DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 14-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Changdu discloses a method of measuring a position of a scanning cantilever (30) (Fig. 2, 3A), the method comprising:
providing a housing (10) (Fig. 1B, 2; Pg. 5, lines 35 – Pg. 6, line 5) including:
an actuation region (see Fig. 1B, 2 – interpreted as a region within the housing comprising the actuator);
an oscillation region (see Fig. 1B, 2 – interpreted as the region traced by the scanning cantilever);
providing a drive signal to an actuator (20) disposed in the actuation region (Fig. 2; Pg. 6, lines 34-43);
oscillating the scanning cantilever in response to the drive signal (Pg. 6, lines 34-43);
generating a first light beam using a first optical source (411) disposed in the position measurement region (Fig. 3A; Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2);
directing the first light beam toward the scanning cantilever in the position measurement region (Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2);
detecting at least a portion of the first light beam using a first photodetector (412) (Fig. 3A; Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2);
generating a second light beam using a second optical source (421) disposed in the position measurement region (Fig. 3A; Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2);
directing the second light beam toward the scanning cantilever in the position measurement region (Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2);
detecting at least a portion of the second light beam using a second photodetector (422) (Fig. 3A; Fig. 3A; Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2); and
determining the position of the scanning cantilever based on the detected portion of the first light beam and the detected portion of the second light beam (Pg. 11, line 26 – Pg. 12, line 23).
Changdu discloses a position measurement region (see Fig. 1B, 2 – interpreted as the region between the actuation and oscillation region comprising the first and second light source and first and second detector) but does not explicitly disclose a position measurement region including an aperture and directing the first and second light beam toward the aperture in the position measurement region.
However, Schowengerdt, in the same field of endeavor of fiber scanning projector systems and methods, discloses a measurement system comprising a position measurement region including an aperture (522); directing light towards the aperture in the position measurement region (Fig. 5; [0089] – where the cantilever is shown as passing through the aperture into a position measurement region and where, in combination with Changdu’s light sources and detectors, would result in a measurement system which directs a first and second light beam toward the aperture in the position measurement region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu’s system with a defined position measurement region that is optically isolated in a way which increases optical efficiency and reduces interference from external sources of radiation, improving overall accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the scanning cantilever extends from the actuation region through the aperture in the position measurement region to the oscillation region (Schowengerdt: Fig. 5; [0089] – where the cantilever is shown passing through the aperture into the position measurement region).
Regarding claim 3, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the scanning cantilever comprises a scanning fiber (Changdu: Pg. 6, lines 34-35).
Regarding claim 6, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein:
the scanning cantilever is characterized by a longitudinal axis (interpreted as the z direction) (Changdu: Fig. 3A-B; Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2); and
the first optical source, the first photodetector, the second optical source, and the second photodetector are disposed in a lateral plane (xy plane) orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (Changdu: Fig. 3A-B; Pg. 7, line 29 – Pg. 8, line 2).
Regarding claim 7, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first optical source and the second optical source comprise light emitting diodes (Changdu: Pg. 6, lines 22-30).
Regarding claim 8, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the first optical source and the second optical source comprise semiconductor lasers (Changdu: Pg. 6, lines 22-30).
Regarding claim 9, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein: the first optical source and the second optical source comprise light emitting diodes; and the first photodetector and the second photodetector comprise photodiodes (Changdu: Pg. 6, lines 22-30).
Regarding claim 14, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the position measurement region is disposed between an end of the actuation region and an emission tip of the scanning cantilever (Changdu: see Fig. 1B, 2, 3A-B – where the actuation region is interpreted as the region comprising the actuator, the position measurement region, positioned between the actuation and oscillation region, is the region comprising the light sources and detectors and where the oscillation region is interpreted as the region traced by the scanning cantilever’s emission tip).
Regarding claim 15, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the scanning cantilever comprises a scanning waveguide.
However, Schowengerdt discloses a measurement system wherein the scanning cantilever comprises a scanning waveguide ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a scanning waveguide as the scanning cantilever where the motivation would be to provide flexibility in the design and geometry of the cantilever, compared to alternatives including optical fibers, providing a measurement system which can be more easily tailored to have desired properties.
Regarding claim 17, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the housing further comprises an optical assembly section (130) adjacent the oscillation region.
However, Schowengerdt further discloses a measurement system wherein a housing (156) further comprises an optical assembly section (130) adjacent the oscillation region (120) (Fig. 1A; [0034]; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt with an optical assembly section comprising one or more surfaces where the motivation would be to provide greater control over the properties of the output beam including compensating for aberrations, changing field of views, and introducing the optical power (Schowengerdt: [0060]; [0065]; [0092], last 9 lines).
Regarding claim 18, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the housing further comprises a third optical source and a third photodetector, the method further comprising:
generating a third light beam using the third optical source (Changdu: see Fig. 3B); and
detecting at least a portion of the third light beam using the third photodetector (Changdu: see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 19, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 18, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the third light beam is collimated (Changdu: Pg. 6, lines 22-30).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) further in view of Colton et al. (US 2004/0208788 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 3, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the scanning fiber includes a reflective coating.
However, Colton, in the field of endeavor of atomic force microscopy, discloses a measurement system wherein a scanning fiber (112) includes a reflective coating (Fig. 1; [0046], lines 1-12; [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the measurement system with a scanning fiber which includes a reflecting coating facilitating reflections and improving the overall optical efficiency and sensitivity of the measurement system (Colton: [0059]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) further in view of Oldenburg et al. (US 2001/0002275 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 3, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the scanning fiber includes an absorbing coating.
