DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/2/25 and 11/12/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9 and 17, the claim recites “the second detection result indicates there is no the object”. It appears this should be amended to “the second detection result indicates there is no object”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., CN 109088151
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a detection circuit, comprising: a first antenna module (fig. 1), comprising a first antenna (Fig. 1; antenna 10), a first inductor (Fig. 1; inductor unit 50), and a multiplexer (Fig. 1; switching unit 31); wherein one terminal of the multiplexer is connected to the first antenna and configured to control the first antenna to operate in different operating frequency bands (Fig. 1; switching unit 31 connected to antenna 10 and is configured to tune the antenna), and the other terminal of the multiplexer is connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1; meatal floor 40); and the first inductor is connected in parallel with the multiplexer (Fig. 1; as shown); and a capacitive proximity sensor, connected to the first antenna and configured for detecting a capacitance value of the first antenna module (Fig. 1; SAR sensor 60 detects capacitance between antenna and metal floor).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches wherein the capacitive proximity sensor is connected to a feeding point of the first antenna, so that in the case where an object approaches the first antenna module, an induced capacitance is formed between the first antenna and the object (Fig. 1; sensor 60 connected to a feeding point of antenna 10).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches wherein the multiplexer is connected in parallel with the first inductor, so that the first inductor is configured to filter out capacitance generated during switching of the multiplexer (Fig. 1; switching circuit 30 parallel with inductor 50; claim is an apparatus claim and all elements of the claim are disclosed in Li therefore limitation of filtering out capacitance is indented use limitation and does not have patentable weight).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches a detection method, comprising: determining a first detection result of a capacitive proximity sensor of a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit comprises: a first antenna module, comprising a first antenna (Fig. 1; antenna 10), a first inductor (Fig. 1; inductor unit 50), and a multiplexer (Fig. 1; switching unit 31); wherein one terminal of the multiplexer is connected to the first antenna and configured to control the first antenna to operate in different operating frequency bands, and the other terminal of the multiplexer is connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1; switching unit 31 connected to antenna 10 and is configured to tune the antenna; Fig. 1; meatal floor 40); and the first inductor is connected in parallel with the multiplexer (Fig. 1; as shown); and the capacitive proximity sensor, connected to the first antenna and configured for detecting a capacitance value of the first antenna module (Fig. 1; SAR sensor 60 detects capacitance between antenna and metal floor); and determining a second detection result based on the first detection result, wherein the second detection result indicates whether there is an object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to a first set threshold (¶[0033]; “detecting the head, body or other object adjacent to the antenna device caused by the capacitance change”).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches wherein the detection method further comprises: determining transmission power of the first antenna based on the second detection result (¶[0033]; when capacitance change, oscillator triggered to reduce transmitting power; reduction of transmitting power is an inherent determination of transmission power so that it is a desired SAR value is reached).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches wherein the capacitive proximity sensor is connected to a feeding point of the first antenna, so that in the case where the object approaches the first antenna module, an induced capacitance is formed between the first antenna and the object (Fig. 1; sensor 60 connected to a feeding point of antenna 10).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches wherein the multiplexer is connected in parallel with the first inductor, so that the first inductor is configured to filter out capacitance generated during switching of the multiplexer (Fig. 1; switching circuit 30 parallel with inductor 50; claim is an apparatus claim and all elements of the claim are disclosed in Li therefore limitation of filtering out capacitance is indented use limitation and does not have patentable weight).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches a mobile terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured for storing a computer program that is able to run on the processor (Fig. 1; implicit in the mobile communications), wherein the processor is configured to implement operations of a detection method in response to running the computer program, and the detection method comprises:
determining a first detection result of a capacitive proximity sensor of a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit comprises: a first antenna module, comprising a first antenna (Fig. 1; antenna 10), a first inductor (Fig. 1; inductor unit 50), and a multiplexer (Fig. 1; switching unit 31); wherein one terminal of the multiplexer is connected to the first antenna and configured to control the first antenna to operate in different operating frequency bands, and the other terminal of the multiplexer is connected to a ground terminal (Fig. 1; switching unit 31 connected to antenna 10 and is configured to tune the antenna; Fig. 1; meatal floor 40); and the first inductor is connected in parallel with the multiplexer (Fig. 1; as shown); and the capacitive proximity sensor, connected to the first antenna and configured for detecting a capacitance value of the first antenna module (Fig. 1; SAR sensor 60 detects capacitance between antenna and metal floor); and determining a second detection result based on the first detection result, wherein the second detection result indicates whether there is an object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to a first set threshold (¶[0033]; detecting the head, body or other object adjacent to the antenna device caused by the capacitance change).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches wherein the detection method further comprises: determining transmission power of the first antenna based on the second detection result (¶[0033]; when capacitance change, oscillator triggered to reduce transmitting power; reduction of transmitting power is an inherent determination of transmission power so that it is a desired SAR value is reached).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches wherein the capacitive proximity sensor is connected to a feeding point of the first antenna, so that in the case where the object approaches the first antenna module, an induced capacitance is formed between the first antenna and the object (Fig. 1; sensor 60 connected to a feeding point of antenna 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., CN 109088151 in view of Scheer et al., US 2011/0105023
Regarding claim 2, Li is silent in wherein in a plurality of antennas configured on a mobile terminal, the first antenna is one of the antennas that meets a set condition; and the set condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: the maximum number of supported operating frequency bands; and the maximum range of supported transmission frequencies. Scheer teaches plurality of antennas configured on a mobile terminal, the first antenna is one of the antennas that meets a set condition; and the set condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: the maximum number of supported operating frequency bands; and the maximum range of supported transmission frequencies ( Fig. 1; antenna 108 may be plurality of antenna elements; ¶[0005]; antenna system provide communications over multiple frequency bands). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Scheer into Li for the benefit of providing compact communication systems.
