DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office action is based on the communications filed November 13, 2024. Claims 21 – 40 are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 30, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 – 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh et al. (US 2015/0016442 A1), hereinafter Walsh, in view of Isaac et al. (US 2006/0177073 A1), hereinafter Isaac.
Claim 21: Walsh discloses one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media comprising instructions executable by one or more processors of a first playback device to control the first playback device to perform a playback process comprising (see at least, “Computer 200 is such an example for use as the calibration engine 116 in the example room environment 100 for calibrating multichannel surround sound systems including listener position estimation shown in FIG. 1. Illustrated are at least one processor 210 coupled to a chipset 212. The chipset 212 includes a memory controller hub 214 and an input/output (I/O) controller hub 216. A memory 220 and a graphics adapter 240 are coupled to memory controller hub 214. A storage unit 230, a network adapter 260, and input devices 250, are coupled to the I/O controller hub 216. Computer 200 is adapted to execute computer program instructions 235 for providing functionality described herein. In the example shown in FIG. 2, executable computer program instructions 235 are stored on the storage unit 230, loaded into the memory 220, and executed by the processor 210. Other embodiments of computer 200 may have different architectures. For example, memory 220 may be directly coupled to processor 210 in some embodiments,” Walsh [0037], “Processor 210 includes one or more central processing units (CPUs), graphics processing units (GPUs), digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits
(ASICs), radio-frequency integrated circuits (RFICs), or any combination of these. Storage unit 230 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 232, including a solid-state memory device, a hard drive, an optical disk, or a magnetic tape. The instructions 235 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within memory 220 or within processor 210's cache memory during execution thereof by computer 200, memory 220 and processor 210 also constituting computer-readable storage media. Instructions 235 may be transmitted or received over network 140 via network
interface 260,” Walsh [0038], “The soundbar 110 has integrated in its enclosure a speaker array 112, a
microphone array 114, a calibration engine 116 and an A/V processing module (not shown),” Walsh [0032], “In one embodiment, the calibration engine 116 comprises a calibration request receiver module 410, a calibration log database 420, a position estimator module 430, and a spatial calibrator module 440. As used herein, the term "module" refers to a hardware and/or software unit used to provide one or more specified functionalities. Thus, a module can be implemented in hardware, software or firmware, or a combination of thereof. Other embodiments of the calibration engine 116 may include different and/or fewer or more modules,” Walsh [0045]):
receiving a positioning signal transmitted from a second playback device (see at least, “The inclusion of the microphone array 114 placed around the midpoint of the sound bar 110 is all that necessary for the calibration engine 116 to estimate each surround loudspeaker's position relative to the soundbar. Since the soundbar is usually predictably placed directly above or below the video screen (or TV), the geometry of the measured distance and incident angle can be translated to an absolute position relative to any point in front of that reference soundbar location using simple trigonometric principals,” Walsh [0040], “The position estimator 430 estimates the distance and angle of a loudspeaker relative to the microphone array based on test signals 432 played by the loudspeaker and measurements 434 received at the microphone array,” Walsh [0047]);
determining, based at least in part on the received positioning signal, a relative position of the first playback device with respect to the second playback device (see at least, “The position estimator 430 estimates the distance and angle of a loudspeaker relative to the microphone array based on test signals 432 played by the loudspeaker and measurements 434 received at the microphone array. FIG. 5A is a diagram illustrating an example test setting for estimating the distanced and angle e between the right surround speaker 108 and microphone array 114,” Walsh [0047]);
using the relative position to determine a first playback configuration for the first playback device and a second playback configuration for the second playback device (see at least, “Referring back to FIG. 4. Now that the angular position and distance of any surround loudspeaker and an individual listener are identified by the position estimator 430. This information can be passed to the spatial calibrator 440 to reform the multichannel sound signals directed towards the listener's physical loudspeaker layout to better preserve the artistic intent of the content producer. Based on the estimated positions of each loudspeaker and the listener relative to the microphone array, the spatial calibrator 440 can derive the distances and angles between each loudspeaker and the listener using trigonometry. The spatial calibrator 440 can then perform various spatial calibrations to the surround sound system, once the distances from each loudspeaker to the listener have been established,” Walsh [0060], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]); and
causing the first playback device to play back a first portion of audio content in accordance with the first playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065]).
