DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (2021/0348409).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. disclose an apparatus comprising: a base member 11; and at least one locking structure 6 coupled to the base member 11, the at least one locking structure 6 comprising: at least one locking arm 11; and a locking element 9 coupled to the locking arm, 11 wherein the at least one locking structure 9 is configured to be inserted into a support member 7 to couple the apparatus to the support member 7.
Regarding claim 2, at least one locking arm 11 is flexible.
Regarding claim 3, the locking element 3 has a shape and size that corresponds to an opening 8 in the support member 4.
Regarding claim 6, the locking element 9 has a cylindrical shape.
Regarding claim 7, the locking element 9 has a sloped surface for insertion into the opening 8 in the support member 4.
Regarding claim 8, the locking structure 6 is wider than an opening in the support member 4 that the support member is inserted into (paragraph [0045], lines17+).
Regarding claim 9, the locking structure comprises two locking arms 13 located opposite to each other (one on the left of joint member 1, the other one is on the right of joint member 1).
Regarding claim 10, the locking structure 13 is oriented perpendicular to a surface of the base member 11.
Regarding claim 16, Chen et al. disclose a system, comprising: a connector 6, comprising: a base member 11; and at least one locking structure coupled to the base member 11, the at least one locking structure comprising: at least one locking arm 13; and a locking element 9 coupled to the locking arm 13; and a support member 4 comprising at least one opening 8 for receiving the at least one locking structure to couple the connector 6 to the support member 4.
Regarding claim 17, the support member 4 comprises a lock opening 8 for receiving the locking element 9.
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giampavolo (7,559,126).
Regarding claim 1, Giampavolo discloses an apparatus 71 (Fig. 7) comprising: a base member 75; and at least one locking structure 72/73 coupled to the base member 75, the at least one locking structure 72/73 comprising: at least one locking arm 73; and a locking element 77 coupled to the locking arm 73 wherein the at least one locking structure 72/73 is configured to be inserted into a support member 78 to couple the apparatus to the support member 78.
Regarding claim 2, at least one locking arm 73 is flexible.
Regarding claim 3, the locking element 77 has a shape and size that corresponds to an opening in the support member 78.
Regarding claims 4, 5, the locking element comprises a secondary locking element (where numeral 73 points to) to further secure the locking element 77 in the opening in the support member 78, wherein the secondary locking element comprises a slot that is configured to receive an edge of the opening 82 in the support member.
Regarding claim 7, the locking element 77 has a sloped surface for insertion into the opening 82 in the support member 75.
Regarding claim 8, the locking structure is wider than an opening in the support member75 that the support member is inserted into.
Regarding claim 9, the locking structure 71 comprises two locking arms 73 and 72.
Regarding claim 10, the locking structure is oriented perpendicular to a surface of the base member 75.
Regarding claim 11, the apparatus comprises two locking structures 72 and 73, each of the two locking structures 72 and 73 coupled to opposite edges of the base member 75.
Regarding claim 16, Giampavolo discloses a system 70, comprising: a connector 71, comprising: a base member 75; and at least one locking structure 72/73 coupled to the base member 75 , the at least one locking structure 72/73 comprising: at least one locking arm 73; and a locking element 77 coupled to the locking arm 73; and a support member 78 comprising at least one opening 82 for receiving the at least one locking structure to couple the connector 71 to the support member 78.
Regarding claim 17, the support member 78 comprises a lock opening 82 for receiving the locking element 77.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bennett teaches a frame comprising: a plurality of connectors 130, wherein each connector 130 comprises: a base member; and at least one locking structure coupled to the base member, the at least one locking structure comprising: at least one locking arm 336; and a locking element 338 coupled to the locking arm 336; a plurality of support members 150.
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754