Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/22/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 6/17/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/27/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 5-10, filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 6-7, of the remarks, filed on 8/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1, that “The Office asserts that Milano's "second layer [66b'] of insulative thin layer is considered as the shield layer." However, that assertion necessarily ignores the meanings of the words of the claim. Applicant acknowledges that the claims are "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." MPEP § 2111 (citing Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). "The broadest reasonable interpretation does not mean the broadest possible interpretation. Rather, the meaning given to a claim term must be consistent with the ordinary and customary meaning of the term (unless the term has been given a special definition in the specification), and must be consistent with the use of the claim term in the specification and drawings. Further, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims must be consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach." Id. (citing In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed.Cir. 1999)). "All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." MPEP § 2143.03 (citing In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970)).
There simply is no way to consider all words in the claim, and give them their broadest reasonable interpretation, "consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would (Remarks-Page 6) reach," and reasonably consider Molino's second layer 66 b', which is part of his insulation structure, to be any sort of shield layer as that term is used in the specification and recited in claim 1 (Remarks-Page 7).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-7 (stated above), filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6/17/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Milano discloses, “The die 58 (or 58') is in contact with the polyimide film layer 80b of the shield layer 66b'; Paragraph [0060] Line 11-12” and “Disposed between the die 58' and the current conductor 52a' is an insulation structure 64'. Like the insulation structure 64 from FIG. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66a' and a second layer 66b'; Paragraph [0054] Line 26-30”. Milano discloses two insulating layers. Claim recites, “a shield layer” and where the shield layer is placed. However, claim does not recite how the shield layer is functioning or what is the purpose of the shield layer. It is just the name of a layer.
Milano discloses, “Each layer includes thin sheet material, e.g., an organic polymer such as polyimide or benzo-cyclobutene (BCB), or an oxide insulating material like silicon dioxide (if such material can be provided in two layers). The double layered structure provides basic and supplemental insulation layers, or reinforced insulation in a single package. The two layers may be separable or non-separable; Paragraph [0050]”. Therefore, the insulating layer is made of polyimide layer and adhesive and one side of the insulating layer is placed on top of the die and which is a conductive material. When a polyimide layer is placed to a conductive later it functions as an electromagnetic shielding that means as a shield layer. Because it is well known that polyimide films with conductive layers, combined with suitable adhesives, are widely used for electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding, especially in flexible, high‑temperature, or space‑constrained applications. Milano discloses in paragraph 13, “[0013] Embodiments of the invention may include one or more of the following features. The thin sheet material can be a polyimide film. Each of the first and second insulation layers can further include a layer of adhesive. The polyimide film and the adhesive layer can be provided in a tape”.
Polyimide Tape EMI Shielding Capabilities Explained
When engineers need to shield a sensitive circuit from electromagnetic interference (EMI), they often picture metal enclosures or conductive coatings. But what about those tight spaces, flexible components, or extreme temperatures where traditional solutions won't fit? This is where a specialized material steps in: polyimide tape.
Often recognized by the brand name Kapton tape material, standard polyimide electrical insulation tape is famous for its incredible heat resistance. However, when engineered with a conductive layer, it transforms into a powerful, lightweight, and flexible tool for managing EMI. Let's explore how this works and where it's indispensable.
From Insulator to Shield: How It Works
At its core, polyimide film electrical tape is an exceptional insulator. The base polyimide film is what gives it strength and the ability to withstand temperatures from -269°C to over 400°C. By itself, it blocks electricity but does little to stop electromagnetic waves.
The shielding capability comes from a critical addition: a conductive layer. Manufacturers apply this layer to one or both sides of the polyimide film through processes like vacuum metallization, sputtering, or laminating a thin metal foil (often aluminum or copper); https://www.qkdpower.com/news/en/News-20251224-035145.html
Therefore, applicant’s argument that, “The Office asserts that Milano's "second layer [66b'] of insulative thin layer is considered as the shield layer." However, that assertion necessarily ignores the meanings of the words of the claim” is not persuasive. Claim does not recite any specific material or structure or function of the shield layer. The insulating layer of Milano can function the same as a shield layer. Therefore, again for the broadest reasonable interpretation Milano’s second insulating layer can be considered as the shield layer. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7, of the remarks, filed on 8/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1, that “The claim recites "a shield layer disposed on a first surface proximal to the insulation layer." Thus, while "proximal" they are not the same. One with ordinary skill in the art, after having read the instant disclosure, would necessarily understand that there is a difference between an insulation layer and a shield layer as described in the specification and recited in the claims. Indeed, the specification describes the two layers and their purposes differently and inline with how one with ordinary skill in the art would otherwise readily understand those terms. For example, the insulation layer is repeatedly described as providing voltage isolation between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor. See, e.g, paragraphs [0072], [0073], and [0116]. In contrast, the shield layer is described as intended "to reduce the effects of electrical, voltage, or electrical transient noise coupled to the active circuitry through parasitic capacitance between the conductor [] and the circuitry." See, e.g, paragraphs [0044], [0061], [0074], [0120], and [0142]. Because the shield layer serves a different purpose than the insulation layer, "the shield layer [is coupled] to a bond pad" with "an interconnect coupled between the bond pad and the signal lead" which "is coupled to a reference potential," as recited in claim 1. See also, e.g, paragraphs [0094], [0111], [0315], and [0142] ("the shield layer 830, which is electrically coupled to a reference potential, serves to tie one place of undesirable parasitic capacitance between the conductor 840 and substrate 810 to the reference potential (e.g., ground)"). Thus, one with ordinary skill in the art would necessarily, after having read the instant disclosure, readily understand that there is a difference between an insulation layer and a shield layer.
