DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the plurality of external positioning ribs to contact the curling edge as recited in claim 4 (Fig. 2 shows the nozzle ball head is in a circumferential eccentric swaying state. However, the plurality of external positioning ribs 35 do not contact the curling edge 15); and
the double-layer wear-resistant washer as recited in claim 5 (Fig. 2 shows a regular washer. It is unclear what is a double-layer wear-resistant washer? Would a washer with two opposite surfaces qualified as a double-layer washer? Why and why not?)must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a pressure relief hole extending through the fixing cover along the axis is provided in the fixing cover" in lines 1-2. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect. It is unclear what element or combination of elements are provided in the fixing cover? Furthermore, the limitation "the axis" in line 2 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. There are at least three “axis (of the nozzle, of the water wheel ball head and of the water wheel)” in the claim, it is unclear which “axis” is referred by the Applicant. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the axis" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to all pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dautel et al. (US4802628. Dautel hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Dautel discloses an eccentric swaying washing nozzle (Figs. 1-3), comprising a housing (3) and a jet hole (19) at a front end of the housing, wherein a nozzle (28 and 25), a fixing ring (defining 16), a water wheel (12), and a fixing cover (2) that are successively mounted from back to front are arranged in the housing, the fixing ring and the fixing cover are both fixed in the housing, the water wheel is rotatably mounted in the housing, a nozzle ball head (25) is arranged at a front end of the nozzle, a plurality of evenly distributed circumferential external positioning ribs (ribs defining 35 and ribs at 27. Fig. 1) are arranged on an outer circumferential surface of the nozzle ball head, a nozzle hole (35) extending through the nozzle along an axis (of 25) is provided in the nozzle, a front end of the nozzle hole extends through the nozzle ball head and is in communication with the jet hole to form water outflow, water entering the housing drives the water wheel to rotate and drives a rear end (at 31) of the nozzle to perform circumferential eccentric rotation, and then drives the nozzle ball head to synchronously perform circumferential eccentric swaying relative to the jet hole under the restriction (constrains) of the plurality of external positioning ribs (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention), and the water outflow formed by the nozzle hole in communication with the jet hole is also spraying in a circumferential eccentric swaying manner.
With respect to claim 2, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 1, wherein each of the external positioning ribs (See enlarged Fig. 1 of Dautel with additional annotations below) is a rectangular bump (Having the shape of a rectangle. American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language) extending along an axial direction of the nozzle.
With respect to claim 3, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 1, wherein a curling edge (See enlarged Fig. 1 of Dautel with additional annotations below) that is turned up from a hole edge (top edge of 19) of the jet hole to a rear circumference is arranged in the jet hole, and the nozzle ball head is attached to an inner edge of the curling edge through a spherical surface (of 23) to perform circumferential eccentric swaying.
With respect to claim 5, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of evenly distributed circumferential blades (Col. 3, lines 8-18) in a radial pattern are arranged on an outer circumferential surface of the water wheel, and a double-layer wear-resistant washer (4 and 21) is arranged between front (downstream) end surfaces of the plurality of blades and a rear end surface (at 7) of the fixing ring.
With respect to claim 6, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 1, wherein a water wheel ball head (32) is arranged on a front (downstream) end of the water wheel, an axis of the water wheel ball head is eccentric with respect to a rotation axis of the water wheel (along 11), the water wheel ball head passes through (over) a center hole (top opening of the rim defining 16) of the fixing ring and is movably fitted in a rear (upstream) end of the nozzle hole, and the water wheel rotates to drive the water wheel ball head to perform circumferential eccentric rotation in the rear end of the nozzle hole, thereby driving the rear end of the nozzle to synchronously perform the circumferential eccentric rotation (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 7, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 6, wherein a pressure relief hole (5 , 9 and opening from 10 to the opening of 3) extending through the fixing cover along the axis is provided in the fixing cover, a water wheel hole (from 10 to the opening of 3) extending through the water wheel along the axis is provided in the water wheel, a front (downstream) end of the water wheel hole extends through the water wheel ball head, high-pressure water enters the housing, and a pressure of the high-pressure water is relieved (at jet hole) by the pressure relief hole, the water wheel hole, the nozzle hole, and the jet hole that are in communication with each other in sequence (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 8, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 7, wherein a core shaft (30, 26 and 37) extending forward along the axis is arranged on a front (downstream) end surface of the fixing cover, the water wheel is rotatably sleeved on (over) the core shaft through a rear (upstream) end of the water wheel hole, and the pressure relief hole is provided in the core shaft and runs through along the axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dautel in view of Sesser et al. (US 10864534. Sesser hereinafter).
With respect to claim 4, Dautel discloses the eccentric swaying washing nozzle according to claim 3, Dautel further discloses wherein the nozzle ball head performs a circumferential eccentric swaying relative to the jet hole. Dautel fails to disclose the nozzle ball head drives the plurality of external positioning ribs to contact the curling edge to form a circumferential eccentric swaying stroke of the nozzle ball head.
However, Sesser teaches an eccentric swaying washing nozzle (Figs. 1-26, especially the embodiment in Figs. 4-26) comprising a nozzle ball head (46) performs a circumferential eccentric swaying relative to the jet hole (at 14), wherein the nozzle ball head drives the plurality of external positioning ribs (on 342) to contact the curling edge (of 425. Figs. 24 and 25) to form a circumferential eccentric swaying stroke of the nozzle ball head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the nozzle ball head drives the plurality of external positioning ribs, as taught by Sesser, to Dautel’s nozzle ball head, in order to improve start-up reliability (Col. 7, lines 21-36 and Figs. 24-26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to an eccentric swaying washing nozzle: Flack et al., Le Moon, Munz, Buckner, Hruby et al., Hunter, Bristow et al., Meyer, Clark et al., Furness et al. and Osmond.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 28, 2026