DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made to the amendments and arguments received September 3, 2026. Claims 1, 8, and 10-14 were amended. Claim 7 was cancelled. Claims 15-20 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “automatic condition-based lens cleaning system” in Claims 1-14, “lens cleaning device” in Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 14, “machine controller” in Claims 2 and 11, and “work machine” in Claims 10-14.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
As necessitated by amendment, Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kline et al. US 2019/0322245 (hereafter Kline et al.) in view of Jones et al. US 11,661,038 (hereafter Jones et al.).
Regarding Amended Claim 1, Kline et al. teaches:
1. (Currently Amended) An automatic condition-based lens cleaning system (vehicle sensor cleaning system 100), comprising:
a camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) mounted on a loader (vehicle, see discussion below) and including a camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]);
a temperature sensor (cleaning sensor 108 or external sensor 130 which is a temperature sensor, Paragraph [0021]) associated with the camera and configured to obtain temperature information (ambient temperature, Paragraph [0021]);
a lens cleaning device (air blow off or wiper blades, Paragraph [0066] or spraying cleaning fluid) coupled to the camera, the lens cleaning device including at least one of an air nozzle (air blow off), a non-abrasive applicator (wiper blades), or a nozzle system (cleaning fluids with spray pattern 312, Paragraphs [0028] and [0031]); and
a controller (processor 104) in communication with the camera, the temperature sensor, and the lens cleaning device (Paragraph [0021] – “The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle), weather conditions (e.g. rain, clear, snow, etc.), location (e.g., based on GPS, Wi-Fi networks, triangulation, etc.), road conditions or expected road conditions, sensor types, sensor lens sizes and coating, vehicle speed, type of debris on sensor lens (e.g. mud, road spray, bugs, etc.), current outputs or items detected by cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 (signal strength or object classification), or other types of information. The processor 104 may utilize some or all of this information to determine parameters for a cleaning process, such as cleaning fluid temperature, cleaning type (air or liquid), cleaning duration (air and/or liquid), cleaning flow rates (air and/or liquid), cleaning pressures (air and/or liquid), any delayed cleaning (e.g. wait to clean at a more appropriate moment), type of fluid or mixture to use (e.g., amount of alcohol to use in cleaning), or other parameters”), the controller including a main memory (memory 106) storing instructions (Paragraph [0020] – “store computer executable instructions”), which when executed by the controller perform a process, wherein the process includes:
receiving the temperature information from the temperature sensor (Paragraph [0021] - “The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle)” and “The processor 104 may utilize some or all of this information to determine parameters for a cleaning process, such as cleaning fluid temperature”);
determining, based on the temperature information, whether an environmental temperature is above a temperature threshold that is associated with a high temperature application (Paragraph [0022] – “In an embodiment, ambient temperature may be used to determine whether a cleaning fluid should be heated, mixed with other solutions, mixed with air, pressurized at a desired pressure level or other operational parameter. For instance, the processor 104 may receive an input that represents ambient air temperature from cleaning sensors 108 or other components. The processor 104 may compare the temperature to a threshold, such as 32 degrees Fahrenheit. If below the threshold, the processor 104 may decide whether the cleaning fluid should be heated to improve performance of the cleaning event”); and
when the environmental temperature is determined to be above the temperature threshold (above 32 degrees Fahrenheit, Paragraph [0054] - “is the ambient temperature too high or too low?”), actuating the lens cleaning device to clean the camera lens (Paragraph [0070] – “In still another embodiment, cleaning cycle of decision tree 1000 can optionally contain a subroutine at items 1100, 1102, 1104 and 1106 that enable a cleaning cycle to occur at temperatures below the freezing point of water (i.e., 0 degrees C. or 32 degrees F.) via either heating the lens of one or more sensors at item 1104 or heating the washing fluid at item 1106 if it is determined at query 1102 that the ambient temperature is about 0 degrees C. or 32 degrees F. of less. If the answer to query 1102 is no then system 100 does not need to institute the subroutine to either heat one or more lenses or heat the washing fluid”) ,
wherein cleaning the camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) includes at least one of: actuating the air nozzle to generate a controlled stream of compressed air (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off, Paragraph [0066] and pressurized air, Paragraph [0031]), actuating the non-abrasive applicator to remove contaminants (initiate cleaning cycle which includes wiping of lens, Paragraph [0066]), or actuating the nozzle system to dispense a cleaning solution (cleaning fluids with spray pattern 312, Paragraphs [0028] and [0031]).
