematics system of claim 10,
wherein the first geospatial graphic is visually different from the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI position value is different from the second GUI position value.
3. The system of claim 2,
wherein the first geospatial graphic is rendered to have a first graphical form different from a second graphical form of the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values is different from the second GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values,
the second graphical form being different from the first graphical form in size.
12. The telematics system of claim 10, wherein the first geospatial graphic is rendered to have a first graphical form different from a second graphical form of the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI time value is different from the second GUI time value,
the second graphical form being different from the first graphical form in a size.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
annotating the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen.
13. The telematics system of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
annotate the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen.
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
receiving environment data, the environment data including an environment position and an environment time value of the environment position.
14. The telematics system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive environment data, the environment data including an environment position and an environment time value of the environment position.
6. The system of claim 5, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
correlating the environment data with a particular geospatial graphic of the one or more geospatial graphics, the environment position and the environment time value of the environment position of the environment data corresponding to a GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values and a GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values of the particular geospatial graphic.
15. The telematics system of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
correlate the environment data with a particular geospatial graphic of the plurality of geospatial graphics, the environment position and the environment time value of the environment position of the environment data corresponding to a GUI position value and a GUI time value of the particular geospatial graphic.
7. The system of claim 6,
wherein the environment data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
16. The telematics system of claim 15,
wherein the environment data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
8. The system of claim 4, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
determining vehicle status data of the vehicle based on the telematics data, the vehicle status data being associated with a particular GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values; and associating the vehicle status data with a particular geospatial graphic of the one or more geospatial graphics, the particular geospatial graphic corresponding to the particular GUI position value.
17. The telematics system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
determine vehicle status data based on the telematics data, the vehicle status data being associated with a particular GUI position value; and associate the vehicle status data with a particular geospatial graphic, the particular geospatial graphic corresponding to the particular GUI position value.
9. The system of claim 8,
wherein the vehicle status data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
18. The telematics system of claim 17,
wherein the vehicle status data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
10. A method comprising:
determining, based on telematics data of a vehicle, one or more GUI position values and one or more corresponding GUI time values for the vehicle;
facilitating a rendering, on a GUI of a mobile device, an interactive animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle on an electronic map of a geographic area by rendering one or more geospatial graphics at the one or more of GUI position values and the one or more of corresponding GUI time values,
wherein the interactive animated graphical representation of the trip is delineated by a geographic stop destination;
displaying one or more photographs associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area, wherein the one or more photographs comprise one or more historical photographs taken by one or more other users while stopped at the geographic stop destination;
and facilitating a rendering, on the GUI of the mobile device, a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values, wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay, images of at least one of the one or more geospatial graphics on the electronic map over a time period.
1. A method of generating guided user interfaces (GUIs), the method comprising:
receiving telematics data from a vehicle including a geographic position of the vehicle and a time value of the geographic position; determining, based on compressing the telematics data, a plurality of GUI position values and a plurality of corresponding GUI time values including a first GUI position value, a first GUI time value corresponding to the first GUI position value, a second GUI position value, and a second GUI time value corresponding to the second GUI position value;
rendering a plurality of geospatial graphics in a chronologic order on an electronic map of a geographic area to form an animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle, the plurality of geospatial graphics including a first geospatial graphic at the first GUI position value and at the first GUI time value and a second geospatial graphic at the second GUI position value and at the second GUI time value,
wherein the animated graphical representation of the trip is delineated by a geographic stop destination,
and wherein the plurality of geospatial graphics are sequentially different based upon corresponding GUI time values;
displaying one or more photographs associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area, wherein the one or more photographs comprise one or more historical photographs taken by one or more other users while stopped at the geographic stop destination;
and rendering a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values on a graphical user interface on a mobile device, wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay, images of at least one of the plurality of geospatial graphics on the electronic map over a time period.
11. The method of claim 10,
wherein the one or more geospatial graphics comprise a first geospatial graphic and a second geospatial graphic, and
wherein the first geospatial graphic is visually different from the second geospatial graphic if a first GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values is different from a second GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values.
2. The method of claim 1,
[recited in claim 1]
wherein the first geospatial graphic is visually different from the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI position value is different from the second GUI position value.
12. The method of claim 11,
wherein the first geospatial graphic is rendered to have a first graphical form different from a second graphical form of the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values is different from the second GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values,
the second graphical form being different from the first graphical form in size.
3. The method of claim 1,
wherein the first geospatial graphic is rendered to have a first graphical form different from a second graphical form of the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI time value is different from the second GUI time value,
the second graphical form being different from the first graphical form in a size aspect.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
annotating the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising
annotating the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
receiving environment data, the environment data including an environment position and an environment time value of the environment position.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising
receiving environment data, the environment data including an environment position and an environment time value of the environment position.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
correlating the environment data with a particular geospatial graphic of the one or more geospatial graphics, the environment position and the environment time value of the environment position of the environment data corresponding to a GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values and a GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values of the particular geospatial graphic.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising
correlating the environment data with a particular geospatial graphic of the plurality of geospatial graphics, the environment position and the environment time value of the environment position of the environment data corresponding to a GUI position value and a GUI time value of the particular geospatial graphic.
16. The method of claim 15,
wherein the environment data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
7. The method of claim 6,
wherein the environment data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
17. The method of claim 13, wherein the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
determining vehicle status data of the vehicle based on the telematics data, the vehicle status data being associated with a particular GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values;
and associating the vehicle status data with a particular geospatial graphic of the one or more geospatial graphics, the particular geospatial graphic corresponding to the particular GUI position value.
8. The method of claim 4, further comprising:
determining vehicle status data based on the telematics data, the vehicle status data being associated with a particular GUI position value;
and associating the vehicle status data with a particular geospatial graphic, the particular geospatial graphic corresponding to the particular GUI position value.
18. The method of claim 17,
wherein the vehicle status data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
9. The method of claim 8,
wherein the vehicle status data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for generating guided user interfaces (GUIs), that when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the computing device to:
determine, based on telematics data of a vehicle, one or more GUI position values and one or more corresponding GUI time values for the vehicle;
facilitate a rendering, on a GUI of a mobile device, an interactive animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle on an electronic map of a geographic area by rendering one or more geospatial graphics at the one or more of GUI position values and the one or more of corresponding GUI time values,
wherein the interactive animated graphical representation of the trip is delineated by a geographic stop destination;
display one or more photographs associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area, wherein the one or more photographs comprise one or more historical photographs taken by one or more other users while stopped at the geographic stop destination;
and facilitate a rendering, on the GUI of the mobile device, a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values, wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay, images of at least one of the one or more geospatial graphics on the electronic map over a time period.
19. A tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for generating guided user interfaces (GUIs), that when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the computing device to:
receive telematics data from a vehicle including a geographic position of the vehicle and a time value of the geographic position; determine, based on compressing the telematics data, a plurality of GUI position values and a plurality of corresponding GUI time values including a first GUI position value, a first GUI time value corresponding to the first GUI position value, a second GUI position value, and a second GUI time value corresponding to the second GUI position value;
render a plurality of geospatial graphics in a chronologic order on an electronic map of a geographic area to form an animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle, the plurality of geospatial graphics including a first geospatial graphic at the first GUI position value and at the first GUI time value and a second geospatial graphic at the second GUI position value and at the second GUI time value,
wherein the animated graphical representation of the trip is delineated by a geographic stop destination,
and wherein the plurality of geospatial graphics are sequentially different based upon corresponding GUI time values;
display one or more photographs associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area, wherein the one or more photographs comprise one or more historical photographs taken by one or more other users while stopped at the geographic stop destination;
and render a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values on a graphical user interface on a mobile device, wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay, images of at least one of the plurality of geospatial graphics on the electronic map over a time period.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the computing device, further cause the computing device to
annotate the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen.
