DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US. Pub: 20190348482 A1~hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Choung et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0061457 A1~hereinafter “Choung”).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses (in at least figs. 6-8) a display device comprising: a substrate (100) comprising a display area, and a non-display area around the display area (see at least fig. 6); a passivation layer (170) above the substrate; a light-emitting element (220) above the passivation layer; a pixel-defining layer (180) above the passivation layer in the display area and the non-display area, and comprising: a first inorganic layer (181; [0062]) above the substrate, a second inorganic layer (182; [0059]-[0061]) above the first inorganic layer, and a third inorganic layer (183; [0076]) above the second inorganic layer, in the display area; and the first inorganic layer (181) and the second inorganic layer (182), in the non-display area; a first bank (190) above the pixel-defining layer (180).
Bae does not expressly disclose a second bank above the first bank, and extending further than a side of the first bank.
Choung discloses (in at least fig. 1) a display device comprised of, in part, a bank layer (110) that is formed on top a pixel defining layer (126) that extends in the display region; wherein the bank layer (110) comprises a first bank layer (110A) above the pixel-defining layer; and a second bank (110B) above the first bank, and extending further than a side of the first bank (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Bae with the teaching of Choung for the benefit of providing suitable protection to the display device against external pressure.
Regarding claim 2, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) in at least a portion of the non-display area, the second inorganic layer (182) is uncovered by the third inorganic layer (183).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bae and Choung discloses (in at least fig. 6 Bae; fig. 1 Choung) a side of the third inorganic layer (183) that faces the non-display area extends further than, or is aligned with, a side of the second bank (110B) that faces the non-display area.
Regarding claim 4, Bae discloses (in at least figs. 6-8) the pixel-defining layer (180) is on an upper surface and a side of the passivation layer (170).
Regarding claim 5, Bae as modified by Choung does not expressly disclose an angle between a lower surface and the side of the passivation layer is less than about 90°.
However, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) an angle between a lower surface and the side of the passivation layer that appears to be greater than 90°.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited angle through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited angle is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the angle of Bae.
Regarding claim 6, Bae discloses (in at least figs. 6-8) the pixel-defining layer (180) comprises a first portion (181) at a first height above the substrate (100), a second portion (182) at a second height above the substrate, and a third portion (183) at a third height above the substrate, wherein the first height is greater than the second height and the third height (see fig. 6), and wherein the first portion (181), the second portion (182), and the third portion (183) of the pixel-defining layer (180) are sequentially arranged in a longitudinal direction of the substrate (see fig. 6).
Bae does not expressly disclose the second height is greater than the third height.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited second height through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited second height is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the second height of Bae.
Regarding claim 7, Bae discloses (in at least figs. 6-8) the passivation layer (170) extends in the display area and the non-display area.
Regarding claim 8, Bae as modified by Choung does not expressly disclose a thickness of the first inorganic layer is less than a thickness of the second inorganic layer.
However, Bae discloses (in at least figs. 6-8; [0059]; [0078]) a thickness (t1) of the first inorganic layer (181) is greater than a thickness (t2) of the second inorganic layer (182).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thickness through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed that the recited thickness is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using thickness of Bae. Indeed, it has been held that mere thickness limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical.
Regarding claim 9, Bae as modified by Choung does not expressly disclose a thickness of the first inorganic layer is less than a thickness of a pixel electrode of the light-emitting element.
However, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) a pixel electrode (210), and a first inorganic layer (181) with a thickness (t1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a thickness of the first inorganic layer less than a thickness of pixel electrode of the light-emitting element through routine experimentation. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) the second inorganic layer (182) comprises a first side facing a side of the pixel electrode (210), and a second side extending further than the first side.
Regarding claim 11, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6; [0061]-[0062]; [0076]) the second inorganic layer (182) comprises a different material from the first inorganic layer (181) and the third inorganic layer (183).
Regarding claim 12, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6; [0061]-[0062]; [0076]) the first inorganic layer (181) and the third inorganic layer (183) comprise silicon nitride, and wherein the second inorganic layer comprises one or more of silicon oxynitride or silicon oxide.
Regarding claim 13, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6; [0051]) the passivation layer (170) comprises one or more of an acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a polyamide resin, or a polyimide resin.
Regarding claim 14, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) in the display area, the pixel-defining layer (180) comprises a side extending further than the side of the first bank (190).
Regarding claim 15, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) a residual pattern at an edge of a pixel electrode (210) of the light-emitting element, below the pixel-defining layer (180).
Regarding claim 16, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) the light-emitting element comprises a pixel electrode (210) above the passivation layer (170), a light-emitting layer (222) above the pixel electrode, and a common electrode (223) above the light-emitting layer and contacting the first bank (190).
Regarding claim 17, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) a first inorganic pattern (310) above the light-emitting element (222) in the display area; and a second inorganic pattern (320) above the pixel-defining layer (170) in the non-display area, and spaced apart from the first inorganic pattern.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bae and Choung discloses (in at least fig. 6 Bae; fig. 1 Choung) the first inorganic pattern (116) is below a lower surface of the second bank (110B).
Regarding claim 19, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6-8) a display device comprising: a light-emitting element (222R, 222G) above a substrate (100); a pixel-defining layer (180) above the substrate, comprising a first inorganic layer (181; [0061]) above the substrate, a second inorganic layer (182; [0062]) above the first inorganic layer, and a third inorganic layer (183; [0076]) above the second inorganic layer; a first bank (190) above the pixel-defining layer (180); and wherein the third inorganic layer (183) has different respective thicknesses in an area overlapping the first bank (190) and in an area non-overlapping with the first bank.
Bae does not expressly disclose a second bank above the first bank, and extending further than a side of the first bank.
Choung discloses (in at least fig. 1) a display device comprised of, in part, a bank layer (110) that is formed on top a pixel defining layer (126) that extends in the display region; wherein the bank layer (110) comprises a first bank layer (110A) above the pixel-defining layer; and a second bank (110B) above the first bank, and extending further than a side of the first bank (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Bae with the teaching of Choung for the benefit of providing suitable protection to the display device against external pressure.
Regarding claim 20, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) the thickness of the third inorganic layer (183) in the area overlapping the first bank (190) is greater than the thickness of the third inorganic layer (183) in the area non-overlapping with the first bank.
Regarding claim 21, Bae discloses (in at least fig. 6) an electronic device comprising: a display device comprising a substrate (100) comprising a display area, and a non-display area around the display area (see at least fig. 6); a passivation layer (170) above the substrate; a light-emitting element (220R, 220G) above the passivation layer; a pixel-defining layer (180) above the passivation layer (170) in the display area and the non-display area, and comprising: a first inorganic layer (181; [0061]) above the substrate, a second inorganic layer (182; [0061]-[0062) above the first inorganic layer, and a third inorganic layer (183) above the second inorganic layer, in the display area; and the first inorganic layer (181) and the second inorganic layer (182), in the non-display area; a first bank (190) above the pixel-defining layer (180).
Bae does not expressly disclose a second bank above the first bank, and extending further than a side of the first bank.
Choung discloses (in at least fig. 1) a display device comprised of, in part, a bank layer (110) that is formed on top a pixel defining layer (126) that extends in the display region; wherein the bank layer (110) comprises a first bank layer (110A) above the pixel-defining layer; and a second bank (110B) above the first bank, and extending further than a side of the first bank (see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Bae with the teaching of Choung for the benefit of providing suitable protection to the display device against external pressure.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875