DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,8,9,10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (USPUB 20200044836) in view of P. Sibson et al. ( NPL Doc: " Chip-based quantum key distribution," 9th February 2017, NATURE COMMUNICATIONS, Pages 1-5. ) in further view Yangjin Ma et al. ( NPL Doc: " Symmetrical polarization splitter/rotator design
and application in a polarization insensitive WDM receiver," 9th June 2015, OPTICS EXPRESS, Vol. 23, No. 12, Pages 16053- 16061. ).
Regarding claim 1, KIM et al. teaches A transmitting device for quantum key distribution based on a chip ( Paragraphs [0049-0050]- “…The transmission signal processing unit 220 is connected to the receiver 120 through a public channel 260 to perform data communications and transmits information for drivingthe quantum cryptographic key distribution stabilization apparatus 200 connected to a reception signal processing unit 240….”) , comprising: a base with one light entrance and one light exit formed ( FIG. 4 teaches a base with optical light input and output AND Paragraphs [0080-0082]- “…transmitter 410 and a receiver 450 shown in FIG. 4 performs the same function as each of the transmitter 310 and the receiver 350 shown in FIG. 3. However, the transmission optical system 420 of FIG. 4 has a structure in which a transmission interferometer 424 and a transmission phase modulator 426 are integrated, …”) ; a first beam splitter positioned inside the base and disposed in a first optical path extending from the light entrance ( FIG. 4 AND Paragraph [0082]- “The transmission interferometer 424 includes a transmission optical splitter OS.sub.T, a transmission optical delay line DL.sub.T, a transmission phase modulator 426, and a transmission optical coupler OC.sub.T, The reception interferometer 462 includes a reception optical splitter OS.sub.R, a reception optical delay line DL.sub.R, the reception phase modulator 463, and a reception optical coupler OC.sub.R.” AND Paragraphs [0148-0149]) ,
KIM et al. does not explicitly teach configured to reflect part of an optical signal incident through the first optical path on a second optical path and transmit a remaining part of the optical signal to a third optical path; a first modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal reflected from the first beam splitter and incident on the second optical path; a second modulator positioned inside the base, and configured to delay the optical signal transmitted from the first beam splitter and incident on the third optical path for a predetermined period of time and modulate a phase of the optical signal; and a polarization splitter-rotator positioned inside the base, and configured to transmit an optical signal incident from the second modulator, with a time difference relative to an optical signal from the first modulator, to the one light exit.
However, within analogous art, P. Sibson et al. teaches configured to reflect part of an optical signal incident through the first optical path on a second optical path and transmit a remaining part of the optical signal to a third optical path ( Page 2- Figure 1 ( a and b) teaches optical signals input within optical path and reflected to multiple optical path) ; a first modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal reflected from the first beam splitter and incident on the second optical path ( Page 2- Figure 1- “(a) A 2_6mm2 integrated indium phosphide (InP) transmitter for GHz clock rate, reconfigurable, multi-protocol QKD. The circuit combines a continuous tunable laser diode (LASER), EOPMs, photodiode and interferometers formed by multi-mode interference (MMI) devices acting as 50:50 beamsplitters. This allows for pulse modulation (P.MOD), phase randomization (PH.RAND),intensity modulator (I.M) and phase encoding (PH.ENC). (b) A 2_32mm2 silicon oxynitride (SiOxNy) photonic receiver circuit for reconfigurable,multi-protocol QKD that passively decodes the quantum information with off-chip single photon detectors (SPDs). MZIs are formed by directional couplers (DC), and configured with thermo-optic phase shifters (TOPS). This allows for a tunable beamsplitter, and a phase decoding (PH.DEC) circuit, which includes loss balancing (L-BAL) and a tunable delay (T-DEL)….”) ; a second modulator positioned inside the base, and configured to delay the optical signal transmitted from the first beam splitter and incident on the third optical path for a predetermined period of time and modulate a phase of the optical signal ( Page 1- Figure 1 and Page 3- Col.1 – “…The first MZI acts as a tunable beamsplitter and taps off a portion of the incoming signal, which was routed to a single photon detector and used primarily for the COW protocol. The second MZI (L-BAL) acts to balance the losses in the asymmetric MZI (AMZI), which incorporates a digitally reconfigurable delay line, tunable from 0 to 2.1 ns in steps of 300 ps. This structure (PH.DEC) permits the interferometric measurement between the transmitter and receiver, and the TOPS within the AMZI was used to calibrate the phase relationship between the two arms of the interferometer. Light…”) ;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of P. Sibson et al. within the modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. because the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. provides a system and method for implementing Quantum key distribution within optical communication system .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. within the modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. for implementation of a system and method for Quantum key distribution within optical communication system .
Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. does not explicitly teach a polarization splitter-rotator positioned inside the base, and configured to transmit an optical signal incident from the second modulator, with a time difference relative to an optical signal from the first modulator, to the one light exit.
However, within analogous art, Yangjin Ma et al. teaches a polarization splitter-rotator positioned inside the base, and configured to transmit an optical signal incident from the second modulator, with a time difference relative to an optical signal from the first modulator, to the one light exit ( Page 4- “…integrated circuits (PIC). After light is coupled onto the silicon chip, a polarization splitter and rotator (PSR) is used to separate the incoming TE and TM light component and convert them into TE modes at the two output ports, so that the remainder of the PIC can operate in only one mode. Many efforts have been made to improve performance of the PSRs on SOI platforms, especially in the past four years. In some designs, polarization splitter [20–22] and polarization rotator [23–25] are reported individually. One can construct a PSR by combining a splitter followed by a rotator [9,26], or a rotator followed by a splitter [27–32]. In the latter case, the rotator usually rotates TM0 mode into some intermediate modes such as TE1 mode, with TE0 mode undisturbed. In other designs, polarization splitting and rotating happens simultaneously [33–36]. To characterize a PSR, important metrics such as polarization conversion efficiency (PCE),…” AND Page 7-8 - Fig. 3 and Fig. 5) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Yangjin Ma et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. and the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. because the Symmetrical polarization splitter/rotator design and application in a polarization insensitive WDM receiver mentioned by Yangjin Ma et al. provides a system and method for implementing polarization splitter rotator within optical integrated circuit module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Symmetrical polarization splitter/rotator design and application in a polarization insensitive WDM receiver mentioned by Yangjin Ma et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. and the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. for implementation of a system and method for polarization splitter rotator within optical integrated circuit module.
Regarding claim 8, Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. and Yangjin Ma et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the polarization splitter-rotator polarization-modulates and combines an optical signal incident from the first modulator, and intactly combines an optical signal incident from the second modulator.
However, within analogous art, Yangjin Ma et al. teaches wherein the polarization splitter-rotator polarization-modulates and combines an optical signal incident from the first modulator, and intactly combines an optical signal incident from the second modulator ( Page 4- “…polarization splitter [20–22] and polarization rotator [23–25] are reported individually. One can construct a PSR by combining a splitter followed by a rotator [9,26], or a rotator followed by a splitter [27–32]. In the latter case, the rotator usually rotates TM0 mode into some intermediate modes such as TE1 mode, with TE0 mode undisturbed. In other designs, polarization splitting and rotating happens simultaneously [33–36]….”) .
Regarding claim 9, Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. and Yangjin Ma et al. teach claim 1,
Combination of KIM et al. and Yangjin Ma et al. does not explicitly teach an additional light entrance is formed in the base.
Within analogous art, P. Sibson et al. teaches wherein an additional light entrance is formed in the base ( Page 2- Figure 1 ( a and b) teaches additional light / input on the same base semiconductor) .
