DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0066], in line 5 on page 15, “position switch mechanism” is labeled as element number 118, whereas in all other instances, “position lock mechanism” is labeled as element number 118; and
In paragraph [0071], in line 23 on page 16, “first mechanism housing” is labeled as element number 119, whereas in all other instances, “first mechanism body” is labeled as element number 119.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 6 of claim 1, it is assumed that “an of the rear member” should be “an end of the rear member”;
In line 2 of claim 7, “in the first operable position” appears twice, making one of which redundant;
In line 3 of claim 7, the second instance of the word “than” should be removed in “the first angle is less than than the second angle”; and
In line 2 of claim 13, the claim is missing a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2:
In line 1, it is unclear if “the position lock mechanism” is referring to one of, or each of the position lock mechanisms; and
In line 2, it is unclear if “the housing” is referring to one of, or each respective housing.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3:
In line 1, it is unclear if “the hinge assembly” is referring to one of, or each hinge assembly;
In line 2, it is unclear if “the housing” is referring to one of, or each respective housing;
In line 3, it is unclear if “the internal gear” is referring to the first internal gear, the second internal gear, or both internal gears; and
In line 4, it is unclear if “an input” is the same input from line 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, in line 1, it is unclear if “the hinge assembly” is referring to one of, or each hinge assembly.
Regarding claim 5:
In line 1, it is unclear if “the hinge assembly” is referring to one of, or each hinge assembly; and
In line 3, it is unclear if “an input” is the same input from line 2.
Regarding claim 9, in line 2, it is unclear if “a spring arm” is referring to one of, the respective, or an entirely different spring arm.
Regarding claim 10:
In line 1, it is unclear if “the housing” is referring to one of, or each housing; and
In lines 1 and 2, it is unclear if both instances of “the spring arm” is referring to one of, or each respective spring arm.
Regarding claim 11, in line 2, it is unclear if “the housing” is referring to one of, or each respective housing. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12:
In line 1, it is unclear if “the support pad” is referring to one of, or each support pad;
In line 2, it is unclear if “the hinge assembly” is referring to one of, or each respective hinge assembly;
In line 2, “the hinge mechanism” lacks antecedent basis; and
Ine lines 2-3, it is unclear if “a rocking motion” is the same rocking motion as claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, in line 1, it is unclear if “front member” is the same as the front member of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, in line 1, it is unclear if “front member” is the same as the front member of claim 1. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, in line 4, it is unclear if both instances of “the spring arm” is referring to one of, or each respective spring arm. Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, in line 2, it is unclear if “the spring arm” is referring to one of, or each respective spring arm. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on the clarity of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, in line 4, it is unclear if “the spring arm” is referring to one of, or each respective spring arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10, and 13-16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Djankovich (US-12342943-B2).
Djankovich discloses a portable rebounding device with adjustable and collapsible features.
Claim 1 – Djankovich teaches a rebounding device (element 100 in figure 1) comprising:
a front member (element 110 in figure 1) having at least two spring arms (elements 116a and 116b in figure 3), each spring arm coupled to the front member (figure 3);
a rear member (element 120 in figure 1); and
at least two hinge assemblies (element 230 in figure 5, described in column 9, line 30, as “similar to elements 130a and 130b in figures 1-4”, and therefore is mirrored in a similar manner), each hinge assembly including:
a housing (element 235 in figure 5), which couples to an end the rear member; and
a position lock mechanism contained at least in part within the housing (figure 9, described as a “ratchet/pawl system”) so that, in response to an input to the position lock mechanism, the front member and the rear member are moveable between a collapsed position and at least one operable position, wherein the front member is movable relative to the rear member in the at least one operable position (“using the knob 237, the user can release the ratchet/pawl system 251 from the outer casing 235, thereby allowing the front and rear members 110, 120 to move together into a collapsed position, or adjust the biasing strength of the torsion spring 272 while the ratchet/pawl system 251 is engaged with the outer casing 235 while in the expanded position” in column 10, lines 13-19).
Claim 8 – Djankovich teaches each spring arm includes a curved end terminating in a lip (element 139a in figure 3).
Claim 9 – Djankovich teaches the position lock mechanism includes a channel configured to receive the curved end of a spring arm and a ridge configured to lock with the lip of the received spring arm (elements 132a and 132b have a channel in the top to receive the spring arms).
Claim 10 – Djankovich teaches the housing couples to a curved end of the spring arm (figure 3) so that the spring arm provides a biasing force against the front member in response to a rocking motion at the front member (“the rebounding device exerts a biasing force when compressed that gently propels the user’s upper body forward while maintaining a seated position” in column 2, lines 27-29).
Claim 13 – Djankovich teaches a rear stability pad coupled to the rear member configured to stabilize the device during a rocking motion (element 124 in figure 1).
Claim 14 – Djankovich teaches the front member further comprises openings (the front member, element 110, has a skeletal frame that includes openings in figure 1).
