DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US 2021/0302690 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Lin et al discloses a driving mechanism for moving an optical element (page 19, section [0363], Figure 57), comprising: a fixed part (Figure 57, “5-FA”); a movable part (Figure 57, “5-MA”), movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element (page 19, section [0363]); and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part (page 19, section [0363], Figure 57, “5-DA”).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of respective claim 1 of copending Application Nos. 18/944,391; 18/945,041; 18/944,214; 18/600,090 (reference applications). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claim 1 of copending Application Nos. 18/504,488; 18/896,083; 18/896,162; 18/896,304; 18/764,566; 18/764,601; 18/768,209; 18/792,907; 18/792,956; 18/937,458; 18/938,911; 19/016,642 (reference applications). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the current application are disclosed in the respective claim of the copending applications and are therefore anticipated by said applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application
Copending Applications
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element,
comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element;
and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
18/896,162; 18/896,304
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element that has an optical axis, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element, wherein the optical element has an optical axis;
and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element,
comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element;
and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
18/896,083; 19/016,642
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element that has an optical axis, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the optical element relative to the fixed part.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element;
and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
18/792,907
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element, wherein the optical element has an optical axis; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
18/792,956
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the optical element relative to the fixed part.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element,
comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element;
and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
18/504,488; 18/764,566; 18/764,601; 18/768,209; 18/938,911; 18/937,458
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element that has an optical axis, the driving mechanism comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over respective claim 1 of U.S. Patent Nos. 12,619,066 B2; 12,693,489 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the claim of the current application are disclosed in the respective claim of the Patents and therefore anticipate said claim.
Current Application
U.S. Patent
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
12,619,066 B2
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part; a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part, wherein the driving assembly includes a first driving element that drives the movable part to rotate relative to the fixed part around a first axis; and a sensor, wherein the sensor and the first driving element are disposed on the fixed part, and when viewed in a reference direction, the first driving element and the sensor at least partially overlap, wherein the fixed part includes a base and a plate member connected to the base, and a cavity and a protrusion are formed on an inner surface of the plate member, wherein the first driving element is disposed on a bottom surface of the cavity, and the sensor is disposed on a top surface of the protrusion, wherein the bottom surface and the top surface are parallel to the reference direction, and the first driving element and the sensor do not protrude from the inner surface of the plate member.
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part;
a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; and a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part.
12,693,489 B2
1. A driving mechanism for moving an optical element, comprising: a fixed part, having a housing and a base connected to each other;
a movable part, movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element; a driving assembly, configured for moving the movable part relative to the fixed part, wherein the driving assembly has a coil and a magnetic element, the coil is disposed on the movable part, and the magnetic element and the movable part are received in the housing; and a thin magnetic-permeable element, having a shielding portion located between the magnetic element and a sidewall of the housing, wherein a gap is formed between the shielding portion of the magnetic-permeable element and the sidewall of the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 2-5: a driving mechanism as claimed, specifically comprising an upper sheet spring and a rear sheet spring, wherein the fixed part includes a base and a housing connected to each other, and the upper and rear sheet springs are connected between the base and the movable part.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 6-9: a driving mechanism as claimed, specifically comprising a metal sheet, a support member affixed to the metal sheet, and a buffer element encompassing the support member, wherein the metal sheet is embedded in the movable part, and the support member comprises metal material.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 10-17: a driving mechanism as claimed, specifically comprising a pad and a ball joint, wherein the ball joint pivotally connects the movable part to the fixed part, and the movable part forms a cavity for receiving the pad, wherein a part of the ball joint is located in an opening of the pad.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claims 18-20: a driving mechanism as claimed, specifically comprising a plurality of ball elements and a ball joint, wherein the ball joint pivotally connects the movable part to the fixed part, the movable part forms a cavity for receiving the ball elements, and the ball joint contacts the ball elements.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 August 8, 2026