DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a Non-Final Office Action Correspondence in response to RCE amendments/arguments for U.S. Application No. 18/944474 filed on August 31, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. The Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
On Pg. 7-12, in regard to U.S.C. 103, relating to claims 15-31, Applicant argues the amended limitations.
Examiner replies that a new reference is presented below to teach the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 15, 16, 17 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osesina U.S. Patent No. 10,997,134 (herein as ‘Osesina’) and further in view of Agarwal et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,556,774 (herein as ‘Agarwal’), Lightner et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,619,571 (herein as ‘Lightner’) and Charnock et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0174128 (herein as ‘Charnock’).
As to claim 15 a system, comprising: a processor; and a memory comprising instructions that when executed, cause the processor to ([ "Entity resolution {i:e.~ record linkage} involves the analysis/discovering of datasets that refer to the same real world entity." {Osesina: Abstract}]:
receive information comprising multiple versions of data associated with an entity of a plurality of entities (Col. 11 Lines 60-63 Osesina discloses in step S104 as input, a plurality of records are received that are known to be associated with a same individual each record includes a plurality of fields containing data. Col. 9 Lines 41-46 Osesina discloses a plurality of records are received by the entity resolution device 100 from the database 300 in cooperation with the controller 104~ memory 10~ J/O interface 12~ and storage 112-the records known to be associated with a same individual);
Osesina does not teach but Agarwal teaches predict whether the subset of the set of timeslice objects corresponds to the same entity of the plurality of entities by comparing the distance vectors to sets of previous distance vectors (Col. 7 Lines 57-65 Adachi discloses comparing the distances between object vectors to forecast features being similar or dissimilar);
Osesina and Agarwal are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the extracting attributes of Agarwal, to allow for determine similar data. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to improve the speed with forecasting data (Col. 1 Lines 40-53 Agarwal).
Osesina does not teach but Lightner teaches extract from the received information, and store in an entity database, one or more attributes (Col. 6 Lines 48-52 Lightner discloses during the extraction one or more feature recognition and extraction algorithms may be employed Also, a score may be assigned to each extracted feature indicating the level of certainty of the feature being correctly extracted with the correct attributes);
Osesina and Lightner are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the extracting attributes of Lightner, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to retrieve relevant documents (Col. 1 Lines 40-47 Lightner).
Osesina in combination with Lightner does not teach but Charnock teaches create and store a set of timeslice objects for each of the one or more attributes (Par. 0090 Charnock discloses identifying the objects associated with the time);
Select at least a subset of the set of timeslice objects for candidate comparison based on an overlap between durations in respective timeslice objects; compute, for each of the one or more attributes, distance vectors between the subset of the set of timeslice obiects, wherein overlapping durations are converted to distance vectors; and responsive to predicting that the subset of the set of timeslice objects correspond to the same entity of the plurality of entities, combine the subset of the set of timeslice objects into a single entity identity record to generate an unambiguous entity database (Par. 0285 Charnock discloses data objected at different times may be collated in order to populate an event. Par. 0394 Charnoack discloses and drag objects onto a canvas to query the system for any known or probable overlap or intersection among all of them or any subset of them).
Osesina and Charnock are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include creating data structures of Charnock, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to gather relevant data quickly (Par. 0017-0018 Charnock).
As to claim 16 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 15.
In addition Charnock teaches wherein the instructions that when executed cause the processor to extract the one or more attributes, further cause the processor to: tokenize the received information; responsive to identifying that the received information has multiple components based on one or more tokens (Par. 0142 Charnock discloses associating the data with the tokens);
determine that the one or more attributes are related to a name of the entity based on the multiple components; and disambiguate and classify the multiple components into at least a base name, a connector, a function and/or industry, and a legal identifier associated with the entity name (Col. 6 Lines 15-25 Osesina discloses labeling the documents).
As to claim 17 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 16.
In addition Osesina teaches wherein the instructions that when executed cause the processor to extract the one or more attributes, further cause the processor to: responsive to identifying that a first attribute of the one or more attributes is a location: disambiguate and compare one or more tokens associated with the location with a plurality of known locations; responsive to determining that there is a match between the one or more tokens associated with the location and a first known location of the plurality of locations, assign a geocode to the location (Col. 10 Lines 20-27 Osesina discloses the unknown data is associated with multiple records. Col. 11 Lines 30-46 Osesina discloses labeling the data).
