DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 11/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because a “computer program product” is software per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims should use the word “a” or “an” the first time an element is introduced, and should use “the” or “said” during subsequent use.
Terms should be used consistently in all claims, including dependent claims.
Regarding claim 10, line 5, “the EV” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 11-16 depend on claim 10.
Regarding claim 17, line 13, “the device” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 18-20 depend on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 13-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow (US-2022/0097552-A1, hereinafter Dow).
Regarding claim 1, Dow discloses:
A system, located on an electric vehicle (EV), comprising: at least one processor (paragraphs [0092-0099]);
a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon, wherein, in response to the at least one processor executing the instructions, the instructions facilitate performance of operations, comprising: (paragraphs [0092-0099]);
receiving, in a communication, a first distribution system operator identifier (DSOID), wherein the first DSOID is received from a distribution system operator (DSO) controlling operation of a remotely located electrical grid with which the EV is attempting to perform a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation, and the first DSOID identifies the DSO (paragraphs [0075-0101] and FIG. 1, electric vehicle (EV) - 100, vehicle battery-110, on-board charger-120, electronic control unit-130, human-machine interface (HMI) - 140, communication controller (EVCC) - 150, BMS-160, supply equipment (EVSE) - 200, off-board charger-210, human-machine interface (HMI) - 220, communication controller (SECC) - 230, payment unit-240, power grid operation server-300, communication controller (PGCC) - 310, human-machine interface (HMI) - 320, control unit-330, and power grid-400);
comparing the first DSOID with one or more DSOIDs included in a list of DSOIDs stored in a memory at the EV (paragraphs [0156-0164] and FIG. 5, set up communication-511, and authenticate and authorize-512); and
in response to determining the first DSOID matches with a second DSOID, wherein the second DSOID is included in the list of DSOIDs, enabling a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation performed at the EV (paragraphs [0175-0182] and FIG. 5, prepare for and start discharging-516, display discharging progress-517, stop discharging due to user intervention-518A, and finish discharging according to discharge schedule-518B).
Regarding claim 4, Dow further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprising: receiving, prior to receiving the first DSOID, the second DSOID, wherein presence of the second DSOID and the first DSOID at the EV indicates agreement by the DSO that the EV can perform a BPT operation with the electrical grid (paragraphs [0156-0164] and [0175-0182]); and
adding the second DSOID to the list of DSOIDs stored in a memory (paragraphs [0092-0099]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Dow further discloses:
wherein the BPT operation is a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV (paragraphs [0075-0101]).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 19, Dow further discloses:
wherein the battery is configured to provide electrical power to a motor located on the EV, and the motor is configured to propel the EV (paragraphs [0078-0081]).
Regarding claim 9, Dow further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprising: in response to determining the first DSOID does not match with the one or more DSOIDs included in the list of DSOIDs, denying the bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation to be performed at the EV (paragraphs [0156-0164]).
Regarding claim 10, Dow further discloses:
A computer-implemented method comprising: (paragraphs [0092-0099]);
receiving, by a device comprising at least one processor, in a communication, a first distribution system operator identifier (DSOID), wherein the first DSOID is received from a distribution system operator (DSO) controlling operation of a remotely located electrical grid with which the EV is attempting to perform a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation, and the first DSOID identifies the DSO (paragraphs [0075-0101] and FIG. 1, electric vehicle (EV) - 100, vehicle battery-110, on-board charger-120, electronic control unit-130, human-machine interface (HMI) - 140, communication controller (EVCC) - 150, BMS-160, supply equipment (EVSE) - 200, off-board charger-210, human-machine interface (HMI) - 220, communication controller (SECC) - 230, payment unit-240, power grid operation server-300, communication controller (PGCC) - 310, human-machine interface (HMI) - 320, control unit-330, and power grid-400);
comparing, by the device, the first DSOID with one or more DSOIDs included in a list of DSOIDs stored in a memory at the EV (paragraphs [0156-0164] and FIG. 5, set up communication-511, and authenticate and authorize-512); and
in response to determining, by the device, the first DSOID matches with a second DSOID, wherein the second DSOID is included in the list of DSOIDs, enabling, by the device, a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation performed at the EV (paragraphs [0175-0182] and FIG. 5, prepare for and start discharging-516, display discharging progress-517, stop discharging due to user intervention-518A, and finish discharging according to discharge schedule-518B).
