DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18943880 filed 11/11/2024 is a Continuation of 18182547, filed 03/13/2023, now U.S. Patent # 12160842
18182547 is a Continuation of 17309750, filed 06/17/2021, now U.S. Patent # 12058639
17309750 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2019/052684, International Filing Date: 09/24/2019
PCT/US2019/052684 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62786919, filed 12/31/2018.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 11/11/2024 and 10/01/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blau et al (US 2013/0185440) in view of Cai et al (US 2010/0184403).
Regarding claim 1, Blau et al discloses computer-implemented method (fig. 1c, method) executed by data processing hardware that causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (memory 404 stores the various programs/executable files that are implemented by the processor 405 and also provides a storage unit for any required data e.g. data representative of transport addresses associated with one or more UEs, [0122], lines 7-9):
receiving a request from a mobile device associated with a subscriber of a carrier provider, the request requesting the data processing hardware to establish multimedia services with the carrier provider for a companion device linked to the mobile device, the request comprising a subscriber identifier of the mobile device (Prior to originating a call or initiating a multimedia session and setting up a multimedia stream, in step 200, the first UE (mobile device) interacts (request) with a first STUN server 113a to determine the transport address(es) that the first NAT device 108 (companion device) of originating network 102 would allocate for the media (multimedia services) on its public network side when the first NAT device 108 (companion device) does not perform address or port restrictive filtering on packets towards the first UE 101. A transport address may include data representative of an IP address (subscriber identifier) or data representative of an IP address and port. The candidate address information includes at least the host candidate address of the first UE (e.g. the IP address (subscriber identifier) and/or port information A), [0071], lines 2-7, [0072], lines 3-5);
authenticating the companion device based on the subscriber identifier (Referring to FIG. 2b, on receiving the SIP INVITE request message from the first UE 101, the originating P-CSCF node 114a will check (authenticating) the candidate address information to determine whether a relay candidate address for the first UE 101 is present. If a server reflexive candidate address is present, then this means that the first UE 101 is behind first NAT device 108 (companion device), [0076], lines 1-4);
obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials corresponding to the subscriber identifier (The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0077], lines 1-4);
linking the companion device with the subscriber identifier of the mobile device (NAT device 108 (companion device) does not perform address or port restrictive filtering on packets towards the first UE 101; thus is seen as NAT device 108 (companion device) may perform address (subscriber identifier) filtering on packets towards the first UE 101, [0071], lines 2-7, [0072], lines 3-5); and
Blau et al does not specifically disclose concept of registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider;
establishing multimedia services between the companion device and the carrier provider using the SIP credentials.
However, Cai et al specifically teaches concept of registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906 (carrier provider), [0059], lines 2-3);
establishing multimedia services between the companion device and the carrier provider using the SIP credentials (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906, and transmits the SIP REGISTER to P-CSCF 904 through packet network 902. Responsive to receiving the SIP REGISTER, S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Request (MAR) to continue the process of registering IMS device 930 (companion device). S-CSCF 912 includes a private identifier (PRID) and/or a public identifier (PUID) in the Diameter MAR, and transmits the MAR to HSS 916. HSS 916 processes the PRID in the Diameter MAR to generate an AKA vector based on the AKA authentication method. HSS 916 then generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Answer (MAA) in response to the Diameter MAR, and includes the AKA vector in the Diameter MAA, such as in the SIP-Authenticate AVP of the MAA. Responsive to receiving the MAA, S-CSCF 912 transmits a SIP 401 (Challenge) message to IMS device 930 (companion device) (through P-CSCF 904 and packet network 902) to challenge IMS device 930 for an authentication check. If IMS device 930 (companion device) is authenticated, then S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Server Assignment Request (SAR) to retrieve the service profile (multimedia services) for IMS user 932 of IMS device 930 (companion device) from HSS 916, [0059], lines 2-3, [0060], lines 1-8, [0061], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Blau et al with concept of registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider; establishing multimedia services between the companion device and the carrier provider using the SIP credentials of Cai et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve AoC services such as rate for a call (e.g., a charge per unit time, such as $0.10 per minute) (multimedia services) in IMS networks, (Cai et al, [0002], line 1).
