DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In communications filed on 07/27/2026. Claims 1, 3, 5, 11, 13, 15, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending in this examination.
Examiner Note
Applicant submitting new drawing replacement sheet , and submitting new abstract obviates previously raised specification, and drawing objections.
Response to Argument
Applicants’ arguments with respect to independent claims for newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 2020/0220718 issue to Tsuji , and in view of US Patent Application No. (20180032468) to Dutta et al (“Dutta”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20 Tsuji discloses a method for generating a unique signature of a data item of [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10) ( equated to source data system), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) ( equated to target data system with unique data parameters) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400) ( equated to target data system with unique data parameters), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme (equated to data channel) between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)], and [ ¶10, The camera 20 is a device for capturing images of an object( equated to data item), and in this embodiment, it is especially used to capture QR codes (registered trademark) for a printer and an AP]; and
and the associated data channel belongs to a plurality of data channels of the enterprise [¶140, the respective printers may send the DPP information or WFD information to the terminal 10 by using wireless communication complying with a communication scheme such as Bluetooth (registered trademark), NFC (Near Field Communication), infrared communication, TransferJet, Wi-Fi scheme in-band function, etc.]; and
accessing a system inventory of the enterprise, wherein the system inventory comprises details of each data system of the plurality of data systems of the enterprise
[ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)]; and
retrieving a first set of information from the system inventory, wherein the first set of information comprises a unique reference of the source data system [ see FIG. 1, [¶8-12, (Configuration of Terminal 10) The terminal 10 is a portable terminal device such as a cellphone (e.g., a smartphone), a PDA, and a tablet PC. In a variant, the terminal 10 may be a desktop PC, a laptop PC or the like…The terminal 10 comprises…a Wi-Fi interface 16, a camera 20…The operation unit 12 comprises a plurality of keys…A MAC address "macte" is assigned in the Wi-Fi I/F 16. The Wi-Fi I/F 16 is a wireless interface configured to execute wireless communication complying with a Wi-Fi scheme (hereinbelow termed "Wi-Fi communication")…The terminal 10 can operate in any state of G/O (Group Owner) state, CL (Client) state, and device state of the WFD scheme]; and
accessing a channel inventory of the enterprise, wherein the channel inventory comprises details of each data channel of the plurality of data channels of the enterprise, and wherein the channel inventory has references to the plurality of data systems of the enterprise [¶140, the respective printers may send the DPP information or WFD information to the terminal 10 by using wireless communication complying with a communication scheme such as Bluetooth (registered trademark), NFC (Near Field Communication), infrared communication, TransferJet, Wi-Fi scheme in-band function, etc.]
retrieving a second set of information from the channel inventory, wherein the second set of information comprises a channel name [¶140, the respective printers may send the DPP information or WFD information to the terminal 10 by using wireless communication complying with a communication scheme such as Bluetooth (registered trademark), NFC (Near Field Communication), infrared communication, TransferJet, Wi-Fi scheme in-band function, etc.]; and
the unique reference of the source data system[ see FIG. 1, [¶8-12, (Configuration of Terminal 10) The terminal 10 is a portable terminal device such as a cellphone (e.g., a smartphone), a PDA, and a tablet PC. In a variant, the terminal 10 may be a desktop PC, a laptop PC or the like…The terminal 10 comprises…a Wi-Fi interface 16, a camera 20…The operation unit 12 comprises a plurality of keys…A MAC address "macte" is assigned in the Wi-Fi I/F 16. The Wi-Fi I/F 16 is a wireless interface configured to execute wireless communication complying with a Wi-Fi scheme (hereinbelow termed "Wi-Fi communication")…The terminal 10 can operate in any state of G/O (Group Owner) state, CL (Client) state, and device state of the WFD scheme]; and
and a unique reference of the target data system [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)]; and
generating the unique signature of the data item based on processing of the first set of information and the second set of information; and storing the unique signature of the data item in a database [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more detail. This figure indicates unique signature of processes by the terminal 10 accessing the printer (DPP) via the AP(DPP) ( equated to target data system with unique data parameters) and also unique signature of processes by the terminal 10 accessing the printer (non-DPP) via the AP(non-DPP)( equated to target data system with unique data parameters))].
While Tsuji discloses a data management system
[ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10) ( equated to source data system), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) ( equated to target data system with unique data parameters) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400) ( equated to target data system with unique data parameters), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme (equated to data channel) between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)], and [ ¶10, The camera 20 is a device for capturing images of an object( equated to data item), and in this embodiment, it is especially used to capture QR codes (registered trademark) for a printer and an AP]; and [¶140, the respective printers may send the DPP information or WFD information to the terminal 10 by using wireless communication complying with a communication scheme such as Bluetooth (registered trademark), NFC (Near Field Communication), infrared communication, TransferJet, Wi-Fi scheme in-band function, etc.].