20. The tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
annotate the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by KOCH et al. (US 10488860, hereinafter “KOCH”).
Regarding claim 1, KOCH discloses a system (col. 2, line 61: “a system”) comprising:
one or more processors ; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices storing computing instructions configured to run on the one or more processors (col. 2, lines 61-67: “a system comprising a chronicle server is described. The chronicle server includes a processor that geocodes object data, and a tangible, non-transitory memory that communicates with the processor. The tangible, non-transitory memory has instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations” col. 15, lines 29-32: “a server 1010 which aggregates information from the various GLOB sources and both generates the Chronicle and serves them to the devices used to view the Chronicles.”) and cause the one or more processors to perform:
determining, based on telematics data of a vehicle (col. 2, line 67 - col. 3, line 2: “receiving object data collected by an AV, receiving location data collected by the AV,” col. 2, line 43-44: “an automated vehicle (AV),” col. 25, line 66 – col. 26, line 2: “the location function 2938 can enable a determination of the location of the AV 2709. The location function 2938 can utilize a Global Positioning System (GPS) or other positioning system,” col. 26, lines 62-66: “the telemetry/control wireless communications channel 2950 may be used to communicate AV telemetry and/or control information. The telemetry information includes any AV state information ranging from sensor values to vehicle parameters and state.” col. 29, lines 50-51: “Data streaming may include streaming data such as telemetry and/or images/video to the ground station.” col. 30, lines 16-20: “the data logs database can include telemetry data from the AV 2709 and system operation logs. Additionally, the video logs database may include image and/or video data streamed from the AV 2709 to the ground station 2714.” col. 30, lines 34-36: “The telemetry processing functions may include receiving and processing telemetry data from one or more AVs.”), one or more GUI position values and one or more corresponding GUI time values (e.g., the time sequenced display screen coordinates, corresponding to the time sequenced collection geo-locations, which are required for animating the route on the map displayed on the mobile device GUI; e.g., see col. 13, lines 33-37, Figure 7 and/or Figure 40.) for the vehicle (col. 2, lines 45-51: “a route to be traversed by the AV and the AV may traverse the route and collect object data along the way. Additionally, the AV may collect location data along the route. The chronicle server receives the object data and the location data from the AV and associates the object data and location data to generate a geo-located object (GLOB).” col. 15, lines 11-14: “The vehicle telemetry server 1009 is an example of a server that continuously collects data from a potentially large number of sources (vehicle probes 1007) and stores the information in a database 1008.” col. 21, lines 33-41: “as the AV traverses the route, the AV may collect object data (e.g., object photos, object video, etc.). Additionally, the AV may collect location data in association with the collected object data as the AV traverses the route. Thus, the AV may geocode the collected object data in real-time as the AV traverses the mission path. Furthermore, the AV may upload the collected object and location data to a data processing system, such as a chronicle server,” col. 23, lines 4-5: “Information collected by the AV 2709 includes, but is not limited to, telemetry information,” col. 37, line 66 – col. 38, line 6: “As described above, a chronicle is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location and which may be animated. A chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of a plurality of GLOBs, each GLOB indexed in some way with respect to time and/or location. A chronicle can include a map display where a plurality of time sequenced GLOBs are displayed such that the geographic location of each GLOB is referenced on the map display.” col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” NOTE: Thus, a set of geographic locations and collection times are collected by the vehicle, and that time sequenced collection of geo-locations is animated by converting the time sequenced collection into a corresponding time sequenced collection of graphical user interface (GUI) position values and GUI time values used for animating the route on the displayed map. In other words, in order to animate the route on a map displayed on the display of a user device, the time sequenced collection of geo-locations must, by necessity, be converted into a corresponding sequence of pairs of GUI position values and GUI time values.);
facilitating a rendering ( col. 12, lines 63-65: “Referring to FIG. 7 there is shown an illustrative example of a “Chronicle” or “Narrative” of GLOBs that are displayed to a user.” NOTE: To be displayed, it must first be rendered.), on a GUI of a mobile device (col. 14, lines 54-59: “Chronicles that have been generated can be viewed in a number of different ways including the following: using a computer like PC or possible even a mobile device that runs a special Chronicle viewer application and uses the specification and GLOB information in the Chronicle to generate and display it;” col. 15, lines 20-25: “Chronicles or Narrative may be viewed by a number of different devices 1013, 1014, 1015, 1016. These devices may be normal desktop systems 1014, mobile devices 1615 such as PDA's or wireless devices, special embedded systems such as navigation or vehicle information systems inside vehicles 1013” col. 15, lines 58-60: “user devices 1107 which represent the various platforms that the end user will use to view the generated Chronicles.” col. 38, lines 38-42: “each of the GLOBs comprising a data chronicle can be indexed and accessed by an operator and/or observer from a UI device 2718 and/or 2720 based upon the time and/or location associated with each GLOB.” col. 40, lines 46-47: “The map display 4000 can be displayed by the chronicle server 3008 at a UI device 2718 and/or 2720.” ), an interactive animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle (col. 14, lines 37-40: “Note, the Chronicle or Narrative specifications 909 can specify various types of information such as the following: show traffic and roadside images for a specific route taken at a specific time; show a photographic travel log of a trip;” col. 38, lines 32-35: “An asset chronicle can therefore include a plurality of GLOBs, where each of the GLOBs can include object data and associated time and location data collected by the AV 2709.”) on an electronic map of a geographic area (col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” col. 40, lines 52-57: “As shown, the map display 4000 can illustrate an AV route or “chronicle path” 4002. The chronicle path can, as described above, illustrate the path or route taken by the AV 2709 during a mission. The chronicle path can be drawn or rendered over the high level overview image displayed in the map display 4000.”) by rendering one or more geospatial graphics (e.g., col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” NOTE: As shown in FIG. 7, each pixel representing the AV route, which are drawn (i.e., rendered) on the GUI in order to animate the route on the map, corresponds to a geospatial graphic rendered at a corresponding GUI location and GUI time determined according to the corresponding time sequenced collection of geo-locations collected during the trip made by the vehicle. col. 38, line 62 – col. 39, line 3: “An asset chronicle can be further animated in terms of the route taken by the AV 2709 during data object collection. For example, a route, comprising a time sequenced collection of GLOB locations, can be animated or otherwise shown on the map display by plotting or drawing the route on the map display as the time stamp associated with each GLOB in the asset chronicle advances. The route can thus represent the route taken by the AV 2709 when the object data was collected and/or a future route of the AV 2709.” col. 40, lines 60-61: “as the marker on the map representing the AV location” NOTE: Alternatively, the one or more geospatial graphics can also be “the marker on the map representing the AV location” that is animated to move along the route on the map display as shown in Figure 40, e.g., “4008 – Current Location of the Chronicle View”. In other words, each rendering of the marker 4008 at different GUI locations, as it is animated to move along the “Chronicle Path” 4002 according to the time sequenced collection of geo-locations, is a rendering of a geo-spatial graphic corresponding a recorded location and time.) at the one or more of GUI position values and the one or more of corresponding GUI time values (col. 40, lines 58-64: “A GLOB or imagery view 4004 can be displayed (e.g., as a picture-in-picture feature) in the map display 4000. The imagery view 4004 may comprise a video that plays as the marker on the map representing the AV location moves along the route. The imagery view 4004 can display a particular data object (e.g., an image or photograph) taken in association with a particular location along the AV route.” See Figure 40. NOTE: In other words, in the map display of Figure 40, a marker 4008 (i.e., a geo-spatial graphic) is animated by rendering it sequentially at different screen locations and times corresponding to the time sequenced collection of geo-locations collected during an AV trip. col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” See Figure 7. NOTE: As already noted above, in FIG. 7, each pixel drawn to animate the route on the map corresponds to a geospatial graphic rendered at a corresponding GUI location and GUI time determined according to the corresponding time sequenced collection of geo-locations collected during the trip made by the vehicle.) (col. 13, lines 33-43: “In addition to the picture GLOB animation there is a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses. Note, the route could represent a route that was taken when the pictures were generated or could represent a route that is to be followed in the future and the pictures represent what is expected to be seen along the way. Therefore, a Chronicle can either represent something that is either currently happening, has happened in the past, or is expected to happen.” col. 37, line 66 – col. 38, line 6: “As described above, a chronicle is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location and which may be animated. A chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of a plurality of GLOBs, each GLOB indexed in some way with respect to time and/or location. A chronicle can include a map display where a plurality of time sequenced GLOBs are displayed such that the geographic location of each GLOB is referenced on the map display.” col. 38, lines 53-55: “the map display associated with the asset chronicle can show a time and/or location associated with a particular GLOB in the asset chronicle.” col. 38, lines 58-61: “each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB.”),
