Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castillo et al. (2008/0316312) in view of Gigot (9,906,722).
Regarding claim 1, Castillo discloses a video recording device for a vehicle, comprising: a motion sensor (115) configured to detect a motion of an external object around the vehicle; an impact sensor (120) configured to detect an impact on the vehicle; a camera (105, 110) configured to record a video of surroundings of the vehicle; and a controller, wherein the controller (205) is configured to receive motion information of the external object from the motion sensor, and when the external object is detected within a first area among the first area and a second area which is defined as an area further from the vehicle than the first area (note step 310 and par. 21-22) or when the external object is determined to enter the first area from a second area within a set time (par. 32), transmit a wake-up command to the camera to prepare for event recording (320). However, Castillo does not disclose that the controller is configured to maintain the camera in a sleep mode or off as claimed.
Gigot, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a camera power down mode (254, 256, 258) when no object is detected. By using the power down mode, the energy consumption of the camera system is decreased, which prolong the operating life of the camera battery or power supply (note col. 1, lines 14-30).
Therefore, in view of Gigot and knowing the battery life in Castillo is limited, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Gigot into Castillo so that the battery life in the camera system could be increased.
Regarding claim 2, Castillo discloses the event recording comprises performing recording when the impact is detected by the impact sensor (note step 335 and 345).
Regarding claim 3, Castillo discloses the controller is further configured to, when the impact is detected by the impact sensor, determine whether to start the event recording based on whether at least one of a distance of the external object, a speed of the external object, or a direction of the external object satisfies an impact condition of applying an impact to the vehicle (note par. 24 and 25).
Regarding claim 4, Castillo discloses the controller is further configured to, when the impact is detected by the impact sensor, determine whether the external object is in the first area to determine whether to start the event recording (note par. 36).
Regarding claim 5, Castillo discloses the controller is further configured to, when the external object is not detected by the motion sensor, but the impact is detected by the impact sensor, determine whether the impact is a side impact to determine whether to start the event recording (note par. 37). Castillo also shows a plurality of side impact sensors 120 on the doors of the vehicle as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, Castillo discloses configured to determine the side impact by a lateral component included in a signal detected by the impact sensor. That is, Castillo also shows a plurality of side impact sensors 120 on the doors of the vehicle as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 7, Castillo discloses the first area is set to exclude a false detection prevention area of the motion sensor (note par. 33 and 34). That is, the camera(s) is always activated with the corresponding areas when motion is detected.
Regarding claim 8, Castillo discloses the first area and the set time are variable according to parameter information set by a user (par. 33-35). That is, the area covered by the particular one of the cameras (105) can be adjusted by the user by tilting or rotating the angles of the camera; and the period of time, or set time, as described in par. 35 can be set by the user through programming of the microcontroller 205.
Regarding claim 9, Castillo discloses the parameter information comprises a detection distance parameter related to a range of the first area, a false detection distance parameter related to a false detection prevention area of the first area, and a time parameter related to the set time. That is, according to par. 33-35, the filed of view (FOV) or detection distance of each of the cameras, especially the rotating camera 110, can be adjusted by the user by adjusting the tilting angle and the rotating angle of the respective camera; and the period of time, or set time, can be set by the user through programming of the microcontroller 205.
Regarding claims 10-18, see the similar rejections as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/11/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under Castillo have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gigot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422