In contrast, Molino's "insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66 a' and a second layer 66 Paragraph [0054]. Thus, Molino's second layer 66 b' is merely part of his insulation structure. One with ordinary skill in the art would not consider Molino's second layer 66 b' to be any sort of shield layer as that term is used in the specification and claim 1.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7 (stated above), filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6/17/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “Indeed, the specification describes the two layers and their purposes differently and inline with how one with ordinary skill in the art would otherwise readily understand those terms. For example, the insulation layer is repeatedly described as providing voltage isolation between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor. See, e.g, paragraphs [0072], [0073], and [0116]. In contrast, the shield layer is described as intended "to reduce the effects of electrical, voltage, or electrical transient noise coupled to the active circuitry through parasitic capacitance between the conductor [] and the circuitry." See, e.g, paragraphs [0044], [0061], [0074], [0120],…” which is not persuasive. The specific function of the insulating layer and shield layer is described in the specification. However, the limitation is not recited in the claim. Claim is rejected in light of the specification however the limitation is not incorporated from the specification. In general, an insulating layer insulates, and Milano discloses that limitation and the second insulating layer of Milano can be considered as a shiel layer as it can function the same way as a shield layer in general. Examiner explained above that the insulating layer of Milano can function as a shield layer. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument that For example, the insulation layer is repeatedly described as providing voltage isolation between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor and the shield layer is described as intended "to reduce the effects of electrical, voltage, or electrical transient noise coupled to the active circuitry through parasitic capacitance between the conductor [] and the circuitry, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (For example, the insulation layer is repeatedly described as providing voltage isolation between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor and the shield layer is described as intended "to reduce the effects of electrical, voltage, or electrical transient noise coupled to the active circuitry through parasitic capacitance between the conductor [] and the circuitry) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., For example, the insulation layer is repeatedly described as providing voltage isolation between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor and the shield layer is described as intended "to reduce the effects of electrical, voltage, or electrical transient noise coupled to the active circuitry through parasitic capacitance between the conductor [] and the circuitry) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 still can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, as set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9, of the remarks, filed on 8/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1, that “Rather, as shown in FIG. 3 and described in paragraph [0030], Eun's via 305 directly couples the shielding layer 340 to ground with no need of any bond pad or interconnection therebetween. While Eun's "chip 304 [is] electrically connected to the contacts 306 of the substrate 302 through bumps 320," Eun's chip 304 is not the shielding layer 340. Thus, both Milano and Eun fail to teach "a via configured to couple the shield layer to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate," to use the Office's terminology. More pertinently, both Milano and Eun fail to teach, suggest, or otherwise render obvious a "shield layer [] disposed between the substrate and the insulation layer;" "a via configured to couple the shield layer to a bond pad ; and an interconnect coupled between the bond pad and the signal lead" and "wherein the signal lead is coupled to a reference potential," as recited in claim 1.
New claims 19 and 20 have been added to further distinguish over the prior art. Support for these claims can be found, among other places, in FIG. 8 and the discussion thereof in the specification, including but not limited to paragraphs [0136] - [0146].
Accordingly, Applicant submits that claim 1, and all pending claims, are patentable over the cited references.
In view of the above, Applicant believes the present application is in condition for allowance for which a notice thereof is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 9)”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9 (stated above), filed 8/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1, the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1, the rejection of Claims 4-6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1, the rejection of Claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1 and the rejection of Claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6/17/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Milano discloses all the limitation of independent claim 1 except that a via extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and configured to couple the shield layer to the bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate. Milano already discloses the shield layer and the bond pad. Eun is introduced only to show that there could be a via to couple the shield layer to the bond pad. Eun is applied to show only that the via extends from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate. Shield layer and bond pad is already disclosed by Milano. It is not needed that Eun should also have the same purpose as Milano to include the via. Therefore the
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., shield layer and the bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate) are rejected under Milano. Eun is never applied in the rejection to reject those limitations. Milano teaches all the limitation of the independent claims and Eun was applied to remedy the deficiency of Milano as Milano does not teach, "he via extends from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate". Therefore applicant’s argument that Eun reference cannot be combined is not persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1 and the rejection of dependent claims 2-18 is maintained below. See the rejection set forth below.
New claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano et al. (Hereinafter “Milano”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130020660 A1 in view of Eun et al. (Hereinafter “Eun”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20100207258 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Milano teaches a current sensor [50'] in Figure 4C (A current sensor includes a lead frame having a first portion comprising current leads connected to form a current conductor to carry a primary current and a second portion comprising signal leads; Paragraph [0012] Line 2-5; FIGS. 4A-4C, a die up assembly version of the current sensor shown as current sensor 50'; Paragraph [0054] Line 2-3) comprising:
a lead frame [52'] comprising a conductor [52a'] and a signal lead [56'] (As can be seen in FIG. 4A, the current sensor 50' has a lead frame 52' with a first portion 52a' and a second portion 52b' in Figure 4B. The first portion 52a' provides a current conductor with primary current leads or pins 54' and the second portion 52b' provides signal leads 56'; Paragraph [0054] Line 11-15; Figure 4A-4B);
wherein the signal lead [56'] is coupled to a reference potential ([0076] Although the illustrated device in FIGS. 3A-3C, 4A-4C, FIGS. 6A-6B, 7A-7B and FIG. 8 has twenty pins, other pin counts are possible, with some leads providing the primary current path and other leads providing connections for signals (e.g., output, power supply and ground);
an insulation layer [66a'] in contact with the conductor [52a'] (Disposed between the die 58' and the current conductor 52a' is an insulation structure 64'. Like the insulation structure 64 from FIG. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66a' and a second layer 66b'; Paragraph [0054] Line 26-30; Figure 5; FIG. 5 shows the first tape layer 66a (or 66a') includes a first polyimide film layer 80a and a first adhesive layer 82a; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-5; From bottom to top the order of the layers is adhesive layer 82a (which is in contact with the current conductor 52a); Paragraph [0060] Line 7-9);
a semiconductor substrate [58'] (Die 58' as the substrate) (This type of arrangement, in which a die is oriented (e.g., to a lead frame, as shown, or substrate, circuit board, and so forth), is known as a "flip chip" assembly or configuration; Paragraph [0041] Line 9-12; The current sensor 50' includes a die 58'; Paragraph [0054] Line 19) having a shield layer [66b'] (second layer of insulative thin layer is considered as the shield layer) (The die 58 (or 58') is in contact with the polyimide film layer 80b of the shield layer 66b'; Paragraph [0060] Line 11-12) (Disposed between the die 58' and the current conductor 52a' is an insulation structure 64'. Like the insulation structure 64 from FIG. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66a' and a second layer 66b'; Paragraph [0054] Line 26-30) disposed on a first surface proximal to the insulation layer [66a'] and a second opposing surface distal from the insulation layer [66a'], and
wherein the shield layer [66b'] is disposed between the substrate [58'] and the insulation layer [66a'] (Figure 4C shows the shield layer [66b'] is disposed between the substrate [58'] and the insulation layer [66a']);
a magnetic field sensing circuit, comprising a magnetic field sensing element [60] (The current sensor 50' includes a die 58' that contains a magnetic field sensing circuit or integrated circuit with magnetic field transducer 60 (and circuitry not shown); Paragraph [0054] Line 19-21), supported by the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [58'] (Figure 4C shows a magnetic field sensing circuit, comprising a magnetic field sensing element [60] supported by the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [58']);
an interconnect [72] (wire bond 72 as the interconnect) (In the die up configuration of this implementation, contacts between the die 58' and the secondary signal leads 56a' are made with conventional semiconductor gold wire bonds 72; Paragraph [0054] Line 21-24) coupled between the bond pad [62] (active surface 62 as the bond pad here) (The die 58' is oriented face up, that is, a top or active surface 62 is face up; Paragraph [0054] Line 24-25) and the signal lead [56'] (In the die up configuration of this implementation, contacts between the die 58' and the secondary signal leads 56a' are made with conventional semiconductor gold wire bonds 72; Paragraph [0054] Line 21-24).
