DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 2, the claim is dependent upon claim 1, and additionally recites “wherein the second dynamic range is at least an order of magnitude smaller than the first dynamic range”. However, the phrase “orders of magnitude” is defined by the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language by “as estimate of size or magnitude express as a power of ten” or “a range of values between a designated lower value and an upper value ten times as large”, but the claim scope does not clarify what unit of measurement is being used. As it is clear, many units of measurements can be changed to be smaller or larger accordingly, such as a measurement or change of something in centimeters would be minor and not an order or magnitude larger, but could be in millimeters. From this current limitation, it is unclear what characteristics are being measured or compared, and therefore it is unclear what measurement type is supposed to be considered when applying this dynamic range. Hence, the claim scope is indefinite.
Re claim 3, the claim is dependent upon claim 1, and additionally recites “wherein the second dynamic range is ~100 times smaller than the first dynamic range” However, the claim scope does not clarify what unit of measurement is being used. As it is clear, many units of measurements can be changed to be smaller or larger accordingly, such as a measurement or change of something in centimeters would be minor and not an order or magnitude larger, but could be in millimeters. From this current limitation, it is unclear what characteristics are being measured or compared, and therefore it is unclear what measurement type is supposed to be considered when applying this dynamic range. Hence, the claim scope is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu US PG PUB 2016/0182157 and Suzuki 2013/0236172.
Re claim 1, Komatsu discloses an integrated electro-photonic circuit comprising an optical receiver comprising:
a photodiode (PD) (photodetector 21, Fig. 1), a Variable Optical Attenuator (VOA) (variable optical attenuator 1, Fig. 1), a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) (transimpedance amplifier 202, Fig. 1), and a feedback/control circuit (optical attenuator control circuit 5, Fig. 1);
the VOA having an optical input for receiving an optical input signal and an optical output aligned to an optical aperture of the PD to provide an attenuated optical output signal from the VOA to the PD (a variable optical attenuator 1 is disposed at the input side of the optical receiver 50 and an O-E conversion circuit 2 configured by a photodetector 201 and a transimpedance amplifier 202 is disposed at the output side of the variable optical attenuator 1 ¶ [0009], such the VOAi receives the light input, which is an optical input signal, and then outputs another signal two the photodetector 201, such that it is aligned to provide the signal);
wherein the feedback/control circuit is operable to adjust a bias voltage of the VOA in response to at least one of a peak value and an average value of the optical input signal, to provide an attenuated optical output signal from the VOA to the PD, wherein the optical input signal level has a first dynamic range, and the attenuated optical output signal level from the VOA to the PD has a second dynamic range smaller than the first dynamic range, to control a photocurrent from the PD to the TIA (the optical attenuator control circuit 5 compares the amplitude of a signal output from the amplitude detection circuit 4 with the target signal amplitude. When the amplitude of the signal output from the amplitude detection circuit 4 is greater than the target signal amplitude, the optical attenuator control circuit 5 controls the variable optical attenuator 1 so as to increase the attenuation of the variable optical attenuator 1. When the amplitude of the signal output from the amplitude detection circuit 4 is lower than the target signal amplitude, the optical attenuator control circuit 5 controls the variable optical attenuator 1 so as to decrease the attenuation of the variable optical attenuator 1. ¶ [0013]).
While Komatsu does not explicitly disclose, wherein the optical input signal level has a first dynamic range , and the attenuated optical output signal level from the VOA to the photodiode has a second dynamic range smaller than the first dynamic range. However, it is disclosed that “in order to enlarge the optical input dynamic range, it can be considered to dispose the variable optical attenuator (VOA) in a stage preceding the coherent optical receiver, and to attenuate the optical input power to the receivable optical input level. ¶ [0075], such that the disclosure of attenuation of the optical input power to the receivable optical input level would have a smaller range than the input signal. Additionally, it discloses the optical input range is enlarged because the attenuator puts the optical input power to the receivable optical input level, that the input signal dynamic range is larger.
Komatsu and Suzuki are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical receivers. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Suzuki before him or her, to understand the adjustment of the variable optical attenuator of Komatsu to include operation of the variable optical attenuator to adjust and attenuate the signal at the output to put in the range such that it can be receivable of Suzuki because it combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the variable optical attenuator to adjust the optical receiver to be at a receive optical input level.
Re claim 5, Komatsu and Suzuki disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 5 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu discloses wherein the PD is one of: a pin PD and an avalanche photo-diode (APD) (the optical receivers in PTL 1 includes the variable optical attenuator on the light input side of the an APD (avalanche photodiode) ¶ [0003], such that the use of avalanche photo-diode is well known in the use of optical receivers alongside of variable optical attenuators).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao US PG PUB 2013/0170785.