Examiner note: Tsuji in its application indicates the source data system, and target data system and the communication channels between them.
Tsuji does not explicitly disclose, however Dutta discloses: an industrial plant, a data management system of the industrial plant, the plurality of data systems being established over a plurality of levels of the data management system, and the associated data channel belongs to a plurality of data channels of the enterprise; industrial plant, the associated data channel being used for transfer of the data item between data systems located at different levels of the data management system as:
[0037-0045] FIG. 3 illustrates an example data collection system 300 for identifying and managing I/O channel spares for control and instrumentation systems in industrial plants according to this disclosure. The data collection system 300( equated to inventory) could, for example, be used to implement the tool 112 for identifying and managing spare I/O channels in I/O modules 104. For ease of explanation, the data collection system 300 is described with respect to the system 100 of FIG. 1, although the data collection system 300 could be implemented in any other suitable system. Also, the data collection system 300 could be implemented using the device 200 of FIG. 2, although the data collection system 300 could be implemented in any other suitable manner As shown in FIG. 3, the data collection system 300 is used in conjunction with one or more source systems 301 from which data is to be collected. Each source system 301 denotes any suitable source of data that relates to the use of I/O channels in an industrial process control and instrumentation system. For example, each source system 301 (equated to plurality of levels) could denote an industrial process control system, a legacy distributed control system (DCS) ( equated to one level), a safety system( equated to another level) , a programmable logic controller (PLC)(which are used with industrial and manufacturing printers (such as barcode, label, and packaging printers)( equated to next level) on factory floors,), or other source of industrial process-related data. While four types of source systems 301 are shown in FIG. 3, the data collection system 300 could be used with any suitable type(s) and any suitable number(s) of source systems. One or more data agents 302 are used to collect information from the one or more source systems 301. For example, the one or more data agents 302 could collect information related to the use of I/O channels in an industrial process control and instrumentation system from the one or more source systems 301. The one or more data agents 302 have knowledge of the one or more source systems 301 from which data is to be collected and use this knowledge to collect the desired information from the one or more source systems 301… For each source system 301, a data agent 302 can be used to collect data, and the data agents 302 can be orchestrated and monitored by the data collection system 300. Also, a data parser 308 can parse the data from each source system 301 in order to prepare the data for storage or use. For instance, the data parsers 308 can parse the data into a common generic or proprietary format. This may allow, for example, data from all of the source systems 301 to be stored in the same common format. Each data parser 308 includes any suitable structure for parsing data into a desired format. The output of each parser 308 can be provided to a channel analyzer 310. Each channel analyzer 310 can receive the data from a source system 301 and identify I/O channels associated with that source system 301 based on the data from that source system 301. Each channel analyzer 310 can also identify details for each I/O channel, such as I/O type, channel type, and spare or used status based on the data from that source system 301. The channel analyzer 310 can identify the I/O channels and the related details in any suitable manner for example, the data parsers 308 could output data in the common format, and the channel analyzers 310 could use specific data in the common format to identify the I/O channels and the related details. Each channel analyzer 310 includes any suitable structure for identifying I/O channels.The outputs of the channel analyzers 310 can be provided to a database 312 for storage and later use. Data in the database 312 can be stored for any desired length of time and used in any suitable manner for instance, data can be retrieved from the database 312 in order to generate content for a graphical user interface. The database 312 includes any suitable structure for storing and facilitating retrieval of information. ], and [0051] FIG. 4 illustrates an example sequence chart 400 for identifying and managing I/O channel spares for control and instrumentation systems in industrial plants according to this disclosure].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji by incorporating “ channel analyzers output can be provided to a database in an industrial plant”, as taught by Dutta. One could have been motivated to do so in order for each channel analyzer 310 can receive the data from a source system 301 and identify I/O channels associated with that source system 301 based on the data from that source system 301 [ Dutta,0037-0045].
Regarding claims 2, and 12 Tsuji discloses, further comprising: accessing the unique signature of the data item from the database for retrieving details of the source data system and details of the associated data channel of the data item [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more detail. This figure indicates unique signature of processes by the terminal 10 accessing the printer (DPP) via the AP(DPP) and also unique signature of processes by the terminal 10 accessing the printer (non-DPP) via the AP(non-DPP)].
