DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 12-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemoff, etc. (US 20180173304 A1) in view of El-Ghoroury, etc. (US 20170108697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lemoff teaches that an electronic device (See Lemoff: Fig. 1, and [0014], “A system adjusts the brightness of AR images projected by an eye-mounted display relative to the incoming ambient light to provide a comfortable viewing experience. In some embodiments, the eye-mounted display is based on tiny projector(s), each one no larger than about one or two millimeters in any dimension, mounted inside a contact lens. See, e.g. U.S. Pat. No. 8,786,675, “Systems using eye mounted displays” by Deering, which is incorporated by reference herein. Deering called these small projectors “femtoprojectors” where “femto” is a suggestive, rather than literal, prefix. The femtoprojector in the contact lens projects an image to the user's retina. If the eye-mounted display is partially transparent, then the image from the femtoprojector is combined with the external scene viewed by the user though the contact lens, thus creating an augmented reality. The AR image from the femtoprojector is overlaid on the image of the external scene”), comprising:
a display (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0030], “The driver circuitry receives image data defining the AR image from a system (e.g., an external image source) communicating with the eye-mounted display 300. For example, the image source can be mounted on a device worn by the user. The drive circuitry of the femtoprojector 320 converts the image data to drive signals to drive the LED array (e.g., drive currents for LEDs). To save power, the driver circuitry and LED array may power down when no image data are received”);
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0034], “In some embodiments, the photodetector 330 detects the brightness level of the external scene in accordance with instructions from the controller 340. Also, the photodetector 330 outputs signals to the controller 340 and the controller 340 determines the brightness level of the external scene based on the signals. In embodiments where the output signals are analog, the controller 340 may be implemented as analog electronics. Likewise, in embodiments where the output signals are digital, the controller 340 can be implemented as digital electronic”. Note that the controller with processing circuitry is mapped to the processor with processing circuitry); and
memory comprising one or more storage medium storing instructions (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0066], “Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory and/or a random access memory. Generally, a computer will include one or more mass storage devices for storing data files; such devices include magnetic disks, such as internal hard disks and removable disks; magneto-optical disks; and optical disks. Storage devices suitable for tangibly embodying computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, such as EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks such as internal hard disks and removable disks; magneto-optical disks; and CD-ROM disks. Any of the foregoing can be supplemented by, or incorporated in, ASICs (application-specific integrated circuits) and other forms of hardware”);
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0018], “Based on the brightness level of the external scene detected by the photodetector, the controller determines a brightness level for the AR image. Preferably, the controller controls the femtoprojector so that the AR image is at least two times brighter than the corresponding external scene (when both are projected onto the retina). In one approach, the controller adjusts a bit depth of image data defining the AR image. For example, with a high level of brightness of the external scene, the controller can reduce a bit depth of the image data. Benefits of reducing the bit depth of the image data include saving power and bandwidth in transferring the image data to the eye-mounted display”) to:
identify, among one or more external devices, a target device which displays an image (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0017], “As another example, the photodetector may be aligned to the location to which the AR image is projected. In that case, the photodetector detects the brightness level of the external scene on which the AR image is overlaid”; [0025], “In FIG. 2, a brightness level of only a portion of the external scene 210 is used to determine a brightness of the AR image 220. The AR image 220 can be bounded by a rectangular bounding box, indicated by the dashed box 230. The AR image 220 is overlaid on the external scene within the bounding box 230. Hence, the brightness level within this bounding box 230 is used to determine the brightness of the AR image 220. In this example, the text and arrow of the AR image 220 all have the same brightness, which is adjusted to be N times the brightness of the region in the bounding box 230”; [0026], “In FIG. 2, the bounding box 230 is centered on the AR image 220. Alternatively, the portion of the external scene 210 used to determine brightness of the AR image 220 may coincide with the center of the user's field of view. That way, the brightness of the AR image 220 can be dynamically adjusted based on a brightness that is at the center of the user's attention. For example, the brightness of the AR image 220 is increased as the user looks up at clouds and decreased as the user looks into the dark alleyway. In some embodiments, the AR image 220 may be dimmed when the user is not looking directly at it”; and [0035], “In some embodiments, the controller 340 controls the photodetector 330 to detect a brightness level of a local sensing area within the external scene, as opposed to an ambient brightness of the entire external scene viewed by the user. In some embodiments, the local sensing area includes a portion of the external scene over which the AR image is overlaid. Alternatively, the local sensing area includes an area at which the user is looking. Because the photodetector 330 is mounted in the contact lens 310, it moves with the user's eye and therefore can be oriented to the area at which the user is looking”. Note that the external scene is mapped to the target device, and the system aligns the AR overlay over specific scene portions in box 230 in Fig. 2);
