CTFR 18/944,482 CTFR 95980 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments The 112 rejections have been overcome and are therefore withdrawn. 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/26 regarding the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Thable does not disclose multiple interconnecting components arranged across an interspace and bonded to both the first and second components. Applicant argues that “only one single structural frame element 116 is involved in joining together the corresponding couple of panel elements” (e.g. panels 152b-152c). The examiner respectfully disagrees with this interpretation of the rejection. The difference between this argument and the rejection is that the rejection set forth that multiple panels make up the first component and the second component. Panels 152a and 152b are interpreted as the first component, which is a multi-piece component. Similarly, 152c and 152d make up the second component. Just as applicant states that Thable discloses the structural frame element 116, which is divided into frame element pieces 168, so too is the first component considered as being comprised of multiple pieces. Given this interpretation, multiple separate interconnecting components (elements 168 of 116) do span the interspace to bond both the first component (152a/b) and second component (152(c/d) . Applicant then states “Even when structural frame element 116 is divided into pieces 168, those pieces remain pieces of structural frame element 116 itself. Thable does not disclose that such pieces are the claimed first and second interconnecting components of a set of multiple interconnecting components arranged across the interspace.” Applicant does not explain why it would be incorrect to consider the pieces 168 as the first and second interconnecting components. Why does it matter that they “remain pieces of structural frame element 116 itself”? They also are first and second interconnecting components. Applicant again mentions that each panel is not connected by multiple separate interconnecting components, which has been addressed above. Applicant states that the frame elements pieces 168 are not each separately bonded to both connecting areas. However, Fig. 11B shows that each panel has a scalloped edge with fasteners. Each piece 168 spans across to both 152a/b and 152c/d. Thable discloses that these fasteners could instead be replaced by adhesive bonding. Therefore, the arguments are not found convincing . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Thable et al (US 20130084422 A1) . For claim 1 , Thable discloses a structurally bonded arrangement Fig. 11A-C for structurally bonding a first component multi-piece component 152a/b to a second component multi-piece component 152c/d , comprising: a first connecting area of the first component Fig. 11B: area of 152a/b which overlaps 116 ; a second connecting area of the second component Fig. 11B: area of 152c/d which overlaps 116 that is spaced apart from the first connecting area to form an interspace space between panels ; and multiple interconnecting components Fig. 11C: multiple of 116; Para 0055: “elements 116 may be divided or split into two or more frame element pieces 168” arranged across the interspace, wherein first and second interconnecting components of the multiple interconnecting components are structurally bonded separate from each other to the first connecting area at separate first bonding areas and to the second connecting area at separate second bonding areas thereby structurally bonding the first component to the second component Para 0065: “the scalloped panel assembly 100 may be joined to the structure 115 via an adhesive” . For claim 2 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein a same side of the respective first and second interconnecting components is structurally bonded to a same side of the first connecting area and to a same side of the second connecting area Fig. 11C: bottom of elements 116 bond to top of panels . For claim 3 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 2, wherein the first and second interconnecting components are splice plates Fig. 11C: bottom plates of 116 are splice plates that each connect the first component and the second component to each other in a lap shear manner Fig. 11B . For claim 4 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein each one of respectively associated separate first bonding areas and separate second bonding areas have a same size and a same shape Fig. 11B: same wave shape that defines the bonding areas . For claim 5 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first and second interconnecting components have a same size same height, length, etc and a same shape same C shape profile . For claim 6 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first and second interconnecting components have at least one of a different size or a different shape Fig. 11C: 116 on the left has a different cutout pattern on the bottom plate than 116 on the right . For claim 7 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first interconnecting component has one of a circular shape, an elliptical shape, or a zonogonal shape Fig. 11C; 116 has “a body 134 having openings 132” (Para 0053), 132 being circular, therefore 116 has a circular shape at 132 . For claim 8 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein a first adhesive bonds the first interconnecting component to the first and second connecting areas, and a second adhesive that is different than the first adhesive bonds the second interconnecting component to the first and second connecting areas they are bonded at different areas, therefore whatever adhesive is used in one area would be different than the other area, even if there are the same type of adhesive . For claim 10 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, further comprising: a stiffener fig. 11C: other of element 116, which runs from top-right to bottom-left in image that is arranged across the interspace between the first and second interconnecting components and