Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 09 June 2026.
Claims 1-20 are presently pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2026 has being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant, in substance, argues that applied prior art of record do not teach nor suggest:
A) "detect a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider"
B) "based on the detected number of connection swaps satisfying a threshold, predict a root cause of the connection swaps as a wide area network (WAN) issue,".
In response to the applicant’s argument,
A) First of all, the applied prior art of record is utilized in a 103-obviousness rejection. Therefore, the proper question to ask is whether the teachings of the combined references make the argued limitations obvious. Indeed, the applied prior art of record teaches the argued limitation. In particular, Kaur teaches a method for switching between first and second service provider networks based on a temporal condition, such as the expiration of a time duration, or during a specific time/time period (see Kaur, ¶ [0048],[0058] and [0066]). Thus, the combined references meet the required scope of the claimed limitations as currently recited in the claims.
B) Similarly, Kaur teaches the use of threshold detecting the operational status of user device and to switch between networks (see Kaur, ¶ [0050]). As the root cause of the connection issue with the wide area network (WAN), Jea reference is utilized for it is teaching of root-cause analysis for WAN connection loss (see Jea, ¶ [0008], [0036] and claim 3). Therefore, the combination of Jea and Kaur teach "based on the detected number of connection swaps satisfying a threshold, predict a root cause of the connection swaps as a wide area network (WAN) issue," as currently recited in the claims.
Again, it is the Examiner’s position that Applicant has not yet submitted claims drawn to limitations, which define the operation and apparatus of Applicant’s disclosed invention in manner, which distinguishes over the prior art. During the interview on June 2, 2026 examiner provided constructive feedback including proposed amendment intended to advance prosecution. However, it appears that Applicant is seeking to maintain the claims at the broadest possible scope rather than adopting an amendment that would address the Examiner’s concerns and move prosecution forward. As it is Applicant’s right to continue to claim as broadly as possible their invention. It is also the Examiner’s right to continue to interpret the claim language as broadly as possible. It is the Examiner’s position that the detailed functionality that allows for Applicant’s invention to overcome the prior art used in the rejection, fails to differentiate in detail how these features are unique. It is advised that, in order to further expedite the prosecution of the application in response to this action, Applicant should amend the base claims to describe in more narrow detail the true distinguishing features of Applicant’s claim invention.
Failure for Applicant to significantly narrow definition/scope of the claims and supply arguments commensurate in scope with the claims implies the Applicant intends broad interpretation be given to the claims. The Examiner has interpreted the claims with scope parallel to the Applicant in the response, and reiterates the need for the Applicant to more clearly and distinctly defines the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jea et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0283514 in view of Kaur, U. S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0430985.
Regarding claim 1, Jea discloses a network management system (NMS) comprising: one or more processors and memory comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the NMS to (see Jae, ¶ [0008]; network management system comprising memory and processor is disclosed ): obtain connection event data for one or more network access servers (NAS) devices at a site, wherein each event included in the connection event data comprises a connection or disconnection event of a connection session provided by a service provider between a NAS device of the one or more NAS devices and the NMS (see Jea, ¶ [0010] and [0036]; NMS detects error condition related to connections); based on the detected number of connection swaps satisfying a threshold, predict a root cause of the connection swaps as a wide area network (WAN) issue (see Jea, ¶ [0036] and [0039]; root cause of the connection error condition is determined); and generate a notification of the predicted root cause of the connection swaps (see Jea, ¶ [0083]; notification of the root cause of the connection issue is generated).
Although Jea discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it doesn’t explicitly disclose detect a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider.
Kaur teaches detect a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider (see Kaur, ¶ [0022] - [0023] and [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kaur with that of Jea in order to efficiently maintain high level of service availability and performance.