display an augmented reality (AR) image associated with the target device, in an area corresponding the target device (See Lemoff: Fig. 2, and [0022], “FIG. 2 shows an AR image 220 projected by an eye-mounted display and overlaid on an external scene 210. The external scene 210 shown in FIG. 2 is a view seen by a user walking or driving down a street. The eye-mounted display, such as the eye-mounted display described in FIG. 1, is worn by the user and projects the AR image 220 to the user's retina. Consequently, the user has a view of the AR image 220 overlaid on the external scene 210, creating an augmented reality”);
based on difference between a luminance value of the image displayed by the target device and a luminance value of the augmented reality (AR) image (See Lemoff: Figs. 2-3, and [0025], “In FIG. 2, a brightness level of only a portion of the external scene 210 is used to determine a brightness of the AR image 220. The AR image 220 can be bounded by a rectangular bounding box, indicated by the dashed box 230. The AR image 220 is overlaid on the external scene within the bounding box 230. Hence, the brightness level within this bounding box 230 is used to determine the brightness of the AR image 220. In this example, the text and arrow of the AR image 220 all have the same brightness, which is adjusted to be N times the brightness of the region in the bounding box 230”; [0038], “The controller 340 adjusts a brightness level of the AR image projected by the femtoprojector 310 to the user's retina based on the brightness level of the external scene. In some instances, the controller 340 adjusts the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is at least two times of the brightness level of the external scene. Because the AR image is at least two times brighter than the portion of the external scene at the retina, the user can see the AR image on top of the external scene. The controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is less than four times the brightness level of the external scene, to avoid uncomfortable viewing of the AR image by the user. In some embodiments, if the external scene is dark, the controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a minimum brightness level, which may be more than four times the brightness level of the external scene”; and [0039], “In some instances, the controller 340 can adjust the brightness level of the AR image to achieve a transparent effect of the AR image. Thus, the user can see both the AR image and the portion of the external scene over which the AR image is overlaid”), adjust the luminance value of the AR image; and
display the AR image at the adjusted luminance value of the AR image when the target device is displaying the image (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0023], “The AR image 220 is a notification “ELM STREET.fwdarw.” showing a name of a side street in the external scene 210. In FIG. 2, the notification is shown as white text. In actual application, light from the projected text 220 is combined with light from the background scene 210. In order to be visible, the text 220 must be sufficiently bright to be visible over the background scene 210. On the one hand, if the brightness of the AR image 220 is too high, the user can have uncomfortable viewing of the AR image 220. On the other hand, if the brightness of the AR image 220 is too low, it will be difficult for the user to view the AR image 220 against the external scene 210”; and [0038], “The controller 340 adjusts a brightness level of the AR image projected by the femtoprojector 310 to the user's retina based on the brightness level of the external scene. In some instances, the controller 340 adjusts the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is at least two times of the brightness level of the external scene. Because the AR image is at least two times brighter than the portion of the external scene at the retina, the user can see the AR image on top of the external scene. The controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is less than four times the brightness level of the external scene, to avoid uncomfortable viewing of the AR image by the user. In some embodiments, if the external scene is dark, the controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a minimum brightness level, which may be more than four times the brightness level of the external scene”).
However, Lemoff fails to explicitly disclose that adjust the luminance value of the AR image.
However, El-Ghoroury teaches that adjust the luminance value of the AR image (See El-Ghoroury: Fig. 3A-C, and [0054], “Eye tracking sensors 65 may be utilized to detect the brightness and color uniformity across multiple display exit aperture sub-regions 45′ whereby the images captured by the eye tracking sensor(s) 65 are analyzed to determine the brightness and color of each of the display exit aperture sub-regions 45′. Then the determined values are compared and the brightness and/or color of the plurality of image sources 55 that are coupled into multiple waveguide structures 40 may be adjusted accordingly to cause the color and brightness across the entire set of exit aperture sub-regions 45′ to become uniform within a given, viewer-defined threshold, for example 10%”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify Lemoff to have a adjust the luminance value of the AR image target as taught by El-Ghoroury in order to maximize the efficiency of a dual mode virtual reality near-eye display device (See El-Ghoroury: Fig. 1, and [0094], “This feature leverages the cognitive perception capabilities of the human visual system (HVS) by virtually filling in the details required to recognize and/or identify familiar or previously visually-sensed objects and images in order to maximize the efficiency, in terms of response latency, processing throughput and memory requirement and power consumption of the dual-mode AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1”). Lemoff teaches a method and system that may control a brightness of an augmented reality (AR) eye-mounted device; while El-Ghoroury teaches a system and method that may adjust the luminance values and provide maximized efficiency for dual mode AR display. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lemoff by El-Ghoroury to adjust the luminance value in order to provide maximized efficiency for AR display. The motivation to modify Lemoff by El-Ghoroury is “Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”.