Walsh does not disclose sending playback instructions to the second playback device. However, Isaac discloses a similar self-orienting audio system, the “self-orienting audio system includes a master controller and a plurality of loudspeaker modules. Each module includes an audio input and a controller coupled to the audio input and loudspeaker. The master controller communicates with the plurality of loudspeaker modules. The master controller can determine a distance to each of the loudspeaker modules and assign an audio channel to each of the loudspeaker modules depending upon that distance. The master controller can be incorporated into one of the modules. Distance to each module can be determined using signal delay or signal magnitude,” Isaac Abstract. Isaac further discloses sending playback instructions to the second playback device (see at least, “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], “The configuration of the present invention also lends itself to other audio improvements. For example, the loudspeaker 14 of each module can be equalized for a desired frequency response. Equalization can be performed by the master controller,” Isaac [0016], “The master module can then determine equalization parameters for that slave module which are transmitted to the slave controller for equalization of that loudspeaker for a desired frequency response,” Isaac [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aforementioned features of Issac in the invention of Walsh thereby allowing for additional benefits to channel-based audio including where “each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], while also allowing for additional improvement to “be performed by the master module or by each slave module. Such adjustment capability can be used to instruct a specific device(s) to increase or decrease volume or tone characteristics, in response to sudden changes in environment,” Isaac [0017]).
Claim 22: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein the playback process further comprises causing the second playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012]).
Claim 23: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein the playback process further comprises causing the second playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content: in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]); and in synchrony with playback of the first portion of the audio content by the first playback device (see at least, “If the listening position is known, the performance of DBAP can be improved by adjusting the delays so that the sound from each loudspeaker arrives at the listener at the same time,” Walsh [0063], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012]).
Claim 24: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein the playback instructions that are sent to the second playback device are instructions that cause the second playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], “The configuration of the present invention also lends itself to other audio improvements. For example, the loudspeaker 14 of each module can be equalized for a desired frequency response. Equalization can be performed by the master controller,” Isaac [0016], “The master module can then determine equalization parameters for that slave module which are transmitted to the slave controller for equalization of that loudspeaker for a desired frequency response,” Isaac [0016], “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]).
Claim 25: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 24, wherein: the audio content is multichannel audio content; the first portion of the audio content is a first channel of the multichannel audio content; and the second portion of the audio content is a second channel of the multichannel audio content (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 adjusts the delay and gain of multichannel audio signals sent to each loudspeaker based on the derived distances from each loudspeaker to the listener,” Walsh [0061], “With the growth of multi-media and multi-channel audio systems for use in the car and home,” Isaac [0002], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013]).
Claim 26: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein the positioning signal is an acoustic signal (see at least, “In one embodiment, the distance between a loudspeaker and a microphone is estimated by playing a test signal and measuring the time of flight (TOF) between the emitting loudspeaker and the receiving microphone. The time delay of the direct component of a measured impulse response can be used for this purpose. The direct component represents the sound signals that travel directly from the emitting loudspeaker to the receiving microphone without any reflections. The impulse response between the loudspeaker and a microphone array element can be obtained by playing a test signal through the loudspeaker under analysis. Test signal choices include a maximum length sequence (MLS), a chirp signal, also known as the logarithmic sine sweep (LSS) signal, or other test tones,” Walsh [0048], “In the case of determine distance by time delay, the master controller can send an RF signal 32 to each slave module 12 in turn, directing each to send an audio chirp 38 back to the master module 10,” Isaac [0015]).