Regarding claim 2, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein each event included in the connection event data includes an address of the service provider that provided the connection session experiencing the connection or disconnection event, and wherein the instructions further cause the NMS to, for each event included in the connection event data, perform a reverse lookup of the address of the service provider included in the event to determine a name and a location of the service provider that provided the connection session (see Jea, ¶ [0044] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein the first service provider provides a wired data connection type and the second service provider provides a wireless data connection type (see Jea, ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 4, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein to obtain the connection event data, the instructions further cause the NMS to one of read the connection event data for the one or more NAS devices at the site from records created by the NMS or receive the connection event data reported by the one or more NAS devices at the site (see Jea, ¶ [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein to detect the connection swap, the instructions further cause the NMS to: detect a first event comprising a connection event of the first connection session provided by the first service provider between the NAS device and the NMS; detect a second event comprising a disconnection event of the first connection session; detect a third event comprising a connection event of the second connection session provided by the second service provider between the NAS device and the NMS; and detect a fourth event identifying a disconnection event of the second connection session (see Jea, ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein to detect the number of connection swaps in the connection event data over the time window, the instructions further cause the NMS to increment a counter for each connection swap of the NAS device between the first service provider and the second service provider that occurs during the time window (see Kaur, ¶ [0022] and [0047]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein the instructions further cause the NMS to, after each increment of the counter, determine whether a current number of connection swaps satisfies the threshold (see Kaur, ¶ [0063] - [0064]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein the instructions further cause the NMS to: determine a severity associated with the detected number of connection swaps that satisfy the threshold in either a single time window or for each of two or more consecutive time windows; and modify the threshold based on the severity of the detected number of connection swaps (see Kaur, ¶ [0023] and [0047]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein each of the first connection session and the second connection session comprises a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection session for a management path between the NAS device at the site and the NMS (see Jea, ¶ [0025] and Kaur, ¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein a data path between the NAS device at the site and one or more of cloud-based applications, application servers, or data centers comprises a same path as the management path (see Jea, ¶ [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein the time window comprises a rolling time window (see Kaur, ¶ [0047]). Same motivation utilized for claim 1 applies equally to claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein the notification of the predicted root cause of the connection swaps includes a recommendation to determine at least one of WAN health metrics or health metrics of one or more gateway devices of the WAN (see Jea, ¶ [0035] - [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein the instructions further cause the NMS to: determine a physical distance between the site and the NMS; and filter out the connection event data for the one or more NAS devices at the site when the physical distance exceeds a preset distance (see Jea, ¶ [0008] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Jea discloses a method comprising: obtaining, by a network management system (NMS), connection event data for one or more network access servers (NAS) devices at a site, wherein each event included in the connection event data comprises a connection or disconnection event of a connection session provided by a service provider between a NAS device of the one or more NAS devices and the NMS (see Jea, ¶ [0010] and [0036]; NMS detects error condition related to connections); based on the detected number of connection swaps satisfying a threshold, predicting, by the NMS, a root cause of the connection swaps as a wide area network (WAN) issue (see Jea, ¶ [0036] and [0039]; root cause of the connection error condition is determined); and generating, by the NMS, a notification of the predicted root cause of the connection swaps (see Jea, ¶ [0083]; notification of the root cause of the connection issue is generated).
Although Jea discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose detecting, by the NMS, a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider.
Kaur teaches detecting, by the NMS, a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider (see Kaur, ¶ [0022] - [0023] and [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kaur with that of Jea in order to efficiently maintain high level of service availability and performance.
Regarding claim 15, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein each event included in the connection event data includes an address of the service provider that provided the connection session experiencing the connection or disconnection event, and wherein the method further comprises, for each event included in the connection event data, performing a reverse lookup of the address of the service provider included in the event to determine a name and a location of the service provider that provided the connection session (see Jea, ¶ [0044] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 16, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein detecting the connection swap comprises: detecting a first event comprising a connection event of the first connection session provided by the first service provider between the NAS device and the NMS; detecting a second event comprising a disconnection event of the first connection session; detecting a third event comprising a connection event of the second connection session provided by the second service provider between the NAS device and the NMS; and detecting a fourth event identifying a disconnection event of the second connection session (see Jea, ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Jea-Kaur teaches wherein detecting the number of connection swaps in the connection event data over the time window comprises incrementing a counter for each connection swap of the NAS device between the first service provider and the second service provider that occurs during the time window (see Kaur, ¶ [0022] and [0047]). Same motivation utilized for claim 14 applies equally to claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Jea-Kaur teaches further comprising: determining a severity associated with the detected number of connection swaps that satisfy the threshold in either a single time window or for each of two or more consecutive time windows; and modifying the threshold based on the severity of the detected number of connection swaps (see Kaur, ¶ [0023] and [0047]). Same motivation utilized for claim 14 applies equally to claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Jea-Kaur teaches further comprising: determining a physical distance between the site and the NMS; and filtering out the connection event data for the one or more NAS devices at the site when the physical distance exceeds a preset distance (see Jea, ¶ [0008] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Jea discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage media comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to cause a network management system to: obtain connection event data for one or more network access servers (NAS) devices at a site, wherein each event included in the connection event data comprises a connection or disconnection event of a connection session provided by a service provider between a NAS device of the one or more NAS devices and the network management system (see Jea, ¶ [0010] and [0036]; NMS detects error condition related to connections); based on the detected number of connection swaps satisfying a threshold, predict a root cause of the connection swaps as a wide area network (WAN) issue (see Jea, ¶ [0036] and [0039]; root cause of the connection error condition is determined); and generate a notification of the predicted root cause of the connection swaps (see Jea, ¶ [0083]; notification of the root cause of the connection issue is generated).
Although Jea discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose detect a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider.
Jea teaches detect a number of connection swaps in the connection event data over a time window, wherein a connection swap includes a change from a first connection session provided by a first service provider to a second connection session provided by a second service provider (see Kaur, ¶ [0022] - [0023] and [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kaur with that of Jea in order to efficiently maintain high level of service availability and performance.
Prior Art of Record
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED IBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444