Regarding claim 10, KIM et al. teaches A receiving device for quantum key distribution based on a chip ( FIG.4 – Receiver ( 450) AND Paragraphs [0081-0082]- “…a receiver 450 shown in FIG. 4 performs the same function as each of the transmitter 310 and the receiver 350 shown in FIG. 3. However, the transmission optical system 420 of FIG. 4 has a structure in which a transmission interferometer 424 and a transmission phase modulator 426 are integrated, and in which a reception optical system 460 is integrated with a reception interferometer 462 and the reception phase modulator 463. Each of the transmission optical system 420 and the reception optical system 460 of FIG. 4…”) , comprising: a base with one light entrance and two light exits formed( FIG. 4 teaches a base with optical light input and output AND Paragraphs [0080-0082]- “…a receiver 450 shown in FIG. 4 performs the same function as each of the transmitter 310 and the receiver 350 shown in FIG. 3. However, the transmission optical system 420 of FIG. 4 has a structure in which a transmission interferometer 424 and a transmission phase modulator 426 are integrated, …”); and a first beam splitter positioned inside the base and configured to, depending on an interference result, transmit an optical signal incident from the first modulator and an optical signal incident from the second modulator to one of the two light exits ( paragraph [0086-0087]- “…The reception interferometer 462 outputs a pair of interference results based on two temporally separated optical pulses inputted thereto. The two optical pulses separated in time passing through different optical paths generate a transmission delay corresponding to the length difference of the optical paths. In other words, the two temporally separated optical pulses inputted to the reception interferometer 462 are divided into four optical pulses separated in time. Of the four optical pulses separated in time, two optical pulses adjacent or overlapped in time cause constructive interference or destructive interference, which increases or decreases their sizes. Such interference by the optical pulses separated in time affects the detection rate in the detector 464….”) .
KIM et al. does not explicitly teach a polarization splitter-rotator positioned inside the base and disposed on a first optical path extending from the light entrance; a first modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the polarization splitter-rotator through a second optical path; a second modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the polarization splitter-rotator through a third optical path and delay an emitted optical signal for a predetermined period of time;
However, within analogous art, P. Sibson et al. teaches a second modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the polarization splitter-rotator through a third optical path and delay an emitted optical signal for a predetermined period of time ( Page 1- Figure 1 and Page 3- Col.1 – “…The second MZI (L-BAL) acts to balance the losses in the asymmetric MZI (AMZI), which incorporates a digitally reconfigurable delay line, tunable from 0 to 2.1 ns in steps of 300 ps. This structure (PH.DEC) permits the interferometric measurement between the transmitter and receiver, and the TOPS within the AMZI was used to calibrate the phase relationship between the two arms of the interferometer. Light…”);
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of P. Sibson et al. within the modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. because the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. provides a system and method for implementing Quantum key distribution within optical communication system .
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. within the modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. for implementation of a system and method for Quantum key distribution within optical communication system .
Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. does not explicitly teach a polarization splitter-rotator positioned inside the base and disposed on a first optical path extending from the light entrance; a first modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the polarization splitter-rotator through a second optical path;
However, within analogous art, Yangjin Ma et al. teaches a polarization splitter-rotator positioned inside the base and disposed on a first optical path extending from the light entrance( Page 4- “…integrated circuits (PIC). After light is coupled onto the silicon chip, a polarization splitter and rotator (PSR) is used to separate the incoming TE and TM light component and convert them into TE modes at the two output ports, so that the remainder of the PIC can operate in only one mode. Many efforts have been made to improve performance of the PSRs on SOI platforms, especially in the past four years. In some designs, polarization splitter [20–22] and polarization rotator [23–25] are reported individually. One can construct a PSR by combining a splitter followed by a rotator [9,26], or a rotator followed by a splitter [27–32]. In the latter case, the rotator usually rotates TM0 mode into some intermediate modes such as TE1 mode, with TE0 mode undisturbed. In other designs, polarization splitting and rotating happens simultaneously [33–36]. To characterize a PSR, important metrics such as polarization conversion efficiency (PCE),…” AND Page 7-8 - Fig. 3 and Fig. 5); a first modulator positioned inside the base and configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the