DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Karnik ‘580 fails to disclose a current collector as Karnik ‘580 only describes an anode lead wire rather than a conductive substrate supporting the active layer. The examiner disagrees with applicant. Firstly, the claim does not require the current collector supporting the active layer as argued by applicant and therefore said argument is moot. Secondly, anode lead wires are known to be current collectors within the electrolytic capacitor art as discussed in US 10,224,150 (C3:L23-26).
Secondly, Applicant argues the channels of Karnik ‘580 are not conduits formed (e.g. by drilling) in the active layer as said channels are formed during pressing/formation of the anode body. Applicant further argues said channels do not have openings “arranged in a periodic two-dimensional pattern”. The examiner disagrees with applicant. Conduit is defined as a natural or artificial channel through which something (such as a fluid) is conveyed and thus the channels of Karnik ‘580 meet the limitation of a conduit. Furthermore, Karnik ‘580 teaches forming multiple channels which are formed equidistant and thus have a periodic two-dimensional pattern.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, & 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karnik et al. (US 2013/0155580).
In regards to claim 1, Karnik ‘580 discloses
A capacitor, comprising:
an anode (20 – fig. 1; [0029]) that includes an active layer (222 – fig. 1; [0029]) on a current collector (30 – fig. 1; [0037]), the active layer having both pores ([0022-0023]) and conduits (28 – fig. 1; [0031]),
wherein the active layer includes particles having a dielectric on a core and the pores being located between the particles ([0026-0029]), and
wherein the conduits are arranged in a periodic two-dimensional pattern (fig. 1 & 3; [0031-0032]); and
an electrolyte ([0040]) in the pores and the conduits, the pores being open to the conduits such that the electrolyte can flow between the pores and the conduits ([0018] & [0026-0029]) – based on the process of forming there will be pores formed during sintering that are open to the conduits).
In regards to claim 3, Karnik ‘580 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein each of the conduits has a length that is substantially straight in cross section (fig. 1 & 3).
In regards to claim 4, Karnik ‘580 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the pores terminate at the conduits and are open to the conduits ([0018] & [0026-0029]) – based on the process of forming there will be pores formed during sintering that are open to the conduits and terminate at the conduits).
In regards to claim 11, Karnik ‘580 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the electrolyte is in direct physical contact with the dielectric on different particles (fig. 5; [0040], [0072], [0079]).
In regards to claim 12, Karnik ‘580 discloses
The capacitor of claim 11, wherein a portion of the electrolyte located in the conduits is in direct physical contact with the dielectric on different particles (fig. 5; [0040], [0072], [0079]).
In regards to claim 13, Karnik ‘580 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the active layer includes sintered particles and the pores provide a tortuous pathway between the particles ([0022]).
In regards to claim 14, Karnik ‘580 discloses
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein the conduits each has a length that is substantially straight in cross section (fig. 1 & 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 5-9, 15-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein an average width of the pores is less than 10 µm (claim 2), wherein an average width of the conduits is less than 50 times an average width of the pores (claim 5), wherein the current collector has a flat surface, the conduits each include a terminal end, the active layer contacts the flat surface of the current collector such that a portion of the active layer is located between the terminal ends of the conduits and the flat surface of the current collector (claim 6-7), wherein the conduits extend from a surface of the active layer into the active layer by more than 65% of a thickness of the active layer and less than 100% of the thickness of the active layer, and wherein an average width of the conduits is 2 or more times an average width of the pores (claim 8), wherein the periodic two-dimensional pattern is selected from a group consisting of a hexagonal pattern, a square pattern, and a triangular pattern (claim 9), wherein the a portion of the particles each defines a portion of an interior of one of the conduits and each has the dielectric on the core of the particle such that the core of the particle is exposed to an interior of the conduit (claim 15-16), wherein a ratio of (1) a surface area of the active layer surface that is not occupied by an opening to one of the conduits to (2) a surface area of the active layer that is occupied by the opening to one of the conduits is greater than 20:1 and less than 500:1 (claim 17), wherein the active layer includes particles that each has a dielectric on a core such that the pores are located between the particles, the dielectric including corundum oxide (claim 18-20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,224,150 – C3:L23-26
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847