DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/254,530, filed on 12/21/20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/3/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “System and Method for Handover After Detecting Radio Link Failure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 2021/0068016).
Regarding claim 1, Shi teaches an information transmission method, comprising:
receiving, by User Equipment (UE) or an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) node, mobility control information (see “The source base station sends the conditional handover command to the UE. The conditional handover command is included in RRCReconfiguration generated by the source base station” [0079] and “One RRCReconfiguration may include conditional handover commands of multiple target cells. That is, the RRCReconfiguration includes a list of target cells for a conditional handover. The list of the target cells for the conditional handover includes frequency information of each target cell and a PCI of each target cell, a conditional handover command of the target cell generated by the target cell, and at least one piece of identifier information indicating a measurement configuration of a "conditional handover execution condition" of the target cell” [0061] wherein the information included in the conditional handover command or RRCReconfiguration reads on the claimed “mobility information”); and
after detecting that a radio link failure occurs on the UE or the IAB node, activating, by the UE or the IAB node, a handover procedure (see Fig. 8, steps S660-S670 and “In this embodiment, after the UE receives an RRCReconfiguration message including a list of targets cells for a conditional handover sent by a source base station, if the UE determines that the beam recovery failure or a wireless link failure occurs in a source cell, the UE selects one target cell for the conditional handover from the list of the targets cells and switches to the target cell” [0100]).
Regarding claim 3, Shi teaches the information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the activating, by the UE or the IAB node, a handover procedure comprises:
transmitting, by the UE or the IAB node, a random access request to a target serving node according to the received mobility control information (see Fig. 8 S680 “Random access”).
Regarding claim 4, Shi teaches the information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the mobility control information comprises a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), and dedicated Random Access Channel (RACH) resources allocated for the UE or the IAB node (see “The information required by the UE to access the target cell includes random access configuration information for the UE to access the target cell in the manner of random access…” [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Shi teaches the information transmission method according to claim 4, wherein the mobility control information further comprises at least one of:
RACH-related Synchronization Signal (SS) block information, a UE specific Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS), and a system message (conditional handover command) (see “A configuration of each target cell in the configuration list of the target cells includes a CGI of the target cell, a conditional handover command of the target cell, and one piece of the following information: PDU session information successfully admitted on the target cell, or E-RAB information successfully admitted on the target cell” [0049]).
Regarding claim 7, Shi teaches the information transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by User Equipment (UE) or an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) node, mobility control information comprises:
receiving, by the UE or the IAB node, the mobility control information transmitted by a source serving node after the source serving node receives a handover preparation request confirmation information (see Fig. 5, “S340 Handover Command” and Fig. 8, “S640 RRC Reconfiguration” is received after “S330 Handover Request Acknowledge” and “S630 Handover Request Acknowledge”).
Claims 8 and 15 recite subject matter similar to claim 1 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 10 and 17 recite subject matter similar to claim 3 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 11 and 18 recite subject matter similar to claim 4 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 12 and 19 recite subject matter similar to claim 5 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 14 recites subject matter similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2021/0068016) in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0028938).
Regarding claim 2, Shi does not explicitly teach the mobility control information comprises handover activation condition information, wherein the handover activation condition information indicates that handover is executed when the radio link failure occurs. In an analogous prior art reference, Park teaches mobility control information (configuration information) comprises handover activation condition information (third handover execution offset), wherein the handover activation condition information indicates that handover is executed when the radio link failure occurs (see “Also, the configuration information may include information indicating a third handover execution offset for a third handover event triggered when an RLF occurs with the serving base station” [0065] and “Referring to FIG. SC, if the terminal detects the RLF for the serving base station in the step S508, the terminal may apply a handover execution offset for the RLF state (S515). For example, the terminal may configure the third handover execution offset indicated by the handover configuration information received from the serving base station as a value for triggering the handover execution event in the RLF state” [0116]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shi to allow the mobility control information to comprise handover activation condition information, wherein the handover activation condition information indicates that handover is executed when the radio link failure occurs, as taught by Park, in order to configure the UE to execute handover in a RLF state thereby reducing data interruption time.
Claims 9 and 16 recite subject matter similar to claim 2 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2021/0068016) in view of Deenoo et al. (US 2020/0154326).
Regarding claim 6, Shi does not explicitly teach wherein the mobility control information further comprises time information for indicating a cycle of transmitting the mobility control information or indicating a validity period of the mobility control information. In an analogous prior art reference, Deenoo teaches mobility control information further comprises time information for indicating a cycle of transmitting the mobility control information or indicating a validity period (timer) of the mobility control information (see “More rules may address a validity of the conditional reconfiguration based on WTRU location or a timer…With a timer, the WTRU may be configured to invalidate the conditional reconfiguration, if the trigger condition is not met or if the WTRU has not applied or executed the particular reconfiguration within the expiry of a timer” [0113]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shi to allow the mobility control information to further comprise time information for indicating a cycle of transmitting the mobility control information or indicating a validity period of the mobility control information, as taught by Deenoo, to allow in order to activate handover at an appropriate or optimal time.
Claims 13 and 20 recite subject matter similar to claim 6 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
/NAM T HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647