DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Application # 18/944,373 filed on November 12, 2024 in which claims 1-5 were presented for examination.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending, which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 12, 2024 complies with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 C.F.R. § 1.55.
Title of the Invention
37 C.F.R. § 1.72(a) states: “The title of the invention may not exceed 500 characters in length and must be as short and specific as possible” (emphasis added). Thus, the title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive.
A new title is required that is more clearly and more specifically indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” “step,” or a generic placeholder, but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations is: “control unit” in claims 1, 3, and 4. Specifically, the structure, in the form of an algorithm, is recited at claim 1, ll. 6-11. See MPEP § 2181(II)(B).
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), it is not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant intends to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation does not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al., US Publication 2024/0140423 (hereinafter Kobayashi).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a vehicle control device comprising a control unit that executes a following traveling control and a constant speed traveling control, (Kobayashi ¶ 15) by disclosing an adaptive cruise control that controls a vehicle speed and follows a preceding vehicle. Additionally, Kobayashi discloses “the following traveling control causing a vehicle that travels within a traffic lane to travel by following another vehicle that travels in front of the vehicle and the constant speed traveling control causing the vehicle to travel at a constant speed within the traffic lane” (Kobayashi ¶ 16, see also ¶ 43) where the vehicle travels in the merging lane. Further, Kobayashi discloses “wherein the control unit executes the following traveling control that causes the vehicle to travel by following the other vehicle based on a detection value that detects the other vehicle” (Kobayashi ¶¶ 35, 77) by detecting the preceding vehicle. This is based on the presence of the preceding vehicle being located inside box W0, which is a value. Moreover, Kobayashi discloses “determines that the other vehicle departs the traffic lane when recognizing a departure operation in which the other vehicle departs the traffic lane based on the detection value” (Kobayashi ¶ 67) by detecting that the merging vehicle 150, which is the preceding vehicle that has entered traveling lane 30. This is based on the detection value because the preceding vehicle was selected, and thus monitored to determine that it departed the merging lane, based on the value as discussed above. Finally, Kobayashi discloses “executes the constant speed traveling control along with stopping the following traveling control” (Kobayashi ¶¶ 46, 70) by executing the adaptive cruise control including stopping the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Kobayashi discloses “wherein in a state in which a direction indicator provided in the vehicle is not lit, the control unit determines that the other vehicle has departed the traffic lane when recognizing the departure operation of any one of the following departure operations: a state in which a direction indicator of the other vehicle is lit; a state in which a relative lateral movement speed of the other vehicle with respect to the vehicle is equal to or more than a threshold; a state in which a relative lateral movement acceleration of the other vehicle with respect to the vehicle is equal to or more than a threshold; a state in which a relative yaw angle of the other vehicle with respect to the vehicle is equal to or more than a threshold; and a state in which a lateral overlap rate of the other vehicle with respect to the vehicle is equal to or less than a threshold” (Kobayashi ¶ 36) where recognizing the preceding vehicle’s lighting state of turn signal lamps is “a state in which a direction indicator of the other vehicle is lit.”
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Kobayashi discloses “wherein when the control unit recognizes a stopping factor in which the other vehicle stops in the traffic lane based on the detection value, the control unit continues the following traveling control and causes the vehicle to decelerate and stop by following the other vehicle” (Kobayashi ¶¶ 110-111) by disclosing that when the control unit recognizes that the lap rate of the preceding vehicle is 0% and the acceleration rate of the preceding vehicle is below a threshold (i.e., stopping factors), the preceding vehicle is stopped. Although Kobayashi discloses that in these instances, the own vehicle “may” exit the loop so as not to stop, it does not require such an action and, thus, discloses that the own vehicle may also continue the process of maintaining a distance with the stopped vehicle, thus requiring it to stop as well.
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the limitations contained in parent claim 1 for the reasons discussed above. In addition, Kobayashi discloses “wherein when the other vehicle changes a route and the control unit recognizes the departure operation, and when a light display of a direction indication of the vehicle is in a lit state and the control unit determines that the vehicle travels the route by following the other vehicle, the control unit continues the following traveling control” (Kobayashi ¶¶ 35-36) by detecting the preceding vehicle based on the lighting states of the turn signal lamps and then following the vehicle while margining into the travel lane.
Regarding claim 5, it merely recites a non-transitory computer readable medium for embodying the device of claim 1. The medium comprises computer software modules for performing the various functions. Kobayashi comprises computer software modules for performing the same functions. Thus, claim 5 is rejected using the same rationale set forth in the above rejection for claim 1.
Conclusion
/ANDREW R DYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662