polarization splitter-rotator through a second optical path ( Page 4- “…But high polarization dependence (birefringence) is introduced at the same time. The performance of photonic devices such as directional couplers and modulators is usually very different for TE and TM modes. For submicron platforms, polarization conversion is needed at the interface between optical fiber and on chip photonic integrated circuits (PIC). After light is coupled onto the silicon chip, a polarization splitter and rotator (PSR) is used to separate the incoming TE and TM light component and convert them into TE modes at the two output ports, so that the remainder of the PIC can operate in only one mode….”) ;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Yangjin Ma et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. and the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. because the Symmetrical polarization splitter/rotator design and application in a polarization insensitive WDM receiver mentioned by Yangjin Ma et al. provides a system and method for implementing polarization splitter rotator within optical integrated circuit module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Symmetrical polarization splitter/rotator design and application in a polarization insensitive WDM receiver mentioned by Yangjin Ma et al. within the combined modified teaching of the Method and apparatus for stabilizing quantum cryptographic key distribution mentioned by KIM et al. and the Chip-based quantum key distribution mentioned by P. Sibson et al. for implementation of a system and method for polarization splitter rotator within optical integrated circuit module.
Regarding claim 14, Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. and Yangjin Ma et al. teach claim 10,
Combination of KIM et al. and P. Sibson et al. and Yangjin Ma et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the polarization splitter-rotator, depending on a polarization mode of an optical signal incident through the first optical path, either branches the optical signal incident through the first optical path as is or modulates polarization of a signal transmitted in a specific path and transmits the modulated signal.
However, within analogous art P. Sibson et al. teaches wherein the polarization splitter-rotator, depending on a polarization mode of an optical signal incident through the first optical path, either branches the optical signal incident through the first optical path as is or modulates polarization of a signal transmitted in a specific path and transmits the modulated signal ( Page 5 – “…A PSR is a device that converts the two orthogonally polarized modes received from the fiber into two copolarized, spatially separated modes [37]. Supposing TE0 goes to top branch and TM0 goes to bottom branch (rotated to TE0) at the output ports, the relation between output modes ( E top TE0 and Ebot TE0 ) and input modes ( E in TE0 and Ein TE0) …” AND Page 9- “…The optimization can be divided into two stages. The first stage is to optimize the TM0-to-TE1 bi-layer taper. Here we migrate the same bi-layer taper (9 μm long, 97% PCE) as in our ultra-compact polarization rotator design…”) AND Page 6- Fig. 3 ( b) ) .
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 2,3,4,5,6,7,11,12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2: “ … first modulator includes: a second beam splitter configured to reflect part of an optical signal reflected from the first beam splitter and incident through the second optical path on a second-first optical path and transmit a remaining part of the optical signal to a second-second optical path; a first phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the second beam splitter through the second-first optical path; a second phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the second beam splitter through the second-second optical path; and a third beam splitter configured to receive an optical signal incident from the first phase modulator and an optical signal incident from the second phase modulator.”
As to claim 3, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 3: “… an optical signal delay part configured to delay an optical signal transmitted from the first beam splitter and incident through the third optical path for a predetermined period of time and then emits the optical signal; a fourth beam splitter configured to transmit part of an optical signal incident through the optical signal delay part on a third-first optical path and reflect a remaining part of the optical signal to a third-second optical path; a third phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the fourth beam splitter through the third-first optical path; a fourth phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the fourth beam splitter through the third-second optical path; and a fifth beam splitter configured to receive an optical signal incident from the third phase modulator and an optical signal incident from the fourth phase modulator.”
As to claim 4, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 4: “ … phase modulation values of the first phase modulator and the second phase modulator provided in the first modulator, and the third phase modulator and the fourth phase modulator provided in the second modulator, are controlled such that intensity or a phase of an optical signal incident on the polarization splitter-rotator from the second modulator is modulated with a time difference relative to an optical signal incident on the polarization splitter-rotator from the first modulator.”