wherein the interactive animated graphical representation of the trip (See Figure 7 and/or Figure 40. col. 38, line 62 – col. 39, line 1: “the route taken by the AV 2709 during data object collection. For example, a route, comprising a time sequenced collection of GLOB locations, can be animated or otherwise shown on the map display by plotting or drawing the route on the map display as the time stamp associated with each GLOB in the asset chronicle advances.”) is delineated by a geographic stop destination (col. 13, line 29: “markers on the map 703”) (col. 13, lines 26-32: “The illustrative maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 701. In the case of the highest resolution map 710, the location of the GLOB pictures are shown by both markers on the map 703 and pointers 702 which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the GLOBs are geographically located.” col. 38, lines 58-61: “each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB.”);
displaying one or more photographs (col. 13, lines 10-11: “the GLOB content that is being animated, i.e. the pictures 701.” col. 13, lines 13-15: “The illustrative images or pictures are animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced.” ) associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area (col. 13, line 29: “markers on the map 703”) (col. 4, lines 54-66: “an “object” may comprise content that may be geocoded or associated with a location, such as a human being, any manmade object (e.g., a structure, a building, a bridge, equipment, and the like), any natural object (e.g., a landscape feature, such as a river, a geologic formation, a forest or a tree, and the like), and the like. An object may be associated with object data or information, such as a photograph of the object, a picture of the object, audio data associated with the object, a map associated with the object, a text or document associated with the document, a GPS log associated with the object, mobile telemetry associated with the object, a location of the object, and the like.” col. 5, lines 4-7: “object data may be geocoded (i.e., associated with a geographic location). Geocoded object data is referred to herein as a geocoded or geo-located object (or a GLOB).” col. 5, lines 15-17: “the attributes associated with each GLOB are shown: location (where); time (when); content description (what); and source of data (who).” col. 5, lines 35-38: “a GLOB could be a digital photograph that is tagged with the time and location at which the photograph was taken. The content of the photograph is the photographic image itself.” col. 12, line 65 – col. 13, line 6: “A Chronicle or Narrative is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location, and may then be animated. The Chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of the GLOB data with respect to time and location. The illustrative Chronicle includes a map display where the time sequenced GLOB content is displayed in order to show the geographic location that the content refers to.” col. 13, lines 4-6: “a map display where the time sequenced GLOB content is displayed in order to show the geographic location that the content refers to.” col. 13, lines 9-17: “The Chronicle has a notion of time that is displayed to the user 709. This notion of time is in relation to the GLOB content that is being animated, i.e. the pictures 701. In the illustrative example, the time being displayed corresponds to the time at which the pictures were taken. The illustrative images or pictures are animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced. By way of example, the pictures are being animated by thumbnails that are scrolling smoothly across the screen.” col. 13, lines 26-32: “The illustrative maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 701. In the case of the highest resolution map 710, the location of the GLOB pictures are shown by both markers on the map 703 and pointers 702 which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the GLOBs are geographically located.” col. 38, lines 58-61: “each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB.” col. 40, lines 58-64: “A GLOB or imagery view 4004 can be displayed (e.g., as a picture-in-picture feature) in the map display 4000. The imagery view 4004 may comprise a video that plays as the marker on the map representing the AV location moves along the route. The imagery view 4004 can display a particular data object (e.g., an image or photograph) taken in association with a particular location along the AV route.” col. 41, lines 12-31: “In operation, the map display 4000 can playback an object or asset chronicle. The asset chronicle can be played back at an operator and/or observer UI 2718 and/or 2720. As shown, the map display 4000 can display the chronicle path 4002 superimposed over the high level route view. As the asset chronicle is played back, a marker 4008 can be shown over the chronicle path 4002 to indicate the location of the data object or image displayed in the imagery view 4004. The timeline 4006 can also advance as the marker 4008 advances along the chronicle path 4002. Thus, an operator or observer can review a high level map of the area over which the AV 2709 traveled as well as a chronicle path superimposed over the high level map indicating the AV route. The operator and/or observer can further view the marker 4008, which indicates a location of the AV 2709 along the route at a particular time, as indicated in the timeline 4006. The imagery viewer 4004 can be displayed as well, so that the operator and/or observer can view the data object or asset image associated with a particular location (as designated by the marker 4008 and timeline 4006).”); and
facilitating a rendering (col. 40, line 59: “the map display 4000.” Figure 40: “Map View”), on the GUI of the mobile device (col. 40, lines 46-47: “The map display 4000 can be displayed by the chronicle server 3008 at a UI device 2718 and/or 2720.” ), a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values (col. 41, lines 1-6: “The timeline 4006 can begin with a mission start date and start time and end with a mission end date and end time. The timeline 4006 can be partitioned or segmented between the start date/time and the end date/time to show consecutive time blocks or time periods.”), wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay (Figure 40: “4006 – Timeline Scrubber”), images of at least one of the one or more geospatial graphics (Figure 40: “4008 – Current Location of the Chronicle View” ) on the electronic map over a time period (col. 41, lines 1-3: “The timeline 4006 can begin with a mission start date and start time and end with a mission end date and end time.” See Figure 40. Also, as shown in Figure 7, the length of the time bar in player controls 708 corresponds to “a time period”.) (col. 13, lines 44-48: “The Chronicle may include a set of player controls 708 that allow the user to control various aspects of the Chronicle such as playing/pausing, forward/reverse and a method to quickly move to certain time indices of the Chronicle that is similar to a videotape player.” NOTE: As can be clearly seen in FIG. 7, the set of player controls 708 includes a time bar with a slider button moveable along the length of the time bar to control playback of the animation of the map. col. 39, lines 4-9: “A map display can include a set of control functions, each of which can permit an operator and/or observer to adjust or control an aspect of the chronicle playback. For example, the map display can include fast forward and rewind functions, a pause function, a stop function, a play function, and the like.” col. 40, line 65 – col. 41, line 11: “The map display 4000 can further include a timeline 4006. The timeline 4006 can extend along a portion of the map display 4000, such as, in various embodiments, horizontally along a bottom portion of the map display 4000. The timeline 4006 can begin with a mission start date and start time and end with a mission end date and end time. The timeline 4006 can be partitioned or segmented between the start date/time and the end date/time to show consecutive time blocks or time periods. The timeline 4006 can be partitioned at any desired granularity. The map display 4000 can further include a control function 4008. The control function 4008 can include various control options, such as options for fast forward, rewind, play, pause, stop, and the like.” col. 41, lines 12-31: “In operation, the map display 4000 can playback an object or asset chronicle. The asset chronicle can be played back at an operator and/or observer UI 2718 and/or 2720. As shown, the map display 4000 can display the chronicle path 4002 superimposed over the high level route view. As the asset chronicle is played back, a marker 4008 can be shown over the chronicle path 4002 to indicate the location of the data object or image displayed in the imagery view 4004. The timeline 4006 can also advance as the marker 4008 advances along the chronicle path 4002. Thus, an operator or observer can review a high level map of the area over which the AV 2709 traveled as well as a chronicle path superimposed over the high level map indicating the AV route. The operator and/or observer can further view the marker 4008, which indicates a location of the AV 2709 along the route at a particular time, as indicated in the timeline 4006. The imagery viewer 4004 can be displayed as well, so that the operator and/or observer can view the data object or asset image associated with a particular location (as designated by the marker 4008 and timeline 4006).”).