Kline et al. discloses a device that can be installed in a vehicle. Figure 4 shows what appears to be an SUV, however, the device is not uniquely configured for any specific vehicle. The reference Jones et al. discloses a work machine with a work implement that is a loader that includes a camera with a camera cleaning system. Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the device on any desired vehicle, such as a loader as taught by Jones et al. with the motivation to ensure that the vehicle has cameras that remains functional in poor environmental conditions to ensure safe loader operation.
Regarding Claim 2, Kline et al. teaches:
2. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the controller (processor 104) is further configured to:
determine, based on operating information (vehicle speed) from a machine controller associated with the loader (Paragraph [0062]), whether the loader is engaged in a particular activity that is consistent with the high temperature application (traveling while temperature is above 32 degrees); and
actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the loader is engaged in the particular activity (performing cleaning cycle at pressure/duration consistent with vehicle speed, Paragraph [0062])(Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Kline et al. teaches:
3. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 2, wherein the particular activity (traveling at sensed speed, Paragraph [0062]) includes at least one of digging, loading, or roading (roading).
Regarding Claim 4, Kline et al. teaches:
4. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, further comprising a light sensor (sensor that determines external, or ambient light levels, Paragraph [0061] and step 1036 in Figure 6A) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain light information, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine, based on the light information, whether an environmental lighting satisfies a lighting threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (determines one or more operational thresholds based on one or more of: external, or ambient, lighting levels, Paragraph [0061]); and
actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental lighting satisfies the lighting threshold (the system may compare light intensity/brightness from light sensors to determine an intensity step change. If the change meets or exceeds a threshold, the system may allow for a cleaning event, Paragraph [0039])(Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 5, Kline et al. teaches:
5. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, further comprising a humidity sensor (humidity sensor, Paragraph [0053]) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain humidity information, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine, based on the humidity information, whether an environmental humidity satisfies a humidity threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (“is the ambient humidity too high (one method by which to determine if it is raining or not) or even too low?”, Paragraph [0054]); and
actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental humidity satisfies the humidity threshold (Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding Amended Claim 8, Kline et al. teaches:
8. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the temperature information (Paragraph [0021] – “The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle), weather conditions (e.g. rain, clear, snow, etc.), location (e.g., based on GPS, Wi-Fi networks, triangulation, etc.), road conditions or expected road conditions, sensor types, sensor lens sizes and coating, vehicle speed, type of debris on sensor lens (e.g. mud, road spray, bugs, etc.) received by the controller (processor 104) is wireless (Paragraph [0025] – “At least some embodiments may utilize information provided by sensors in user devices (e.g., GPS unit, smart phone, wearables, etc.) or from a network connection”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kline et al. teaches:
9. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the temperature threshold is 85 degrees Fahrenheit or more (see discussion below).
For the scope of this claim, the Applicant relies on his disclosure “For example, lens cleaning device 330 can be actuated by controller 140 when sensor 310 detects a temperature above 85 degrees Fahrenheit.” As disclosed, the vehicle sensor cleaning system on the Kline et al. device can be actuated by controller 104 when cleaning sensor 108 or external sensor 130, which is a temperature sensor, detects a temperature above 85 degrees Fahrenheit consistent with the Applicant’s disclosure as claimed. The Applicant does not disclose that 85 degrees Fahrenheit or more solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well at temperatures below 85 degrees. Therefore, consistent with the Applicant’s disclosure, the “temperature threshold” is merely a temperature measured by the controller that would not prevent the device from initiating a cleaning operation.
