Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,175,641. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are either anticipated by or obvious variants of the patent claims. The following table shows the corresponding limitations between representative claims and representative patent claims.
Present Application Claims
Patent claims
1. A method comprising: generating, utilizing a defect detection neural network, a defect segmentation mask distinguishing between local-defect pixels and non-local-defect pixels of a digital image; determining, utilizing an inpainting model to process the local-defect pixels of the digital image, replacement pixels that reduce visual appearance of a local defect by replacing a portion the local-defect pixels within the digital image; and generating, utilizing the inpainting model, a modified digital image by inpainting the local defect using the replacement pixels replacing the portion of the local-defect pixels.
8. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: detecting, using a face enhancement neural network, a face depicted in a digital image; projecting, using the face enhancement neural network, the face depicted in the digital image into a latent space; determining, from the latent space, a latent code corresponding to the face depicted in the digital image; and generating, utilizing the face enhancement neural network, an enhanced digital image by reconstructing pixels from the latent code corresponding to the face depicted in the digital image.
15. A system comprising: a memory component; and one or more processing devices coupled to the memory component, the one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising: generating, utilizing a defect detection neural network, a defect segmentation mask distinguishing between local-defect pixels and non-local-defect pixels of a digital image; generating, utilizing an inpainting model, a modified digital image by inpainting one or more of the local-defect pixels in the digital image; projecting, using a face enhancement neural network, the modified digital image into a latent space; and generating, using the face enhancement neural network, an enhanced digital image from the modified digital image by reconstructing face pixels from a latent code in the latent space.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are similarly rejected.
Claim 3.
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to: generate, utilizing a defect detection neural network, a segmentation mask indicating one or more local defects localized to specific portions of a digital image; determine pixels from the digital image for filling the one or more local defects indicated by the segmentation mask utilizing an inpainting model; generate a modified digital image by inpainting the one or more local defects utilizing the determined pixels from the inpainting model; and extract, utilizing a global correction neural network, a feature vector from the modified digital image depicting one or more global imperfections comprising one or more of image blur, faded colors, faded saturation, image graininess, or sepia effects.
3. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to determine the pixels for filling the one or more local defects by determining pixels within the digital image that reduce appearance of the one or more local defects when used to replace pixels of the one or more local defects utilizing the inpainting model.
Claim 6.
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to: generate, utilizing a defect detection neural network, a segmentation mask indicating one or more local defects localized to specific portions of a digital image; determine pixels from the digital image for filling the one or more local defects indicated by the segmentation mask utilizing an inpainting model; generate a modified digital image by inpainting the one or more local defects utilizing the determined pixels from the inpainting model; and extract, utilizing a global correction neural network, a feature vector from the modified digital image depicting one or more global imperfections comprising one or more of image blur, faded colors, faded saturation, image graininess, or sepia effects.
6. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to: map the modified digital image into a latent space utilizing a face enhancement neural network; determine a latent code corresponding to the modified digital image within the latent space; and generate, from the latent code corresponding to the modified digital image, a third modified digital image utilizing the face enhancement neural network to correct pixels depicting one or more faces.
Claim 6.
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to: generate, utilizing a defect detection neural network, a segmentation mask indicating one or more local defects localized to specific portions of a digital image; determine pixels from the digital image for filling the one or more local defects indicated by the segmentation mask utilizing an inpainting model; generate a modified digital image by inpainting the one or more local defects utilizing the determined pixels from the inpainting model; and extract, utilizing a global correction neural network, a feature vector from the modified digital image depicting one or more global imperfections comprising one or more of image blur, faded colors, faded saturation, image graininess, or sepia effects.
6. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to: map the modified digital image into a latent space utilizing a face enhancement neural network; determine a latent code corresponding to the modified digital image within the latent space; and generate, from the latent code corresponding to the modified digital image, a third modified digital image utilizing the face enhancement neural network to correct pixels depicting one or more faces.
Claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. [“Transforming the Latent Space of StyleGAN for Real Face Editing”], hereinafter Li in view of YAN (US 2022/0261968).