Regarding claim 2, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein the operations further comprise (memory 404 stores the various programs/executable files that are implemented by the processor 405 and also provides a storage unit for any required data e.g. data representative of transport addresses associated with one or more UEs, [0122], lines 7-9),
Blau et al does not specifically disclose concept of after registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider, communicating media data from the companion device to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider.
However, Cai et al specifically teaches concept of after registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider, communicating media data from the companion device to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906, and transmits the SIP REGISTER to P-CSCF 904 through packet network 902. Responsive to receiving the SIP REGISTER, S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Request (MAR) to continue the process of registering IMS device 930 (companion device). S-CSCF 912 includes a private identifier (PRID) and/or a public identifier (PUID) in the Diameter MAR, and transmits the MAR to HSS 916. HSS 916 processes the PRID in the Diameter MAR to generate an AKA vector based on the AKA authentication method. HSS 916 then generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Answer (MAA) in response to the Diameter MAR, and includes the AKA vector in the Diameter MAA, such as in the SIP-Authenticate AVP of the MAA. Responsive to receiving the MAA, S-CSCF 912 transmits a SIP 401 (Challenge) message to IMS device 930 (companion device) (through P-CSCF 904 and packet network 902) to challenge IMS device 930 for an authentication check. If IMS device 930 (companion device) is authenticated, then S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Server Assignment Request (SAR) to retrieve the service profile (multimedia services) for IMS user 932 of IMS device 930 (companion device) from HSS 916, [0059], lines 2-3, [0060], lines 1-8, [0061], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Blau et al with concept of after registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider, communicating media data from the companion device to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider of Cai et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve AoC services such as rate for a call (e.g., a charge per unit time, such as $0.10 per minute) (multimedia services) in IMS networks, (Cai et al, [0002], line 1).
Regarding claim 3, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein communicating the media data from the companion device to the IMS of the carrier provider comprises signaling over a transport layer security connection (Prior to originating a call or initiating a multimedia session and setting up a multimedia stream, in step 200, the first UE (mobile device) interacts (request) with a first STUN server 113a to determine the transport address(es) that the first NAT device 108 (companion device) of originating network 102 would allocate for the media (multimedia services) on its public network side when the first NAT device 108 (companion device) does not perform address or port restrictive filtering on packets towards the first UE 101. A transport address may include data representative of an IP address (subscriber identifier) or data representative of an IP address and port. The candidate address information includes at least the host candidate address of the first UE (e.g. the IP address (subscriber identifier) and/or port information A), [0071], lines 2-7, [0072], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 4, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method),
Blau et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises registering the SIP credentials at a network interface proxy.
However, Cai et al specifically teaches concept of wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises registering the SIP credentials at a network interface proxy (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906 (carrier provider), [0059], lines 2-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Blau et al with concept of wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises registering the SIP credentials at a network interface proxy of Cai et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve AoC services such as rate for a call (e.g., a charge per unit time, such as $0.10 per minute) (multimedia services) in IMS networks, (Cai et al, [0002], line 1).