Regarding Amended Claim 10, Kline et al. teaches:
10. (Currently Amended) A work machine (vehicle),
a work implement (vehicle specific); and
an automatic condition-based lens cleaning system (vehicle sensor cleaning system 100), including:
a camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) mounted on the work machine and including a camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]);
a temperature sensor (cleaning sensor 108 or external sensor 130 which is a temperature sensor, Paragraph [0021]) associated with the camera and configured to obtain temperature information (ambient temperature, Paragraph [0021]);
a lens cleaning device (air blow off or wiper blades, Paragraph [0066] or spraying cleaning fluid) coupled to the camera, the lens cleaning device including at least one of an air nozzle (air blow off), a non-abrasive applicator (wiper blades), or a nozzle system (cleaning fluids with spray pattern 312, Paragraphs [0028] and [0031]); and
a controller (processor 104) in communication with the camera, the temperature sensor, and the lens cleaning device (Paragraph [0021] – “The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle), weather conditions (e.g. rain, clear, snow, etc.), location (e.g., based on GPS, Wi-Fi networks, triangulation, etc.), road conditions or expected road conditions, sensor types, sensor lens sizes and coating, vehicle speed, type of debris on sensor lens (e.g. mud, road spray, bugs, etc.), current outputs or items detected by cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 (signal strength or object classification), or other types of information. The processor 104 may utilize some or all of this information to determine parameters for a cleaning process, such as cleaning fluid temperature, cleaning type (air or liquid), cleaning duration (air and/or liquid), cleaning flow rates (air and/or liquid), cleaning pressures (air and/or liquid), any delayed cleaning (e.g. wait to clean at a more appropriate moment), type of fluid or mixture to use (e.g., amount of alcohol to use in cleaning), or other parameters”), the controller including a main memory (memory 106) storing instructions (Paragraph [0020] – “store computer executable instructions”), which when executed by the controller perform a process, wherein the process includes:
receiving the temperature information from the temperature sensor (Paragraph [0021] - “The processor 104 may receive information from cleaning sensors 108 or external sensors 130 regarding ambient temperature (external to the vehicle)” and “The processor 104 may utilize some or all of this information to determine parameters for a cleaning process, such as cleaning fluid temperature”);
determining, based on the temperature information, whether an environmental temperature is above a temperature threshold that is associated with a high temperature application (Paragraph [0022] – “In an embodiment, ambient temperature may be used to determine whether a cleaning fluid should be heated, mixed with other solutions, mixed with air, pressurized at a desired pressure level or other operational parameter. For instance, the processor 104 may receive an input that represents ambient air temperature from cleaning sensors 108 or other components. The processor 104 may compare the temperature to a threshold, such as 32 degrees Fahrenheit. If below the threshold, the processor 104 may decide whether the cleaning fluid should be heated to improve performance of the cleaning event”); and
when the environmental temperature is determined to be above the temperature threshold (above 32 degrees Fahrenheit, Paragraph [0054] - “is the ambient temperature too high or too low?”), actuating the lens cleaning device to clean the camera lens (Paragraph [0070] – “In still another embodiment, cleaning cycle of decision tree 1000 can optionally contain a subroutine at items 1100, 1102, 1104 and 1106 that enable a cleaning cycle to occur at temperatures below the freezing point of water (i.e., 0 degrees C. or 32 degrees F.) via either heating the lens of one or more sensors at item 1104 or heating the washing fluid at item 1106 if it is determined at query 1102 that the ambient temperature is about 0 degrees C. or 32 degrees F. of less. If the answer to query 1102 is no then system 100 does not need to institute the subroutine to either heat one or more lenses or heat the washing fluid”) ,
wherein cleaning the camera lens (lens of external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) includes at least one of: actuating the air nozzle to generate a controlled stream of compressed air (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off, Paragraph [0066] and pressurized air, Paragraph [0031]), actuating the non-abrasive applicator to remove contaminants (initiate cleaning cycle which includes wiping of lens, Paragraph [0066]), or actuating the nozzle system to dispense a cleaning solution (cleaning fluids with spray pattern 312, Paragraphs [0028] and [0031]).
