DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. The following limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the limitations recite a function and a generic placeholder (“member”) without reciting sufficient structure for performing the function: “an injection member” and “a changing member.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 11,079,068 to Jayaraman et al. (Jayaraman).
Regarding claim 13, Jayaraman discloses a hydrogen tank (the tank of Figs. 1 and 2A-C which can store hydrogen [see col. 5, line 21]) comprising: a tank body (formed by composite 1); a boss (col. 7, line 65) connected to at least one end of the tank body and having a skirt (see label in figure below) extending radially with respect to an axial direction of the tank body; and a nozzle (formed by nozzle adapter 3 and nozzle 8 having spacer 9) installed inside the tank body via the boss and configured to spray hydrogen gas at a predetermined angle with respect to the axial direction of the tank body (see Fig. 3 and col. 7, line 60 – col. 8, line 15), wherein the nozzle includes: a connector (3) coupled to the boss; an extension portion (labeled in the figure below) extending from the connector parallel to the axial direction of the tank body; and a changing member (9) provided at an end portion of the extension portion.
[AltContent: textbox (Diffuser plate)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (rod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Gradually increasing diameter)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Skirt of the boss)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Extension portion)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 14, Jayaraman further discloses the extension portion has an orifice formed therein (the central opening through the extension portion), and wherein the orifice has an inner diameter gradually increasing toward an inside of the tank body (labeled above).
Regarding claim 15, Jayaraman further discloses the changing member includes: a rod (labeled above) formed to be inserted into the orifice; and a diffuser plate (labeled above; the labeled portion serves to aid in diffusing the fluid and therefore can be considered a diffuser plate) fixedly coupled to an end portion of the rod (Figs. 2A-C), wherein a spray flow path is defined between an external surface of the rod and an internal surface of the orifice (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2010/0155404 to Friedlmeier et al. (Friedlmeier) in view of Jayaraman and US Patent Application Publication 2019/0346083 to Shubbar et al. (Shubbar).
Regarding claim 1, Friedlmeier discloses a hydrogen tank (10; [0031]) comprising: a tank body (the body forming tank 10); a boss (the boss at the left end of the tank as shown in Fig. 4) connected to at least one end of the tank body (Fig. 4); and a nozzle (filler neck 32 having nozzle cap 42; see Figs. 4 and 7) installed inside the tank body via the boss (see Figs. 4 and 7) and configured to spray hydrogen gas at a predetermined angle with respect to the axial direction of the tank body (Figs. 4 and 7), wherein the nozzle includes: an extension portion (the portion labeled at “30” in Fig. 7 forms an extension portion) extending parallel to the axial direction of the tank body (Figs. 4 and 7); an inclined portion (nozzle cap 42 having angled channel 44) connected to an end portion of the extension portion and inclined with respect to the axial direction of the tank body (see Figs. 4 and 7). Friedlmeier does not disclose the boss having a skirt extending radially with respect to an axial direction of the tank body and the nozzle having a connector coupled to the boss, and an injection member provided at an end portion of the inclined portion. Jayaraman teaches a hydrogen tank (1) having a boss (col. 7, line 65) having a skirt extending radially with respect to the axial direction of the tank (see labeled figure above) and a nozzle (formed by 3, 8, 9) having a connector (3) coupled to the boss. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a boss having a skirt and an associated connector as taught by Jayaraman in the tank of Friedlmeier for securing the nozzle to the tank. Shubbar teaches a gas tank (abstract) which includes an injection member (diffuser 22) located at the end of an injection passage for distributing the flow of gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an injection member as taught by Shubbar at the end of the inclined portion for aiding in distributing the gas in the desired direction(s).
Regarding claim 6, Friedlmeier further discloses the hydrogen tank is positionable such that the axial direction of the tank body is horizontal, and the inclined portion is inclined toward an upper portion of the tank body (the position of the tank and inclined portion as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Friedlmeier does not disclose a marking portion that is mounted on an external surface of the tank body and is configured to distinguish between a top and a bottom of the hydrogen tank. However, Applicant is given Official Notice that indicia distinguishing between a top and a bottom of a container is well known in the art (for example, indicia such as “Top ↑” or “This Side Up” commonly found of boxes, bottles, and other containers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included indicia distinguishing between a top and a bottom of the tank as is well known in the art for aiding a user in properly positioning the tank.
Regarding claim 8, Shubbar further teaches the injection member includes: a plate (wall 27) connected to an end portion of the channel (see Fig. 6) and having a through-hole formed therein (passage through the wall so gas can flow between channel 3 and outlets 221); and a diffusion guide extending from an edge of the plate and formed to spread out in a direction away from the plate (see Fig. 7) to reduce static and turbulence in the gas flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further configured the injection member to include a plate, a through-hole and a diffusion guide as taught by Shubbar in the system of Friedlmeier to reduce static and turbulence in the gas flow.
Regarding claim 9, Friedlmeier as modified by Jayaraman and Shubbar discloses the hydrogen tank of claim 8, and further discloses wherein the diffusion guide is inclined so that an internal surface of the diffusion guide has a third inclination angle with respect to a surface of the plate (when the diffusing guide is added as set forth above, it creates an additional angle with respect to the surface of the plate), and but does not disclose the third inclination angle has a range of 120-140°. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set the third angle in a range of 120-140°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claims 10-11, Shubbar further teaches the injection member includes: a connecting body (body 22) connected to an end portion of the channel; a main hole formed in an axial direction inside the connecting body (the passage between the channel 3 and the outlets 221); and a plurality of branch holes (221) formed to be branched off and inclined from the main hole inside the connecting body, wherein the plurality of branch holes are arranged at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the connecting body (see Figs. 2 and 6-7). These limitations are already present in the combination of Friedlmeier, Jayaraman, and Shubbar as set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 12 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited documents do not disclose the configurations set forth in claims 2, 12, 16 and 18. The examiner finds no evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the cited documents to include such configurations, absent the teachings of Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the cited documents do not disclose the invention of claims 2-5, 12, and 16-18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claimed invention.
/NICOLAS A ARNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753 January 5, 2026