Claim 27: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein the playback process further comprises causing the second playback device to output the positioning signal, wherein the positioning signal is an acoustic calibration tone (see at least, “In one embodiment, the distance between a loudspeaker and a microphone is estimated by playing a test signal and measuring the time of flight (TOF) between the emitting loudspeaker and the receiving microphone. The time delay of the direct component of a measured impulse response can be used for this purpose. The direct component represents the sound signals that travel directly from the emitting loudspeaker to the receiving microphone without any reflections. The impulse response between the loudspeaker and a microphone array element can be obtained by playing a test signal through the loudspeaker under analysis. Test signal choices include a maximum length sequence (MLS), a chirp signal, also known as the logarithmic sine sweep (LSS) signal, or other test tones,” Walsh [0048], “In the case of determine distance by time delay, the master controller can send an RF signal 32 to each slave module 12 in turn, directing each to send an audio chirp 38 back to the master module 10,” Isaac [0015]).
Claim 28: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein determining the relative position of the first playback device with respect to the second playback device comprises using a slower than speed-of-light measurement modality (see at least, “In one embodiment, the distance between a loudspeaker and a microphone is estimated by playing a test signal and measuring the time of flight (TOF) between the emitting loudspeaker and the receiving microphone. The time delay of the direct component of a measured impulse response can be used for this purpose. The direct component represents the sound signals that travel directly from the emitting loudspeaker to the receiving microphone without any reflections. The impulse response between the loudspeaker and a microphone array element can be obtained by playing a test signal through the loudspeaker under analysis. Test signal choices include a maximum length sequence (MLS), a chirp signal, also known as the logarithmic sine sweep (LSS) signal, or other test tones,” Walsh [0048], “In the case of determine distance by time delay, the master controller can send an RF signal 32 to each slave module 12 in turn, directing each to send an audio chirp 38 back to the master module 10,” Isaac [0015]).
Claim 29: Walsh and Isaac disclose the one or more tangible, non-transitory computer readable media of Claim 21, wherein: the first playback device includes a microphone; and the positioning signal is received via the microphone (see at least, “The inclusion of the microphone array 114 placed around the midpoint of the sound bar 110 is all that necessary for the calibration engine 116 to estimate each surround loudspeaker's position relative to the soundbar. Since the soundbar is usually predictably placed directly above or below the video screen ( or TV), the geometry of the measured distance and incident angle can be translated to an absolute position relative to any point in front of that reference soundbar location using simple trigonometric principals,” Walsh [0040]).
Claim 30: Walsh discloses a display device comprising (see at least, “Input devices 250 include a keyboard, mouse, track ball, or other type of alphanumeric and pointing devices that can be used to input data into computer 200. The graphics adapter 212 displays images and other information on one or more display devices, such as monitors and projectors (not shown),” Walsh [0039]): a network interface (see at least, “The network adapter 260 couples the computer 200 to a network, for example, network 140,” Walsh [0039]); one or more microphones (see at least, “The inclusion of the microphone array 114 placed around the midpoint of the sound bar 110 is all that necessary for the calibration engine 116 to estimate each surround loudspeaker's position relative to the soundbar. Since the soundbar is usually predictably placed directly above or below the video screen (or TV), the geometry of the measured distance and incident angle can be translated to an absolute position relative to any point in front of that reference soundbar location using simple trigonometric principals,” Walsh [0040]); one or more transducers (see at least, “The soundbar 110 has integrated in its enclosure a speaker array 112, a microphone array 114, a calibration engine 116 and an A/V processing module (not shown),” Walsh [0032]); and one or more processors configured to control the display device to (see at least, “Computer 200 is such an example for use as the calibration engine 116 in the example room environment 100 for calibrating multichannel surround sound systems including listener position estimation shown in FIG. 1. Illustrated are at least one processor 210 coupled to a chipset 212. The chipset 212 includes a memory controller hub 214 and an input/output (I/O) controller hub 216. A memory 220 and a graphics adapter 240 are coupled to memory controller hub 214. A storage unit 230, a network adapter 260, and input devices 250, are coupled to the I/O controller hub 216. Computer 200 is adapted to execute computer program instructions 235 for providing functionality described herein. In the example shown in FIG. 2, executable computer program instructions 235 are stored on the storage unit 230, loaded into the memory 220, and executed by the processor 210. Other embodiments of computer 200 may have different architectures. For example, memory 220 may be directly coupled to processor 210 in some embodiments,” Walsh [0037], “Processor 210 includes one or more central processing units (CPUs), graphics processing units (GPUs), digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits
(ASICs), radio-frequency integrated circuits (RFICs), or any combination of these. Storage unit 230 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 232, including a solid-state memory device, a hard drive, an optical disk, or a magnetic tape. The instructions 235 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within memory 220 or within processor 210's cache memory during execution thereof by computer 200, memory 220 and processor 210 also constituting computer-readable storage media. Instructions 235 may be transmitted or received over network 140 via network
interface 260,” Walsh [0038], “In one embodiment, the calibration engine 116 comprises a calibration
request receiver module 410, a calibration log database 420, a position estimator module 430, and a spatial calibrator module 440. As used herein, the term "module" refers to a hardware and/or software unit used to provide one or more specified functionalities. Thus, a module can be implemented in hardware, software or firmware, or a combination of thereof. Other embodiments of the calibration engine 116 may include different and/or fewer or more modules,” Walsh [0045]):
receive, via the one or more microphones, a positioning signal transmitted from a playback device (see at least, “The inclusion of the microphone array 114 placed around the midpoint of the sound bar 110 is all that necessary for the calibration engine 116 to estimate each surround loudspeaker's position relative to the soundbar. Since the soundbar is usually predictably placed directly above or below the video screen (or TV), the geometry of the measured distance and incident angle can be translated to an absolute position relative to any point in front of that reference soundbar location using simple trigonometric principals,” Walsh [0040], “The position estimator 430 estimates the distance and angle of a loudspeaker relative to the microphone array based on test signals 432 played by the loudspeaker and measurements 434 received at the microphone array,” Walsh [0047]);
determine, based at least in part on the received positioning signal, a relative position of the playback device with respect to the display device (see at least, “The position estimator 430 estimates the distance and angle of a loudspeaker relative to the microphone array based on test signals 432 played by the loudspeaker and measurements 434 received at the microphone array. FIG. 5A is a diagram illustrating an example test setting for estimating the distanced and angle e between the right surround speaker 108 and microphone array 114,” Walsh [0047]),
use the relative position to determine a first playback configuration for the display device and a second playback configuration for the playback device (see at least, “Referring back to FIG. 4. Now that the angular position and distance of any surround loudspeaker and an individual listener are identified by the position estimator 430. This information can be passed to the spatial calibrator 440 to reform the multichannel sound signals directed towards the listener's physical loudspeaker layout to better preserve the artistic intent of the content producer. Based on the estimated positions of each loudspeaker and the listener relative to the microphone array, the spatial calibrator 440 can derive the distances and angles between each loudspeaker and the listener using trigonometry. The spatial calibrator 440 can then perform various spatial calibrations to the surround sound system, once the distances from each loudspeaker to the listener have been established,” Walsh [0060], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]), and
cause the one or more transducers to play back a first portion of audio content in accordance with the first playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065]).
Walsh does not disclose to send, via the network interface, playback instructions to the playback device. However, Isaac discloses a similar self-orienting audio system, the “self-orienting audio system includes a master controller and a plurality of loudspeaker modules. Each module includes an audio input and a controller coupled to the audio input and loudspeaker. The master controller communicates with the plurality of loudspeaker modules. The master controller can determine a distance to each of the loudspeaker modules and assign an audio channel to each of the loudspeaker modules depending upon that distance. The master controller can be incorporated into one of the modules. Distance to each module can be determined using signal delay or signal magnitude,” Isaac Abstract. Isaac further discloses to send, via the network interface, playback instructions to the playback device (see at least, “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], “The configuration of the present invention also lends itself to other audio improvements. For example, the loudspeaker 14 of each module can be equalized for a desired frequency response. Equalization can be performed by the master controller,” Isaac [0016], “The master module can then determine equalization parameters for that slave module which are transmitted to the slave controller for equalization of that loudspeaker for a desired frequency response,” Isaac [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aforementioned features of Issac in the invention of Walsh thereby allowing for additional benefits to channel-based audio including where “each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], while also allowing for additional improvement to “be performed by the master module or by each slave module. Such adjustment capability can be used to instruct a specific device(s) to increase or decrease volume or tone characteristics, in response to sudden changes in environment,” Isaac [0017]).