Regarding claim 5, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein the network interface proxy receives the SIP credentials from the companion device and forwards the SIP credentials using a real-time transport protocol (RTP) to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider (The Session Description Protocol (SDP), carried by SIP signalling, is used to describe and negotiate the media components of the call or multimedia session. In addition to SIP, other protocols may be used for media transmission and control, such as Real-time Transport Protocol and Real-time Transport Control Protocol (RTP/RTCP). The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0003], lines 1-9, [0077], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein the RTP corresponds to a secure RTP and comprises a key exchange based on datagram transport layer security (DTLS) (The Session Description Protocol (SDP), carried by SIP signalling, is used to describe and negotiate the media components of the call or multimedia session. In addition to SIP, other protocols may be used for media transmission and control, such as Real-time Transport Protocol and Real-time Transport Control Protocol (RTP/RTCP). The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0003], lines 1-9, [0077], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein communicating the media data comprises transcoding the media data received from the companion device into enhanced voice services (EVS) or adaptive multi-rates (AMR) for the IMS of the carrier provider (An operator of an IMS network 105, or of originating IMS network 110, or of terminating IMS network 111 may need to deploy and manage TURN servers 112a and/or 112b and IMS-AGWs/Translation Gateway (TrGW) nodes 115a and/or 115b if their policy is not to always anchor media from first and/or second UEs 101 and/or 103 behind first and/or second NAT devices 108 and/or 109 via IMS-AGW nodes 115a and/or 115b, respectively. However, it is inevitable that current NAT traversal mechanisms can result increased or unnecessary delays for multimedia packets traversing the communication path between the first and second UEs 101 and 103. With the increasing use of high bandwidth multimedia applications, these delays will be unacceptable for time sensitive real-time multimedia traffic such as multimedia streaming, voice, and video conferencing applications, [0028], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 8, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein communicating the media data comprises communicating the media data by a media connection employing sessional traversal utilities for network address translation (STUN), network address translation (NAT) traversal, or interactive connectivity establishment (ICE) (multimedia session is set up between the first UE 101 and the second UE 103 such that the first and second NAT devices 108 and 109 are not required to manipulate the SIP signalling. However, this means that the communication path between the first and the second UEs 101 and 103 includes first and second NAT devices 108 and 109 and originating and terminating IMS-AGW nodes 115a and 115b. All of these devices and nodes need to perform address translation to allow multimedia session packets to be transmitted/received by the first and second UEs 101 and 103 resulting in increasing delays for multimedia packets traversing the communication path between the first and second UEs 101 and 103,[0024], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein an application executing on the mobile device generates the request by generating authentication tokens for the subscriber (Referring to FIG. 2b, on receiving the SIP INVITE request message from the first UE 101, the originating P-CSCF node 114a will check (authenticating) the candidate address information to determine whether a relay candidate address for the first UE 101 is present. If a server reflexive candidate address is present, then this means that the first UE 101 is behind first NAT device 108 (companion device), [0076], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Blau et al discloses method (fig. 1c, method), wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises communicating with a third party registration server (The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0077], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system) comprising:
data processing hardware (fig. 1a, item 101, UE); and
memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising (memory 404 stores the various programs/executable files that are implemented by the processor 405 and also provides a storage unit for any required data e.g. data representative of transport addresses associated with one or more UEs, [0122], lines 7-9):
receiving a request from a mobile device associated with a subscriber of a carrier provider, the request requesting the data processing hardware establish multimedia services with the carrier provider for a companion device linked to the mobile device, the request comprising a subscriber identifier of the mobile device (Prior to originating a call or initiating a multimedia session and setting up a multimedia stream, in step 200, the first UE (mobile device) interacts (request) with a first STUN server 113a to determine the transport address(es) that the first NAT device 108 (companion device) of originating network 102 would allocate for the media (multimedia services) on its public network side when the first NAT device 108 (companion device) does not perform address or port restrictive filtering on packets towards the first UE 101. A transport address may include data representative of an IP address (subscriber identifier) or data representative of an IP address and port. The candidate address information includes at least the host candidate address of the first UE (e.g. the IP address (subscriber identifier) and/or port information A), [0071], lines 2-7, [0072], lines 3-5);
authenticating the companion device based on the subscriber identifier (Referring to FIG. 2b, on receiving the SIP INVITE request message from the first UE 101, the originating P-CSCF node 114a will check (authenticating) the candidate address information to determine whether a relay candidate address (subscriber identifier) for the first UE 101 is present. If a server reflexive candidate address is present, then this means that the first UE 101 is behind first NAT device 108 (companion device), [0076], lines 1-4);
obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials corresponding to the subscriber identifier (The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0077], lines 1-4);
linking the companion device with the subscriber identifier of the mobile device (NAT device 108 (companion device) does not perform address or port restrictive filtering on packets towards the first UE 101; thus is seen as NAT device 108 (companion device) may perform address (subscriber identifier) filtering on packets towards the first UE 101, [0071], lines 2-7, [0072], lines 3-5); and
Blau et al does not specifically disclose concept of registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider;
establishing multimedia services between the companion device and the carrier provider using the SIP credentials.
