DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in reply to Applicant’s original application filed 11 November 2024 and Applicant’s response filed 27 July 2026 (“July 2026 Response”).
Claims 1–20 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 12, 13, 16, and 18 have been examined.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8–11, 14, 15, 17, and 19–20 have been withdrawn, as noted below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 11 November 2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1–9 and 12–20, filed in the July 2026 Response, is acknowledged.
Claims 10–11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the July 2026 Response.
Election of Species
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A2, B3, and C1 in the July 2026 Response is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8–11, 14, 15, 17, and 19–20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 12, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baker et al. (US 10,950,081; “Baker”).
As per claim 1, Baker discloses:
1. A live streaming platform server (Fig. 2) comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
during a first period of time occurring responsive to a first selection by a live host of a first streaming device (e.g., Fig. 2; C10:L20–24, “multiple players participate in a gaming establishment tournament where players compete to determine who will win the tournament and one or more players in the tournament stream their play live using the live streaming platform disclosed herein.”; C2:L35–39, “the EGM uploads the captured live stream data to a live streaming platform, such as a live streaming server, which enables, following any modifications to the captured live streaming data, zero, one or more remote viewers to view the captured live stream”; C13:L30–33, “the live streaming platform enables one or more remote viewers to access the live stream data to receive the live stream from a device remote from the EGM as indicated in block 114.”):
receive, from the first streaming device, data associated with a play of a first wagering game being displayed in association with the first streaming device (C2:L29–43; C7:L49–57; C13:L26–37),
communicate, to a client device and at least partially based on the play of the first wagering game being displayed in association with the first streaming device, first data associated with a first portion of a live stream (C13:L26–37), and
responsive to a first occurrence of a streaming device termination event, determine a first award associated with the first selection by the live host (C12:L65–C13:L6; C14:L29–50), and
during a second, subsequent period of time occurring responsive to a second selection by the live host of a second, different streaming device (e.g., Fig. 2; C10:L20–24, “multiple players participate in a gaming establishment tournament where players compete to determine who will win the tournament and one or more players in the tournament stream their play live using the live streaming platform disclosed herein.”; C2:L35–39, “the EGM uploads the captured live stream data to a live streaming platform, such as a live streaming server, which enables, following any modifications to the captured live streaming data, zero, one or more remote viewers to view the captured live stream”; C13:L30–33, “the live streaming platform enables one or more remote viewers to access the live stream data to receive the live stream from a device remote from the EGM as indicated in block 114.”):
receive, from the second, different streaming device, data associated with a play of a second wagering game being displayed in association with the second, different streaming device (C7:L49–57; C13:L26–37),
communicate, to the client device and at least partially based on the play of the second wagering game being displayed in association with the second, different streaming device, second data associated with a second portion of the live stream (C13:L26–37), and
responsive to a second occurrence of the streaming device termination event, determine a second award associated with the second selection by the live host (C12:L65–C13:L6; C14:L29–50).
As per claim 2, Baker discloses:
2. The live streaming platform server of Claim 1, wherein the streaming device comprises any of an electronic gaming machine and a slot machine interface board (C3:L42–60; “EGM”).
As per claim 5, Baker discloses:
5. The live streaming platform server of Claim 1, wherein the first occurrence of the streaming device termination event is based on a termination selection by the live host (C12:L65–C13:L6, e.g., “Such reporting enables the live streaming platform to update the appropriate player statistics and possibly award the player any achievements as described above.”).
As per claim 7, Baker discloses:
7. The live streaming platform server of Claim 1, wherein the first award is based on at least one of a portion of any awards won by the first streaming device during the first period of time and a portion of any awards won by the client device during the first period of time (C12:L65–C13:L6; C14:L29–50).
As per claims 12, 13, 16, and 18, these claims contain language similar to claims 1, 2, 5, and 7 as discussed in the preceding paragraphs, and for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 12, 13, 16, and 18 are also rejected under 35 USC § 102 as anticipated by Baker.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
For example, US 20230007333 A1 discloses “For example, the provider of the aggregated live streaming platform may host a selection of the live video streams from the different live streaming platforms, and switch between different live video streams at different times. The host may add live video between and to the live video streams.” See ¶ [0112]; and “Content creators use live streaming platforms to distribute live content to their audience. The content can cover a broad range of topics such as live news and events, live presentations, live sports, educational live streams, and entertainment which includes live performances, or players live streaming playing of video games.” See ¶ [0003].
/JACOB C. COPPOLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992