Milano fails to teach a via extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and configured to couple the shield layer to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Eun teaches a semiconductor device, and more particularly to a chip package (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2; Figure 3), wherein
a via [305] extending through the semiconductor substrate [302] to couple the shield layer [340] to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [302] (In addition, the second shielding layer 340 covers the ground vias 305 of the substrate 302, and the second shielding layer 340 is electrically connected to the ground via 305 and grounded. It should be noted that if the molding compound 330 completely encapsulates the chip 304 and the substrate 302, the first shielding layer 310 covers the ground vias 305 and is grounded; Paragraph [0030] Line 6-12) and configured to couple the shield layer [304] to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [302] (Figure 3 shows that the via couple the shield layer [304] to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [302]; Milano discloses active surface 62 as the bond pad therefore in view of Milano and Eun discloses the via couple the shield layer [304] to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [302]). The purpose of doing so is to adapt a thinner laminate substrate without an extra ground plane connection and the thickness or volume of the chip package structure can be more compact, to provide compatible design with the packaging of high frequency devices, particularly, radio frequency devices, to reduce noise as there is no outside connector to connect the shield layer to the reference potential and to reduce the effect of environmental condition such as temperature.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano in view of Eun, because Eun teaches to include a via extending through the semiconductor substrate to couple the shield layer to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate adapts a thinner laminate substrate without an extra ground plane and the thickness or volume of the chip package structure can be more compact, provides compatible design with the packaging of high frequency devices, particularly, radio frequency devices (Paragraph [0031] Line 5-10), reduces noise as there is no outside connector to connect the shield layer to the reference potential and to reduce the effect of environmental condition such as temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Milano teaches a current sensor,
wherein the interconnect comprises a wire bond [72] (wire bond 72) (In the die up configuration of this implementation, contacts between the die 58' and the secondary signal leads 56a' are made with conventional semiconductor gold wire bonds 72; Paragraph [0054] Line 21-24).
Regarding claim 8, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the shield layer [66b'] comprises a plurality of layers [80b, 82b] (FIG. 5 shows an enlarged, cross-sectional view of the insulation structure 64 (or 64') according to one exemplary embodiment. The second tape layer 66b (or 66b') as the shield layer includes a second polyimide film layer 80b and a second adhesive layer 82b; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the shield layer [66b'] is applied to the first surface of the semiconductor substrate [58'] (FIG. 5 shows the second tape layer 66b (or 66b') as the shield layer includes a second polyimide film layer 80b and a second adhesive layer 82b; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-7; The die 58 (or 58') is in contact with the polyimide film layer 80b; Paragraph [0060] Line 11-12).
Regarding claim 10, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the shield layer [66b'] is applied to the insulation layer [66a'] (The first tape layer 66a (or 66a') includes a first polyimide film layer 80a and a first adhesive layer 82a. The second tape layer 66b (or 66b') includes a second polyimide film layer 80b and a second adhesive layer 82b. From bottom to top the order of the layers is adhesive layer 82a (which is in contact with the current conductor 52a), the polyimide film layer 80a, the adhesive layer 82b and the polyimide film layer 80b. The die 58 (or the insulation layer [66a'] extends an edge of the conductor [52a'] ') is in contact with the polyimide film layer 80b; Paragraph [0060] Line 4-12).
Regarding claim 11, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the shield layer [66b'] extends beyond an edge of the first surface of the semiconductor substrate [58'] (Figure 4C shows the insulation layer [66b'] extends beyond an edge of the first surface of the semiconductor substrate [58']; Like the insulation structure 64 from FIGS. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is dimensioned to include an overhang portion that extends beyond the primary conductor 52a'; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the insulation layer [66a'] comprises at least one of a polymer dielectric material [80a] or a layer of adhesive [82a] (FIG. 5 shows an enlarged, cross-sectional view of the insulation structure 64 (or 64') according to one exemplary embodiment. In this embodiment, each layer is provided as a tape layer. The first tape layer 66a (or 66a') includes a first polyimide film layer 80a and a first adhesive layer 82a; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the insulation layer [66a'] is applied to the conductor [52a'] (Disposed between the die 58' and the current conductor 52a' is an insulation structure 64'. Like the insulation structure 64 from FIG. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66a' and a second layer 66b'; Paragraph [0054] Line 26-30; The insulation structure 64 may be formed on or applied to the current conductor 52a; Paragraph [0050] Line 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
a length and a width of the insulation layer [66a'] is the same as a length and a width of the shield layer [66b'] (The first tape layer 66a has a thickness "T, tape 1" 84a and the second tape layer 66b has a thickness "T, Tape 2" 84b. The first polyimide film layer 80a has a thickness T1 86a and the second polyimide film layer 80b has a thickness T1 86b. The first adhesive layer 82a and the second adhesive layer 82b have thicknesses "T2" 88a and 88b, respectively. The thicknesses 84a and 84b of the tape layers may be the same (or substantially the same) or different. Likewise, the thickness of the adhesive layer and the polyimide film layer in one layer may be the same as or different from the corresponding layers in the other tape layer; Paragraph [0060] Line 12-22).