Claim 15 – Djankovich teaches the front member further comprises a front support pad affixed to the front member (element 140 in figure 1).
Claim 16 – Djankovich teaches the front support pad includes a plurality of raised members (elements 146a and 146b in figure 1, described as “first and second sides 146a, 146b of the head rest panel 140 curve inward to closely surround a user’s head and/or neck thereby providing support thereto” in column 6, lines 2-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Djankovich (US-12342943-B2) in view of Zhong (US-8205943-B2).
Zhong discloses a foldable rocking chair.
Claim 2 – Djankovich teaches the position lock mechanism only includes a first internal gear (element 262 in figure 9) and a pawl (element 264 in figure 9) to engage the first internal gear rather than a three-gear system.
Zhong teaches the position lock mechanism (figure 9) includes a first internal gear (one of the element 43 in figure 9), a second internal gear (the other of the two element 43 in figure 9), and an external gear (elements 411 in figure 9) positioned within the housing (element 41 in figure 9), wherein the external gear is configured to lock with teeth (element 431 in figure 9) of the first internal gear and the second internal gear so that the position lock mechanism provides resistance to movement of the front member and the rear member (“the folding joint is constructed so as to allow pivoting movement of the seat from the folded position to the fully unfolded position, while preventing movement of the seat from the fully unfolded position to the folded position when no external force is applied to the folding joint” in the abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Djankovich with the hinge assembly of Zhong to provide the user with quick specific angle adjustment rather than the rebounding force adjustment Djankovich provides that the user has to test until the most comfortable level of support is found.
Claim 3 – Djankovich teaches a button (element 236 in figure 6), however when modified by the hinge assembly of Zhong, the button no longer works in the same way as intended.
Zhong teaches the hinge assembly further comprises a button (element 45 in figure 9), wherein depression of the button relative to the housing is the input to the position lock mechanism configured to unlock the external gear from the internal gear in response to an input so that the front member and rear member are freely moveable relative to one another (“when desired to pivot the seat 2 from the fully unfolded position to the folded position, the pushbuttons 45 are pushed toward each other to remove the gears 43 from the second rotating housings 41” in column 6, lines 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, when modifying the disclosure of Djankovich with the hinge assembly of Zhong, to include every aspect of Zhong, including the button, to ensure the modified disclosure works properly.
Claim 4 – Djankovich teaches the hinge assembly comprises a torsion spring (element 270 in figure 13) rather than a coil spring.
Zhong teaches the hinge assembly further comprises a coil spring (element 44 in figure 9) disposed between the first internal gear and the external gear (figure 9), and
wherein the coil spring biases the external gear into engagement with the second internal gear (figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, when modifying the disclosure of Djankovich with the hinge assembly of Zhong, to include every aspect of Zhong, including the coil spring, to ensure the modified disclosure works properly.
Claims 11 and 12 – Djankovich does not teach each hinge assembly includes a support pad coupled to the housing, configured to stabilize the device during a rocking motion.
Zhong teaches a support pad, configured to stabilize the device during a rocking motion (element 16 in figure 4, described as “anti-slip members” in column 3, lines 32-33).
Being that the hinge assemblies are the pinch-point between the user’s back and the ground surface, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a support pad, such as the anti-slip members taught by Zhong, on the housings to stabilize the device during the rocking motion. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to place the support pad on the portion of the hinge assembly that does not rotate during the rocking motion, a “grip portion”, so as to not impede with the rotating portion of the hinge assembly and provide constant stability.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Djankovich (US-12342943-B2) alone.
Claim 5 – Djankovich teaches the hinge assembly further comprises a switch (element 237 in figure 5), wherein actuation of the switch is the input to the position lock mechanism configured to unlock the external gear from the internal gear in response to an input so that the front member and rear member are freely moveable relative to one another (“the knob 237 is intended to be rotated by a user in forward and reverse directions to the outer casing 235 of the junction member 230 to adjust an amount of rebounding force provided by the rebounding device” in column 9, lines 58-61, where it is obvious that the less rebounding force provided, the more freely moveable the front and rear member are to one another).
Claim 6 – Djankovich teaches the at least one operable position includes a first operable position and a second operable position.
Djankovich teaches a tensioning knob to increase the rebounding force as well as a button to release the tension to a minimum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the rebounding device could have a first operable position where the knob is set to a first rebounding force, and a second operable position where the knob is set at a second rebounding force, where the second rebounding force does not let the user lean as far back.
Claim 7 – Djankovich teaches the front member and the rear member in the first operable position define a first angle in the first operable position and a second angle in the second operable position, wherein the first angle is less than the second angle.
Djankovich teaches a tensioning knob to increase the rebounding force as well as a button to release the tension to a minimum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the rebounding device could have a first operable position where the knob is set to a first rebounding force, and a second operable position where the knob is set at a second rebounding force, where the second rebounding force does not let the user lean as far back. With the user unable to lean as far back in the second operable position, the first angle is less than the second angle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/T.A.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636