Re claim 4, Komatsu and Suzuki discloses all the elements of claim 1, which claim 4 is dependent. Furthermore, while Komatsu discloses the controlling of the variable optical attenuator, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the attenuated output signal level has a constant peak value.
However, Gao discloses that an optical attenuator is one of the important elements of an optical circuit for an optical communication to control an optical signal transmission. In fiber optic communication systems, variable optical attenuators are broadly employed to regulate the optical power levels to prevent damage to the optical receivers caused by irregular optical power variations. As the optical power fluctuates, a variable optical attenuator is employed, in combination with an output power detector and a feedback control loop, to adjust the attenuation and to maintain the optical power input to a photo-receiver at a relatively constant level. ¶ [0010], such that if the signal is at a constant power level, the peak value would also be constant.
Komatsu and Gao are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical receiver. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Gao before him or her, to modify the feedback or control of the variable optical attenuator of Komatsu to include the to adjust or control the attenuator to maintaining the optical power inputting to a photo receiver at a relatively constant level of Gao because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the optical receiver and components to operate in a safe manner.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Soskind et al (herein Soskind) US PG PUB 2003/0223727.
Re claim 6, Komatsu and Suzuki disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 6 is dependent. Furthermore, while Komatsu discloses the use of a VOA and a photodiode, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the PD is a surface receiving PD, and the VOA is integrated with the PD.
However, Soskind discloses an optical receiver that exhibits extended dynamic range, and more particularly to an optical receiver, that is integrated with a variable optical attenuator to extent the dynamic range of the receiver ¶ [0002], wherein the photodetector has a photosensitive surface for receiving light ¶ [0022], such that it is understood that it is a surface received PD.
Komatsu and Soskind are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical receiver systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Soskind before him or her, to modify the optical receiver components of Komatsu to include the integration and a surface receiver of Soskind because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling for an optical assembly with an extend dynamic range
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu, Suzuki, and Soskind as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Sharp et al (herein Sharp) US PG PUB 2003/0026581.
Re claim 7, Komatsu, Suzuki, and Soskind disclose all the elements of claim 6, which claim 7 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the VOA is a Quantum-Confined Stark Effect (QCSE) VOA integrated with the PD.
However, Sharp discloses variable optical attenuators (VOA) are utilized widely throughout optical communications networks. The primary function of a VOA is to control the optical power propagating within an optical fiber. VOAs have been developed with a variety of technologies. Some forms of VOA involve moving parts (spinning filter wheels or fiber flexure to induce controlled loss). Other technologies include electro-optic devices that do not require moving parts, for example, polarization rotation in an electro-optic crystal followed by a polarizer. Semiconductor VOAs fall into the latter category of electro-optic VOAs, for which no moving parts are necessary. In general, an electric field is applied to the semiconductor material, which by virtue of the Franz-Keldysh effect in bulk semiconductors, or the quantum-confined Stark effect in quantum well materials, moves the band gap of the material. The band gap can be illustrated as an opening allowing the passage of photons therethrough. A wider gap allows a lot of photons to pass through, while a narrow gap attenuates the amount of photons, and thus the optical signal passing therethrough. A light wave propagating at a wavelength nearby to a band edge, but just under the band gap, can thus be exposed to a variable and voltage controllable attenuation. ¶ [0002], such that the variable optical attenuator could comprise of quantum-confined Stark effect in quantum well materials.
Komatsu and Sharp are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical elements that use variable optical attenuators. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Sharp before him or her, to modify the variable optical receiver of Komatsu to include the structure to use a Franz-Keldysh of Sharp because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables for the control of the signal passed through the variable optical attenuator.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharp et al (herein Sharp) US PG PUB 2003/0026581.
Re claim 8, Komatsu and Suzuki disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 8 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the VOA is one of: a Quantum-Confined Stark Effect (QCSE) VOA, a Franz-Keldysh VOA, and a VOA operable with another voltage controlled photonic mechanism.