Regarding claim 15, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
the insulation layer [66a'] extends beyond a length of the conductor [52a'] (Figure 4C shows the insulation layer [66a'] extends beyond a length of the conductor [52a']; Like the insulation structure 64 from FIGS. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is dimensioned to include an overhang portion that extends beyond the primary conductor 52a'; Paragraph [0055] Line 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein
wherein the magnetic field sensing element [60] comprises at least one of a Hall-effect element or a magnetoresistance element. (The current sensor 50 includes the magnetic field transducer 60 (from FIGS. 3A-3C, 4A-4C) shown as magnetic field sensing device 60. The magnetic field sensing device 60 may be formed by one or more sensing elements, such as Hall-effect or magnetoresistive (MR) sensing element; Paragraph [0070] Line 3-7).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramiah et al. (Hereinafter “Ramiah”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20090243074 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Eun teaches a via extending through the semiconductor substrate.
However, the combination of Milano and Eun fails to teach a current sensor, wherein the via comprises a through-silicon via extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Ramiah teaches semiconductor processing, and more specifically, to the formation of openings or vias in a semiconductor for making contact to a conductive pad (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-4), wherein
the via comprises a through-silicon via (through-silicon via 26', through-silicon via 30' and through-silicon via 32'; Paragraph [0014] Line 6-7; Figure 6) extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate [12] to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate [12] (The semiconductor device 10 in FIG. 6 has deep silicon vias of variable diameter; Paragraph [0014] Line 9-10; Figure 6 shows that the through-silicon via 26', the through-silicon via 30' and the through-silicon via 32' extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate 12). The purpose of doing so is to form the electrical connections between the sensor die and the semiconductor die, to form backside ground connections to the active circuitry in high frequency and high power radio-frequency applications and to minimize conductor resistance, inductance and improve signal accuracy.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano and Eun in view of Ramiah, because Ramiah teaches to include a via which comprises a through-silicon via forms the electrical connections between the sensor die and the semiconductor die, forms backside ground connections to the active circuitry in high frequency and high power radio-frequency applications (Paragraph [0004] Line 16-19) and minimizes conductor resistance, inductance and improve signal accuracy (Paragraph [0007] Line 12-13).
Claims 4-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor et al. (Hereinafter “Taylor”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20080297138 A1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Milano and Eun fails to teach a current sensor, further comprising a second bond pad on the at least one signal lead, wherein the wire bond is coupled between the bond pad on the shield layer and the second bond pad.
Taylor teaches a current sensor (Electrical current sensors, and more particularly to a miniaturized current sensor in an integrated circuit package; Paragraph [0003] Line 1-3; FIG. 23, a side view of a portion of a current sensor 1000; Paragraph [0184] Line 1-2), further comprising
a second bond pad [20a-20c] on the at least one signal lead [12e, 12f, 12h] (The substrate 16 in Figure 1 has bonding pads 20a-20c on the first surface 16a, to which bond wires 22a-22c are coupled. The bond wires are further coupled to the leads 12e, 12f, 12h of the lead frame 12; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4; Figure 1; The wire bond is coupled to the bonding pad of the shield layer and the other side of the wire bond is coupled to the signal leads through the bonding pad of the substrate), wherein
the wire bond is coupled between the bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and the second bond pad (A bonding wire 1016, or another bonding method, can couple the bonding pad 1014 to the first surface 1002a of the substrate 1002; Paragraph [0185] Line 8-11; The current sensor of claim 1, wherein said substrate has at least one bonding pad coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of leads with a bond wire; Claim 11; The substrate 16 in Figure 1 has bonding pads 20a-20c on the first surface 16a, to which bond wires 22a-22c are coupled. The bond wires are further coupled to the leads 12e, 12f, 12h of the lead frame 12; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4; Figure 1; The wire bond is coupled between the bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and the second bond pad). The purpose of doing so is to allow the electromagnetic shield to be coupled to a DC voltage, for example, a ground voltage.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano and Eun in view of Taylor, because Taylor teaches to include a second bond pad on the at least one signal lead allows the electromagnetic shield to be coupled to a DC voltage, for example, a ground voltage (Paragraph [0172]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Milano and Eun fails to teach a current sensor, wherein the shield layer comprises a conductive material.