As per claims 5,6 and 7, Claims 5,6 and 7 depend on objected allowable claim 4, therefore the following claim 5,6 and 7 are considered objected allowable over prior art of record.
As to claim 11, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 11: “ … a second beam splitter configured to reflect part of an optical signal reflected from the polarization splitter-rotator and incident on a second-first optical path through the second optical path and transmit a remaining part of the optical signal to a second-second optical path; a first phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the second beam splitter through the second-first optical path; a second phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the second beam splitter through the second-second optical path; and a third beam splitter configured to receive an optical signal incident from the first phase modulator and an optical signal incident from the second phase modulator.”
As to claim 12, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 12: “ … a fourth beam splitter configured to transmit part of an optical signal incident from the polarization splitter-rotator through the second optical path to a third-first optical path and reflect a remaining part of the optical signal to a third-second optical path; a third phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the fourth beam splitter through the third-first optical path; a fourth phase modulator configured to modulate a phase of an optical signal incident from the fourth beam splitter through the third-second optical path; a fifth beam splitter configured to receive an optical signal incident from the third phase modulator and an optical signal incident from the fourth phase modulator; and an optical signal delay part configured to delay an optical signal emitted from the fifth beam splitter for a predetermined period of time.”
As to claim 13, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 13: “ … phase modulation values of the first phase modulator and the second phase modulator provided in the first modulator, and the third phase modulator and the fourth phase modulator provided in the second modulator, are controlled such that intensity or a phase of an optical signal incident on the polarization splitter-rotator from the second modulator is modulated with a time difference relative to an optical signal incident on the polarization splitter-rotator from the first modulator.”
Examiner’s Notes
4. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on ( Optical integrated circuit, quantum key distribution, beam splitter, optical signal modulation, semiconductor structure, optical transmitter/ receiver etc.).
1) Donald S. Bethune et al.," An Auto compensating Fiber-Optic Quantum Cryptography System Based on Polarization Splitting of Light,” 11th November 1999, IEEE JOURNAL OF QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, VOL. 36, NO. 3, MARCH 2000, Pages 340-345.
2) Yingxuan Zhao et al.," Broadband Polarization Splitter-Rotator and the Application in WDM Receiver," 11th December 2018, IEEE Photonics Journal, Vol. 11, No. 1, February 2019, Pages 1-10.
3) CHAOXUAN MA et al.," Silicon photonic transmitter for polarization encoded quantum key distribution," 31st October 2016,Optica, Vol. 3, No. 11, November 2016, Pages 1274-1277.
4) L. Cao et al.," Chip-Based Measurement-Device-Independent Quantum Key Distribution Using Integrated Silicon Photonic Systems," 17th July 2020, , 2020 American Physical Society, Pages 011001-1- 011001-4.
5) HONG CAI et al. ,” Silicon photonic transceiver circuit for high speed polarization-based discrete variable quantum key distribution,”17th May 2017, OPTICS EXPRESS, Vol. 25, No. 11, 29th May 2017,Pages 12282-12294.
6) CHANGHUNPARK et al. ( KR 2766533)
7) Williams (USPUB 20240275493 )
8) HIRASHITA (USPUB 20240259193)
9) SHIN et al. (USPUB 20220231845 )
10) Rhee et al. (USPUB 20210194682)
11) Fujisawa et al. (USPUB 20150043925)
12) Vakili (USPAT 10855453 )
13 ) Vakili (USPAT 10855457 )
14) Rhee et al.( USPUB 20200304300 )
15) Li et al. ( USPUB 20200266978 )
16) Rhee et al.( USPUB 20200195428)
17) TOMITA et al. ( USPUB 20190044713)
18) SONG X et al. ( CN 206602534 )
19 ) Habif ( USPAT 8433070)
20 ) Lou et al. ( USPAT 8050566)
21) Maeda et al. ( USPUB 20070110454)
22) Fujii ( USPUB 20060088157)
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635