As to claim 24 Osesian teaches a method, comprising:
extracting and storing at an entity database, by an entity disambiguation computer, one or more attributes from information received from one or more external data sources (Col. 6 Lines 48-52 Lightner discloses during the extraction one or more feature recognition and extraction algorithms may be employed Also, a score may be assigned to each extracted feature indicating the level of certainty of the feature being correctly extracted with the correct attributes);
Osesina and Lightner are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the extracting attributes of Lightner, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to retrieve relevant documents (Col. 1 Lines 40-47 Lightner).
Osesina in combination with Lightner does not teach but Charnock teaches storing and associating each of the one or more attributes with a timeslice object, wherein attributes of the one or more attributes having different values are associated with different timeslice objects (Par. 0090 Charnock discloses identifying the objects associated with the time);
selecting an attribute pair of the one or more attributes, and comparing attributes of the attribute pair based on overlapping start and end times associated with corresponding timeslice objects; predicting whether the attribute pair corresponds to a same entity and disambiguating the entity database by merging the attributes of the attribute pair pursuant to a prediction that the attribute pair corresponds to the same entity (Par. 0285 Charnock discloses data objected at different times may be collated in order to populate an event. Par. 0394 Charnock discloses and drag objects onto a canvas to query the system for any known or probable overlap or intersection among all of them or any subset of them. Par. 0096 Charnock disclose using the deep learning process to identify new types of transformations that is now on the radar but different enough to not be trapped by the standard feature);
Osesina and Charnock are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include creating data structures of Charnock, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to gather relevant data quickly (Par. 0017-0018 Charnock).
Osesina does not teach but Agarwal teaches and converting overlapping durations of the corresponding timeslice objects to distance vectors (Col. 7 Lines 57-65 Adachi discloses comparing the distances between object vectors to forecast features being similar or dissimilar);
Osesina and Agarwal are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the extracting attributes of Agarwal, to allow for determine similar data. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to improve the speed with forecasting data (Col. 1 Lines 40-53 Agarwal).
As to claim 25 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 24.
In addition Charnock teaches further comprising: tokenizing the information; responsive to identifying that the information has multiple components based on one or more tokens: determining that the one or more attributes are related to a name of the entity based on the multiple components (Par. 0142 Charnock discloses associating the data with the tokens);
and disambiguating and classifying the multiple components into at least a base name, a connector, a function and/or industry, and a legal identifier associated with the entity name (Col. 6 Lines 15-25 Osesina discloses labeling the documents).
As to claim 26 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 25.
In addition Osesina teaches further comprising: responsive to identifying that a first attribute of the one or more attributes is a location: disambiguating and comparing one or more tokens associated with the location with a plurality of known locations; responsive to determining that there is a match between the one or more tokens associated with the location and a first known location of the plurality of locations, assigning a geocode to the location (Col. 10 Lines 20-27 Osesina discloses the unknown data is associated with multiple records. Col. 11 Lines 30-46 Osesina discloses labeling the data).
7. Claim(s) 18-23 and 27-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osesina U.S. Patent No. 10,997,134 (herein as ‘Osesina’), Agarwal et al. U.S. Patent No. 11,556,774 (herein as ‘Agarwal’), and further in view of Lightner et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,619,571 (herein as ‘Lightner’) and Charnock et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0174128 (herein as ‘Charnock’) and Hansen et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,779,363 (herein as ‘Hansen’).
As to claim 18 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 17.
Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches wherein the memory comprises further instructions that when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: responsive to determining that the one or more tokens are related to employee data, disambiguate and classify employee attributes from the one or more tokens, wherein the employee attribute comprises an employee skill, an employee job title, a location of employee, a gender, and an educational qualifications (Col. 5 Lines 17-25 Hansen discloses the name associated with education affiliation).
Osesina and Charnock are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include creating data structures of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to gather relevant data quickly (Col. 1 Lines 14-26 Hansen).
As to claim 19 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 16.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches wherein the memory comprises further instructions that when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to generate fingerprints corresponding to the entity name (Col. 4 Lines 1-4 Hansen discloses the content item is tracked).