However, Oldenburg, in the field of endeavor of composition and methods used in optical sensing systems, discloses a measurement system wherein a scanning fiber includes an absorbing coating ([0038]-[0040]; [0081], last 12 lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement system with a scanning fiber which includes an absorbing coating where the motivation would be to provide a coating layer which may be tuned to enhance the photoresponse and efficiency of the detection probe (Oldenburg: [0040]; [0081]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) further in view of Detwiler et al. (US 2008/0067252 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, but does explicitly disclose
directing the first light beam toward the aperture comprises propagating the first light beam in a first channel; and
directing the second light beam toward the aperture comprises propagating the second light beam in a second channel.
However, Detwiler, in the field of endeavor of optical scanning systems and methods, discloses an optical system configured for directing a first light beam (35) toward an aperture (62) comprises propagating the first light beam in a first channel (Fig. 4, 6; [0023]-[0026]); and
directing a second light beam (37) toward the aperture (62) comprises propagating the second light beam in a second channel (Fig. 4, 6; [0023]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt with a housing which combines various active optics and associated electronics into a small and more precise package (Detwiler: [0002]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) further in view of Truckenmiller et al. (US 12329875 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a printed circuit board is disposed in the position measurement region and the first optical source, the first photodetector, the second optical source, and the second photodetector are mounted on the printed circuit board.
However, Truckenmiller, in the field of endeavor of optical indicator systems and methods, discloses an optical system wherein a printed circuit board (116) is disposed in a position measurement region and a first optical source (126), a first photodetector (128), a second optical source (131), and a second photodetector (130) are mounted on the printed circuit board (Fig. 1B; Col. 7, lines 18-33; Col. 8, lines 6-23 and 35-45; Col. 10, lines 4-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt with a housing which combines various active optics and associated electronics into a compact housing utilizing a single rigid circuit board where elements may be more easily manufactured or modified/repaired (Truckenmiller: Col. 3, lines 1-2).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) in view of Truckenmiller et al. (US 12329875 B2) further in view of Detwiler et al. (US 2008/0067252 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt and Truckenmiller discloses the method of claim 11, as outlined above, but does not disclose a printed circuit board cover joined to the printed circuit board, wherein the aperture comprises a first orifice in the printed circuit board and the printed circuit board cover includes a second orifice.
However, Detwiler discloses a printed circuit board cover (44) joined to a printed circuit board (52), wherein an aperture comprises a first orifice in the printed circuit board and the printed circuit board cover includes a second orifice (Fig. 2 and 6; [0024]-[0026] – where Fig. 6 shows the optics engine, defined by the motor 26 and spinner 16, as passing through circuit board 52 with a portion above and below the board and through the opening in top of frame 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt and Truckenmiller with apertures within the housing structure which provides space for motion of an optical engine/cantilever system while isolating a position measurement region from an actuation region from external sources of radiation, improving the overall signal to noise of the measurement system.
Regarding claim 13, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt, Truckenmiller and Detwiler discloses the method of claim 12, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein an optics engine (defined by the motor 26 and spinner 16,) passes through the first orifice and the second orifice (Detwiler: Fig. 2 and 6; [0024]-[0026] – where Fig. 6 shows the optical engine as passing through circuit board 52 with a portion above and below the board and through the opening in top of frame 44).
Changdu in view of Schowengerdt, Truckenmiller and Detwiler does not explicitly disclose wherein a scanning cantilever passes through the first orifice and the second orifice.
However, Schowengerdt further discloses a measurement system wherein a scanning cantilever (154) passes through a retaining collar (152) (Schowengerdt: Fig. 1B; [0035] – where the scanning cantilever is interpreted as the optics engine which is functionally driven to dynamically manipulate light in the optical system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt, Truckenmiller and Detwiler with a measurement system which utilizes a scanning cantilever as the optics engine positioned such that it passes through different isolated regions of the optical system, reducing the effects of external sources of radiation on measured signals and improving the overall signal to noise.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) further in view of Justice et al. (US 2014/0293263 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, but does explicitly disclose wherein:
detecting at least a portion of the first light beam comprises filtering the first light beam using a first spectral filter disposed between the first optical source and the first photodetector; and
detecting at least a portion of the second light beam comprises filtering the second light beam using a second spectral filter disposed between the second optical source and the second photodetector.
However, Justice, in the same field of endeavor of fiber scanning projector systems and methods, discloses a measurement system wherein detecting at least a portion of a first light beam comprises filtering the first light beam using a first spectral filter (30) disposed between a first optical source (25) and a first photodetector (45) (Fig. 1; [0026]). Though Justice does not explicitly disclose a step where detecting at least a portion of the second light beam comprises filtering the second light beam using a second spectral filter disposed between the second optical source and the second photodetector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, to introduce a second spectral filter between the second optical source and the second photodetector in Changdu’s measurement system, producing the expected result of filtering out external signals while isolating a second optical channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt with a spectral filter placed between light sources and detectors, allowing for select wavelength ranges to be detected while filtering out external signals, improving the signal to noise of the measurement system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changdu et al. (CN 112444965 A – cited portions are from the translated document) in view of Schowengerdt et al. (US 2018/0275396 A1) further in view of Lebby et al. (US 6084697).
Regarding claim 20, Changdu in view of Schowengerdt discloses the method of claim 18, as outlined above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the third optical source comprises a vertical-cavity, surface-emitting laser.
However, Lebby, in the same field of endeavor of fiber scanning projector systems and methods, discloses a measurement system wherein a third optical source (18, 19, 20) comprises a vertical-cavity, surface-emitting laser (Fig. 1-2; Col. 4, lines 5-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Changdu in view of Schowengerdt with a measurement system utilizing vertical-cavity, surface-emitting lasers where the motivation would be to provide the known advantages of superior beam quality, lower power consumption and manufacturing costs over alternative light sources.
Conclusion
/MAHER YAZBACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877