Regarding claim 4 (depends on claim 1), KOCH discloses that the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
annotating the electronic map of the geographic area with a graphic overlay or a popup screen (col. 41, lines 32-44: “In various embodiments, the map display 4000 can include an option 4010 to designate a point of interest along the chronicle path 4002. A point of interest can be associated with any point along the AV route and can be represented by an icon, such as a star icon. Two example points of interest 4012 and 4014 are shown. Moreover, in various embodiments, the map display 4000 can include an option to create notes or instructions in association with a particular mission, GLOB, chronicle view, and the like. For instance, the map display 4000 can receive and/or store notes or instructions for future inspections or work orders in association with a particular data object, asset, chronicle path 4002, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 5 (depends on claim 4), KOCH discloses that the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
receiving environment data, the environment data including an environment position and an environment time value of the environment position (col. 5, lines 8-17: “Referring to FIG. 1 there are shown illustrative examples of object information or data that may be converted to a GLOB. More particularly, FIG. 1 shows an illustrative example of a plurality of sources of information that may be turned into a GLOB such as video 102, audio 104, sensors/data 106, maps 108, text/document 110, location, e.g. GPS logs 112, mobile telemetry 114, and pictures 116. Additionally, the attributes associated with each GLOB are shown: location (where); time (when); content description (what); and source of data (who).” col. 5, lines 35-40: “By way of example and not of limitation, a GLOB could be a digital photograph that is tagged with the time and location at which the photograph was taken. The content of the photograph is the photographic image itself. There may also be tags which describe who took the photograph and the subject matter of the photograph.” col. 5, lines 41-47: “Other illustrative information that may be converted to a GLOB includes, but is not limited to, maps, videos, recorded location logs (e.g. GPS logs), audio recordings, weather reports, news items, sensor measurements, automotive telemetry such as location, speed, camera images, and any other apparatus, systems and methods for generating content.” col. 14, lines 37-43: “Note, the Chronicle or Narrative specifications 909 can specify various types of information such as the following: show traffic and roadside images for a specific route taken at a specific time; show a photographic travel log of a trip; shows the states of various sensors located in a particular region; show additional third party information such as weather; or any combination thereof.” Col. 26, lines 5-14: “The AV environment sensors suite 2906 gives the AV 2709 the ability to sense and/or analyze the environment and can include traffic sensors 2940, 3D sensors 2942, navigation sensors 2944, surveillance sensors 2946 or target detectors 2948. In various embodiments, the traffic sensors 2940 can be used to sense vehicle traffic in the vicinity of the AV 2709. In some cases, the traffic sensors 2940 can include one or more transponders configured to facilitate the communications with a local traffic system. In various embodiments, the 3D sensors 2942 can be used to sense and create 3D profiles of the objects around the AV 2709. To this end, one or more “point clouds” can be created within the field of view of the 3D sensors 2942. A point cloud is simply a point (or area which may include a plurality of points) in 3D space with respect to the AV 2709 where it is known that some sort of object exists. The 3D sensors 2942 may include LIDAR, sonar, stereo cameras, and the like. The 3D sensors 2942 may be used for a variety of purposes including target detection, obstacle avoidance, navigation, location or mapping.” Col. 28, lines 5-6: “In various embodiments, traffic detection can include detecting other vehicle traffic in the vicinity of the AV 2709.” ).
Regarding claim 6 (depends on claim 5), KOCH discloses that the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
correlating the environment data (col. 13, line 11: “i.e. the pictures 701.”) with a particular geospatial graphic of the one or more geospatial graphics (col. 13, lines 28-30: “the location of the GLOB pictures are shown by both markers on the map 703 and pointers 702 which point to those markers.” ),
the environment position and the environment time value of the environment position of the environment data corresponding to a GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values and a GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values of the particular geospatial graphic ( ) (col. 12, line 63 – col. 13, line 17: “Referring to FIG. 7 there is shown an illustrative example of a “Chronicle” or “Narrative” of GLOBs that are displayed to a user. Note, for purposes of this patent the terms Chronicle and Narrative are used interchangeably. A Chronicle or Narrative is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location, and may then be animated. The Chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of the GLOB data with respect to time and location. The illustrative Chronicle includes a map display where the time sequenced GLOB content is displayed in order to show the geographic location that the content refers to. A synopsis of the GLOB content as it changes over time can also be shown in the illustrative Chronicle. The Chronicle has a notion of time that is displayed to the user 709. This notion of time is in relation to the GLOB content that is being animated, i.e. the pictures 701. In the illustrative example, the time being displayed corresponds to the time at which the pictures were taken. The illustrative images or pictures are animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced. By way of example, the pictures are being animated by thumbnails that are scrolling smoothly across the screen.” Col. 13, lines 26-38: “The illustrative maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 701. In the case of the highest resolution map 710, the location of the GLOB pictures are shown by both markers on the map 703 and pointers 702 which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the GLOBs are geographically located. In addition to the picture GLOB animation there is a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses. Note, the route could represent a route that was taken when the pictures were generated.” NOTE: As shown in Figure 7, the markers 703 are geospatial graphics are each associated with particular locations and times on the animated route being drawn on the map 704. Thus, in the displayed animated map GUI of Figure 7, the position and time of the environment data (e.g., pictures 701 of the environment taken at a particular location and time) are correlated to the corresponding screen position and time along the animated route drawn on the map.).
Regarding claim 7 (depends on claim 6), KOCH discloses:
wherein the environment data is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic (col. 39, lines 4-25: “A map display can include a set of control functions, each of which can permit an operator and/or observer to adjust or control an aspect of the chronicle playback. For example, the map display can include fast forward and rewind functions, a pause function, a stop function, a play function, and the like. An operator and/or observer can further drag a pointer or icon displayed over the map display along a route to select a particular GLOB and/or GLOB location, which may cause the map display to display the GLOB (e.g., the image) associated with the selected route location as part of a GLOB view or imagery view. An operator and/or observer can further “drill down” within a particular GLOB (e.g., zoom in on the data object) to view a more detailed version of the object data (e.g., a zoomed in photograph). In various embodiments and operator and/or observer can drill down by selecting a particular GLOB, which can cause pause the time sequenced GLOB animation and open a more detailed view of the GLOB.”).
