Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shannahan et al. (US 20150192241 A1, hereinafter “Shannahan”).
Regarding claim 1, Shannahan discloses a satellite antenna comprising:
driven shafts configured for adjusting rotation associated with two axes including an elevation angle and an azimuth angle or three axes further associated with a cross level angle ([0006]: a shaft for enclosed drive component which include the belt and angle to axes; [0108]: tilt axes; [0011]: cross level angle and rotating in azimuth); and
direct drive motors connected directly to the driven shafts, respectively, so as to rotate the driven shafts, wherein a load, a bearing, and an angle sensor are installed on each of the driven shafts (at least [0106], [0107], [0111], [0112] see also [0113]: payload, bearing and sensor of each the shafts. cover 113 can be attached to the top of the housing 111 with a plurality of screws, bolts or other fasteners. A corresponding mounting hole pattern in the mating flange of housing 111 can embed threaded inserts to improve thread strength. Under high external pressures, the base of the heel may extrude between the narrow bore of housing 111 and tilt shaft 105, Bracket 154 can effect a proper seal gland for dynamic shaft seal 152, and a backup static seal 156 can prevent contaminants from bypassing the dynamic seal 152With reference to FIG. 5, an air valve 150 can be included to purge and pressurize any enclosed, sealed device embodiment or payload.).
Regarding claim 2, Shannahan discloses the satellite antenna according to claim 1, further comprising at least one or more auxiliary motor connected to one of the driven shafts by way of a belt ([0113]: belt).
Regarding claim 3, Shannahan discloses the satellite antenna according to claim 2, further comprising:
a power module configured to supply power from outside to the direct drive motors ([0014]); and
a battery configured to provide power to the auxiliary motor and configured to be charged by solar generation ([0129]: grid v. battery, battery can be a power supply including a battery or a generator and that connects with external local generator including solar or wind, see [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Shannahan discloses the satellite antenna according to claim 3, further comprising a control module configured to control an operation of the direct drive motors and the auxiliary motor, wherein the control module operates the auxiliary motor with higher priority depending on an amount of power in the battery ([0129]: the power supply 571 can be a battery, a generator, a connection to a power grid or any other suitable electrical power supply. Thus, the power supply 571 can have an AC or DC input, positioning device 101 can have an internal isolated AC/DC or DC/DC converter 118 to provide conditioned power to the pan motor 102, the tilt motor 112, or any other electrical devices mounted on or within the positioning device 101. The external supply 571 is commonly a CCTV power supply operating off an electrical input of 110-220 VAC in the USA and prioritize based on producing an electrical output of 24-28 VAC, 12-28 VDC, or up to 57 VDC when the power supply 571 is a power-over-ethernet injector.)
Regarding claim 5, Shannahan discloses the satellite antenna according to claim 4, wherein the control module operates any one of the direct drive motors and the auxiliary motor with higher priority for a preconfigured intricate movement ([0089]: the movement of the pan motor 102 causes the housing 111 to rotate about the pan shaft 125. By controlling the preconfigured intricate movement of the pan motor 102, the positioning device 101 and the first payload 134 and second payload 136 (viewable in FIGS. 1-4) can be accurately rotated to any desired rotational position.)
Regarding claim 6, Shannahan discloses the satellite antenna according to claim 5, further comprising a single auxiliary motor, wherein the single auxiliary motor is connected by way of a belt with the driven shaft for any one of the elevation, azimuth, and cross level angles as necessary ([0096]: the tilt motor 112 and tilt motor gear 114 can be rigidly coupled to the housing 111. The rotor of tilt motor 112 rotates when electrical power is applied which rotates the tilt gear 114 and moves the tilt belt 116 which causes the outer ring 137 of tilt shaft gear 131 to rotate relative to the inner ring 133 coupled to the housing 111. Because the tilt motor 112 is fixed to the housing 111, the movement of the tilt motor 112 causes the tilt shaft 105 to rotate within the housing 111, with payloads 134 and 136 (shown in FIGS. 1-4) tilting in elevation with respect to the housing 111. By controlling the movement of the tilt motor 112 and attached drive mechanism, the first payload 134 and second payload 136 can be accurately rotated to any desired angle of elevation; [0011]: cross level: This shaft can be an orthogonal or canted axis to the fixed shaft axis, rotating relative to the housing and free of the fixed mounting base. Commonly the mounting platform is approximately level to the earth. The tilting shaft ("tilt shaft") and drive components can include many of the same structures, components, and methods used for the fixed azimuth shaft ("pan shaft"). Each component and assembly of the pan shaft and pan drive assembly can have a corresponding tilt component or tilt assembly performing substantially the same role accomplished by its fixed-shaft counterpart described earlier; however, translated to an orthogonal or canted angle.)
Regarding claim 7, Shannahan discloses the satellite antenna according to claim 6, wherein the direct drive motors are connected to the driven shafts respectively by way of worm gears such that the driven shafts are not rotated by external wind ([0150] Slew ring bearings have been nearly exclusively used for geared drives by spur or worm gears as the typical applications have been massive, heavy, fixed in location, not rotatable by hurricane ([0109]), and thus not likely to develop backlash; [0167] The most common drive employed by pan-tilts has been the worm gear drive. In such an environment, it is preferable to adopt a belt drive).
Conclusion
/MONICA C KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844
4/4/2026