DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCollum (US Patent No. 4,732,390).
McCollum discloses a golf stance guide, comprising: four posts each comprising an proximal region and a distal region, the proximal region of the four posts (25,25’,26,30, and/or 50) comprising a first side front post (see the left side post as shown in the figure below), a first side rear post, a second side front post opposite to the first side front post, and a second side rear post opposite to the first side rear post, a front distance between the first side front post and the second side front post is less than a rear distance between the first side rear post and the second side rear post; and a body (10) connecting the four posts and positioned between the proximal region and the distal region of the four posts (since the posts are adjustable, they are capable of meeting the recited distance between them as recited).
Regarding the intended use set forth in the preamble (the device being a golf stance guide), the training device is capable of being used as a golf stance guide if so desired. Applicant is not claiming a process. Please note that the examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
[AltContent: textbox (Second side rear
post)][AltContent: textbox (Second side)][AltContent: textbox (Front post)][AltContent: textbox (First side)][AltContent: textbox (Head
(top end of these posts)][AltContent: textbox (Front post)][AltContent: textbox (body)][AltContent: textbox (First side rear post)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCollum.
McCollum does not explicitly disclose the distances as recited in the claim. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide any distance range including the recited distance ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 12 are considered allowable because the closest prior art McCollum (4732390) or the other prior art of record disclose or render obvious the claimed arrangement of four posts comprising a configuration with at least a portion angling and/or curving toward first pair posts while defining a space therebetween for receiving a user’s foot. Although McCollum teaches posts, the examiner did not find any reference, alone or in combination, that teaches or suggests the specific asymmetric post configuration is configured to receive a foot/shoe as recited in the claim when affixed in the manner recited, in combination with the other recited features of the claim. Therefore, claim 1 and the rest of the claims that directly or indirectly depend on claim 1 are found allowable.
Claims 29-31 and 35-36 are considered allowable because the closest prior art McCollum (4732390) or the other prior art of record disclose or render obvious a body having first, second, third, and fourth arms arranged such that the first arm is substantially linear with the third arm and the second arm is angled relative to the fourth arm, with each of the four foot positioning posts secured to a respective arm of the body, as recited in claim 29. None of the prior art of record including McCollum disclose foot-positioning posts supported by a platform or base but does not disclose or suggest the claimed arm-based body configuration or the particular arrangement of the arms and posts. The examiner did not identify any teaching or suggestion that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed structural configuration. Therefore, claim 29 and all claims that directly or indirectly depend on it are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711