Regarding claim 2, Lemoff and El-Ghoroury teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, El-Ghoroury teaches that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
adjust a mask opacity of an AR area displaying the AR image associated with the target device, based on the adjusted luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device (See El-Ghoroury: Figs. 2 and 3A-C, and [0023], “Turning to FIGS. 2, 3A-C and 4, lenses 5 are comprised of a lens thickness 5′ and a lens peripheral or edge surface 5″. As detailed in the lens 5 cross-section of FIG. 3B, in a preferred embodiment, the front side, scene-facing surfaces 10 of lenses 5 of the disclosed dual-mode AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1 may be provided with an electro-tinting layer 15. Electro-tinting layer 15 may comprise multiple thin-film layers 20 designed to electrically control the transmissivity (or tinting level) through lenses 5. Multiple thin-film layers 20 may comprise at least one variably optically transmissive layer 25 of a variably optically transmissive material such as a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC) material or equivalent suitable material that is sandwiched between thin-film layers 20. Thin film layers 20 may comprise an electrically conductive, optically transparent material such as indium tin oxide (ITO). Thin film layers 20 are configured to enable the coupling of an electrical signal or potential across variably optically transmissive layer 25 for the purpose of electrically varying (or controlling) the tinting or transmissivity level of lenses 5. The thin-film layers 20 on opposing sides of the variably optically transmissive layer 25 are preferably electrically isolated and separately electrically coupled to appropriate control circuitry to enable multi-level or continuously variable control of the effective transmissivity of each lens 5, and are capable of being varied from transparent or clear to non-transparent or dark”).
Regarding claim 12, Lemoff and El-Ghoroury teach all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Further, Lemoff and El-Ghoroury teach that a method performed by an electronic device, the method (See Lemoff: Fig. 1, and [0014], “A system adjusts the brightness of AR images projected by an eye-mounted display relative to the incoming ambient light to provide a comfortable viewing experience. In some embodiments, the eye-mounted display is based on tiny projector(s), each one no larger than about one or two millimeters in any dimension, mounted inside a contact lens. See, e.g. U.S. Pat. No. 8,786,675, “Systems using eye mounted displays” by Deering, which is incorporated by reference herein. Deering called these small projectors “femtoprojectors” where “femto” is a suggestive, rather than literal, prefix. The femtoprojector in the contact lens projects an image to the user's retina. If the eye-mounted display is partially transparent, then the image from the femtoprojector is combined with the external scene viewed by the user though the contact lens, thus creating an augmented reality. The AR image from the femtoprojector is overlaid on the image of the external scene”) comprising:
identifying, among one or more external devices, a target device which displays an image (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0017], “As another example, the photodetector may be aligned to the location to which the AR image is projected. In that case, the photodetector detects the brightness level of the external scene on which the AR image is overlaid”; [0025], “In FIG. 2, a brightness level of only a portion of the external scene 210 is used to determine a brightness of the AR image 220. The AR image 220 can be bounded by a rectangular bounding box, indicated by the dashed box 230. The AR image 220 is overlaid on the external scene within the bounding box 230. Hence, the brightness level within this bounding box 230 is used to determine the brightness of the AR image 220. In this example, the text and arrow of the AR image 220 all have the same brightness, which is adjusted to be N times the brightness of the region in the bounding box 230”; [0026], “In FIG. 2, the bounding box 230 is centered on the AR image 220. Alternatively, the portion of the external scene 210 used to determine brightness of the AR image 220 may coincide with the center of the user's field of view. That way, the brightness of the AR image 220 can be dynamically adjusted based on a brightness that is at the center of the user's attention. For example, the brightness of the AR image 220 is increased as the user looks up at clouds and decreased as the user looks into the dark alleyway. In some embodiments, the AR image 220 may be dimmed when the user is not looking directly at it”; and [0035], “In some embodiments, the controller 340 controls the photodetector 330 to detect a brightness level of a local sensing area within the external scene, as opposed to an ambient brightness of the entire external scene viewed by the user. In some embodiments, the local sensing area includes a portion of the external scene over which the AR image is overlaid. Alternatively, the local sensing area includes an area at which the user is looking. Because the photodetector 330 is mounted in the contact lens 310, it moves with the user's eye and therefore can be oriented to the area at which the user is looking”. Note that the external scene is mapped to the target device, and the system aligns the AR overlay over specific scene portions in box 230 in Fig. 2);