Regarding claims 4, and 14, Tsuji discloses updating the system inventory and the channel inventory based on a user instruction [¶¶3-4, The present teachings disclose a technique capable of establishing wireless connection between a communication device and an external device irrespective of whether the communication device is a device capable of executing wireless communication complying with a predetermined rule of a Wi-Fi scheme, or is a device incapable of executing the wireless communication complying the predetermined rule…].
Regarding claims 5, and 15 Tsuji discloses, wherein the first set of information further comprises a record identifier and a type of the data item, and the type of the data item includes any one of a tag, an asset, or a limit [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)].
Regarding claims 6, and 16, Tsuji discloses, wherein the second set of information further comprises: a location identifier of the associated data channel, a type of the source data system, and a type of the target data system [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)].
Regarding claims 7, and 17, Tsuji discloses, wherein the details of each data system stored in the system inventory comprises a unique reference of the data system, a name of an entity of the enterprise to which the data system belongs, a location of the entity, and a name of the data system [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)].
Regarding claims 8, and 18, Tsuji discloses, wherein the details of each data channel stored in the channel inventory comprises a unique reference of a first data system of the data channel, a name of the data channel, a description of the data channel, a location of the data channel, a type of the first data system of the data channel, a description of the first data system of the data channel, a level of the first data system of the data channel, a unique reference of a second data system of the data channel, a type of the second data system of the data channel, a description of the second data system of the data channel, and a level of the second data system of the data channel.
[ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more details, Terminal (10), Printer(DPP)(100), printer(non-DPP) (200) , Access point (DPP)(300), Access point (non-DPP) (400), ¶7, As shown in FIG. 1, a communication system 2 comprises a terminal 10,printers 100, 200, and APs (Access Point) 300, 400. In this embodiment, a situation is assumed in which a user uses a terminal (e.g., the terminal 10) to establish wireless connection complying with the Wi-Fi scheme between a printer (e.g., the printer 100) and an AP (e.g., the AP 300)]
[ see FIG. 1, [¶8-12, (Configuration of Terminal 10) The terminal 10 is a portable terminal device such as a cellphone (e.g., a smartphone), a PDA, and a tablet PC. In a variant, the terminal 10 may be a desktop PC, a laptop PC or the like…The terminal 10 comprises…a Wi-Fi interface 16, a camera 20…The operation unit 12 comprises a plurality of keys…A MAC address "macte" is assigned in the Wi-Fi I/F 16. The Wi-Fi I/F 16 is a wireless interface configured to execute wireless communication complying with a Wi-Fi scheme (hereinbelow termed "Wi-Fi communication")…The terminal 10 can operate in any state of G/O (Group Owner) state, CL (Client) state, and device state of the WFD scheme].
[¶140, the respective printers may send the DPP information or WFD information to the terminal 10 by using wireless communication complying with a communication scheme such as Bluetooth (registered trademark), NFC (Near Field Communication), infrared communication, TransferJet, Wi-Fi scheme in-band function, etc.].
Furthermore, Dutta discloses : [0037-0045] FIG. 3 illustrates an example data collection system 300 for identifying and managing I/O channel spares for control and instrumentation systems in industrial plants according to this disclosure. The data collection system 300( equated to inventory) could, for example, be used to implement the tool 112 for identifying and managing spare I/O channels in I/O modules 104. For ease of explanation, the data collection system 300 is described with respect to the system 100 of FIG. 1, although the data collection system 300 could be implemented in any other suitable system. Also, the data collection system 300 could be implemented using the device 200 of FIG. 2, although the data collection system 300 could be implemented in any other suitable manner As shown in FIG. 3, the data collection system 300 is used in conjunction with one or more source systems 301 from which data is to be collected. Each source system 301 denotes any suitable source of data that relates to the use of I/O channels in an industrial process control and instrumentation system. For example, each source system 301 (equated to plurality of levels) could denote an industrial process control system, a legacy distributed control system (DCS) ( equated to one level), a safety system( equated to another level) , a programmable logic controller (PLC)(which are used with industrial and manufacturing printers (such as barcode, label, and packaging printers)( equated to next level) on factory floors,), or other source of industrial process-related data. While four types of source systems 301 are shown in FIG. 3, the data collection system 300 could be used with any suitable type(s) and any suitable number(s) of source systems. One or more data agents 302 are used to collect information from the one or more source systems 301. For example, the one or more data agents 302 could collect information related to the use of I/O channels in an industrial process control and instrumentation system from the one or more source systems 301. The one or more data agents 302 have knowledge of the one or more source systems 301 from which data is to be collected and use this knowledge to collect the desired information from the one or more source systems 301… For each source system 301, a data agent 302 can be used to collect data, and the data