Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Challinor et al (US 9,358,456 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Challinor discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor system (Fig. 1A) configured to receive images of a player of a computer game making motions (Abstract: first player performs a dance move), convert the images to text description of the motions (Fig. 6 and 1110) and send the text description to a device of a companion (1115), image the companion attempt to mimic the motion described by the text description (1125), and output an indication of success of the companion mimicking the motion (Fig. 5: score).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 19, Challinor discloses determining the success of the companion mimicking the motion at least in part using cosine similarity (col. 11 line 46).
Regarding claim 3, Challinor discloses mapping the motions of the player to at least one player character (PC) of a computer game controlled by the player (Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 4, 8 and 15, Challinor discloses mapping the motions of the player to the PC at least in part using keyframes from the images (col. 10 line 16).
Regarding claims 5, 9 and 16, Challinor discloses map the motions of the player to the PC responsive to a determination that game context is appropriate for mapping (Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 6, 10 and 17, Challinor discloses not mapping the motions of the player to the PC responsive to a determination that game context is inappropriate for mapping (Abstract: system maps player motions responsive only to specific prompts).
Regarding claim 7, Challinor discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor system (Fig. 1A) configured to receive images of a player of a computer game making motions (Abstract: first player performs a dance move), and map the motions of the player to at least one player character (PC) of a computer game controlled by the player (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Challinor discloses convert the images to text description of the motions (Fig. 6 and 1110), send the text description to a device of a companion (1115), image the companion attempt to mimic the motion described by the text description (1125) and output an indication of success of the companion mimicking the motion (Fig. 5: score).
Regarding claims 13, 14, 18 and 20, Challinor discloses method comprising receiving images of a player of a computer game making motions (Abstract) and executing at least one of “A”, “B”, wherein “A” comprises mapping the motions of the player to at least one player character (PC) of a computer game controlled by the player (Fig. 5), and “B” comprises converting the images to text description of the motions (Fig. 6 and 1110), sending the text description to a device of a companion (1115), imaging the companion attempt to mimic the motion described by the text description (1125) and outputting an indication of success of the companion mimicking the motion (Fig. 5: score).
Conclusion
The prior art considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and not relied upon is made of record on the attached PTO-892 form.
Bansal (US 20240274033 A1) discloses sign language capture and machine interpretation.
Kook (US 20240233378 A1) discloses a dance motion matching system.
Hall et al (US 20230356085 A1) discloses a user motion analysis system with feedback.
Rahmani et al (US 20230085161 A1) discloses automatic sign language translation.
Thompson et al (US 20140206428 A1) discloses a gaming system with gesture inputs.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVE ROWLAND whose telephone number is (469) 295-9129. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 10-8. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Dmitry Suhol can be reached at (571) 272-4430. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Applicant may choose, at his or her discretion, to correspond with Examiner via Internet e-mail. A paper copy of any and all email correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application file. Email communication must be authorized in advance. Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via e-mail to any correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122.
Authorization may be perfected by submitting, on a separate paper, the following (or similar) disclaimer:
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
See MPEP 502.03 for more information.
/STEVE ROWLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715