DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 11/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140046152 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Bechtel”) in view of US 20100258710 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Wiese”).
Regarding claim 1, Bechtel teaches a device (abstract) comprising:
a bezel formed in a housing (bezel corresponds to cage 250b positioned at tip portion 105c of housing 105; paragraphs [0110]; Figure 7E-7G), wherein the bezel comprises a sidewall extending in a first direction away from a exterior surface of the housing (as shown in Figure 7K), an aperture that extends in a second direction from a first inside edge of the sidewall to a second inside edge of the sidewall (as shown in Figure 7K), and the first direction is transverse to the second direction (as shown in Figure 7K);
a probe tip assembly (300; paragraph [0114]; Figure 7F), comprising a first portion formed within the bezel and a second portion formed outside of the bezel (as shown in Figure 7F), wherein the first portion is coupled to the second portion (as shown in Figure 7F); and
an aperture plate (430; paragraphs [0116]; as shown in Figure 7F), formed in the bezel within the sidewall (as shown in Figure 7F).
Bechtel does not explicitly teach there is an epoxy between the aperture plate and first portion of the probe tip assembly.
Wiese teaches there is an epoxy between the aperture plate and first portion of the probe tip assembly (paragraph [0104]; [0095]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bechtel, to have an epoxy attachment to secure the aperture plate, as taught by Wiese, because doing so mechanically secures the aperture plate while minimizing light leakage.
Regarding claim 2, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches wherein the first portion of the probe tip assembly comprises a first circuit board (410; paragraph [0137]-[0138]; Figures 7C-D; as taught by Bechtel).
Regarding claim 3, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches wherein the second portion of the probe tip assembly comprises a second circuit board (415; paragraph [0137]-[0138]; Figures 7C-D; as taught by Bechtel).
Regarding claim 4, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches a riser positioned in the epoxy between the aperture plate and first portion of the probe tip assembly (Bechtel teaches a riser; paragraph [0142], [0146], [0148]; Wiese teaches the epoxy positioned by aperture plate; paragraphs [0095], [0104]).
Regarding claim 5, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches comprising:
one or more photodiodes, coupled to the first portion of the probe tip assembly and positioned within the bezel (paragraph [0116], [0140]).
Regarding claim 8, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches a length of the first portion of the probe tip assembly in the first direction is greater than a length of the second portion of the probe tip assembly in the first direction (as shown in Figure 7F).
Regarding claim 10, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches wherein the first circuit board does is not in contact with the aperture (paragraph [0116]; as shown in Figure 7K; as taught by Bechtel).
Regarding claim 11, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches wherein a portion of the sidewall of the bezel is removed (as shown in Figure 7K; as taught by Bechtel).
Regarding claim 12, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches wherein a front surface of the aperture plate is flush with a surface of the sidewall (as shown in Figures 7F; as taught by Bechtel).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bechtel, in view of Wiese, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20020095074 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Al-Ali”).
Regarding claim 6, Bechtel, in view of Wiese, teaches a ribbon cable, coupled to the second portion of the probe tip assembly (paragraphs [0137]-[0138]);
but does not explicitly teach the cable being a ribbon cable.
However, Al-Ali teaches comprising: a ribbon cable, coupled to the second portion of the probe tip assembly (paragraphs [0033]-[0038]; Figures 4-9A). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bechtel, in view of Wiese, to use a ribbon cable, as taught by Al-Ali, because making this modification merely combines prior art elements according to known methods well known in the industry (see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or suggest “wherein a length of the second portion of the probe tip assembly in the second direction is greater than a length of the first portion of the probe tip assembly in the second direction” In combination with the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or suggest “wherein the first portion of the probe tip assembly comprises a first circuit board and the second portion of the probe tip assembly comprises a second circuit board.” In combination with the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12138049 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because though independent claims 13 and 18 of the Instant Application provide a method claim, the method forms the same devices of claims 1 and 6, the independent claims of US 12138049 B2.
Conclusion
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under a Double Patenting Rejection; but provides subject matter not found in the prior art search.
Regarding claim 13, US 20130324816 A1 (Bechtel) teaches a method and apparatus having a housing (as shown in Figure 1A);
a probe tip (115; paragraph [0038]-[0042]; Figure 1A-B), housed by the housing distal to the proximal end at a distal end of the housing and visible from the exterior of the housing at the distal end of the housing, wherein the probe tip is coupled to the processor (paragraph [0038]-[0042]; Figure 1A-B);
a first printed circuit board (PCB) and a second PCB, the first PCB is positioned closer to the proximal end of the housing than the second PCB, the second PCB is positioned closer to the distal end of the housing than the first PCB, a first surface of the first PCB faces the distal end of the housing, a second surface of the second PCB faces the proximal end of the housing (paragraphs [0059]-[0065]; Figures 1A-B, Figures 3-5A);
US 20090234206 A1 (Gaspard) teaches a bezel located at the proximal end of a housing, wherein the bezel comprises a sidewall, an aperture that extends from a first end of the sidewall to a second end of the sidewall (30; paragraph [0029]; Figures 1, 3-4).
US 6901221 B1 (Jiang) teaches an optical sensor device with two PCBs and detector and emitter attached to the PCBs (as shown in Figure 1 and associated description).
However, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the probe tip is coupled to the processor an aperture plate, a first printed circuit board (PCB) coupled to the aperture plate, a second PCB coupled to the first PCB, wherein the aperture plate is located in the aperture of the bezel, a surface of the aperture plate and a top surface of the sidewall of the bezel are flush, a first portion of the first PCB is coupled to the aperture plate in the aperture of the sidewall” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 18, US 20130324816 A1 (Bechtel) teaches a method and apparatus having a housing (as shown in Figure 1A);
a probe tip (115; paragraph [0038]-[0042]; Figure 1A-B), housed by the housing distal to the proximal end at a distal end of the housing and visible from the exterior of the housing at the distal end of the housing, wherein the probe tip is coupled to the processor (paragraph [0038]-[0042]; Figure 1A-B);
a first printed circuit board (PCB) and a second PCB, the first PCB is positioned closer to the proximal end of the housing than the second PCB, the second PCB is positioned closer to the distal end of the housing than the first PCB, a first surface of the first PCB faces the distal end of the housing, a second surface of the second PCB faces the proximal end of the housing (paragraphs [0059]-[0065]; Figures 1A-B, Figures 3-5A); and
the probe tip comprises a plurality of photodetectors located on a surface of the first PCB, which is coupled to the aperture plate, the aperture plate includes a plurality of aperatures, and the photodetectors are registered with the apertures of the aperture plate (paragraph [044]-[0047], [0058]-[0059]; Figures 2A-B).
US 20090234206 A1 (Gaspard) teaches a bezel located at the proximal end of a housing, wherein the bezel comprises a sidewall, an aperture that extends from a first end of the sidewall to a second end of the sidewall (30; paragraph [0029]; Figures 1, 3-4).
US 6901221 B1 (Jiang) teaches an optical sensor device with two PCBs and detector and emitter attached to the PCBs (as shown in Figure 1 and associated description).
However, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the probe tip is coupled to the processor an aperture plate, a first printed circuit board (PCB) coupled to the aperture plate, a second PCB coupled to the first PCB, wherein the aperture plate is located in the aperture of the bezel, a surface of the aperture plate and a top surface of the sidewall of the bezel are flush, a first portion of the first PCB is coupled to the aperture plate in the aperture of the sidewall” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791