Taylor teaches a current sensor (Electrical current sensors, and more particularly to a miniaturized current sensor in an integrated circuit package; Paragraph [0003] Line 1-3; FIG. 23, a side view of a portion of a current sensor 1000; Paragraph [0184] Line 1-2), wherein
the shield layer [1008] comprises a conductive material [1012] (The electromagnetic shield 1008 includes a shielding portion 1100, a conductor portion 1012, and a bonding pad 1014; Paragraph [0185] Line 4-6). The purpose of doing so is to allow the electromagnetic shield to be coupled to a DC voltage, for example, a ground voltage.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano and Eun in view of Taylor, because Taylor teaches to include the shield layer with a conductive material allows the electromagnetic shield to be coupled to a DC voltage, for example, a ground voltage (Paragraph [0172]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Milano and Eun fails to teach a current sensor, wherein the conductive material comprises one or more of copper, aluminum, gold, nickel and aluminum copper alloy.
Taylor teaches a current sensor (Electrical current sensors, and more particularly to a miniaturized current sensor in an integrated circuit package; Paragraph [0003] Line 1-3; FIG. 23, a side view of a portion of a current sensor 1000; Paragraph [0184] Line 1-2), wherein
the conductive material [1012] comprises one or more of copper, aluminum, gold, nickel and aluminum copper alloy (The electromagnetic shield 800 can be formed from a metal layer. The metal layer can be comprised of a variety of materials, for example, aluminum, copper, gold, titanium, tungsten, chromium, or nickel; Paragraph [0173] Line 1-5; The electromagnetic shield [1008] can be the same as or similar to one of the electromagnetic shields 800, 850, 900, 950 of FIGS. 19-22, respectively; Paragraph [0185] Line 2-4). The purpose of doing so is to allow the electromagnetic shield to be coupled to a DC voltage, for example, a ground voltage.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano and Eun in view of Taylor, because Taylor teaches to include a conductive material made of one or more of copper, aluminum, gold, nickel and aluminum copper alloy allows the electromagnetic shield to be coupled to a DC voltage, for example, a ground voltage (Paragraph [0172]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Milano and Eun fails to teach a current sensor, wherein the insulation layer is formed by one or both of a taping process or a deposition process.
Taylor teaches a current sensor (Electrical current sensors, and more particularly to a miniaturized current sensor in an integrated circuit package; Paragraph [0003] Line 1-3; FIG. 23, a side view of a portion of a current sensor 1000; Paragraph [0184] Line 1-2), wherein
the insulation layer is formed by one or both of a taping process or a deposition process (In some embodiments for which the insulating layer is a substrate insulating layer associated with the substrate 306, the insulating layer 330 is a substrate taped insulating layer formed with a taping process. The substrate taped insulating layer can be comprised of a tape applied to the substrate, including but not limited to, a polymer tape, for example a KaptonR tape; Paragraph [0103] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to provide a miniaturized current sensor in an integrated circuit package..
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano and Eun in view of Taylor, because Taylor teaches to form the insulation layer by one or both of a taping process or a deposition process provides a miniaturized current sensor in an integrated circuit package. (Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1, Eun ‘258 A1 and Taylor ‘138 A1, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (Hereinafter “Zhu”) in the US Patent Application Number US 20060087314 A1.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Milano, Eun and Taylor fails to teach a current sensor wherein the conductive material comprises one of more of a metalized tape or aa metalized Mylar®.
Zhu teaches a sensor for measuring displacement, among others, includes a resistive element configured to receive an alternating voltage between a first electrical terminal and a second electrical terminal (Paragraph [0013] Line 1-4), wherein
wherein the conductive material comprises one of more of a metalized tape or a metalized Mylar® (Conductive shield 118 could be in the form of a sheath or a spiral shield. The spiral shield may include a right hand spiral or a left hand spiral. A metalized copper tape may be applied over the shield to provide further EM shielding; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to provide shielding, to provide high visibility, to have the property of higher toughness, the ability to be heat sealed, and a lower density at a lower cost and to provide high tensile strength, chemical and dimensional stability, transparency, reflectivity, gas and aroma barrier properties, and electrical insulation.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano, Eun and Taylor in view of Zhu, because Zhu teaches to include the shield layer comprising at least one of a metalized tape or a metalized Mylar® provides shielding, provides high visibility, has the property of higher toughness, the ability to be heat sealed, and a lower density at a lower cost and also provides high tensile strength, chemical and dimensional stability, transparency, reflectivity, gas and aroma barrier properties, and electrical insulation.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milano ‘660 A1 in view of Eun ‘258 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doogue et al. (Hereinafter “Doogue”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20070170533 A1.
Regarding claim 18, Milano teaches a current sensor, wherein magnetic field sensing element is a Hall Effect element or magnetoresistance element (The current sensor 50 includes the magnetic field transducer 60 (from FIGS. 3A-3C, 4A-4C) shown as magnetic field sensing device 60. The magnetic field sensing device 60 may be formed by one or more sensing elements, such as Hall-effect or magnetoresistive (MR) sensing element; Paragraph [0070] Line 3-7).