displaying an augmented reality (AR) image associated with the target device, in area corresponding the target device (See Lemoff: Fig. 2, and [0022], “FIG. 2 shows an AR image 220 projected by an eye-mounted display and overlaid on an external scene 210. The external scene 210 shown in FIG. 2 is a view seen by a user walking or driving down a street. The eye-mounted display, such as the eye-mounted display described in FIG. 1, is worn by the user and projects the AR image 220 to the user's retina. Consequently, the user has a view of the AR image 220 overlaid on the external scene 210, creating an augmented reality”);
based on difference between a luminance value of the image displayed by the target device and a luminance value of the augmented reality (AR) image (See Lemoff: Figs. 2-3, and [0025], “In FIG. 2, a brightness level of only a portion of the external scene 210 is used to determine a brightness of the AR image 220. The AR image 220 can be bounded by a rectangular bounding box, indicated by the dashed box 230. The AR image 220 is overlaid on the external scene within the bounding box 230. Hence, the brightness level within this bounding box 230 is used to determine the brightness of the AR image 220. In this example, the text and arrow of the AR image 220 all have the same brightness, which is adjusted to be N times the brightness of the region in the bounding box 230”; [0038], “The controller 340 adjusts a brightness level of the AR image projected by the femtoprojector 310 to the user's retina based on the brightness level of the external scene. In some instances, the controller 340 adjusts the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is at least two times of the brightness level of the external scene. Because the AR image is at least two times brighter than the portion of the external scene at the retina, the user can see the AR image on top of the external scene. The controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is less than four times the brightness level of the external scene, to avoid uncomfortable viewing of the AR image by the user. In some embodiments, if the external scene is dark, the controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a minimum brightness level, which may be more than four times the brightness level of the external scene”; and [0039], “In some instances, the controller 340 can adjust the brightness level of the AR image to achieve a transparent effect of the AR image. Thus, the user can see both the AR image and the portion of the external scene over which the AR image is overlaid”), adjusting the luminance value of the AR image (See El-Ghoroury: Fig. 3A-C, and [0054], “Eye tracking sensors 65 may be utilized to detect the brightness and color uniformity across multiple display exit aperture sub-regions 45′ whereby the images captured by the eye tracking sensor(s) 65 are analyzed to determine the brightness and color of each of the display exit aperture sub-regions 45′. Then the determined values are compared and the brightness and/or color of the plurality of image sources 55 that are coupled into multiple waveguide structures 40 may be adjusted accordingly to cause the color and brightness across the entire set of exit aperture sub-regions 45′ to become uniform within a given, viewer-defined threshold, for example 10%”);
displaying the AR image at the adjusted luminance value of the AR image when the target device is displaying the image (See Lemoff: Figs. 1-3, and [0023], “The AR image 220 is a notification “ELM STREET.fwdarw.” showing a name of a side street in the external scene 210. In FIG. 2, the notification is shown as white text. In actual application, light from the projected text 220 is combined with light from the background scene 210. In order to be visible, the text 220 must be sufficiently bright to be visible over the background scene 210. On the one hand, if the brightness of the AR image 220 is too high, the user can have uncomfortable viewing of the AR image 220. On the other hand, if the brightness of the AR image 220 is too low, it will be difficult for the user to view the AR image 220 against the external scene 210”; and [0038], “The controller 340 adjusts a brightness level of the AR image projected by the femtoprojector 310 to the user's retina based on the brightness level of the external scene. In some instances, the controller 340 adjusts the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is at least two times of the brightness level of the external scene. Because the AR image is at least two times brighter than the portion of the external scene at the retina, the user can see the AR image on top of the external scene. The controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a brightness level that is less than four times the brightness level of the external scene, to avoid uncomfortable viewing of the AR image by the user. In some embodiments, if the external scene is dark, the controller 340 may adjust the brightness level of the AR image at the retina to a minimum brightness level, which may be more than four times the brightness level of the external scene”).