Regarding claim 8 (depends on claim 4), KOCH discloses:
the computing instructions are further configured to run on the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform:
determining vehicle status data of the vehicle based on the telematics data (col. 5, lines 41-47: “Other illustrative information that may be converted to a GLOB includes, but is not limited to, maps, videos, recorded location logs (e.g. GPS logs), audio recordings, weather reports, news items, sensor measurements, automotive telemetry such as location, speed, camera images, and any other apparatus, systems and methods for generating content.” col. 23, lines 4-9: “Information collected by the AV 2709 includes, but is not limited to, telemetry information, mission information, control information, application specific information (such as photographs and/or video data collected by the AV 2709) or other such information that may be collected by the AV.” col. 26, lines 62-66: “In various embodiments, the telemetry/control wireless communications channel 2950 may be used to communicate AV telemetry and/or control information. The telemetry information includes any AV state information ranging from sensor values to vehicle parameters and state.”), the vehicle status data being associated with a particular GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values (col. 37, line 66 – col. 38, line 8: “As described above, a chronicle is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location and which may be animated. A chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of a plurality of GLOBs, each GLOB indexed in some way with respect to time and/or location. A chronicle can include a map display where a plurality of time sequenced GLOBs are displayed such that the geographic location of each GLOB is referenced on the map display. A synopsis of the GLOB content as it changes over time can also be shown as part of the chronicle.” col. 38, line 53 – col. 39, line 3: “In addition, the map display associated with the asset chronicle can show a time and/or location associated with a particular GLOB in the asset chronicle. The map display can further include a variety of map resolutions (ranging from a world map to a variety of increasingly more localized or specific maps), and each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB. An asset chronicle can be further animated in terms of the route taken by the AV 2709 during data object collection. For example, a route, comprising a time sequenced collection of GLOB locations, can be animated or otherwise shown on the map display by plotting or drawing the route on the map display as the time stamp associated with each GLOB in the asset chronicle advances. The route can thus represent the route taken by the AV 2709 when the object data was collected and/or a future route of the AV 2709.” NOTE: The location of each marker, e.g., marker 703 in FIG. 7, on the GUI map display is a particular GUI position value corresponding to a geospatial position in the environment represented by the displayed map.); and
associating the vehicle status data col. 5, lines 41-47: “Other illustrative information that may be converted to a GLOB includes, but is not limited to, maps, videos, recorded location logs (e.g. GPS logs), audio recordings, weather reports, news items, sensor measurements, automotive telemetry such as location, speed, camera images, and any other apparatus, systems and methods for generating content.”) with a particular geospatial graphic of the one or more geospatial graphics (e.g., markers 703 in FIG. 7 and/or marker 4008 in FIG. 40 ), the particular geospatial graphic corresponding to the particular GUI position value (col. 41, lines 12-31: “In operation, the map display 4000 can playback an object or asset chronicle. The asset chronicle can be played back at an operator and/or observer UI 2718 and/or 2720. As shown, the map display 4000 can display the chronicle path 4002 superimposed over the high level route view. As the asset chronicle is played back, a marker 4008 can be shown over the chronicle path 4002 to indicate the location of the data object or image displayed in the imagery view 4004. The timeline 4006 can also advance as the marker 4008 advances along the chronicle path 4002. Thus, an operator or observer can review a high level map of the area over which the AV 2709 traveled as well as a chronicle path superimposed over the high level map indicating the AV route. The operator and/or observer can further view the marker 4008, which indicates a location of the AV 2709 along the route at a particular time, as indicated in the timeline 4006. The imagery viewer 4004 can be displayed as well, so that the operator and/or observer can view the data object or asset image associated with a particular location (as designated by the marker 4008 and timeline 4006).” col. 40, lines 58-64: “A GLOB or imagery view 4004 can be displayed (e.g., as a picture-in-picture feature) in the map display 4000. The imagery view 4004 may comprise a video that plays as the marker on the map representing the AV location moves along the route. The imagery view 4004 can display a particular data object (e.g., an image or photograph) taken in association with a particular location along the AV route.” NOTE: Thus, each GLOB can include “a data object” including telemetry data (e.g., “automotive telemetry such as location, speed, camera images” associated with a particular geo-spatial location and time, and each GLOB is associated with a particular marker 703 and/or 4008 in the map display – with the location of each displayed marker corresponding to a particular GUI position value.).
Regarding claim 9 (depends on claim 8), KOCH discloses:
wherein the vehicle status data (col. 5, lines 41-47: “Other illustrative information that may be converted to a GLOB includes, but is not limited to, maps, videos, recorded location logs (e.g. GPS logs), audio recordings, weather reports, news items, sensor measurements, automotive telemetry such as location, speed, camera images, and any other apparatus, systems and methods for generating content.”) is displayed via the graphic overlay when a user taps or hovers over the particular geospatial graphic (col. 39, lines 4-25: “A map display can include a set of control functions, each of which can permit an operator and/or observer to adjust or control an aspect of the chronicle playback. For example, the map display can include fast forward and rewind functions, a pause function, a stop function, a play function, and the like. An operator and/or observer can further drag a pointer or icon displayed over the map display along a route to select a particular GLOB and/or GLOB location, which may cause the map display to display the GLOB (e.g., the image) associated with the selected route location as part of a GLOB view or imagery view. An operator and/or observer can further “drill down” within a particular GLOB (e.g., zoom in on the data object) to view a more detailed version of the object data (e.g., a zoomed in photograph). In various embodiments and operator and/or observer can drill down by selecting a particular GLOB, which can cause pause the time sequenced GLOB animation and open a more detailed view of the GLOB.” col. 40, lines 58-64: “A GLOB or imagery view 4004 can be displayed (e.g., as a picture-in-picture feature) in the map display 4000. The imagery view 4004 may comprise a video that plays as the marker on the map representing the AV location moves along the route. The imagery view 4004 can display a particular data object (e.g., an image or photograph) taken in association with a particular location along the AV route.” NOTE: In other words, when the GLOB comprises a data object including vehicle telemetry data, selecting the GLOB in the map display will cause the telemetry data to be displayed via the overlayed GLOB view 4004. See FIG. 40.).
Regarding claim 10, KOCH discloses a method (col. 1, lines 45-48: “systems and methods for collecting object data with an automated vehicle (AV) as the AV traverses a specified route, geocoding the collected object data, and presenting the geocoded object data on a user device.”) comprising:
determining, based on telematics data of a vehicle (col. 2, line 67 - col. 3, line 2: “receiving object data collected by an AV, receiving location data collected by the AV,” col. 2, line 43-44: “an automated vehicle (AV),” col. 25, line 66 – col. 26, line 2: “the location function 2938 can enable a determination of the location of the AV 2709. The location function 2938 can utilize a Global Positioning System (GPS) or other positioning system,” col. 26, lines 62-66: “the telemetry/control wireless communications channel 2950 may be used to communicate AV telemetry and/or control information. The telemetry information includes any AV state information ranging from sensor values to vehicle parameters and state.” col. 29, lines 50-51: “Data streaming may include streaming data such as telemetry and/or images/video to the ground station.” col. 30, lines 16-20: “the data logs database can include telemetry data from the AV 2709 and system operation logs. Additionally, the video logs database may include image and/or video data streamed from the AV 2709 to the ground station 2714.” col. 30, lines 34-36: “The telemetry processing functions may include receiving and processing telemetry data from one or more AVs.”), one or more GUI position values and one or more corresponding GUI time values (e.g., the time sequenced display screen coordinates, corresponding to the time sequenced collection geo-locations, which are required for animating the route on the map displayed on the mobile device GUI; e.g., see col. 13, lines 33-37, Figure 7 and/or Figure 40.) for the vehicle (col. 2, lines 45-51: “a route to be traversed by the AV and the AV may traverse the route and collect object data along the way. Additionally, the AV may collect location data along the route. The chronicle server receives the object data and the location data from the AV and associates the object data and location data to generate a geo-located object (GLOB).” col. 15, lines 11-14: “The vehicle telemetry server 1009 is an example of a server that continuously collects data from a potentially large number of sources (vehicle probes 1007) and stores the information in a database 1008.” col. 21, lines 33-41: “as the AV traverses the route, the AV may collect object data (e.g., object photos, object video, etc.). Additionally, the