Osesina and Charnock are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include creating data structures of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to gather relevant data quickly (Par. 0017-0018 Hansen).
As to claim 20 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 16.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches further cause the processor to query a fingerprints database to find a potential candidate fingerprint matching one or more of the fingerprints corresponding to the entity name, the potential candidate fingerprint and the fingerprints corresponding to the entity name being further compared (Col. 3 Lines 55-60 Hansen discloses the items are associated with the content patterns. Col. 4 Lines 1-4 Hansen discloses the content item is tracked).
Osesina and Charnock are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include creating data structures of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to gather relevant data quickly (Par. 0017-0018 Hansen).
As to claim 21 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 16.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches wherein the memory comprises further instructions that when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to perform semantic embedding on the one more tokens to generate a vectorized representation of a semantic meaning of attribute values of the one or more attributes (Col. 6 Lines 5-25 Hansen discloses the items are associated with the feature vectors).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 22 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 17.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches wherein the overlapping durations comprise overlapping time periods of validity for the respective timeslice objects (Col. 6 Lines 5-11 Hansen discloses overlap between features).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 23 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 17.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches wherein the subset of timeslice objects corresponds to an attribute pair (Col. 3 Lines 63-67 Hansen discloses identifying the pair of fields associated with the values).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 27 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 26.
In addition Hansen teaches further comprising: responsive to determining that the one or more tokens are related to employee data, disambiguating and classifying employee attributes from the one or more tokens, wherein the employee attribute comprises an employee skill, an employee job title, a location of employee, a gender, and an educational qualifications (Col. 5 Lines 17-25 Hansen discloses the name associated with education affiliation).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 28 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 25.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches further comprising generating fingerprints corresponding to the entity name (Col. 4 Lines 1-4 Hansen discloses the content item is tracked).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 29 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 28.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches further comprising querying a fingerprints database to find a potential candidate fingerprint matching one or more of the fingerprints corresponding to the entity name, the potential candidate fingerprint and the fingerprints corresponding to the entity name being further compared (Col. 3 Lines 55-60 Hansen discloses the items are associated with the content patterns. Col. 4 Lines 1-4 Hansen discloses the content item is tracked).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 30 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 25.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches further comprising performing semantic embedding on the one more tokens to generate a vectorized representation of a semantic meaning of attribute values of the one or more attributes (Col. 6 Lines 5-25 Hansen discloses the items are associated with the feature vectors).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 31 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 24.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen teaches wherein the selection of the attribute pair is based on overlapping start and end times associated with the attributes of the attribute pair (Col. 6 Lines 5-11 Hansen discloses overlap between features. Col. 9 lines 25-33 Hansen discloses the time period such as 30 days).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 32 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 25.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen wherein the start and end times indicate respective validity periods for the attributes (Col. 6 Lines 5-11 Hansen discloses overlap between features. Col. 9 lines 25-33 Hansen discloses the time period such as 30 days).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 33 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 25.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen further comprising arranging the timeslice objects and corresponding indices representative of the start and end times in accordance with a timeslice object timeline (Col. 6 Lines 5-11 Hansen discloses overlap between features. Col. 9 lines 25-33 Hansen discloses the time period such as 30 days. The start is the beginning of 30 days, the end is the end of the 30 days).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
As to claim 34 Osesina in combination with Lightner, Agarwal and Charnock teaches each and every limitation of claim 33.
Osesina in combination with Lightner and Charnock does not teach but Hansen determining a position of a new timeslice object on the timeslice object timeline based on the new timeslice's respective start and end time (Col. 6 Lines 5-11 Hansen discloses overlap between features. Col. 9 lines 25-33 Hansen discloses the time period such as 30 days. The start is the beginning of 30 days, the end is the end of the 30 days).
Osesina and Hansen are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, attribute processing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the identifying of records of Osesina to include the data labeling of Hansen, to allow for retrieval of relevant documents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is that it would be obvious to try in order to identify the correct information (Col. 1 Lines 25-29 Hansen).
Conclusion
/JERMAINE A MINCEY/ September 19, 2026Examiner, Art Unit 2159