Regarding claim 10, Li is silent in wherein in a plurality of antennas configured on a mobile terminal, the first antenna is one of the antennas that meets a set condition; and the set condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: the maximum number of supported operating frequency bands; and the maximum range of supported transmission frequencies. Scheer teaches plurality of antennas configured on a mobile terminal, the first antenna is one of the antennas that meets a set condition; and the set condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: the maximum number of supported operating frequency bands; and the maximum range of supported transmission frequencies ( Fig. 1; antenna 108 may be plurality of antenna elements; ¶[0005]; antenna system provide communications over multiple frequency bands). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Scheer into Li for the benefit of providing compact communication systems.
Regarding claim 18, Li is silent in wherein in a plurality of antennas configured on a mobile terminal, the first antenna is one of the antennas that meets a set condition; and the set condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: the maximum number of supported operating frequency bands; and the maximum range of supported transmission frequencies. Scheer teaches plurality of antennas configured on a mobile terminal, the first antenna is one of the antennas that meets a set condition; and the set condition comprises at least one of the following conditions: the maximum number of supported operating frequency bands; and the maximum range of supported transmission frequencies ( Fig. 1; antenna 108 may be plurality of antenna elements; ¶[0005]; antenna system provide communications over multiple frequency bands). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Scheer into Li for the benefit of providing compact communication systems.
Claim(s) 3, 19, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., CN 109088151
Regarding claim 3, Li is silent in wherein an inductance value of the first inductor is greater than or equal to 82 nanohenries and less than or equal to 100 nanohenries. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a desired inductance range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a desired inductance value so as to have an efficient an operating frequency.
Regarding claim 19, Li is silent in wherein an inductance value of the first inductor is greater than or equal to 82 nanohenries and less than or equal to 100 nanohenries. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a desired inductance range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a desired inductance value so as to have an efficient an operating frequency.
Regarding claim 11, Li is silent in wherein an inductance value of the first inductor is greater than or equal to 82 nanohenries and less than or equal to 100 nanohenries. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a desired inductance range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to select a desired inductance value so as to have an efficient an operating frequency.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., CN 109088151 in view of Amm et al., US 20110012793
Regarding claim 8, Li is silent in wherein the determining transmission power of the first antenna based on the second detection result, comprises: adjusting the transmission power of the first antenna from a first power level to a second power level in the case where the second detection result indicates that a distance between the first antenna module and an object to be detected is less than or equal to the first set threshold; wherein the transmission power corresponding to the first power level is greater than the transmission power corresponding to the second power level. Amm teaches adjusting the transmission power of the first antenna from a first power level to a second power level in the case where the second detection result indicates that a distance between the first antenna module and an object to be detected is less than or equal to the first set threshold; wherein the transmission power corresponding to the first power level is greater than the transmission power corresponding to the second power level (¶[0007]; “when an external object such as part of a user's body comes within a given distance of the proximity sensor and the antenna…electronic device may reduce the maximum transmitted output power”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Amm into Li for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 9, Li is silent in determining that the second detection result indicates there is the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that a capacitance value of the first antenna module is within a first set range; and determining that the second detection result indicates there is no the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that the capacitance value of the first antenna module is not within the first set range. Amm teaches determining that the second detection result indicates there is the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that a capacitance value of the first antenna module is within a first set range; and determining that the second detection result indicates there is no the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that the capacitance value of the first antenna module is not within the first set range (¶[0061], [0074], [0082]; Fig. 5-10; data from the proximity sensor 80 indicated that object 87 is or is not within a given predetermined distance of antenna 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Amm into Li for the benefit of detecting objects in the vicinity of the device with efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Li is silent in wherein the determining transmission power of the first antenna based on the second detection result, comprises: adjusting the transmission power of the first antenna from a first power level to a second power level in the case where the second detection result indicates that a distance between the first antenna module and an object to be detected is less than or equal to the first set threshold; wherein the transmission power corresponding to the first power level is greater than the transmission power corresponding to the second power level. Amm teaches adjusting the transmission power of the first antenna from a first power level to a second power level in the case where the second detection result indicates that a distance between the first antenna module and an object to be detected is less than or equal to the first set threshold; wherein the transmission power corresponding to the first power level is greater than the transmission power corresponding to the second power level (¶[0007]; “when an external object such as part of a user's body comes within a given distance of the proximity sensor and the antenna…electronic device may reduce the maximum transmitted output power”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Amm into Li for the benefit of reducing the power consumption of the antenna system.
Regarding claim 17, Li is silent in wherein the determining a second detection result based on the first detection result, comprises: determining that the second detection result indicates there is the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that a capacitance value of the first antenna module is within a first set range; and determining that the second detection result indicates there is no the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that the capacitance value of the first antenna module is not within the first set range. Amm teaches determining that the second detection result indicates there is the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that a capacitance value of the first antenna module is within a first set range; and determining that the second detection result indicates there is no the object whose distance from the first antenna module of the detection circuit is less than or equal to the first set threshold in the case where the first detection result indicates that the capacitance value of the first antenna module is not within the first set range (¶[0061], [0074], [0082]; Fig. 5-10; data from the proximity sensor 80 indicated that object 87 is or is not within a given predetermined distance of antenna 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Amm into Li for the benefit of detecting objects in the vicinity of the device with efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rowson et al., US 10109909 discloses an antenna with proximity sensor function.
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858