However, Cai et al specifically teaches concept of registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906 (carrier provider), [0059], lines 2-3);
establishing multimedia services between the companion device and the carrier provider using the SIP credentials (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906, and transmits the SIP REGISTER to P-CSCF 904 through packet network 902. Responsive to receiving the SIP REGISTER, S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Request (MAR) to continue the process of registering IMS device 930 (companion device). S-CSCF 912 includes a private identifier (PRID) and/or a public identifier (PUID) in the Diameter MAR, and transmits the MAR to HSS 916. HSS 916 processes the PRID in the Diameter MAR to generate an AKA vector based on the AKA authentication method. HSS 916 then generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Answer (MAA) in response to the Diameter MAR, and includes the AKA vector in the Diameter MAA, such as in the SIP-Authenticate AVP of the MAA. Responsive to receiving the MAA, S-CSCF 912 transmits a SIP 401 (Challenge) message to IMS device 930 (companion device) (through P-CSCF 904 and packet network 902) to challenge IMS device 930 for an authentication check. If IMS device 930 (companion device) is authenticated, then S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Server Assignment Request (SAR) to retrieve the service profile (multimedia services) for IMS user 932 of IMS device 930 (companion device) from HSS 916, [0059], lines 2-3, [0060], lines 1-8, [0061], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Blau et al with concept of registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider; establishing multimedia services between the companion device and the carrier provider using the SIP credentials of Cai et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve AoC services such as rate for a call (e.g., a charge per unit time, such as $0.10 per minute) (multimedia services) in IMS networks, (Cai et al, [0002], line 1).
Regarding claim 12, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein the operations further comprise (memory 404 stores the various programs/executable files that are implemented by the processor 405 and also provides a storage unit for any required data e.g. data representative of transport addresses associated with one or more UEs, [0122], lines 7-9),
Blau et al does not specifically disclose concept of after registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider, communicating media data from the companion device to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider.
However, Cai et al specifically teaches concept of after registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider, communicating media data from the companion device to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906, and transmits the SIP REGISTER to P-CSCF 904 through packet network 902. Responsive to receiving the SIP REGISTER, S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Request (MAR) to continue the process of registering IMS device 930 (companion device). S-CSCF 912 includes a private identifier (PRID) and/or a public identifier (PUID) in the Diameter MAR, and transmits the MAR to HSS 916. HSS 916 processes the PRID in the Diameter MAR to generate an AKA vector based on the AKA authentication method. HSS 916 then generates a Diameter Multimedia Authentication Answer (MAA) in response to the Diameter MAR, and includes the AKA vector in the Diameter MAA, such as in the SIP-Authenticate AVP of the MAA. Responsive to receiving the MAA, S-CSCF 912 transmits a SIP 401 (Challenge) message to IMS device 930 (companion device) (through P-CSCF 904 and packet network 902) to challenge IMS device 930 for an authentication check. If IMS device 930 (companion device) is authenticated, then S-CSCF 912 generates a Diameter Server Assignment Request (SAR) to retrieve the service profile (multimedia services) for IMS user 932 of IMS device 930 (companion device) from HSS 916, [0059], lines 2-3, [0060], lines 1-8, [0061], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Blau et al with concept of after registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider, communicating media data from the companion device to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider of Cai et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve AoC services such as rate for a call (e.g., a charge per unit time, such as $0.10 per minute) (multimedia services) in IMS networks, (Cai et al, [0002], line 1).
Regarding claim 13, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein communicating the media data from the companion device to the IMS of the carrier provider comprises signaling over a transport layer security connection (Prior to originating a call or initiating a multimedia session and setting up a multimedia stream, in step 200, the first UE (mobile device) interacts (request) with a first STUN server 113a to determine the transport address(es) that the first NAT device 108 (companion device) of originating network 102 would allocate for the media (multimedia services) on its public network side when the first NAT device 108 (companion device) does not perform address or port restrictive filtering on packets towards the first UE 101. A transport address may include data representative of an IP address (subscriber identifier) or data representative of an IP address and port. The candidate address information includes at least the host candidate address of the first UE (e.g. the IP address (subscriber identifier) and/or port information A), [0071], lines 2-7, [0072], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 14, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system),
Blau et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises registering the SIP credentials at a network interface proxy.
