DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant arguments/Remarks made in amendment in which the following is noted: claims 1 – 9, 11 – 19 are amended; the rejection of the claims traversed; claims 10 and 20 are cancelled; and claims 21 – 22 are newly added. Claims 1- 9, 11 – 19 and 21 – 22 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues DeLuca and Bao fail to disclose at least “detecting, via an extended reality device associated with the extended reality display, that the potentially hazardous situation exists in a field of view of the user while the media asset is being presented in the first portion of the extended reality display”.
The office respectfully disagrees and submits Bao discloses the claimed “detecting” when the camera on device 104 detects an object 1106 in the field of view prior to adjusting the opacity of the media asset.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 3, 7 – 9, 11 – 13, 17 – 19, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao et al; (Publication number: US 2018/0088323 A1), hereafter Bao.
Regarding claim 1:
Bao discloses a method for controlling an extended reality display (Bao ABSTRACT), comprising:
causing presentation of a media asset in a first portion of the extended reality display (Bao Figure 1B visual output 106 displayed on a portion of display);
determining that a potentially hazardous situation is forthcoming based at least in part on a relative movement of a user (Bao Figure 11 1106; [0119]);
based at least in part on determining, detecting, via an extended reality device associated with the extended reality display, that the potentially hazardous situation exists in a field of view of the user while the media asset is being presented in the first portion of the extended reality display (Bao [0119] camera on device 104 detects object 1106 in field of view); and
based at least in part on detecting that the potentially hazardous situation exists in the field of view of the user while the media asset is being presented in the first portion of the extended reality display, wherein the modifying is performed based at least in part on the relative movement of the user (Bao Figure 5 506; [0065] [0119]).
Regarding claim 2:
Bao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises generating for display overlay information relating to the potentially hazardous situation, on the extended reality display, based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the overlay information is an indication of the potentially hazardous situation (Bao [0119] text warning of tripping hazard).
Regarding claim 3:
Bao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises generating for display overlay information relating to the potentially hazardous situation, on the extended reality display, based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the overlay information is a warning that the potentially hazardous situation is forthcoming (Bao [0119] text warning of tripping hazard).
Regarding claim 7:
Bao discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the potentially hazardous situation comprises one or more of: an intersection, a stop sign, a traffic indication on a map, an emergency warning, a high-traffic road or a ground hazard in a path of travel in which the user is moving (Bao [0119]).
Regarding claim 8:
Bao discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the potentially hazardous situation based at least in part on a geographic location of the user and a relative motion of the user (Bao Figure 11 1102).
Regarding claim 9:
Bao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user is associated with a user profile specifying relationships between the extended reality display and corresponding actions performable on the extended reality display in course of traveling (Bao [0109]).
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 8.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 9.
Regarding claim 21:
Bao discloses the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises performing at least one of: causing the presentation of the media asset to be shifted to a second portion of the extended reality display based at least in part on relative movement of the user, and generating for display overlay information relating the potentially hazardous situation, on the extended reality display, based at least in part on the relative movement of the user (Bao [0119]).
Regarding claim 22:
Claim 22 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Klosinski JR. et al; (Publication number: US 2020/0397371), hereafter Klosinski, JR.
Regarding claim 4:
Bao does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises generating for display overlay information relating to the potentially hazardous situation, on the extended reality display, based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the overlay information is environmental information based at least in part on a location of the user.
However, Klosinski JR. discloses wearable environmental pollution monitor and computer apparatus, systems, and related methods. More particularly, Klosinski, JR. discloses wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises generating for display overlay information relating to the potentially hazardous situation, on the extended reality display, based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the overlay information is environmental information based at least in part on a location of the user (Klosinski, JR. [0065] travel information used to predict pollution; Figure 3 320 – message is generated and presented to user of wearable device).
It would have been obvious to modify Bao wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises generating for display overlay information relating to the potentially hazardous situation, on the extended reality display, based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the overlay information is environmental information based at least in part on a location of the user, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate mitigating the effect of pollution for the wearer of the device when traveling.
Regarding claim 5:
Bao (in view of Klosinki, JR) discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the environmental information comprises one or more of a geographical location of the extended reality display, weather conditions, and sunlight conditions (Klosinski, JR [0064]).
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of DeLuca et al; (Publication number: US 2019/0156535 A1), hereafter DeLuca.
Regarding claim 6:
Bao does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises causing the presentation of the media asset to be shifted to a second portion of the extended reality display based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the second portion of the extended reality display does not obstruct the visibility of the potentially hazardous situation via the extended reality device associated with the extended reality display.
However, DeLuca discloses changing view order of augmented reality objects based on user gaze. More particularly, DeLuca discloses wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises causing the presentation of the media asset to be shifted to a second portion of the extended reality display based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the second portion of the extended reality display does not obstruct the visibility of the potentially hazardous situation via the extended reality device associated with the extended reality display (DeLuca Figure 4D; [0036] AR object 204 shifted away from door 209).
It would have been obvious to modify Bao wherein modifying the presentation of the media asset on the extended reality display comprises causing the presentation of the media asset to be shifted to a second portion of the extended reality display based at least in part on the relative movement of the user, and wherein the second portion of the extended reality display does not obstruct the visibility of the potentially hazardous situation via the extended reality device associated with the extended reality display, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate enhancing the experience of the augmented reality system (DeLuca [0020]).
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 6.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 6 February 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621