Kline et al. discloses a device that can be installed in a vehicle. Figure 4 shows what appears to be an SUV, however, the device is not uniquely configured for any specific vehicle. The reference Jones et al. discloses a work machine with a work implement that is a loader that includes a camera with a camera cleaning system. Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the device on any desired vehicle, such as a loader as taught by Jones et al. with the motivation to ensure that the vehicle has cameras that remains functional in poor environmental conditions to ensure safe loader operation.
Regarding Amended Claim 11, Kline et al. teaches:
11. The work machine of claim 10, wherein the controller (processor 104) is further configured to:
determine, based on operating information (vehicle speed) from a machine controller associated with the work machine (Paragraph [0062]), whether the work machine is engaged in a particular activity that is consistent with the high temperature application (traveling while temperature is above 32 degrees); and
actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the work machine is engaged in the particular activity (performing cleaning cycle at pressure/duration consistent with vehicle speed, Paragraph [0062])(Claim 11).
Regarding Amended Claim 12, Kline et al. teaches:
12. The work machine
Regarding Amended Claim 13, Kline et al. teaches:
13. The work machine wherein the system further includes a light sensor (sensor that determines external, or ambient light levels, Paragraph [0061] and step 1036 in Figure 6A) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain light information, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine, based on the light information, whether an environmental lighting satisfies a lighting threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (determines one or more operational thresholds based on one or more of: external, or ambient, lighting levels, Paragraph [0061]); and
actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental lighting satisfies the lighting threshold (the system may compare light intensity/brightness from light sensors to determine an intensity step change. If the change meets or exceeds a threshold, the system may allow for a cleaning event, Paragraph [0039])(Claim 11).
Regarding Amended Claim 14, Kline et al. teaches:
14. The work machine wherein the system further includes a humidity sensor (humidity sensor, Paragraph [0053]) associated with the camera (external sensor 330 which is a camera, Paragraph [0028]) and configured to obtain humidity information, wherein the controller is further configured to:
determine, based on the humidity information, whether an environmental humidity satisfies a humidity threshold that is associated with the high temperature application (“is the ambient humidity too high (one method by which to determine if it is raining or not) or even too low?”, Paragraph [0054]); and
actuate the lens cleaning device (initiate cleaning cycle which includes air blow off or wiping of lens) based on determining that the environmental humidity satisfies the humidity threshold (Paragraph [0065]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kline et al. US 2019/0322245 (hereafter Kline et al.) in view of Jones et al. US 11,661,038 (hereafter Jones et al.) as presented in Claim 1 in further view of Layton US 2012/0000024 (hereafter Layton).
Regarding Claim 6, Kline et al. teaches:
6. The automatic condition-based lens cleaning system of claim 1, further comprising a glass camera shield (see discussion below).
Kline et al. discloses use of a wiper to clean the camera lens. Kline et al. does not disclose the placement of a shield in front of the camera lens. The reference Jones et al. discloses a screen 314 that shields the lens 316, however, Jones et al. does not disclose that the screen is glass. The reference Layton discloses a “optically-transmissive lens shield 34 assumes the form of a disc or sheet of a non-opaque material, such as glass or plastic (e.g., Plexiglas®)” positioned over the camera lens to protect the lens from damage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kline et al./Jones et al. device to include a glass lens shield as taught by Layton with the motivation to protect the camera lens from direct contact with the wiper and environmental contamination, therefore, extending the life of the optical lens.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with amendments, filed August 18, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) of Claims 1-5 and 8-14 under Kline et al. US 2019/0322245 in view of Jones et al. US 11,661,038, and Claim 6 under Kline et al. US 2019/0322245 in view of Jones et al. US 11,661,038 and Layton US 2012/0000024, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. However, as necessitated by amendment, the rejections have been modified to reflect the current claim language.
Responses to the Applicant’s arguments have been added to the rejection that teaches the controller making decisions to initiate a temperature dependent cleaning operation based on a sensed temperature being above a threshold above or below freezing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. The Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723