DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee KR 20110126337.
Re clm 1, Lee discloses a linear guide (Fig. 5), comprising: a first rail (100), extending in a motion direction and having a first opposite side (surface of 100 facing 200), the first opposite side having a first raceway surface (v-groove) that is recessed inwardly and extends in the motion direction; a second rail (200), extending in the motion direction and having a second opposite side (surface of 200 facing 100), the second opposite side having a second raceway surface (v-groove) that is recessed inwardly and extends in the motion direction, the first opposite side and the second opposite side facing each other; a retainer (310), extending in the motion direction and including a plurality of rolling elements (320) arranged in the motion direction, the rolling elements rolling on the first raceway surface and the second raceway surface, enabling the retainer, the first rail and the second rail to move relative to one another in the motion direction, a rotatable toothed wheel (336) being pivotally connected to the retainer; a plurality of first protrusions (332a), planted at equal intervals in the motion direction on the first opposite side other than the first raceway surface; a plurality of second protrusions (334a), planted at equal intervals in the motion direction on the second opposite side other than the second raceway surface; wherein the first protrusions and the second protrusions are arranged on opposite sides of a circumference of the toothed wheel, and the toothed wheel meshes with the first protrusions and the second protrusions to prevent the retainer from creeping on the first rail and the second rail.
Re clm 2, Lee further discloses a gap (space between 100 and 200, Fig. 4) is defined between the first opposite side of the first rail and the second opposite side of the second rail, the first protrusions extend toward the second opposite side (the protrusions extend in all three dimensional directions), the second protrusions extend toward the first opposite side, and the first protrusions and the second protrusions each have a protruding length less than the gap (shown in Fig. 4).
Re clm 5, Lee further discloses the motion direction is straight (Fig. 3).
Claims 1, 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee KR 20110039654.
Re clm 1, Lee discloses a linear guide (Fig. 5), comprising: a first rail (110), extending in a motion direction and having a first opposite side (surface of 110 facing 120), the first opposite side having a first raceway surface (v-groove 115) that is recessed inwardly and extends in the motion direction; a second rail (120), extending in the motion direction and having a second opposite side (surface of 120 facing 110), the second opposite side having a second raceway surface (v-groove 125) that is recessed inwardly and extends in the motion direction, the first opposite side and the second opposite side facing each other; a retainer (145), extending in the motion direction and including a plurality of rolling elements (135) arranged in the motion direction, the rolling elements rolling on the first raceway surface and the second raceway surface, enabling the retainer, the first rail and the second rail to move relative to one another in the motion direction, a rotatable toothed wheel (155) being pivotally connected to the retainer; a plurality of first protrusions (one of pair of rack members with teeth 169, line 163), planted at equal intervals in the motion direction on the first opposite side other than the first raceway surface; a plurality of second protrusions (other one of pair of rack members with teeth 169, line 163), planted at equal intervals in the motion direction on the second opposite side other than the second raceway surface; wherein the first protrusions and the second protrusions are arranged on opposite sides of a circumference of the toothed wheel, and the toothed wheel meshes with the first protrusions and the second protrusions to prevent the retainer from creeping on the first rail and the second rail.
Re clm 2, Lee further discloses a gap (space between 110 and 120, Fig. 9) is defined between the first opposite side of the first rail and the second opposite side of the second rail, the first protrusions extend toward the second opposite side (the protrusions extend in all three dimensional directions), the second protrusions extend toward the first opposite side, and the first protrusions and the second protrusions each have a protruding length less than the gap (shown in Fig. 9).
Re clm 5, Lee further discloses the motion direction is straight (Fig. 5).
Re clm 6, Lee further discloses the retainer has an accommodating space (151, Fig. 7), an axle (circular portion of retainer just inside toothed wheel 155) is provided in the accommodating space, the toothed wheel is pivotally connected to the axle in the accommodating space, and the toothed wheel partially extends out of the retainer (as shown in Fig. 6).
Claims 1, 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao JP 2021-139442.
