DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 11.12.24. In view of this communication, claims 10-26 are now pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claim 12 recites “U-shaped internal slot”, however there is no element referral in specification. Examiner interprets element 42,46 to be “U-shaped internal slot” .
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Electric motor with electronics compartment locking structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations” The electric motor according to claim 10, wherein said lug base portion of said lug is inclined with respect to the vertical direction at a second angle of inclination lying between 0.1 and 5°” where recitation of “a second angle of inclination” Is indefinite as there is no recitation of first angle of inclination in claim 16 or claim 10. To advance prosecution, Examiner interprets “angle of inclination”. Claim 18 is rejected due to their dependency on Claim 16 .
Claim 21 recites the limitations” The electric motor according to claim 10, wherein a side of said snap-in nose that faces said lug forms a guide surface for assembling the snap-in element and is inclined with respect to the vertical direction at a third angle of inclination” where recitation of “a third angle of inclination” Is indefinite as there is no recitation of first or second angle of inclination in claim 21 or claim 10. To advance prosecution, Examiner interprets “angle of inclination”. Claims 22-23 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 21 .
Claim 26 recites “electronics compartment cover is formed from EN AW 5754” which seems to be a regional standard, however there is no recitation of alloy % composition of individual elements either in specification or in claim recitation. To advance prosecution, Examiner interprets Al-Mg alloy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12,15,19-21,24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pfister et al(DE102013022020A1 English translation), hereinafter Pfister.
Regarding Claim 10, Pfister discloses (Figs 1-3,5a,5b) an electric motor (10), comprising:
a motor carrier (26) formed with an electronics compartment (28) for motor electronics (30), the electronics compartment having an electronics compartment base (26b) and a side wall (26 in Fig 5b,44) projecting in a vertical direction (44 runs perpendicular to 26b in 54 direction) relative to said electronics compartment base;
an electronics compartment cover (32) configured for closing said electronics compartment;
said electronics compartment cover having a channel-shaped receptacle (68) for receiving a free end (44 in Fig 5b) of said side wall of said electronics compartment, said receptacle having an outer wall (32 w) arranged on an outside of said side wall;
a lug (50,56,58,62,32p) extending from said outer wall, counter to the vertical direction (opposite 54); and
said lug having a lug base portion (58) and a snap-in element (62) arranged thereon for a snap-in connection (46) with a snap-in nose (48) of said motor carrier.
Regarding Claim 11, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses wherein said lug (50,56,58,62) extends vertically (54) from a free end (60) of said outer wall (32 w) of said receptacle (68).
Regarding Claim 12, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses wherein said lug (50,56,58,62) is formed with a U-shaped [Para 0039] internal slot, and wherein a portion of said lug that is enclosed by said internal slot is inclined toward or away from said side wall at a first angle of inclination, forming said snap-in element (Fig 5b discloses 62 is inclined to 54).
Regarding Claim 15, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses where said lug base portion (56,58) of said lug spans a plane which is oriented parallel to a free end (60) of said outer wall (32w) of said receptacle (58 is parallel to 60).
Regarding Claim 19, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses wherein said snap-in nose (48) is formed by said side wall (26 in Fig 5b,44) of said electronics compartment (28).
Regarding Claim 20, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses wherein said snap-in nose (48) is disposed at a distance (Fig 5b) from said side wall (32w), and wherein said lug projects (32p) between said side wall (32w) and said snap-in nose (48).
Regarding Claim 21, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses wherein a side (66) of said snap-in nose (48) that faces said lug (62) forms a guide surface for assembling the snap-in element and is inclined with respect to the vertical direction at a
Regarding Claim 24, Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses the electric motor according to claim 10 configured as a motor for a radiator fan [Abstract].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14,16-18, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Pfister.
Regarding Claim 13 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 12. Pfister further discloses said first angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 62 is inclined to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it lies between 20° and 35°.
Pfister further discloses first angle of inclination lies between 20° and 35°[Para 0040 discloses non zero angle and Fig 5b discloses an angle that seems close to 20°. Further specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle. Therefore the choice of first angle of inclination is a Result Effective Variable (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)) wherein a higher angle would reduce force needed to engage snap fit but reduce retention and may lead to vibration, noise and related failures and vice versa and the appropriate angle can be arrived at by experimentation depending upon the choice of material and dimensional characteristics along with snap fit force and retention force over life of product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with first angle of inclination between 20 and 35 degrees as further taught by Pfister in order to have the optimal snap fit design that will take into account retention forces, insertion forces needed to address vibration profile and endurance profile of specific application.
Regarding Claim 14 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 13. Pfister further discloses said first angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 62 is inclined to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it lies between 25° and 30°.
