Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White [US20210129017A1].
Regarding claim 1, White discloses:
A game effect providing method, suitable for an electronic device comprising an effect providing device, wherein the method comprises:
executing a game application, and capturing a game frame of the game application (White, [0030], “…the event recognition module 304 may receive all video frames on a stream for a game session, or may receive a sampling of frames, such as one frame per 100ms or every tenth frame.”);
recognizing frame content of the game frame to obtain game status information (White, [0027], “…a region 242 is selected for analysis that includes textual information and updates about the status of the game. The detector in this case can include a text detection algorithm, as may include an OCR engine and text analyzer, to determine when certain information is displayed or updated.”);
comparing the game status information with at least one threshold value (White, [0037], “output of a set of detectors (such as five or six detectors for a given game) will be a match or non-match for an event type, with a corresponding confidence value or level of confidence.” and White, [0027], “In cases such as this, it may not necessarily be the information displayed that indicates an event of interest, but a specific type of change in that information, such as would indicate getting a double birdie on a hole.” In other words, comparing current game status information with a value of a past game status information.); and
controlling the effect providing device to provide a tactile effect or a visual effect based on a comparison result of the game status information and the at least one threshold value (White, [0036], “The log can also store the data in a format that is usable by one or more processes, algorithms, or applications to perform one or more tasks as discussed herein, as may relate to a generation of montages or highlight videos, player skill analysis, player coaching, game adjustment, player matching, and the like.”).
Regarding claim 2, White discloses:
The game effect providing method according to claim 1, wherein a step of recognizing the frame content of the game frame to obtain the game status information comprises:
recognizing numerical information in the game frame by using text recognition; and obtaining the game status information according to the numerical information (White, [0027], “The detector in this case can include a text detection algorithm, as may include an OCR engine and text analyzer, to determine when certain information is displayed or updated. This information can include, for example, a current number of swings on a certain hole, a change in current hold, and other such information.” and White, [0035], “a game might indicate a number of skull icons that indicate a number of kills a player has caused during a current gameplay session. A change in the number of skulls indicates a kill event.”).
Regarding claim 3, White discloses:
The game effect providing method according to claim 2, wherein the numerical information is a number of occurrences of an event for a game event (White, [0027] and [0035], see citations above – “current number of swings” and “a number of kills a player has caused”), and
a step of obtaining the game status information according to the numerical information comprises:
calculating a cumulative number of events within a statistical period based on the number of occurrences of the event (White, Current number of swings or kills indicates a summation of the total number of swing or kill events during the hole or gameplay session.).
Regarding claim 4, White discloses:
The game effect providing method according to claim 3, wherein the game event comprises
a kill event (White, [0035], “A change in the number of skulls indicates a kill event.”), and
the number of occurrences of the event comprises a number of kills (White, [0035], “a game might indicate a number of skull icons that indicate a number of kills a player has caused during a current gameplay session. A change in the number of skulls indicates a kill event.”).
Regarding claim 10, the claim shares similar limitations to claim 1. For citations on rejection, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White and the GameSense-SDK as published by SteelSeries on GitHub [https://github.com/SteelSeries/gamesense-sdk] (hereinafter, GameSense).
Regarding claim 5, White discloses a game effect providing method with threshold values as cited above, but White does not explicitly disclose the specifics of the values being compared in such a manner as to satisfy the limitations claimed within the instant application.
GameSense, however, discloses:
The at least one threshold value comprises
a first threshold value (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, “For a vibration pattern that does not vibrate at high health, that clicks a single time per new value at medium health, and that uses the above custom pattern for every new value at low health”. The threshold values are the ranges created to characterize and differentiate high, medium, and low health.), and
a step of controlling the effect providing device to provide the tactile effect or the visual effect based on the comparison result of the game status information (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, Causing vibration pattern.) and
the at least one threshold value comprises:
when the game status information is less than or equal to the first threshold value,
controlling the effect providing device to provide a first tactile effect or a first visual effect (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, For example, producing the custom vibration pattern when low health is reached.); and
when the game status information is greater than the first threshold value,
controlling the effect providing device to provide a second tactile effect or a second visual effect (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, For example, producing the single click/vibration at medium health (i.e., above the threshold value of low health).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have various effects following different gaming events based on structured threshold values for comparing a variety of possible game states for integrating within gameplay as in GameSense in the system executing the method of White with the motivation of offering more responses (i.e., user interactivity) to the user based on more possible game states as taught by GameSense over that of White.