Regarding claim 13, Dow further discloses:
wherein the operations further comprising: receiving, by the device, prior to receiving the first DSOID, the second DSOID, wherein presence of the second DSOID and the first DSOID at the EV indicates agreement by the DSO that the EV can perform a BPT operation with the electrical grid (paragraphs [0156-0164] and [0175-0182]); and
adding, by the device, the second DSOID to the list of DSOIDs stored in a memory (paragraphs [0092-0099]).
Regarding claim 17, Dow further discloses:
A computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and comprising machine-executable instructions, wherein, in response to being executed, the machine-executable instructions cause a system located on an electric vehicle (EV) to perform operations, comprising: (paragraphs [0092-0099]);
receiving in a communication, a first distribution system operator identifier (DSOID), wherein the first DSOID is received from a distribution system operator (DSO) controlling operation of a remotely located electrical grid with which the EV is attempting to perform a bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operation, and the first DSOID identifies the DSO (paragraphs [0075-0101] and FIG. 1, electric vehicle (EV) - 100, vehicle battery-110, on-board charger-120, electronic control unit-130, human-machine interface (HMI) - 140, communication controller (EVCC) - 150, BMS-160, supply equipment (EVSE) - 200, off-board charger-210, human-machine interface (HMI) - 220, communication controller (SECC) - 230, payment unit-240, power grid operation server-300, communication controller (PGCC) - 310, human-machine interface (HMI) - 320, control unit-330, and power grid-400);
comparing the first DSOID with one or more DSOIDs included in a list of DSOIDs stored in a memory at the EV (paragraphs [0156-0164] and FIG. 5, set up communication-511, and authenticate and authorize-512); and
in response to determining the first DSOID matches with a second DSOID, enabling, by the device, a vehicle to grid (V2G) operation to be performed at the EV, wherein the V2G operation is configured to transfer electrical energy from a battery located onboard the EV to an electrical grid connected to the EV, wherein the second DSOID is included in the list of DSOIDs, and presence of the first DSOID and the second DSOID indicates agreement by the DSO for the EV to perform V2G operation with the DSO (paragraphs [0075-0101], [0156-0164] and [0175-0182]; and FIG. 5, prepare for and start discharging-516, display discharging progress-517, stop discharging due to user intervention-518A, and finish discharging according to discharge schedule-518B).
Claims 2-3, 5, 11-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow, as applied to claims 1, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Shin (US-2023/0311700-A1, hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Dow does not disclose using ISO 15118-20 to configure a communication. However, Shin discloses a system for vehicle-to-grid charging, including the following features:
wherein the communication is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) (paragraph [0090]).
Shin teaches that a public key infrastructure (PKI) provides a framework for verifying identities of a person and a device, activating confidential communications, and ensuring controlled access to resources. Shin further teaches that an example of a PKI-based certificate hierarchy is prescribed in the ISO 15118-20 standard (paragraph [0090]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ISO 15118-20 standard of Shin into the vehicle-to-grid charging system of Dow. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of verifying identities of a person and a device, activating confidential communications, and ensuring controlled access to resources. A person of ordinary skill would be familiar with ISO standards.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Dow does not disclose using ISO 15118-20 to configure a communication. However, Shin further discloses:
wherein the communication comprises a ServiceDetailResponse message received from the EVSE (paragraphs [0109-0114] and FIG. 2, electric vehicle (EV) device-110, electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) - 120, electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) - 210, and supply equipment communication controller (SECC) - 220).