agents 302 can be orchestrated and monitored by the data collection system 300. Also, a data parser 308 can parse the data from each source system 301 in order to prepare the data for storage or use. For instance, the data parsers 308 can parse the data into a common generic or proprietary format. This may allow, for example, data from all of the source systems 301 to be stored in the same common format. Each data parser 308 includes any suitable structure for parsing data into a desired format. The output of each parser 308 can be provided to a channel analyzer 310. Each channel analyzer 310 can receive the data from a source system 301 and identify I/O channels associated with that source system 301 based on the data from that source system 301. Each channel analyzer 310 can also identify details for each I/O channel, such as I/O type, channel type, and spare or used status based on the data from that source system 301. The channel analyzer 310 can identify the I/O channels and the related details in any suitable manner for example, the data parsers 308 could output data in the common format, and the channel analyzers 310 could use specific data in the common format to identify the I/O channels and the related details. Each channel analyzer 310 includes any suitable structure for identifying I/O channels.The outputs of the channel analyzers 310 can be provided to a database 312 for storage and later use. Data in the database 312 can be stored for any desired length of time and used in any suitable manner for instance, data can be retrieved from the database 312 in order to generate content for a graphical user interface. The database 312 includes any suitable structure for storing and facilitating retrieval of information. ], and [0051] FIG. 4 illustrates an example sequence chart 400 for identifying and managing I/O channel spares for control and instrumentation systems in industrial plants according to this disclosure].
Regarding claims 9, and 19, Tsuji discloses, wherein the system inventory and the channel inventory are created before generation of the unique signature of a data item, based on instructions provided by an authorized user of the enterprise [¶¶3-4, The present teachings disclose a technique capable of establishing wireless connection between a communication device and an external device irrespective of whether the communication device is a device capable of executing wireless communication complying with a predetermined rule of a Wi-Fi scheme, or is a device incapable of executing the wireless communication complying the predetermined rule…].
Regarding claim 10 Tsuji discloses, wherein lineage of the data item is tracked based on the unique signature of the data item [ see FIG. 1 and corresponding text for more detail. This figure indicates unique signature of processes by the terminal 10 accessing the printer (DPP) via the AP(DPP) and also unique signature of processes by the terminal 10 accessing the printer (non-DPP) via the AP(non-DPP)].
Claims 3, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 2020/0220718 issue to Tsuji , and in view of US Patent Application No. (20180032468) to Dutta et al (“Dutta”), and in view of US Patent Application No. (2023/0109350) to Tanibe.
Regarding claims 3, and 13 , Tsuji , and Dutta do not explicitly disclose, however, Tanibe discloses: onboarding the data item on to a cloud network, wherein the cloud network processes a plurality of data items of the enterprise for providing insights relating to operation of the enterprise [ Abstract, According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a cloud printing system is connected to an information processing apparatus via a network, and the cloud printing system comprises: one or more memories storing a set of instructions; and one or more processors that execute the set of instructions to: receive a print job from the information processing apparatus; and if there is a plurality of users permitted to execute the received print job, transmit the received print job to another cloud printing system using authentication information of each of the plurality of users].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji, and Dutta by incorporating “a cloud printing system”, as taught by Tanibe. One could have been motivated to do so in order to take the advantage of the cloud printing service is that the print job sent from the client terminal can be executed from any image forming device registered with the tenant, giving the user more freedom in where to execute a printing operation. [ Tanibe, ¶3].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See 892 for more relevant references.
Alacar ( US2020/0409628) [0026] Authentication service module 116 of cloud-based server 110 acts in conjunction with port monitor 108 and internet browser 119 to authenticate the user before sending print job 113 to printing device 104. Port monitor 108 initiates a redirection from device 102 to launch browser 119 by passing along claim code 117 in a URL address 121. Claim code URL address 121 points to cloud-based server 110. Authentication service module 116 interacts with browser to obtain user information 120. Authentication service module 116 assigns claim code 117 to that user presenting user information 120. The user will now see print job 113 in his/her job list, such as displayed on device 102.
UNO (US2023/0418532) [¶2, A system including an image forming device, a cloud print server, and a client terminal is known. The image forming device repeatedly sends an event confirmation request to the cloud print server. When the cloud print server receives a print job sending command from the client terminal, the cloud print server sends an event confirmation response indicating that there is a print job to the image forming device in response to the event confirmation request. Accordingly, the image forming device executes the print job].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHRIAR ZARRINEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496