However the combination of Milano and Eun fails to teach a current sensor, wherein the magnetoresistance element includes at least one of Indium Antimonide (InSb), a giant magnetoresistance (GMR) element, an anisotropic magnetoresistance (AMR) element, a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element or a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) element.
Doogue teaches an integrated circuits and, more particularly, to integrated circuits having magnetic sensing elements (Paragraph [0003] Line 1-3), wherein
the magnetoresistance element includes at least one of Indium Antimonide (InSb), a giant magnetoresistance (GMR) element, an anisotropic magnetoresistance (AMR) element, a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element or a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) element (The magnetic field sensing element can be of a type including, but not limited to, a Hall effect element and a magnetoresistance element. The magnetoresistance element can be of a type including, but not limited to, a giant magnetoresistance (GMR) element, an anisotropic magnetoresistance (AMR) element, and a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element; Paragraph [0036] Line 5-12). The purpose of doing so is to increase the sensitivity, to adjust sensitivity through the selection of film thickness and line width, to reduce power consumption and to provide cost effective solutions.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Milano and Eun in view of Doogue, because Doogue teaches to include the magnetoresistance element at least one of Indium Antimonide (InSb), a giant magnetoresistance (GMR) element, an anisotropic magnetoresistance (AMR) element, a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element or a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) element increases the sensitivity, adjusts sensitivity through the selection of film thickness and line width, reduces power consumption and provides cost effective solutions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19:
Closest prior art of record, Milano et al. (US 20130020660 A1) and Eun et al. (US 20100207258 A1) do not disclose the limitation cited in claim 19 “wherein the shield layer is a conductive layer at the reference potential and disposed between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor; and wherein the shield layer is coupled to the reference potential through the via, the bond pad, the interconnect, and the signal lead.” in combination with other limitations recited in claim 19, upon which this claim depends. Milano teaches, “A current sensor includes a lead frame having a first portion comprising current leads connected to form a current conductor to carry a primary current and a second portion comprising signal leads (Paragraph [0012] Line 2-5). This type of arrangement, in which a die is oriented (e.g., to a lead frame, as shown, or substrate, circuit board, and so forth), is known as a "flip chip" assembly or configuration (Paragraph [0041] Line 9-12). FIGS. 4A-4C, a die up assembly version of the current sensor shown as current sensor 50' (Paragraph [0054] Line 2-3). As can be seen in FIG. 4A, the current sensor 50' has a lead frame 52' with a first portion 52a' and a second portion 52b' in Figure 4B. The first portion 52a' provides a current conductor with primary current leads or pins 54' and the second portion 52b' provides signal leads 56' (Paragraph [0054] Line 11-15). The current sensor 50' includes a die 58' that contains a magnetic field sensing circuit or integrated circuit with magnetic field transducer 60 (and circuitry not shown) (Paragraph [0054] Line 19-21). In the die up configuration of this implementation, contacts between the die 58' and the secondary signal leads 56a' are made with conventional semiconductor gold wire bonds 72 (Paragraph [0054] Line 21-24). Disposed between the die 58' and the current conductor 52a' is an insulation structure 64'. Like the insulation structure 64 from FIG. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66a' and a second layer 66b' (Paragraph [0054] Line 26-30). FIG. 5 shows the first tape layer 66a (or 66a') includes a first polyimide film layer 80a and a first adhesive layer 82a (Paragraph [0060] Line 1-5). The die 58 (or 58') is in contact with the polyimide film layer 80b of the shield layer 66b' (Paragraph [0060] Line 11-12).” Milano fails to teach a via extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and configured to couple the shield layer to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate; wherein the shield layer is a conductive layer at the reference potential and disposed between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor; and wherein the shield layer is coupled to the reference potential through the via, the bond pad, the interconnect, and the signal lead. Eun teaches, “a semiconductor device, and more particularly to a chip package (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2; Figure 3). In addition, the second shielding layer 340 covers the ground vias 305 of the substrate 302, and the second shielding layer 340 is electrically connected to the ground via 305 and grounded. It should be noted that if the molding compound 330 completely encapsulates the chip 304 and the substrate 302, the first shielding layer 310 covers the ground vias 305 and is grounded (Paragraph [0030] Line 6-12)”. However, Eun does not disclose wherein the shield layer is a conductive layer at the reference potential and disposed between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor; and wherein the shield layer is coupled to the reference potential through the via, the bond pad, the interconnect, and the signal lead. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the limitation of the shield layer is a conductive layer at the reference potential and disposed between the magnetic field sensing element and the conductor….. with the invention of Milano and Eun.