However, Sharp discloses variable optical attenuators (VOA) are utilized widely throughout optical communications networks. The primary function of a VOA is to control the optical power propagating within an optical fiber. VOAs have been developed with a variety of technologies. Some forms of VOA involve moving parts (spinning filter wheels or fiber flexure to induce controlled loss). Other technologies include electro-optic devices that do not require moving parts, for example, polarization rotation in an electro-optic crystal followed by a polarizer. Semiconductor VOAs fall into the latter category of electro-optic VOAs, for which no moving parts are necessary. In general, an electric field is applied to the semiconductor material, which by virtue of the Franz-Keldysh effect in bulk semiconductors, or the quantum-confined Stark effect in quantum well materials, moves the band gap of the material. The band gap can be illustrated as an opening allowing the passage of photons therethrough. A wider gap allows a lot of photons to pass through, while a narrow gap attenuates the amount of photons, and thus the optical signal passing therethrough. A light wave propagating at a wavelength nearby to a band edge, but just under the band gap, can thus be exposed to a variable and voltage controllable attenuation. ¶ [0002], such that the use of a Franz-Keldysh VOA is disclosed as being in use within the optical communication system.
Komatsu and Sharp are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical elements that use variable optical attenuators. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Sharp before him or her, to modify the variable optical receiver of Komatsu to include the structure to use a Franz-Keldysh of Sharp because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables for the control of the signal passed through the variable optical attenuator.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al (herein Chen) US PG PUB 2010/0054761.
Re claim 9, Komatsu and Suzuki disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 9 is dependent. Furthermore, while Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the PD, the VOA, the TIA and the feedback/control circuit are monolithically integrated.
However, Chen discloses the optical receiver 10 includes a monolithically integrated electrical and optical circuit located along a planar surface of a substrate. The integrated electrical and optical circuit may include polarization beam splitters (PBSs) 18a, 18b; optical hybrid(s) 20a, 20b; variable optical attenuators 22a, 22b, 22c, 22d; and photodetectors 24a, 24b, and, e.g., may include electronic transimpedance amplifiers. ¶ [0047].
Komatsu and Chen are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical receiver. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Chen before him or her, to modify the optical receiver components of Komatsu to include the teaching having the components, both optical and electrical within the optical receiver to be monolithically integrated of Chen because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, which in this case enables the components to be connected and organized on one elements, simplifying the installation of the receiver.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoshida et al (herein Hoshida) US PG PUB 2009/0244685.
Re claim 10.The integrated electro-photonic circuit of claim 1, which claim 10 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose having a waveguide configuration, wherein the VOA comprises a first electro-absorption modulator (EAM) operable as the VOA.
However, Hoshida discloses a variable optical attenuator using the MZ interferometer is applied. However, a configuration where an optical absorption area is provided, and an absorption ratio thereof is controlled by voltage or current can be applied as an alternative configuration of the variable optical attenuator ¶ [0049].
Komatsu and Hoshida are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, variable optical attenuators. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Suzuki before him or her, to modify the variable optical attenuator of Komatsu to include the MZ interferometer or electro-absorption modulation of Hoshida because the combine prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables for predictable control of the optical power.
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Srinivasan et al (herein Srinivasan) US PG PUB 2019/0196296.
Re claim 11, Komatsu and Suzuki disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 11 is dependent. However, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose having a waveguide configuration, wherein the VOA comprises a first electro-absorption modulator (EAM) operable as the VOA, and the PD comprises a second EAM operable as the PD.
However, Srinivasan discloses it is beneficial to not merely guide light through a waveguide, but to also interact with the guided light, thereby achieving e.g. optical detection, modulation and/or attenuation. In such applications, electro-optic devices are used. Examples of such electro-optic devices are photodetectors, modulators, lasers, and variable optical attenuators. A known way to accomplish modulation is, for example, through the Franz-Keldysh effect or the quantum-confined Stark effect. ¶ [0003].
Komatsu and Srinivasan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, a system with optical elements or components. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Srinivasan before him or her, to modify the variable optical attenuators and photodiodes of Komatsu to include the modulators using electro-absorption effects of Srinivasan because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the system to operate.
Re claim 14, Komatsu, Suzuki, and Srinivasan disclose all the elements of claim 11, which claim 14 is dependent. Furthermore, Srinivasan discloses wherein waveguides of each of the first and second EAMs comprise a Quantum-Confined Stark Effect waveguide (a known way to accomplish modulation uses the quantum-confined stark effect ¶ [0003]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu, Suzuki, and Srinivasan as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Knights et al (herein Knights) US PG PUB 2006/0039666.
Re claim 13, Komatsu, Suzuki, and Srinivasan disclose all the elements of claim 11, which claim 13 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu and Srinivasan disclose wherein waveguides of each of the first and second EAMs are laterally coupled (the VOA is placed alongside the photodetector and interact with each other such that if the VOA and the photodetector are first and second EAMS, through the combination of Komatsu and Srinivasan, they should both also placed side by side as well).
