DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of priority and benefit of Korean Application No. KR10-2023-0166915, filed on November 27, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (“IDS”) filed on June 18, 2025, was reviewed and the listed references were noted.
Drawings
The 28-page drawings have been considered and placed on record in the file.
Specification
The specification is objected to, because the title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an image conversion unit configured to …” , “a correction unit configured to …”, “an image providing unit configured to …”, “a data providing unit configured to …”, “a lip region detection unit configured to …”, “a window calculating unit configured to …”, “a determining unit configured to …”, “a shift unit configured to …”, “a data output unit configured to …”, and “an information unit configured to …” in Claims 1-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a method and an image processing device directed to extracting feature data corresponding to lip shapes in a plurality of images by dividing images into a patch size and correct the feature data. With respect to analysis of independent method Claim 15:
Step 1:
With regard to Step 1, the instant claim is directed to a method; and therefore, the claim is directed to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One:
With regard to 2A, Prong One, the limitation “grouping, by an image conversion unit, each of a plurality of input images into bundles of a certain size and then provide feature data corresponding to lip shapes included in the plurality of input images based on a patch image obtained by dividing each of the plurality of input images into a patch size corresponding to the certain size” and “providing, by a correction unit, correction data by correcting the feature data” as drafted, recite an abstract idea, such as a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations by a person viewing video images of a person with its lips moving and dividing the images of the lip of the person into groups and analyze the group to result in correct lip shapes, a concept performed by a human through observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion. This is the concept that falls under the grouping of abstract ideas mental processes for monitoring and determination (evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion of a security guard).
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The 2019 PEG defines the phrase “evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception”. Therefore, additional elements, or a combination of additional elements in the claim, are required to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception. In the instant case, there exist no additional limitations to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception as an indication of integration of the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
Because the claim fails under Step 2A, the claim is further evaluated under Step 2B. The claim herein does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into practical application, no additional elements are recited in the claim to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, Claim 15 is not patent eligible. Independent Claim 1, 14, and 16 are analyzed in the same manner, and found not to be patent eligible under this section of the rules.
In addition, with regard to dependent claims 2-13 viewed individually, these additional elements, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations as an abstract idea (mental processes or mathematical calculations), and do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou et al. CN 111611827, a machine translation of this document is attached to the office action to map the claim limitations to its relevant pages/paragraphs) in view of Takeshi Sato (US 2016/0071236).
Consider Claim 1 (and similarly method Claim 15), Gou discloses “An image processing device” (Gou, Abstract) “comprising: an image conversion unit configured to provide feature data corresponding to lip shapes included in a plurality of input images” (Gou, last paragraph of page 2 and first paragraph of page 3, wherein characteristic data of the image of the multiple lip areas are extracted – “characteristic data” is interpreted to be the recited “feature data”) “based on a patch image obtained by dividing each of the plurality of input images into a patch size corresponding to a certain size” (Gou, pages 3 and 5 disclose how the grouping of space-time characteristic data in imaging sequence is divided into N groups); (Sato, Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0038]).
Accordingly, before the effective date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Gou with the teachings of Sato to provide correction data of the lip and jaw area. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined these elements in order to ensure that the area of interest for further analysis is free of artifacts and error. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Gou and Sato to obtain the invention in Claim 1.
Consider Claim 2, the combination of Gou and Sato discloses “The image processing device of claim 1, wherein the image conversion unit includes an image providing unit configured to group the plurality of input images as a group size, and then divide each of group images into the patch size to provide the patch image; and a data providing unit configured to provide the feature data corresponding to the lip shapes based on the patch image” (Gou, Page 3, where the grouping based on space-time sequence imaging is disclosed).
Consider Claim 3, the combination of Gou and Sato discloses “The image processing device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of input image are grouped into bundles of the group size” (Gou, Page 3, the N groups).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gou et al. CN 111611827, a machine translation of this document is attached to the office action to map the claim limitations to its relevant pages/paragraphs) in view of Benhaim et al. (US 2014/0343944).
Consider Claim 14 (and similarly method Claim 16), Gou discloses “An image processing system” (Gou, Abstract) “comprising: an image conversion unit configured to group each of a plurality of input images into bundles of a certain size and then provide feature data corresponding to lip shapes included in the plurality of input images” (Gou, last paragraph of page 2 and first paragraph of page 3, wherein characteristic data of the image of the multiple lip areas are extracted – “characteristic data” is interpreted to be the recited “feature data”) “based on a patch image obtained by dividing each of the plurality of input images into a patch size corresponding to the certain size” (Gou, pages 3 and 5 disclose how the grouping of space-time characteristic data in imaging sequence is divided into N groups); recognizing the visual language”, (emphasis added, interpreted as “meaning information corresponding to a meaning corresponding to the feature data) (Benhaim, Fig. 7 and Paragraphs [0119]-[0123]).
Accordingly, before the effective date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Gou with the teachings of Benhaim to provide meaning information corresponding to the feature data of the lip and jaw area. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined these elements in order to perform visual language analysis (Benhaim, Fig. 7:38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Gou and Benhaim to obtain the invention in Claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if: (a) rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; (b) the above-described rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101, based on abstract idea is overcome. The following is the examiner reasons for indication of allowable subject matter: Consider Claims 4 and 7, none of the cited prior art, alone or in combination, provides a motivation to teach the limitations recited within these claims. Dependent Claims 5-6 and 8-13 depend on Claims 4 and 9, respectively, therefore, not rejected over prior art.
Conclusion and Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Robert L. Beadles (US 4,757,541): Abstract.
/Siamak Harandi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662