AV may collect location data in association with the collected object data as the AV traverses the route. Thus, the AV may geocode the collected object data in real-time as the AV traverses the mission path. Furthermore, the AV may upload the collected object and location data to a data processing system, such as a chronicle server,” col. 23, lines 4-5: “Information collected by the AV 2709 includes, but is not limited to, telemetry information,” col. 37, line 66 – col. 38, line 6: “As described above, a chronicle is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location and which may be animated. A chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of a plurality of GLOBs, each GLOB indexed in some way with respect to time and/or location. A chronicle can include a map display where a plurality of time sequenced GLOBs are displayed such that the geographic location of each GLOB is referenced on the map display.” col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” NOTE: Thus, a set of geographic locations and collection times are collected by the vehicle, and that time sequenced collection of geo-locations is animated by converting the time sequenced collection into a corresponding time sequenced collection of graphical user interface (GUI) position values and GUI time values used for animating the route on the displayed map. In other words, in order to animate the route on a map displayed on the display of a user device, the time sequenced collection of geo-locations must, by necessity, be converted into a corresponding sequence of pairs of GUI position values and GUI time values.);
facilitating a rendering ( col. 12, lines 63-65: “Referring to FIG. 7 there is shown an illustrative example of a “Chronicle” or “Narrative” of GLOBs that are displayed to a user.” NOTE: To be displayed, it must first be rendered.), on a GUI of a mobile device (col. 14, lines 54-59: “Chronicles that have been generated can be viewed in a number of different ways including the following: using a computer like PC or possible even a mobile device that runs a special Chronicle viewer application and uses the specification and GLOB information in the Chronicle to generate and display it;” col. 15, lines 20-25: “Chronicles or Narrative may be viewed by a number of different devices 1013, 1014, 1015, 1016. These devices may be normal desktop systems 1014, mobile devices 1615 such as PDA's or wireless devices, special embedded systems such as navigation or vehicle information systems inside vehicles 1013” col. 15, lines 58-60: “user devices 1107 which represent the various platforms that the end user will use to view the generated Chronicles.” col. 38, lines 38-42: “each of the GLOBs comprising a data chronicle can be indexed and accessed by an operator and/or observer from a UI device 2718 and/or 2720 based upon the time and/or location associated with each GLOB.” col. 40, lines 46-47: “The map display 4000 can be displayed by the chronicle server 3008 at a UI device 2718 and/or 2720.” ), an interactive animated graphical representation of a trip made by the vehicle (col. 14, lines 37-40: “Note, the Chronicle or Narrative specifications 909 can specify various types of information such as the following: show traffic and roadside images for a specific route taken at a specific time; show a photographic travel log of a trip;” col. 38, lines 32-35: “An asset chronicle can therefore include a plurality of GLOBs, where each of the GLOBs can include object data and associated time and location data collected by the AV 2709.”) on an electronic map of a geographic area (col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” col. 40, lines 52-57: “As shown, the map display 4000 can illustrate an AV route or “chronicle path” 4002. The chronicle path can, as described above, illustrate the path or route taken by the AV 2709 during a mission. The chronicle path can be drawn or rendered over the high level overview image displayed in the map display 4000.”) by rendering one or more geospatial graphics (e.g., col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” NOTE: As shown in FIG. 7, each pixel representing the AV route, which are drawn (i.e., rendered) on the GUI in order to animate the route on the map, corresponds to a geospatial graphic rendered at a corresponding GUI location and GUI time determined according to the corresponding time sequenced collection of geo-locations collected during the trip made by the vehicle. col. 38, line 62 – col. 39, line 3: “An asset chronicle can be further animated in terms of the route taken by the AV 2709 during data object collection. For example, a route, comprising a time sequenced collection of GLOB locations, can be animated or otherwise shown on the map display by plotting or drawing the route on the map display as the time stamp associated with each GLOB in the asset chronicle advances. The route can thus represent the route taken by the AV 2709 when the object data was collected and/or a future route of the AV 2709.” col. 40, lines 60-61: “as the marker on the map representing the AV location” NOTE: Alternatively, the one or more geospatial graphics can also be “the marker on the map representing the AV location” that is animated to move along the route on the map display as shown in Figure 40, e.g., “4008 – Current Location of the Chronicle View”. In other words, each rendering of the marker 4008 at different GUI locations, as it is animated to move along the “Chronicle Path” 4002 according to the time sequenced collection of geo-locations, is a rendering of a geo-spatial graphic corresponding a recorded location and time.) at the one or more of GUI position values and the one or more of corresponding GUI time values (col. 40, lines 58-64: “A GLOB or imagery view 4004 can be displayed (e.g., as a picture-in-picture feature) in the map display 4000. The imagery view 4004 may comprise a video that plays as the marker on the map representing the AV location moves along the route. The imagery view 4004 can display a particular data object (e.g., an image or photograph) taken in association with a particular location along the AV route.” See Figure 40. NOTE: In other words, in the map display of Figure 40, a marker 4008 (i.e., a geo-spatial graphic) is animated by rendering it sequentially at different screen locations and times corresponding to the time sequenced collection of geo-locations collected during an AV trip. col. 13, lines 33-37: “a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses.” See Figure 7. NOTE: As already noted above, in FIG. 7, each pixel drawn to animate the route on the map corresponds to a geospatial graphic rendered at a corresponding GUI location and GUI time determined according to the corresponding time sequenced collection of geo-locations collected during the trip made by the vehicle.) (col. 13, lines 33-43: “In addition to the picture GLOB animation there is a route GLOB animation being drawn on the map 704. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the Chronicle's time elapses. Note, the route could represent a route that was taken when the pictures were generated or could represent a route that is to be followed in the future and the pictures represent what is expected to be seen along the way. Therefore, a Chronicle can either represent something that is either currently happening, has happened in the past, or is expected to happen.” col. 37, line 66 – col. 38, line 6: “As described above, a chronicle is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location and which may be animated. A chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of a plurality of GLOBs, each GLOB indexed in some way with respect to time and/or location. A chronicle can include a map display where a plurality of time sequenced GLOBs are displayed such that the geographic location of each GLOB is referenced on the map display.” col. 38, lines 53-55: “the map display associated with the asset chronicle can show a time and/or location associated with a particular GLOB in the asset chronicle.” col. 38, lines 58-61: “each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB.”),
wherein the interactive animated graphical representation of the trip (See FIG. 7, FIG. 22 and/or FIG. 40. col. 38, line 62 – col. 39, line 1: “the route taken by the AV 2709 during data object collection. For example, a route, comprising a time sequenced collection of GLOB locations, can be animated or otherwise shown on the map display by plotting or drawing the route on the map display as the time stamp associated with each GLOB in the asset chronicle advances.”) is delineated by a geographic stop destination (col. 13, line 29: “markers on the map 703”; col. 19, line 55: “markers on the map 3103”) (col. 13, lines 26-32: “The illustrative maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 701. In the case of the highest resolution map 710, the location of the GLOB pictures are shown by both markers on the map 703 and pointers 702 which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the GLOBs are geographically located.” col. 38, lines 58-61: “each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB.” col. 19, line 45-65: “The Virtual Tour contains images in the form of pictures and/or videos that show what the user might see and/or hear if they were to actually go to the locations indicated in the map. The images are being animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced. The pictures are being animated by thumbnails that are scrolling smoothly across the screen. The maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 3101. In the case of the highest resolution map 3110 the location of the images are shown by both markers on the map 3103 and pointers 3102, which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the images are geographically located and what they might expect to see if they were at those locations. In addition to the image animations there may be a route being drawn on the map 3104. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the images scroll by (i.e. time elapses). It is important to note that the route could represent a specific tour and correspond to the sequence of images being shown.”);