Re clm 1, Zhao discloses a linear guide (Fig. 1-2), comprising: a first rail (10), extending in a motion direction and having a first opposite side (surface of 10 facing opposing 10), the first opposite side having a first raceway surface (v-groove 11) that is recessed inwardly and extends in the motion direction; a second rail (opposing 10), extending in the motion direction and having a second opposite side (surface of opposing 10 facing 10), the second opposite side having a second raceway surface (v-groove 11) that is recessed inwardly and extends in the motion direction, the first opposite side and the second opposite side facing each other; a retainer (at 24), extending in the motion direction and including a plurality of rolling elements (20) arranged in the motion direction, the rolling elements rolling on the first raceway surface and the second raceway surface, enabling the retainer, the first rail and the second rail to move relative to one another in the motion direction, a rotatable toothed wheel (22) being pivotally connected to the retainer; a plurality of first protrusions (one of rack members with teeth 13), planted at equal intervals in the motion direction on the first opposite side other than the first raceway surface; a plurality of second protrusions (other one of rack members with teeth 13), planted at equal intervals in the motion direction on the second opposite side other than the second raceway surface; wherein the first protrusions and the second protrusions are arranged on opposite sides of a circumference of the toothed wheel, and the toothed wheel meshes with the first protrusions and the second protrusions to prevent the retainer from creeping on the first rail and the second rail.
Re clm 2, Zhao further discloses a gap (space between 10s) is defined between the first opposite side of the first rail and the second opposite side of the second rail, the first protrusions extend toward the second opposite side (the protrusions extend in all three dimensional directions), the second protrusions extend toward the first opposite side, and the first protrusions and the second protrusions each have a protruding length less than the gap (shown in Fig. 1).
Re clm 4, Zhao further discloses the plurality of first protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of first circular holes (19) of the first opposite side, and the plurality of second protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of second circular holes (19) of the second opposite side.
Re clm 5, Zhao further discloses the motion direction is straight (Fig. 1).
Re clm 6, Zhao further discloses the retainer has an accommodating space (shown at 22, Fig. 2), an axle (shaft 23; [0023]) is provided in the accommodating space, the toothed wheel is pivotally connected to the axle in the accommodating space, and the toothed wheel partially extends out of the retainer (as shown in Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee KR 20110126337 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Li Cn 105822738.
Lee discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 3, Lee does not disclose the first and second protrusions are cylindrical.
Li teaches a similar toothed wheel and protrusion arrangement (rack and pinion system) in which the protrusions (rack) is formed of cylinders (4, Fig. 1 and 2) for the purpose of allowing an individual tooth to be replaced due to damage or wear while keeping the cost small (lines 100-104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the protrusion (or rack) arrangement of Lee with any well-known rack design and provide the first and second protrusions are cylindrical for the purpose of allowing an individual tooth to be replaced due to damage or wear while keeping the cost small.
Re clm 4, Lee in view of Li further discloses the plurality of first protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of first circular holes (Fig. 1-2; lines 100-104 of Li) of the first opposite side, and the plurality of second protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of second circular holes (Fig. 1-2; lines 100-104 of Li) of the second opposite side.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee KR 20110039654 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Li Cn 105822738.
Lee discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 3, Lee does not disclose the first and second protrusions are cylindrical.
Li teaches a similar toothed wheel and protrusion arrangement (rack and pinion system) in which the protrusions (rack) is formed of cylinders (4, Fig. 1 and 2) for the purpose of allowing an individual tooth to be replaced due to damage or wear while keeping the cost small (lines 100-104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the protrusion (or rack) arrangement of Lee with any well-known rack design and provide the first and second protrusions are cylindrical for the purpose of allowing an individual tooth to be replaced due to damage or wear while keeping the cost small.
Re clm 4, Lee in view of Li further discloses the plurality of first protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of first circular holes (Fig. 1-2; lines 100-104 of Li) of the first opposite side, and the plurality of second protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of second circular holes (Fig. 1-2; lines 100-104 of Li) of the second opposite side.
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao JP 2021-139442 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Li Cn 105822738.
Zhao discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 3, Lee does not disclose the first and second protrusions are cylindrical.
Li teaches a similar toothed wheel and protrusion arrangement (rack and pinion system) in which the protrusions (rack) is formed of cylinders (4, Fig. 1 and 2) for the purpose of allowing an individual tooth to be replaced due to damage or wear while keeping the cost small (lines 100-104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the protrusion (or rack) arrangement of Zhao with any well-known rack design and provide the first and second protrusions are cylindrical for the purpose of allowing an individual tooth to be replaced due to damage or wear while keeping the cost small.
Re clm 4, Zhao in view of Li further discloses the plurality of first protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of first circular holes (Fig. 1-2; lines 100-104 of Li) of the first opposite side, and the plurality of second protrusions are respectively planted in a plurality of second circular holes (Fig. 1-2; lines 100-104 of Li) of the second opposite side.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617