However, Cai et al specifically teaches concept of wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises registering the SIP credentials at a network interface proxy (IMS device 930 (companion device) generates a SIP (SIP credentials) REGISTER in order to register with IMS network 906 (carrier provider), [0059], lines 2-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Blau et al with concept of wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises registering the SIP credentials at a network interface proxy of Cai et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve AoC services such as rate for a call (e.g., a charge per unit time, such as $0.10 per minute) (multimedia services) in IMS networks, (Cai et al, [0002], line 1).
Regarding claim 15, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein the network interface proxy receives the SIP credentials from the companion device and forwards the SIP credentials using a real-time transport protocol (RTP) to an internet protocol multimedia subsystem (IMS) of the carrier provider (The Session Description Protocol (SDP), carried by SIP signalling, is used to describe and negotiate the media components of the call or multimedia session. In addition to SIP, other protocols may be used for media transmission and control, such as Real-time Transport Protocol and Real-time Transport Control Protocol (RTP/RTCP). The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0003], lines 1-9, [0077], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein the RTP corresponds to a secure RTP and comprises a key exchange based on datagram transport layer security (DTLS) (The Session Description Protocol (SDP), carried by SIP signalling, is used to describe and negotiate the media components of the call or multimedia session. In addition to SIP, other protocols may be used for media transmission and control, such as Real-time Transport Protocol and Real-time Transport Control Protocol (RTP/RTCP). The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0003], lines 1-9, [0077], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein communicating the media data comprises transcoding the media data received from the companion device into enhanced voice services (EVS) or adaptive multi-rates (AMR) for the IMS of the carrier provider (An operator of an IMS network 105, or of originating IMS network 110, or of terminating IMS network 111 may need to deploy and manage TURN servers 112a and/or 112b and IMS-AGWs/Translation Gateway (TrGW) nodes 115a and/or 115b if their policy is not to always anchor media from first and/or second UEs 101 and/or 103 behind first and/or second NAT devices 108 and/or 109 via IMS-AGW nodes 115a and/or 115b, respectively. However, it is inevitable that current NAT traversal mechanisms can result increased or unnecessary delays for multimedia packets traversing the communication path between the first and second UEs 101 and 103. With the increasing use of high bandwidth multimedia applications, these delays will be unacceptable for time sensitive real-time multimedia traffic such as multimedia streaming, voice, and video conferencing applications, [0028], lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 18, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein communicating the media data comprises communicating the media data by a media connection employing sessional traversal utilities for network address translation (STUN), network address translation (NAT) traversal, or interactive connectivity establishment (ICE) (multimedia session is set up between the first UE 101 and the second UE 103 such that the first and second NAT devices 108 and 109 are not required to manipulate the SIP signalling. However, this means that the communication path between the first and the second UEs 101 and 103 includes first and second NAT devices 108 and 109 and originating and terminating IMS-AGW nodes 115a and 115b. All of these devices and nodes need to perform address translation to allow multimedia session packets to be transmitted/received by the first and second UEs 101 and 103 resulting in increasing delays for multimedia packets traversing the communication path between the first and second UEs 101 and 103,[0024], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 19, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein an application executing on the mobile device generates the request by generating authentication tokens for the subscriber (Referring to FIG. 2b, on receiving the SIP INVITE request message from the first UE 101, the originating P-CSCF node 114a will check (authenticating) the candidate address information to determine whether a relay candidate address for the first UE 101 is present. If a server reflexive candidate address is present, then this means that the first UE 101 is behind first NAT device 108 (companion device), [0076], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Blau et al discloses system (fig. 1a, system), wherein registering the SIP credentials for the companion device with the carrier provider comprises communicating with a third party registration server (The candidate address information in the SIP INVITE request message is modified (obtaining session initiation protocol (SIP) credentials) to include the first address (subscriber identifier) provided by the originating IMS-AGW node 115a as a relay candidate address. For example, in FIG. 2b, the candidate address information (subscriber identifier) is modified to include the SDP attribute, a=candidate T2 relay, in which T2 is a transport address provided by originating IMS AGW node 115a as the relay candidate address, [0077], lines 1-4).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681