Shin teaches that a Transport Layer Security (TLS) server authentication procedure may be performed using a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) certificate and a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) Root certificate (paragraph [0114]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the TLS server authentication procedure of Shin into the vehicle-to-grid charging system of Dow. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of identifying, authenticating, and approving the electric vehicle (EV). A person of ordinary skill would be familiar with a charging station communicating information to an EV.
Regarding claim 5, Dow does not disclose requiring a certificate from a manufacturer prior to bidirectional power transfer (BPT) operations. However, Shin further discloses:
wherein EV further comprises at least one of a certificate of operation, or a specification of supported EV functionality, generated based on the EV functioning as a generator of energy in a BPT operation with the DSO, wherein the certificate is a pre-requisite for BPT operation with the DSO, and the certificate is received from a manufacturer of the EV (paragraphs [0064] and [0114]; and FIG. 2, electric vehicle (EV) device-110, electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) - 120, electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) - 210, and supply equipment communication controller (SECC) - 220).
Shin teaches that an Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) Root Certification Authority (RootCA) Certificate should be required for vehicle-to-grid approval (paragraph [0064]). Shin further teaches that a Transport Layer Security (TLS) server authentication procedure may be performed using a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) certificate and a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) Root certificate (paragraph [0114]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the TLS server authentication procedure of Shin into the vehicle-to-grid charging system of Dow. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of identifying, authenticating, and approving the electric vehicle (EV). A person of ordinary skill would be familiar with manufacturer certification of electric vehicle performance parameters.
Regarding claim 18, Dow does not disclose using ISO 15118-20 to configure a communication. However, Shin further discloses:
wherein the communication is configured per a specification in accordance with one of International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 15118-2, ISO 15118-20, or a specification defining communication between the EV and an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) (paragraph [0090]); and
the communication comprises a ServiceDetailResponse message received from the EVSE (paragraphs [0109-0114] and FIG. 2, electric vehicle (EV) device-110, electric vehicle communication controller (EVCC) - 120, electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) - 210, and supply equipment communication controller (SECC) - 220).
Shin teaches that a Transport Layer Security (TLS) server authentication procedure may be performed using a supply equipment communication controller (SECC) certificate and a vehicle-to-grid (V2G) Root certificate (paragraph [0114]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the TLS server authentication procedure of Shin into the vehicle-to-grid charging system of Dow. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of identifying, authenticating, and approving the electric vehicle (EV). A person of ordinary skill would be familiar with a charging station communicating information to an EV.
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow, as applied to claims 1, 14 and 17 above, and further in view of Sun (US-2022/0302701-A1, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 8, Dow does not disclose that the first DSOID is the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSO-E). However, Sun discloses a system for electric utility load distribution, including the following features:
wherein the first DSOID is a European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSO-E) EIC code, or a local unique identifier code (paragraphs [0036], [0083] and [0123]; and FIG. 7A, system for load distribution-200).
Sun teaches that a system for load distribution can be applied to centralized portions of the electric power distribution system such as the European Network of Transmission System Operators (paragraph [0036]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system for load distribution applied to centralized portions of the electric power distribution system such as the European Network of Transmission System Operators of Sun into the vehicle-to-grid charging system of Dow. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of supplying power to the grid where needed. A person of ordinary skill would be familiar with the European Network of Transmission System Operators.
Regarding claims 16 and 20, Dow does not disclose that the first DSOID is the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSO-E). However, Sun further discloses:
wherein the first DSOID is a European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity Energy Identification Coding (ENTSO-E EIC) code, a local unique identifier code, or an identification schema (paragraphs [0036], [0083] and [0123]; and FIG. 7A, system for load distribution-200).
Sun teaches that a system for load distribution can be applied to centralized portions of the electric power distribution system such as the European Network of Transmission System Operators (paragraph [0036]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system for load distribution applied to centralized portions of the electric power distribution system such as the European Network of Transmission System Operators of Sun into the vehicle-to-grid charging system of Dow. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of supplying power to the grid where needed. A person of ordinary skill would be familiar with the European Network of Transmission System Operators.
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667