Claim 31: Walsh and Isaac disclose the display device of Claim 30, wherein the playback instructions that are sent to the playback device are instructions that cause the playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], “The configuration of the present invention also lends itself to other audio improvements. For example, the loudspeaker 14 of each module can be equalized for a desired frequency response. Equalization can be performed by the master controller,” Isaac [0016], “The master module can then determine equalization parameters for that slave module which are transmitted to the slave controller for equalization of that loudspeaker for a desired frequency response,” Isaac [0016], “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]).
Claim 32: Walsh and Isaac disclose the display device of Claim 30, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control the playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012]).
Claim 33: Walsh and Isaac disclose the display device of Claim 30, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control the playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content: in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]); and in synchrony with playback of the first portion of the audio content by the display device; (see at least, “If the listening position is known, the performance of DBAP can be improved by adjusting the delays so that the sound from each loudspeaker arrives at the listener at the same time,” Walsh [0063], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012]).
Claim 34: Walsh and Isaac disclose the display device of Claim 32, wherein: the audio content is multichannel audio content; the first portion of the audio content is a first channel of the multichannel audio content; and the second portion of the audio content is a second channel of the multichannel audio content (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 adjusts the delay and gain of multichannel audio signals sent to each loudspeaker based on the derived distances from each loudspeaker to the listener,” Walsh [0061], “With the growth of multi-media and multi-channel audio systems for use in the car and home,” Isaac [0002], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013]).
Claim 35: Walsh and Isaac disclose the display device of Claim 30, wherein determining the relative position of the display device with respect to the playback device comprises using a slower than speed-of-light measurement modality (see at least, “In one embodiment, the distance between a loudspeaker and a microphone is estimated by playing a test signal and measuring the time of flight (TOF) between the emitting loudspeaker and the receiving microphone. The time delay of the direct component of a measured impulse response can be used for this purpose. The direct component represents the sound signals that travel directly from the emitting loudspeaker to the receiving microphone without any reflections. The impulse response between the loudspeaker and a microphone array element can be obtained by playing a test signal through the loudspeaker under analysis. Test signal choices include a maximum length sequence (MLS), a chirp signal, also known as the logarithmic sine sweep (LSS) signal, or other test tones,” Walsh [0048], “In the case of determine distance by time delay, the master controller can send an RF signal 32 to each slave module 12 in turn, directing each to send an audio chirp 38 back to the master module 10,” Isaac [0015]).
Claim 36: Walsh and Isaac disclose the display device of Claim 30, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control the playback device to output the positioning signal (see at least, “In one embodiment, the distance between a loudspeaker and a microphone is estimated by playing a test signal and measuring the time of flight (TOF) between the emitting loudspeaker and the receiving microphone. The time delay of the direct component of a measured impulse response can be used for this purpose. The direct component represents the sound signals that travel directly from the emitting loudspeaker to the receiving microphone without any reflections. The impulse response between the loudspeaker and a microphone array element can be obtained by playing a test signal through the loudspeaker under analysis. Test signal choices include a maximum length sequence (MLS), a chirp signal, also known as the logarithmic sine sweep (LSS) signal, or other test tones,” Walsh [0048], “In the case of determine distance by time delay, the master controller can send an RF signal 32 to each slave module 12 in turn, directing each to send an audio chirp 38 back to the master module 10,” Isaac [0015]).