Furthermore, to the extent that Komatsu and Srinivasan do not disclose the laterally coupling of the two components, Knights discloses another possibility for dealing with detectors with different dynamic ranges would be to introduce variable optical attenuators (VOAs) into the signal path. The VOAs would typically be absorption VOAs which would essentially consist of PIN diodes placed laterally across the waveguide with a length appropriate to the required attenuation and available chip space. A VOA will attenuate the light that is input into all of the wavelength-selective detectors that follow it and so the most likely location for a VOA is at the front on the detector series. ¶ [0138]
Komatsu, Srinivasan, and Knights are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical receivers. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Osenbach before him or her, to modify the receiver components of Komatsu and Srinivasan to include the structure and components of Knights because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling both components to be interacting with each other by being able to be side by side or laterally and coupled or interacting with each other, and such that the signal can be received and recovered.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gunder US Patent 4,644,145.
Re claim 16, Komatsu and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 16 is dependent. Furthermore, while Komatsu discloses the use of an amplitude and detection circuit 4 that is attached to the optical attenuator control circuit but does not explicitly disclose whether it is a measuring of the peak value or the average value. However, Gunder discloses wherein the feedback/control circuit comprises a detection circuit for detecting at least one of the peak value and the average value of the optical input signal, and a VOA driver circuit to provide a control voltage to the VOA, the VOA driver circuit providing a control voltage to the VOA to adjust attenuation dependent on said at least one of the peak value and average value of the optical input signal (An optical signal arriving in a first optical waveguide 6 passes through an electrically variable optical attenuator 1 and is transmitted through a second optical waveguide 7 to an optical-to-electrical transducer 2, henceforth called "photodetector". The electric signal delivered by the photodetector 2 is amplified in an amplifier 3 and then fed to an automatic level control circuit 4. The latter, with the aid of a peak detector, produces an electric control voltage which adjusts the attenuator 1 so that at the input of a signal regenerator 5 following the level control circuit, a level is present which is sufficient for restoring the electric signal to its original form Col 1, line 52-63).
Komatsu and Gunder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical receiving systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Gunder before him or her, to modify the amplitude detection circuit of Komatsu to include the ability to detect the peak of the electrical signal and control or adjust the attenuator based on the measurement of Gunder because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enables the system to adjust the signal power to a sufficient level to be received and restored, bettering reception quality.
Re claim 17, Komatsu, Chen, and Gunder disclose all the elements of claim 16, which claim 17 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu and Gunder disclose wherein during an adjustment time, the detection circuit is operable to sample a signal indicative of an input optical signal level, comprising an electrical output signal of the TIA (Komatsu discloses the amplitude detection circuit receives the output of the electrical signal of the TIA, Fig. 1, and Gunder discloses the latter, with the aid of a peak detector, produces an electric control voltage which adjusts the attenuator 1 so that at the input of a signal regenerator 5 following the level control circuit, a level is present which is sufficient for restoring the electric signal to its original form, Col 1, lines 58-64, such that the combination to suggest an adjustment time requires the sampling of the signal at a peak level which would be indicate of the input signal).
Re claim 18, Komatsu, Chen, and Gunder disclose all the elements of claim 16, which claim 18 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu wherein during an adjustment time, the detection circuit is operable to sample a signal indicative of am input optical signal level, comprising one of:
a photocurrent of the PD;
a photocurrent of the VOA;
a voltage output of the TIA (Komatsu discloses that the amplitude and detection circuit is attached to the output of the TIA, Fig. 1);
an optical signal level at the VOA input; and
an optical signal level at the VOA output.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wach US Patent 8,532,500.
Re claim 19, Komatsu and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 19 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose wherein the integrated electro-photonic circuit of claim 1, fabricated as a monolithically integrated electro-photonic circuit comprising III-V based semiconductor materials. However, Wach discloses that the components of the receiver 100 that are discussed below and illustrate in Fig. 1-10, can be mounted on a substrate. In certain embodiments, the receiver’s components are integrated in or grown on a semiconductor material, such as III-V semiconductor material, Col. 8, lines 34-58.
Komatsu and Wach are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical reception systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Wach before him or her, to modify the optical and electrical components of Komatsu to include the integration into a monolithic platform of Chen because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the components to be connected as desired by the designer.
Re claim 20, Komatsu and Chen disclose all the elements of claim 1, which claim 20 is dependent. Furthermore, Komatsu does not explicitly disclose fabricated as a monolithically integrated electro-photonic circuit comprising an InP-based semiconductor materials system, comprising selected binary, ternary and quaternary and other compositions of In, Ga, As, P, Al and Sb.