As to claim 8, Li discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
projecting, using the face enhancement neural network, the face depicted in the digital image into a latent space (pages Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g., “After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”);
determining, from the latent space, a latent code corresponding to the face depicted in the digital image (pages Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g.,“After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”; and
generating, utilizing the face enhancement neural network, an enhanced digital image by reconstructing pixels from the latent code corresponding to the face depicted in the digital image (pages Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g., “After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”, “Manipulating real faces with respect to the attribute age in different latent spaces. Given a real image to edit, we first invert it back to the latent space using StyleGAN projector and then manipulate the latent code with InterFaceGAN. Our results (highlighted by the red box) achieve considerably stronger robustness for long-distance manipulation”).
Li is silent regarding detecting, using a face enhancement neural network, a face depicted in a digital image.
Yan teaches detecting, using a face enhancement neural network, a face depicted in a digital image (para. 0050, 0066, 0111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate YAN’s teachings into Li since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and improve face enhancement performance.
As to claim 10, the combination of Li and YAN discloses
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein projecting the face depicted in the digital image comprises mapping pixels of the digital image to the latent space using an encoder of the face enhancement neural network (YAN, page 3, e.g., StyleGAN2Encoder; page 7, e.g., “we use the StyleGANv2’s projector to obtain latent codes for real images”).
As to claim 11, the combination of Li and YAN discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein determining the latent code corresponding to the face depicted in the digital image comprises determining a latent code nearest to a projection of the face depicted in the digital image within the latent space image (YAN, Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g., “After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”, “Manipulating real faces with respect to the attribute age in different latent spaces. Given a real image to edit, we first invert it back to the latent space using StyleGAN projector and then manipulate the latent code with InterFaceGAN. Our results (highlighted by the red box) achieve considerably stronger robustness for long-distance manipulation”).
As to claim 12, the combination of Li and YAN discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein generating the enhanced digital image comprises reconstructing the pixels from the latent code by using a decoder of the face enhancement neural network image (YAN, Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g., “After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”, “Manipulating real faces with respect to the attribute age in different latent spaces. Given a real image to edit, we first invert it back to the latent space using StyleGAN projector and then manipulate the latent code with InterFaceGAN. Our results (highlighted by the red box) achieve considerably stronger robustness for long-distance manipulation”.
As to claim 13, the combination of Li and YAN discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise generating the latent space by generating a plurality of latent noise vectors that convert into digital images depicting faces upon processing by the face enhancement neural network (YAN, page 3, ““Using an additive ramped-down noise, the original StyleGANv2 [12] proposes to embed images in the W space which enables better editing at the cost of worse reconstruction. To the contrary, Image2StyleGAN and Image2StyleGAN++ [1, 2] embed images into the extended W+ space which effectively optimizes a separate style for each scale. This approach sacrifices editing quality for reconstruction quality”; Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g., “After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”, “Manipulating real faces with respect to the attribute age in different latent spaces. Given a real image to edit, we first invert it back to the latent space using StyleGAN projector and then manipulate the latent code with InterFaceGAN. Our results (highlighted by the red box) achieve considerably stronger robustness for long-distance manipulation”).
As to claim 14, the combination of Li and YAN discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein generating the enhanced digital image comprises: determining a latent noise vector in the latent space closest to a latent vector extracted from the face depicted in the digital image; and reconstructing pixels of the enhanced digital image from the latent noise vector using the face enhancement neural network (YAN, page 3, ““Using an additive ramped-down noise, the original StyleGANv2 [12] proposes to embed images in the W space which enables better editing at the cost of worse reconstruction. To the contrary, Image2StyleGAN and Image2StyleGAN++ [1, 2] embed images into the extended W+ space which effectively optimizes a separate style for each scale. This approach sacrifices editing quality for reconstruction quality”; Section 4.3, 4.3.1-4.3.2.3, pages 7-9, Fig. 4, e.g., “After projecting real images into the latent space, we perform manipulation in the obtained latent codes for semantic editing”, “Manipulating real faces with respect to the attribute age in different latent spaces. Given a real image to edit, we first invert it back to the latent space using StyleGAN projector and then manipulate the latent code with InterFaceGAN. Our results (highlighted by the red box) achieve considerably stronger robustness for long-distance manipulation”).
Conclusion
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668