displaying one or more photographs (col. 13, lines 10-11: “the GLOB content that is being animated, i.e. the pictures 701.” col. 13, lines 13-15: “The illustrative images or pictures are animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced.”) associated with the geographic stop destination corresponding to the electronic map of the geographic area (col. 13, line 29: “markers on the map 703”) (col. 4, lines 54-66: “an “object” may comprise content that may be geocoded or associated with a location, such as a human being, any manmade object (e.g., a structure, a building, a bridge, equipment, and the like), any natural object (e.g., a landscape feature, such as a river, a geologic formation, a forest or a tree, and the like), and the like. An object may be associated with object data or information, such as a photograph of the object, a picture of the object, audio data associated with the object, a map associated with the object, a text or document associated with the document, a GPS log associated with the object, mobile telemetry associated with the object, a location of the object, and the like.” col. 5, lines 4-7: “object data may be geocoded (i.e., associated with a geographic location). Geocoded object data is referred to herein as a geocoded or geo-located object (or a GLOB).” col. 5, lines 15-17: “the attributes associated with each GLOB are shown: location (where); time (when); content description (what); and source of data (who).” col. 5, lines 35-38: “a GLOB could be a digital photograph that is tagged with the time and location at which the photograph was taken. The content of the photograph is the photographic image itself.” col. 12, line 65 – col. 13, line 6: “A Chronicle or Narrative is a collection of GLOBs that are organized according to time and location, and may then be animated. The Chronicle is a multi-resolutional depiction of the GLOB data with respect to time and location. The illustrative Chronicle includes a map display where the time sequenced GLOB content is displayed in order to show the geographic location that the content refers to.” col. 13, lines 4-6: “a map display where the time sequenced GLOB content is displayed in order to show the geographic location that the content refers to.” col. 13, lines 9-17: “The Chronicle has a notion of time that is displayed to the user 709. This notion of time is in relation to the GLOB content that is being animated, i.e. the pictures 701. In the illustrative example, the time being displayed corresponds to the time at which the pictures were taken. The illustrative images or pictures are animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced. By way of example, the pictures are being animated by thumbnails that are scrolling smoothly across the screen.” col. 13, lines 26-32: “The illustrative maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 701. In the case of the highest resolution map 710, the location of the GLOB pictures are shown by both markers on the map 703 and pointers 702 which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the GLOBs are geographically located.” col. 38, lines 58-61: “each GLOB can be represented in a map display by a marker and/or pointer, such that an operator or observer can easily perceive a geographic location associated with a particular GLOB.” col. 40, lines 58-64: “A GLOB or imagery view 4004 can be displayed (e.g., as a picture-in-picture feature) in the map display 4000. The imagery view 4004 may comprise a video that plays as the marker on the map representing the AV location moves along the route. The imagery view 4004 can display a particular data object (e.g., an image or photograph) taken in association with a particular location along the AV route.” col. 41, lines 12-31: “In operation, the map display 4000 can playback an object or asset chronicle. The asset chronicle can be played back at an operator and/or observer UI 2718 and/or 2720. As shown, the map display 4000 can display the chronicle path 4002 superimposed over the high level route view. As the asset chronicle is played back, a marker 4008 can be shown over the chronicle path 4002 to indicate the location of the data object or image displayed in the imagery view 4004. The timeline 4006 can also advance as the marker 4008 advances along the chronicle path 4002. Thus, an operator or observer can review a high level map of the area over which the AV 2709 traveled as well as a chronicle path superimposed over the high level map indicating the AV route. The operator and/or observer can further view the marker 4008, which indicates a location of the AV 2709 along the route at a particular time, as indicated in the timeline 4006. The imagery viewer 4004 can be displayed as well, so that the operator and/or observer can view the data object or asset image associated with a particular location (as designated by the marker 4008 and timeline 4006).”); and
wherein the one or more photographs comprise one or more historical photographs taken by one or more other users while stopped at the geographic stop destination (col. 5, lines 24-25: “Further still, a plurality GLOBs may be generated from a plurality of different sources of information.” col. 5, lines 35-40: “a GLOB could be a digital photograph that is tagged with the time and location at which the photograph was taken. The content of the photograph is the photographic image itself. There may also be tags which describe who took the photograph and the subject matter of the photograph.” col. 5, lines 50-53: “For example, in the case of photographs, a user might decide to group together a collection of photographs that were taken around the same time frame as a particular trip or event.” col. 7, lines 3-15: “Referring to FIG. 3 there is shown illustrative attributes of a GDS. The illustrative GDS 302 including a data record that contains the following pieces of information: location, time when the content was generated, owner of content, access specification for content, type of content, description of content, rating of content, and access permissions. By way of example, the location information is provided as longitude and latitude. An illustrative time period associated with the content may also be provided, e.g. time when was a photograph taken. An illustrative data field may also identify who or what is responsible for generating and/or owns the content, e.g. an individual, an organization, or perhaps even a Web site from which the content originates.” col. 7, lines 29-34: “Further still, the GDS may include a rating of the content so that higher rated GLOBs are more likely to be included in Chronicles, Narratives, or Virtual Tours, which are described in further detail below; the rating may be derived from a variety of sources including third parties who have viewed the content” col. 7, lines 35-42: “GDS records are placed into a geo-spatial database and searched according to any of the GDS attributes mentioned above. Thus, it should be possible to create queries such as “give me all the photographs taken by John Smith along a route specified by the coordinates X, Y . . . Z.” Such queries would return all the GDS records that satisfy the parameters and the GDS records could be then be used to access the content.” col. 10, lines 43-47: “Now attention is directed to the software modules that collect geocodes and content from multiple sources, and combines the content and geocodes to produce GLOB data sheets. This process may be described as “multi-stage” geocoding and GDS generation.” col. 10, lines 52-53: “There exist numerous sources of content 508 including digital cameras.” col. 11, lines 10-12: “The geocoding process 504 uses all available sources of location information in order to create a GDS for each entry in the content repository 506.” col. 19, lines 30-37: “An animated system and method for viewing a Chronicle, which is referred to as a “Virtual Tour”, is described below. A “Virtual Tour” is a visual and/or audio presentation of what one might experience if they were to visit some location. This presentation is typically rendered on some sort of electronic display or screen that is connected to a computing device such as a desktop or handheld computer.” col. 19, lines 45-65: “The Virtual Tour contains images in the form of pictures and/or videos that show what the user might see and/or hear if they were to actually go to the locations indicated in the map. The images are being animated in the form of a slide show that is time sequenced. The pictures are being animated by thumbnails that are scrolling smoothly across the screen. The maps show the location of the images that are currently being displayed in the slide show 3101. In the case of the highest resolution map 3110 the location of the images are shown by both markers on the map 3103 and pointers 3102, which point to those markers. This allows the user to easily see where the images are geographically located and what they might expect to see if they were at those locations. In addition to the image animations there may be a route being drawn on the map 3104. A route is simply a time sequenced collection of geo-locations and can be animated by drawing the route on the map as the images scroll by (i.e. time elapses). It is important to note that the route could represent a specific tour and correspond to the sequence of images being shown.” See FIG. 22. col. 20, lines 52-59: “A Virtual Tour is generated by the Virtual Tour Server by bringing together and displaying GLOBs such as images, maps and POI data 3401 from a variety of sources. This GLOB content is accessed via GLOB servers 3402 that are accessible via a wide area network 3403 such as the internet. The Virtual Tour Server combines all the GLOB content together and presents it to the user in a manner as described previously.” NOTE: Clearly, since the user taking the Virtual Tour may not have ever actually traveled the route, the photographs of the locations corresponding to the markers 3103 (i.e., geographic stop destinations) shown along the route 3104 being animated on the map 3110 are “historical photographs taken by one or more other users” at the geographic locations corresponding to the markers 3103 along the route 3104 on the map 3110. Again, see FIG. 22. col. 23, line 64 – col. 24, line 8: “the UI device 2718 may be associated with an operator of the AV 2709, while the other illustrative UI device 2720 may be associated with an observer. The observer may interface with the UI 2720 to receive AV 2709 collected object data such as photographs or video associated with the target 2706. The operator may also interface with the UI 2718 to receive AV 2709 collected object data and to manage the AV 2709, to update or review a mission plan of the AV 2709, to