Regarding claim 6, White/GameSense discloses:
The game effect providing method according to claim 5, wherein the at least one threshold value comprises
a second threshold value greater than the first threshold value (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, For example, the threshold value between high health and medium health.), and
a step of, when the game status information is greater than the first threshold value, controlling the effect providing device to provide the second tactile effect or the second visual effect comprises:
when the game status information is greater than the first threshold value and less than or equal to the second threshold value,
controlling the effect providing device to provide the second tactile effect or the second visual effect (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, For example, producing the single click/vibration at medium health (i.e., above the threshold value of low health).); and
when the game status information is greater than the second threshold value,
controlling the effect providing device to provide a third tactile effect or a third visual effect (GameSense, json-handlers-color.md, “For a color that is static red at values 0-10 and a red to green gradient at values 11-100”. Indicating a green health bar for high health.).
Regarding claim 7, White discloses a game effect providing method with threshold values as cited above, but White does not explicitly disclose two screens or the specifics of the values being compared in such a manner as to satisfy the limitations claimed within the instant application.
GameSense, however, discloses:
The effect providing device comprises
a main display screen and a secondary display screen (GameSense, json-handlers-screen, “Screen handlers are used to display images and/or textual notifications on supported devices with one or more embedded OLED/LCD screens.”), and
a step of controlling the effect providing device to provide the tactile effect or the visual effect based on the comparison result of the game status information and the at least one threshold value comprises:
controlling the main display screen to display a main visual effect at an edge of a program frame of the game application (GameSense, json-handlers-screen.md, “Specifying a zone to which to apply the effect is mandatory for devices with multiple valid zones, and optional for devices with only a single zone. For guaranteed future compatibility, it is recommended to use the value of one for screen handlers with the device-type screened.”); and
controlling the secondary display screen to display a secondary visual effect (GameSense, json-handlers-screen.md, As GameSense explicitly discloses the use of multiple screens, the citations previously provided also apply to the secondary screen.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have various effects following different gaming events based on structured threshold values for comparing a variety of possible game states for integrating within gameplay as in GameSense in the system executing the method of White with the motivation of offering more responses (i.e., user interactivity) to the user based on more possible game states as taught by GameSense over that of White.
Regarding claim 9, White discloses a game effect providing method with threshold values as cited above, but White does not explicitly disclose the specifics of the values being compared in such a manner as to satisfy the limitations claimed within the instant application.
GameSense, however, discloses:
A step of controlling the effect providing device to provide the tactile effect or the visual effect based on the comparison result of the game status information and the at least one threshold value comprises:
determining a vibration amplitude based on the comparison result of the game status information and the at least one threshold value (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, “Most of these effects have "softer" versions that feel softer. Any effect suffixed _100 is the full power version of that effect, while a different number suffix indicates relative strength on a percentage basis.”); and
controlling the vibration device to provide a vibration effect according to the vibration amplitude (GameSense, json-handlers-tactile.md, Utilizing the effects as described in the citation directly above.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have various effects following different gaming events based on structured threshold values with varied amplitudes for comparing a variety of possible game states for integrating within gameplay as in GameSense in the system executing the method of White with the motivation of offering more responses (i.e., user interactivity) to the user based on more possible game states as taught by GameSense over that of White.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White/GameSense as applied above, and further in view of Chang [US10320962B1].
Regarding claim 8, White/GameSense discloses:
The game effect providing method according to claim 7,
the secondary visual effect comprises an animated image or a static image (GameSense, json-handlers-screen.md, “The above section describes how to bind default static images to be displayed when a specific event is sent.”).
White/GameSense does not explicitly disclose the two screens facing away from each other.
Chang, however, discloses:
the secondary display screen faces away from the main display screen (Chang, cols 4-5, lines 63-67 and lines 1-4, “This patent document discloses dual-screen smartphone designs that place two different display screens on two opposing first and second surfaces of a smartphone so that a first display screen is placed on the first surface … and a second smaller display screen is placed on the second surface”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the game-status effect system of White/GameSense the two opposite facing screens as taught by Chang since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
White/GameSense discloses dual screens with no limitation on orientation, and Chang simply provides an explicit recitation of the orientation at which the dual screens are displayed.
Conclusion
/Z.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715