Regarding claim 13, Lemoff and El-Ghoroury teach all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above. Further, El-Ghoroury teaches that the method of claim 12, further comprising:
adjusting a mask opacity of an AR area displaying the AR image associated with the target device, based on the adjusted luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device (See El-Ghoroury: Figs. 2 and 3A-C, and [0023], “Turning to FIGS. 2, 3A-C and 4, lenses 5 are comprised of a lens thickness 5′ and a lens peripheral or edge surface 5″. As detailed in the lens 5 cross-section of FIG. 3B, in a preferred embodiment, the front side, scene-facing surfaces 10 of lenses 5 of the disclosed dual-mode AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1 may be provided with an electro-tinting layer 15. Electro-tinting layer 15 may comprise multiple thin-film layers 20 designed to electrically control the transmissivity (or tinting level) through lenses 5. Multiple thin-film layers 20 may comprise at least one variably optically transmissive layer 25 of a variably optically transmissive material such as a polymer-dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC) material or equivalent suitable material that is sandwiched between thin-film layers 20. Thin film layers 20 may comprise an electrically conductive, optically transparent material such as indium tin oxide (ITO). Thin film layers 20 are configured to enable the coupling of an electrical signal or potential across variably optically transmissive layer 25 for the purpose of electrically varying (or controlling) the tinting or transmissivity level of lenses 5. The thin-film layers 20 on opposing sides of the variably optically transmissive layer 25 are preferably electrically isolated and separately electrically coupled to appropriate control circuitry to enable multi-level or continuously variable control of the effective transmissivity of each lens 5, and are capable of being varied from transparent or clear to non-transparent or dark”).
Regarding claim 20, Lemoff and El-Ghoroury teach all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above. Further, Lemoff teaches that a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method of claim 12 (See Lemoff: Fig. 6, and [0066], “Alternate embodiments are implemented in computer hardware, firmware, software, and/or combinations thereof. Implementations can be implemented in a computer program product tangibly embodied in a machine-readable storage device for execution by a programmable processor; and method steps can be performed by a programmable processor executing a program of instructions to perform functions by operating on input data and generating output. Embodiments can be implemented advantageously in one or more computer programs that are executable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor coupled to receive data and instructions from, and to transmit data and instructions to, a data storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device. Each computer program can be implemented in a high-level procedural or object-oriented programming language, or in assembly or machine language if desired; and in any case, the language can be a compiled or interpreted language. Suitable processors include, by way of example, both general and special purpose microprocessors. Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory and/or a random access memory. Generally, a computer will include one or more mass storage devices for storing data files; such devices include magnetic disks, such as internal hard disks and removable disks; magneto-optical disks; and optical disks. Storage devices suitable for tangibly embodying computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, such as EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks such as internal hard disks and removable disks; magneto-optical disks; and CD-ROM disks. Any of the foregoing can be supplemented by, or incorporated in, ASICs (application-specific integrated circuits) and other forms of hardware”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: receive a luminance information comprising a maximum luminance and a luminance setting value from the target device; determine a luminance limit of the target device by using the luminance information received from the target device; and determine the luminance value of the target device, based on the luminance limit of the target device and light transmittance of the electronic device.”
Claims 4 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: adjust the mask opacity of the AR area displaying the AR image associated with the target device, based on a ratio of the adjusted luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device to a maximum luminance of the electronic device.”
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: adjust a mask opacity of a background area excluding an AR area displaying the AR image associated with the target device from a total area of the display of the electronic device, based on a ratio of an ambient illuminance value of the electronic device to a maximum luminance of the electronic device.”
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on the adjusted luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device exceeding a maximum luminance of the electronic device, modify the luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device to the maximum luminance of the electronic device; and based on the adjusted luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device being equal to or less than the maximum luminance of the electronic device, maintain the luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device.”
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a database storing results obtained by mapping spatial information and ambient illuminance values with candidate luminance values, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on the electronic device failing to receive a luminance information from the target device, extract, from the database, a candidate luminance value of the target device, based on spatial information of the target device and an ambient illuminance value of the electronic device; and determine the luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device, based on the candidate luminance value of the target device.”
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on the electronic device failing to receive a luminance information from the target device, receive a setting value for the luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device; and determine the luminance value of the AR image associated with the target device, based on the received setting value.”
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The best arts searched do not teach the limitations of “the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: based on the electronic device entering a fine setting mode, load a setting image and display, on a screen of the electronic device, the loaded setting image on a same area as an area visualizing the image output from the target device in an overlapping manner.”
Conclusion
/GORDON G LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618