However, Chen discloses In certain exemplary embodiments, the components of the receiver 100 that are discussed below (including but not limited to the pertinent illustrated elements of FIGS. 1-10 having associated reference numbers) can be mounted on a substrate, such as a plate, block, sheet, wafer, or slab of material, with a composition of glass, silica, sapphire, aluminum oxide, ceramic, or silicon, for example. In certain embodiments, the substrate is an optical bench, such as a silicon optical bench ("SiOB"). In certain exemplary embodiments, the receiver's components are integrated in or grown on a semiconductor material, such as a silicon-based material, InGaAs (a ternary composition), germanium, InP (a binary composition), III-V material, III-V semiconductor material, etc. Those components can be either monolithically integrated, or hybrid integrated, for example, Col 8, lines 34-56.
Komatsu and Wach are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical reception systems. At the time filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Komatsu and Wach before him or her, to modify the optical and electrical components of Komatsu to include the integration into a monolithic platform and composition of Chen because it combines prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield predictable results, in this case, enabling the components to be connected as desired by the designer to operate in a predictable manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12, 15 and 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claim 12, Komatsu, Chen, and Srinivasan disclose all the elements of claim 11, which claim 12 is dependent. Furthermore, it is not disclosed by Srinivasan discloses wherein the second EAM is provided with a mirror comprising rear-facet metal coating. While other portions of the prior art do disclose EAM interacting with a metal coating or a mirror, it is not disclosed within the receiver, that the EAM is part of the photodiode system that is used alongside of other optical components, such as a VOA and TIA, such that when the claim scope is considered as a whole, the claim is considered allowable.
Re claim 15, the claim is dependent upon claim 11, and additionally recites “wherein waveguides of the first EAM comprises a first plurality of semiconductor layers, and the waveguide of the second EAM comprises a second plurality of semiconductor layers, and the waveguides of the first and second EAMS are vertically coupled by a laterally tapered vertical optical coupler”.
While it is well known that electro optical modulators can be made to comprise a plurality of semiconductor layers and waveguides, the use of a laterally tapered vertical optical coupler to be used between the two optical waveguide and the semiconductor layers, as a way to describe the structure of the receiver, is not disclosed by the prior art, such that when the prior art is considered as a whole, the claims are considered allowable.
Re claim 21, the claim is dependent upon claim 1 and additionally recites “fabricated as a monolithically integrated electro-photonic circuit comprising an InP-based semiconductor materials system, comprising selected binary, ternary and quaternary and other compositions of In, Ga, As, P, Al and Sb, and comprising a semi-insulating (SI) InP substrate, an epitaxial layer stack formed on the SI InP substrate, comprising a first plurality of semiconductor layers providing InP Heterojunction Bipolar Transistors (HBTs) of the TIA and the feedback/control circuit, a spacer layer, and a second plurality of semiconductor layers forming a waveguide of the VOA and a waveguide of the PD.”
While some of the points are disclosed by the prior art, such as Min (US PG PUB 2010/0133586) which discloses a heterojunction bipolar transistors are ultra-high speed semiconductor active devices that are used in integrated circuits (ICs) of electrical devices such as a transimpedance amplifier (TIA), a limiting amplifier, a modulator driver IC, and multiplexer/demultiplexer (MUX/DeMUX) of ultra wide band communication transmitter/receiver modules. The heterojunction bipolar transistors are also used as power amplifiers for a repeater in infrastructures for mobile communications or mobile communication terminals. Parasitic capacitance of the heterojunction bipolar transistors suppresses ultra-high speed/ultra-high frequency operation ¶ [0003], wherein, to form the heterojunction bipolar transistor according to the current embodiment, a subcollector layer 110a, a collector layer 112a, a base layer 120a, an emitter layer 132a, and an emitter capping layer 134a may be sequentially stacked on the substrate 100. The subcollector layer 110a, the collector layer 112a, the base layer 120a, the emitter layer 132a, and the emitter capping layer 134a may be epitaxial layers that are sequentially grown. The substrate 100 may be a GaAS or InP substrate. The emitter capping layer 134a, the base layer 120a, and the subcollector layer 110a may include an InGaAs-based material. The emitter layer 132a and the collector layer 112a may include an InP-based material. ¶ [0039], such that many of the layers, components, and substrates are disclosed as being present. However, the overall connection of different components disclosed with the order in which certain layers are disclosed to be on top of each followed by other layers, such as a space layer, and additionally semiconductor layers forming a waveguide of the waveguide within the integrated layers, when considered as a whole, is considered allowable.
Conclusion
TANYA MOTSINGER
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/TANYA T MOTSINGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2635