Claim 37: Walsh discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a display device (see at least, “Input devices 250 include a keyboard, mouse, track ball, or other type of alphanumeric and pointing devices that can be used to input data into computer 200. The graphics adapter 212 displays images and other information on one or more display devices, such as monitors and projectors (not shown),” Walsh [0039], “The soundbar 110 has integrated in its enclosure a speaker array 112, a microphone array 114, a calibration engine 116 and an A/V processing module (not shown),” Walsh [0032], “Computer 200 is such an example for use as the calibration engine 116 in the example room environment 100 for calibrating multichannel surround sound systems including listener position estimation shown in FIG. 1. Illustrated are at least one processor 210 coupled to a chipset 212. The chipset 212 includes a memory controller hub 214 and an input/output (I/O) controller hub 216. A memory 220 and a graphics adapter 240 are coupled to memory controller hub 214. A storage unit 230, a network adapter 260, and input devices 250, are coupled to the I/O controller hub 216. Computer 200 is adapted to execute computer program instructions 235 for providing functionality described herein. In the example shown in FIG. 2, executable computer program instructions 235 are stored on the storage unit 230, loaded into the memory 220, and executed by the processor 210. Other embodiments of computer 200 may have different architectures. For example, memory 220 may be directly coupled to processor 210 in some embodiments,” Walsh [0037], “Processor 210 includes one or more central processing units (CPUs), graphics processing units (GPUs), digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), radio-frequency integrated circuits (RFICs), or any combination of these. Storage unit 230 comprises a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 232, including a solid-state memory device, a hard drive, an optical disk, or a magnetic tape. The instructions 235 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within memory 220 or within processor 210's cache memory during execution thereof by computer 200, memory 220 and processor 210 also constituting computer-readable storage media. Instructions 235 may be transmitted or received over network 140 via network interface 260,” Walsh [0038], “In one embodiment, the calibration engine 116 comprises a calibration request receiver module 410, a calibration log database 420, a position estimator module 430, and a spatial calibrator module 440. As used herein, the term "module" refers to a hardware and/or software unit used to provide one or more specified functionalities. Thus, a module can be implemented in hardware, software or firmware, or a combination of thereof. Other embodiments of the calibration engine 116 may include different and/or fewer or more modules,” Walsh [0045]), a positioning signal transmitted from a playback device (see at least, “The inclusion of the microphone array 114 placed around the midpoint of the sound bar 110 is all that necessary for the calibration engine 116 to estimate each surround loudspeaker's position relative to the soundbar. Since the soundbar is usually predictably placed directly above or below the video screen (or TV), the geometry of the measured distance and incident angle can be translated to an absolute position relative to any point in front of that reference soundbar location using simple trigonometric principals,” Walsh [0040], “The position estimator 430 estimates the distance and angle of a loudspeaker relative to the microphone array based on test signals 432 played by the loudspeaker and measurements 434 received at the microphone array,” Walsh [0047]);
determining, based at least in part on the received positioning signal, a relative position of the display device with respect to the playback device (see at least, “The position estimator 430 estimates the distance and angle of a loudspeaker relative to the microphone array based on test signals 432 played by the loudspeaker and measurements 434 received at the microphone array. FIG. 5A is a diagram illustrating an example test setting for estimating the distanced and angle e between the right surround speaker 108 and microphone array 114,” Walsh [0047]);
using the relative position to determine a first playback configuration for the display device and a second playback configuration for the playback device (see at least, “Referring back to FIG. 4. Now that the angular position and distance of any surround loudspeaker and an individual listener are identified by the position estimator 430. This information can be passed to the spatial calibrator 440 to reform the multichannel sound signals directed towards the listener's physical loudspeaker layout to better preserve the artistic intent of the content producer. Based on the estimated positions of each loudspeaker and the listener relative to the microphone array, the spatial calibrator 440 can derive the distances and angles between each loudspeaker and the listener using trigonometry. The spatial calibrator 440 can then perform various spatial calibrations to the surround sound system, once the distances from each loudspeaker to the listener have been established,” Walsh [0060], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]); and
causing the display device to play back a first portion of audio content in accordance with the first playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065]).
