DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on November 12, 2024 (x2); May 11, 2026 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,351 (herein US351). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1, US 351 claims recite:
Claim 1 instant Application Limitation
US 351 corresponding claim
An imaging lens assembly comprising a plurality of lens elements
Claim 1
a lens barrel comprising a plate portion having a central hole, and an optical axis of the imaging lens assembly passing through the central hole
Claim 1
a tube portion extending from the plate portion which is parallel with the optical axis and defining an inner space, and the lens elements disposed in the inner space
Claim 1
a glue material disposed between one of the lens elements and the tube portion of the lens barrel, and the glue material is for fixing the lens elements in the inner space
Claim 1 (fixing lens elements implicit)
a first void structure extending from the central hole to the tube portion
Claim 1
herein the tube portion comprises a plurality of inner annular surfaces, the inner annular surfaces corresponds to the lens elements, respectively, the glue material is disposed between an outer diameter surface of the one of the lens elements and each of the inner annular surfaces corresponding to the lens elements, the lens elements comprise a first lens element, and the first lens element is physically contacted with the plate portion of the lens barrel;
Claim 1
wherein the first void structure is for maintaining an air gap between the first lens element and the plate portion, a thickness of the air gap is d, and the following condition is satisfied:
0.5 um < d < 40um
Claim 1
As to claims 2-10, US 351 claims 2-10 recite substantially similar subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2021/0389546 - Zhao) in view of Zhan et al. (US 2017/0003473 - Zhan).
As to claim 1, Zhao teaches an imaging lens assembly (Zhao Fig. 1; Figs. 5A,B) comprising a plurality of lens elements (Zhao Fig. 1 - 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120; Figs. 5A, B - 510, 520)
a lens barrel (Zhao Fig. 1 - 152, 140, 142, 144, 146; Fig. 5A - 540, 530) comprising
a plate portion having a central hole (Zhao Fig. 5A - 530; Fig. 5B - 530) and an optical axis of the imaging lens assembly passing through the central hole (Zhao Fig. 1; Figs. 5A,B);
a tube portion extending (Zhao Fig. 1 - 152; Figs. 5A,B - 540) from the plate portion which is parallel to the optical axis and defining an inner space (Zhao Fig. 1; Fig. 5A, B - 540), and the lens elements disposed in the inner space (Zhao Figs. 1, 5A,B);
a first void structure extending from the central hole to the tube portion (Zhao Fig. 5B - 570; para. [0036]);
wherein the tube portion comprises a plurality of inner annular surfaces (Zhao Fig. 1 - inner surfaces of (152); Figs. 5A,B - inner surfaces of (540)) the inner annular surfaces corresponds to the lens elements respectively (Zhao Fig. 5B - 510, 520, 540), the lens elements comprise a first lens element (Zhao Fig. 5B - 520) and the first lens element is physically contacted with the plate portion of the lens barrel (Zhao Fig. 5B - 520, 530);
wherein the first void structure is for maintaining an air gap between the first lens element and the plate portion (Zhao Fig. 5B - 570; para. [0036]), and a thickness of the air gap d satisfies: 0.5 um < d < 40 um (Zhao para. [0001] - teaching the film shim (530) having a thickness of < 0.022 mm (i.e. d < 22um) which corresponds to the gap (570) thickness which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03) and prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05)).
Zhao doesn’t specify glue disposed between the lens elements (e.g. 510, 520) and the annular surfaces of the lens barrel (540).
In the same field of endeavor Zhan teaches glue between the lens elements and annular surfaces of lens barrels (Zhan Fig. 5 - 3; para. [0026]; Fig. 7 - 125, 127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such glue since, as taught by Zhan, such glue allows for bonding the lens elements and barrel (Zhan para. [0031]).
As to claim 2, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zhao further teaches the first void structure is disposed on the plate portion of the lens barrel (Zhao Fig. 5B - 572; Fig. 6 - 612, 622, 632, 642, 652, 663) the first void structure comprises a first step and a first descending surface (Zhao Fig. 5B - 572; Fig. 6 - 612, 622, 632, 642, 652, 663; see below), the first step and the first descending surface are for maintaining the air gap between the plate portion and the first lens element which is physically contacted with the plate portion (Zhao Fig. 5B- 532, 534, 520, 572)
As to claim 3, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zhao/Zhan further teaches the tube portion of the barrel comprises a second void structure (Zhao Fig. 5B; para. [0031] - tube portion (540) having void structure/inner wall creating space (560)), the second void structure corresponding to the outer diameter of the one of the lens elements (Zhao Fig. 5B - 510, 520), the second void structure comprising a second step and a second descending surface (Zhao Fig. 5B - steps and descending surfaces of inner wall of (540)), and a part of the glue material disposed in the second void structure (Zhan Fig. 5 - 3, 11, 115).
As to claim 5, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zhao further teaches the thickness of the air gap d satisfies: 0.5 um < d < 23um (Zhao para. [0001]).
As to claim 6, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zhao further teaches an outer diameter of the first lens element is phi1 (Zhao Fig. 1 - 120; Fig. 5B - 520) and outer diameter of the one of the lens elements connected with the glue material is phi-i (Zhao Fig. 1 - 110, 112; Fig. 5B - 510) and satisfying 1.0 ≤ phi-i/phi1 < 1.43 (Zhao Figs. 1, 5B - showing the diameters as phi1 < phi-i and thus phi-i/phi1 > 1 which is an overlapping range of sufficient specificity (MPEP 2131.03) and prima facia obvious (MPEP 2144.05)).
As to claim 7, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Zhao/Zhan further teaches between the one of the lens elements which is for disposing the glue material and the first lens element comprises at least two other lens elements (Zhao Fig. 1; Zhan Fig. 5).
As to claim 9, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Zhao further teaches an image capturing apparatus (Zhao Fig. 1; para. [0001]).
As to claim 10, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Zhao further teaches an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the imaging lens (Zhao para. [0001]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao and Zhan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hubert et al. (US 2020/0310227 - Hubert).
As to claim 4, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, but doesn’t specify the coefficient of linear thermal expansion (CTE) of the glue being 5 ppm/C < c < 400ppm/C.
In the same field of endeavor Hubert teaches glues for lenses and lens assemblies having a CTE of 5 ppm/C < c < 400ppm/C (Hubert Fig. 1 - 104; para. [0027]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such glue since, as taught by Hubert, such glues allow for creating a reliable bond (Hubert para. [0026], [0027]). Additionally, such properties are of known commercial glue materials (Hubert para. [0027] - epoxies from Namics, Dexerials, or Henkel).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao and Zhan as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2014/0078606).
As to claim 8, Zhao in view of Zhan teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, but doesn’t specify the glue material has an opaque property. In the same field of endeavor Wu teaches imaging lenses with glues having an opaque property (Wu Fig. 1; para. [0013]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide opaque glues since, as taught by Wu, such features allow for blocking stray light (Wu para. [0013]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pat/Publication documents: Cited for showing various claimed and disclosed features of the instant application, including air gaps, glued lenses, lens barrels, and annular surfaces accommodating the lenses:
Hubert et al. (US 12,197,110); Jao et al. (US 7,502,183; 2008/0074763); Fiandra et al. (US 4,586,787); Xu (US 2020/0404024); Choi (US 2016/0223776); Wang et al. (WO 2021/168741); Zhang (CN 208044170); Xu (CN 106324949); Watanabe (WO 2012/086350).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 August 18, 2026