Regarding claim 20:
Closest prior art of record, Milano et al. (US 20130020660 A1) and Eun et al. (US 20100207258 A1) do not disclose the limitation cited in claim 20 “wherein the shield layer is configured to tie parasitic capacitance between the conductor and substrate to the reference potential.” in combination with other limitations recited in claim 20, upon which this claim depends. Milano teaches, “A current sensor includes a lead frame having a first portion comprising current leads connected to form a current conductor to carry a primary current and a second portion comprising signal leads (Paragraph [0012] Line 2-5). This type of arrangement, in which a die is oriented (e.g., to a lead frame, as shown, or substrate, circuit board, and so forth), is known as a "flip chip" assembly or configuration (Paragraph [0041] Line 9-12). FIGS. 4A-4C, a die up assembly version of the current sensor shown as current sensor 50' (Paragraph [0054] Line 2-3). As can be seen in FIG. 4A, the current sensor 50' has a lead frame 52' with a first portion 52a' and a second portion 52b' in Figure 4B. The first portion 52a' provides a current conductor with primary current leads or pins 54' and the second portion 52b' provides signal leads 56' (Paragraph [0054] Line 11-15). The current sensor 50' includes a die 58' that contains a magnetic field sensing circuit or integrated circuit with magnetic field transducer 60 (and circuitry not shown) (Paragraph [0054] Line 19-21). In the die up configuration of this implementation, contacts between the die 58' and the secondary signal leads 56a' are made with conventional semiconductor gold wire bonds 72 (Paragraph [0054] Line 21-24). Disposed between the die 58' and the current conductor 52a' is an insulation structure 64'. Like the insulation structure 64 from FIG. 3A-3C, the insulation structure 64' is formed by two layers of insulating thin sheet material, a first layer 66a' and a second layer 66b' (Paragraph [0054] Line 26-30). FIG. 5 shows the first tape layer 66a (or 66a') includes a first polyimide film layer 80a and a first adhesive layer 82a (Paragraph [0060] Line 1-5). The die 58 (or 58') is in contact with the polyimide film layer 80b of the shield layer 66b' (Paragraph [0060] Line 11-12).” Milano fails to teach a via extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and configured to couple the shield layer to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate; wherein the shield layer is configured to tie parasitic capacitance between the conductor and substrate to the reference potential. Eun teaches, “a semiconductor device, and more particularly to a chip package (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-2; Figure 3). In addition, the second shielding layer 340 covers the ground vias 305 of the substrate 302, and the second shielding layer 340 is electrically connected to the ground via 305 and grounded. It should be noted that if the molding compound 330 completely encapsulates the chip 304 and the substrate 302, the first shielding layer 310 covers the ground vias 305 and is grounded (Paragraph [0030] Line 6-12)”. However, Eun does not disclose wherein the shield layer is configured to tie parasitic capacitance between the conductor and substrate to the reference potential. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the limitation of the shield layer to tie parasitic capacitance between the conductor and substrate to the reference potential with the invention of Milano and Eun.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Singh et al. (US 20140253109 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND SENSOR FOR SENSING CURRENT IN A CONDUCTOR- [0002] This disclosure relates to a method and sensor for sensing current in a conductor. [0026] In accordance with one embodiment, FIG. 1 illustrates a current sensor 11. As illustrated, the current sensor 11 comprises an inductor 18 for sensing an alternating current signal component (or first alternating signal component) of an observed signal in a conductor 16 (e.g., 16 in FIG. 3). In general, the conductor 16 may comprise a conductor 16 between a source and electrical load. For example, the conductor 16 may comprise a conductor 16 (e.g., wire, cable or bus bar) between an output terminal of an inverter 10 or controller and an input terminal of an electric motor 14. [0027] Alternatively, the conductor 16 could be any conductor, conductive trace, wire, a set of wires, a wire bond or set of wire bonds associated with one or more respective output terminals of corresponding power semiconductor devices (e.g., an insulated-gate, bipolar transistors (IGBT's) or a metal-oxide semiconductor field-effect transistors (MOSFET's)), where the current sensor 11 is configured to sense current flowing within a power electronics module, an electric machine controller, a power output stage, or an inverter (e.g., an inverter housing) from the one or more output terminals to an electric motor, electric machine, or other load connected to the output terminal-However Singh does not disclose a semiconductor substrate having a shield layer disposed on a first surface proximal to the insulation layer and a second opposing surface distal from the insulation layer, wherein the shield layer is disposed between the substrate and the insulation layer; …… a via extending from the first surface of the semiconductor substrate to the second surface of the semiconductor substrate and configured to couple the shield layer to a bond pad on the second surface of the semiconductor substrate.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858