monitor and control the AV 2709 during a mission, to analyze an AV 2709 mission, to analyze AV 2709 collected object data and location data, and to perform other similar operations.” NOTE: In other words, an operator (i.e., another user) may control the AV 2709 to collect photographs at geographic locations along a traveled route to create a Chronicle, and then, at a later time, an observer (i.e., the user) may use the UI 2720 to view an animated Virtual Tour (FIG. 22) of the route 3104 and view photographs 3101 taken at geographic locations (i.e., “geographic stop locations”) indicated by markers 3103 along the animated route 3104 on a displayed electronic map 3110. col. 41, lines 51-60: “two GLOBs having the same location but that have different dates and/or times of recordation. For example, a first GLOB 4102 and a second GLOB 4104 can be associated with the location 4106. However, the first GLOB 4102 can have a first date/time of recordation, and the second GLOB 4104 can have a second date/time of recordation. An operator and/or observer can select the GLOBs 4102 and 4104 and/or GLOB dates/times for comparison, and the map display 4000 can, in response display each GLOB or image within the map display 4000, such as side by side, for comparison.” col. 41, line 62 – col. 42, line 5: “For instance, where an asset includes a levee, it may be desirable to compare a condition of the levee at a first time (e.g., at high tide) to a condition of the levee at a second time (e.g., low tide). Similarly, where an asset includes a bridge, it may be desirable to compare a condition of the bridge at a first time (e.g., when the bridge is newly constructed) to a condition of the bridge at a second, later time (e.g., after a year of use). Thus, the asset chronicles described herein can give an operator and/or observer the option to analyze a particular data object over time.”); and
facilitating a rendering (col. 40, line 59: “the map display 4000.” Figure 40: “Map View”), on the GUI of the mobile device (col. 40, lines 46-47: “The map display 4000 can be displayed by the chronicle server 3008 at a UI device 2718 and/or 2720.” ), a time bar corresponding to the corresponding GUI time values (col. 41, lines 1-6: “The timeline 4006 can begin with a mission start date and start time and end with a mission end date and end time. The timeline 4006 can be partitioned or segmented between the start date/time and the end date/time to show consecutive time blocks or time periods.”), wherein the time bar is operable to play back, through at least one of rewind or replay (Figure 40: “4006 – Timeline Scrubber”), images of at least one of the one or more geospatial graphics (Figure 40: “4008 – Current Location of the Chronicle View” ) on the electronic map over a time period (col. 41, lines 1-3: “The timeline 4006 can begin with a mission start date and start time and end with a mission end date and end time.” See Figure 40. Also, as shown in Figure 7, the length of the time bar in player controls 708 corresponds to “a time period”.) (col. 13, lines 44-48: “The Chronicle may include a set of player controls 708 that allow the user to control various aspects of the Chronicle such as playing/pausing, forward/reverse and a method to quickly move to certain time indices of the Chronicle that is similar to a videotape player.” NOTE: As can be clearly seen in FIG. 7, the set of player controls 708 includes a time bar with a slider button moveable along the length of the time bar to control playback of the animation of the map. col. 39, lines 4-9: “A map display can include a set of control functions, each of which can permit an operator and/or observer to adjust or control an aspect of the chronicle playback. For example, the map display can include fast forward and rewind functions, a pause function, a stop function, a play function, and the like.” col. 40, line 65 – col. 41, line 11: “The map display 4000 can further include a timeline 4006. The timeline 4006 can extend along a portion of the map display 4000, such as, in various embodiments, horizontally along a bottom portion of the map display 4000. The timeline 4006 can begin with a mission start date and start time and end with a mission end date and end time. The timeline 4006 can be partitioned or segmented between the start date/time and the end date/time to show consecutive time blocks or time periods. The timeline 4006 can be partitioned at any desired granularity. The map display 4000 can further include a control function 4008. The control function 4008 can include various control options, such as options for fast forward, rewind, play, pause, stop, and the like.” col. 41, lines 12-31: “In operation, the map display 4000 can playback an object or asset chronicle. The asset chronicle can be played back at an operator and/or observer UI 2718 and/or 2720. As shown, the map display 4000 can display the chronicle path 4002 superimposed over the high level route view. As the asset chronicle is played back, a marker 4008 can be shown over the chronicle path 4002 to indicate the location of the data object or image displayed in the imagery view 4004. The timeline 4006 can also advance as the marker 4008 advances along the chronicle path 4002. Thus, an operator or observer can review a high level map of the area over which the AV 2709 traveled as well as a chronicle path superimposed over the high level map indicating the AV route. The operator and/or observer can further view the marker 4008, which indicates a location of the AV 2709 along the route at a particular time, as indicated in the timeline 4006. The imagery viewer 4004 can be displayed as well, so that the operator and/or observer can view the data object or asset image associated with a particular location (as designated by the marker 4008 and timeline 4006).”).
Regarding claims 13-18, claims 13-18 are directed, respectively, to the method(s) implemented by the system(s) of claims 4-9, and, as such, claims 13-18 are rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claims 4-9, respectively.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for causing a processor of a computing device to implement the method of claim 10 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for causing a processor of a computing device to implement the method of claim 13 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 13.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art;
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOCH et al. (US 10488860) in view of GOOSEN et al. (US 20080300745, hereinafter “GOOSEN”).
Regarding claim 2 (depends on claim 1), whereas KOCH may not be entirely explicit as to, GOOSEN clearly teaches:
wherein the one or more geospatial graphics comprise a first geospatial graphic (e.g., in FIG. 3B, the nearest breadcrumb 110 at a first position and time) and a second geospatial graphic (e.g., in FIG. 3B, the second closest breadcrumb 110 at a second position and time), and
wherein the first geospatial graphic is visually different from the second geospatial graphic if a first GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values is different from a second GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values (As clearly shown in FIG. 3B, the nearest breadcrumb 110 is rendered larger than the breadcrumbs that correspond to positions that are further away. Moreover, a breadcrumb that is rendered in a first position is “visually different” than a breadcrumb that is rendered in a different position. They each appear (i.e., “visually”) in different position on the screen (i.e., user interface) and, as such, are “visually different”.).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile animated vehicle trip replay system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by KOCH and GOOSSEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the telemetric vehicle trip replay system taught by KOCH so as to include a first geospatial graphic that is visually different from a second geospatial graphic if a first GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values is different from a second GUI position value of the one or more GUI position values, as taught by GOOSSEN.
Regarding claim 3 (depends on claim 2), GOOSEN further teaches:
wherein the first geospatial graphic is rendered to have a first graphical form different from a second graphical form of the second geospatial graphic if the first GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values is different from the second GUI time value of the one or more corresponding GUI time values, the second graphical form being different from the first graphical form in size (As clearly shown in FIG. 3B, the nearest breadcrumb 110 corresponding to a vehicle position at a first time is rendered larger than the breadcrumbs that correspond to vehicle positions at later times that are further away. ¶ [0021]: “As the vehicle 22 travels in the real environment, the processor 40 generates and displays a series of breadcrumb icons 110 with connecting lines 112 based on the vehicle orientation, position, and velocity information received from the vehicle 22. The breadcrumb icons 110 and connecting lines 112 indicate the vehicle's actual trajectory. The breadcrumb icons 110 are presented at predefined distance or time intervals.”).
Regarding claims 11-12, claims 11-12 recite, respectively, the same limitations as claims 2-3, and, as such, claims 11-12 are rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claims 2-3, respectively.
Conclusion
At present, it is not apparent to the examiner which part of the application could serve as a basis for new and allowable claims. However, should the applicant nevertheless regard some particular matter as patentable, the examiner encourages applicant to appropriately amend the claims to include such matter and to indicate in the REMARKS the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention as well as the significance thereof.
Furthermore, should applicant decide to amend the claims, examiner respectfully requests that the applicant please indicate in the REMARKS from which page(s), line(s) or claim(s) of the originally filed application that any amendments are derived. See MPEP § 2163(II)(A) (There is a strong presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262, 191 USPQ at 96; however, with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims.).
Contact Information
/VINCENT PEREN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617