rigidly attached to the first and second components Fig. 11C . For claim 11 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first connecting area comprises a first edge with a first shape, and wherein the second connecting area comprises a second edge with a second shape that fits to the first shape at the interspace to form an intermeshing pattern same wave pattern on both sides . For claim 12 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 10, wherein an intermeshing pattern formed by a first shape and a second shape is one of a zigzag pattern, a trapezoidal pattern, a sine wave pattern Fig. 11B , a rectangular pattern, a sawtooth pattern, a chain of half-circles, or a combination thereof. For claim 13 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 10, wherein an intermeshing pattern formed by a first shape and a second shape is a rectangular pattern such that the interspace is successively oriented in bonding area length direction and in bonding area width direction Fig. 11A: rectangular intermeshing pattern at center of structure where the 4 pieces join , wherein the first and second interconnecting components have a circular shape Fig. 11C; 116 has “a body 134 having openings 132” (Para 0053), 132 being circular, therefore 116 has a circular shape at 132 and are arranged across the interspace where the interspace is oriented in bonding area width direction this is not claimed as the same area as stated above; Fig. 11A the interspace is oriented at least partially in a width direction all along the wave pattern and at the ends, which is where the interconnecting components are such that the first bonding areas are separated from the second bonding areas by the interspace oriented in bonding area width direction Fig. 11A . For claim 14 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, wherein the multiple interconnecting components are attached to each other at least indirectly attached to one another as all the components are bonded . For claim 15 , Thable discloses a rotorcraft with a structurally bonded arrangement according to claim 1 Para 0004: “rotorcraft” . For claim 16 , Thable discloses a structurally bonded arrangement Fig. 11A-C for structurally bonding a first component multi-piece component 152a/b to a second component multi-piece component 152c/d , the structurally bonded arrangement comprising: a first connecting area of the first component Fig. 11B: area of 152a/b which overlaps 116 ; a second connecting area of the second component Fig. 11B: area of 152c/d which overlaps 116 spaced apart from the first connecting area to form an interspace between the first and second components space between panels ; and multiple interconnecting components Fig. 11C: multiple of 116; Para 0055: “elements 116 may be divided or split into two or more frame element pieces 168” arranged across the interspace, wherein first and second interconnecting components of the multiple interconnecting components are structurally bonded separate from each other to the first connecting area at separate first bonding areas and to the second connecting area at separate second bonding areas Para 0065: “the scalloped panel assembly 100 may be joined to the structure 115 via an adhesive” , with each of the first and second interconnecting components spanning the interspace and structurally bonding the first component to the second component Fig. 11A-C: components 116 span the gap . For claim 17 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 16, wherein the first and second interconnecting components form separate sub-bondings that together structurally bond the first component to the second component Fig. 11A-C: each component 116 forms a sub-bonding area where they bond the first and second components, and together they structurally bond them . For claim 18 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 16, wherein the first and second interconnecting components are separated from each other at the interspace Fig. 11C, two parts of 116 are separated at the interspace . For claim 19 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 16, wherein a same side of the respective first and second interconnecting components is structurally bonded to a same side of the first connecting area and to a same side of the second connecting area Fig. 11C: bottom of elements 116 bond to top of panels . For claim 20 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 16, wherein the first and second interconnecting components are splice plates Fig. 11C: bottom plates of 116 are splice plates that each connect the first component and the second component to each other in a lap shear manner Fig. 11B . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thable . For claim 9 , Thable discloses the structurally bonded arrangement of claim 1, but fails to disclose that the first interconnecting component is made from a first material, and wherein the second interconnecting component is made from a second material that is different than the first material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the first and second interconnecting components from different materials in order to be able to vary the structural properties in different areas depending on the anticipated loads in order to reduce weight and increase safety, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to COLIN N M ZOHOORI whose telephone number is (571)272-7996. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JOSHUA J MICHENER can be reached at (571)272-1467. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 2 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 3 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 4 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 5 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 6 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 7 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 8 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 9 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 10 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/944,482 Page 11 Art Unit: 3642