Walsh does not disclose sending playback instructions to the playback device. However, Isaac discloses a similar self-orienting audio system, the “self-orienting audio system includes a master controller and a plurality of loudspeaker modules. Each module includes an audio input and a controller coupled to the audio input and loudspeaker. The master controller communicates with the plurality of loudspeaker modules. The master controller can determine a distance to each of the loudspeaker modules and assign an audio channel to each of the loudspeaker modules depending upon that distance. The master controller can be incorporated into one of the modules. Distance to each module can be determined using signal delay or signal magnitude,” Isaac Abstract. Isaac further discloses sending playback instructions to the playback device (see at least, “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], “The configuration of the present invention also lends itself to other audio improvements. For example, the loudspeaker 14 of each module can be equalized for a desired frequency response. Equalization can be performed by the master controller,” Isaac [0016], “The master module can then determine equalization parameters for that slave module which are transmitted to the slave controller for equalization of that loudspeaker for a desired frequency response,” Isaac [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aforementioned features of Issac in the invention of Walsh thereby allowing for additional benefits to channel-based audio including where “each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], while also allowing for additional improvement to “be performed by the master module or by each slave module. Such adjustment capability can be used to instruct a specific device(s) to increase or decrease volume or tone characteristics, in response to sudden changes in environment,” Isaac [0017]).
Claim 38: Walsh and Isaac disclose the method of Claim 37, further comprising causing the playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066], “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012]).
Claim 39: Walsh and Isaac disclose the method of Claim 37, wherein the playback instructions that are sent to the playback device are instructions that cause the playback device to play back a second portion of the audio content in accordance with the second playback configuration (see at least, “In operation, a slave controller 20 is operable to communicate with and respond to a master controller (18, 40 or 28). The master controller can communicate with each slave controller through its LAN slave address, and can assign that slave controller 20 to play a specified audio channel from an audio source 28,” Isaac [0012], “The master module 10 can then determine a distance to each slave module 12 and assign each an audio channel to receive from the source 28 and play,” Isaac [0012], “In this way, each slave controller responds to commands from the master controller assigning a specific address to receive the defined audio channel, depending upon their distance, and play audio therefrom on their respective loudspeaker,” Isaac [0013], “The configuration of the present invention also lends itself to other audio improvements. For example, the loudspeaker 14 of each module can be equalized for a desired frequency response. Equalization can be performed by the master controller,” Isaac [0016], “The master module can then determine equalization parameters for that slave module which are transmitted to the slave controller for equalization of that loudspeaker for a desired frequency response,” Isaac [0016], “In one embodiment, the spatial calibrator 440 provides spatial correction for rendering object-based audio content based on the actual positions of the loudspeakers and the listener,” Walsh [0065], “Using the actual positions of the loudspeaker and listener, the spatial calibrator 440 can determine which loudspeaker or loudspeakers are used for playing back objects' audio,” Walsh [0065], “In addition to the spatial correction, the spatial calibrator 440 also readjusts the delays and gains for all the loudspeakers,” Walsh [0066]).
Claim 40: Walsh and Isaac disclose the method of Claim 37, further comprising causing the playback device to output the positioning signal, wherein the positioning signal is an acoustic calibration tone (see at least, “In one embodiment, the distance between a loudspeaker and a microphone is estimated by playing a test signal and measuring the time of flight (TOF) between the emitting loudspeaker and the receiving microphone. The time delay of the direct component of a measured impulse response can be used for this purpose. The direct component represents the sound signals that travel directly from the emitting loudspeaker to the receiving microphone without any reflections. The impulse response between the loudspeaker and a microphone array element can be obtained by playing a test signal through the loudspeaker under analysis. Test signal choices include a maximum length sequence (MLS), a chirp signal, also known as the logarithmic sine sweep (LSS) signal, or other test tones,” Walsh [0048], “In the case of determine distance by time delay, the master controller can send an RF signal 32 to each slave module 12 in turn, directing each to send an audio chirp 38 back to the master module 10,” Isaac [0015]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Katayama (US 2018/0302711 A1) directed to a speaker position detection system, device and method, see at least FIGS. 6 and 7 along with the corresponding description.
/JOSEPH SAUNDERS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692