Pfister further discloses first angle of inclination lies between 25° and 30°[Para 0040 discloses non zero angle and Fig 5b discloses an angle that is approaching 25°. Further specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle. Therefore the choice of first angle of inclination is a Result Effective Variable (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)) wherein a higher angle would reduce force needed to engage snap fit but reduce retention and may lead to vibration, noise and related failures and vice versa and the appropriate angle can be arrived at by experimentation depending upon the choice of material and dimensional characteristics along with snap fit force and retention force over life of product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with first angle of inclination between 25 and 30 degrees as further taught by Pfister in order to have the optimal snap fit design that will take into account retention forces, insertion forces needed to address vibration profile and endurance profile of specific application.
Regarding Claim 16 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister further discloses said lug base portion (58) of said lug is inclined with respect to the vertical direction (54) at a second angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 58 is in relation to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it lies between 0.1° and 5°.
Pfister further discloses second angle of inclination lies between 0.1° and 5°[ Fig 5b discloses 58 at an angle that seems approaching 0.1° (MPEP 2144.05(I)). Further specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with second angle of inclination between 0.1° and 5° as further taught by Pfister in order to have a profile of snap fit elements that does not stick out which can be a source of interference with other components in the vicinity.
Regarding Claim 17 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 16. Pfister further discloses said lug base portion (58) of said lug is inclined with respect to the vertical direction (54) at a second angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 58 is in relation to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it lies between 0.5° and 2°.
Pfister further discloses second angle of inclination lies between 0.5° and 2°[ Fig 5b discloses 58 at an angle that seems approaching 0.5° (MPEP 2144.05(I)). Further specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with second angle of inclination between 0.5° and 2° as further taught by Pfister in order to have a profile of snap fit elements that does not stick out which can be a source of interference with other components in the vicinity.
Regarding Claim 18 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 16. Pfister further discloses said lug base portion (58) of said lug is inclined with respect to the vertical direction (54) at a second angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 58 is in relation to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it is 1°.
Pfister further discloses second angle of inclination is 1°[ Fig 5b discloses 58 at an angle that seems approaching 1° (MPEP 2144.05(I)). Further specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with second angle of inclination of 1° as further taught by Pfister in order to have a profile of snap fit elements that does not stick out which can be a source of interference with other components in the vicinity.
Regarding Claim 22 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 21. Pfister further discloses said third angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 66 is inclined to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it lies between 5° and 20°.
Pfister further discloses third angle of inclination lies between 5° and 20°. [Para 0017 discloses examples of third angle of inclination. However specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle. Therefore the choice of first angle of inclination is a Result Effective Variable (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)) wherein a higher angle would increase force needed to engage snap fit but increase retention and lower angle would reduce insertion and retention force but may lead to vibration, noise and related failures and vice versa and the appropriate angle can be arrived at by experimentation depending upon the choice of material and dimensional characteristics along with snap fit force and retention force over life of product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with third angle of inclination between 5° and 20° as further taught by Pfister in order to have the optimal snap fit design that will take into account retention forces, insertion forces needed to address vibration profile and endurance profile of specific application.
Regarding Claim 23 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 22. Pfister further discloses said third angle of inclination (Fig 5b discloses 66 is inclined to 54) but does not explicitly disclose it lies between 7° and 15°.
Pfister further discloses third angle of inclination lies between 7° and 15°. [Para 0017 discloses examples of third angle of inclination. However specification and claim recitation does not indicate any unexpected results at above angle. Therefore the choice of first angle of inclination is a Result Effective Variable (MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)) wherein a higher angle would increase force needed to engage snap fit but increase retention and lower angle would reduce insertion and retention force but may lead to vibration, noise and related failures and vice versa and the appropriate angle can be arrived at by experimentation depending upon the choice of material and dimensional characteristics along with snap fit force and retention force over life of product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with third angle of inclination between 7° and 15° as further taught by Pfister in order to have the optimal snap fit design that will take into account retention forces, insertion forces needed to address vibration profile and endurance profile of specific application.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Pfister in view of Nimi et al (JP2003285002A English translation), hereinafter Nimi.
Regarding Claim 25 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 10. Pfister does not explicitly disclose wherein said electronics compartment cover is formed from an aluminum-magnesium alloy.
Nimi discloses [Para 0028] wherein said electronics compartment cover (Fig 2,6) is formed from an aluminum-magnesium alloy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with cover made from Al-Mg alloy as taught by Nimi in order to provide sufficient strength and durability while providing corrosion resistance.
Regarding Claim 26 , Pfister discloses the electric motor according to claim 25. Pfister does not explicitly disclose wherein said electronics compartment cover is formed from an aluminum-magnesium alloy.
Nimi discloses [Para 0028] wherein said electronics compartment cover (Fig 2,6) is formed from EN AW 5754 (Examiner interprets Al-Mg alloy. See 35 U.S.C. 112(b) section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed electric motor of Pfister with cover made from Al-Mg alloy as taught by Nimi in order to provide sufficient strength and durability while providing corrosion resistance.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834