Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached information disclosure statement have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
laser transmitting element in independent claim(s) 1, 9 and their dependents; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. 2C;
rotatable optical element in independent claim(s) 1, 9 and their dependents; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. Fig. 2A-2C;
imaging element in independent claim(s) 1, 9 and their dependents; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. 6-7;
pressure-inducing element in dependent claim 11; structure found in e.g. instant Fig. 5B; Fig. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1, 2, 6-13 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tearney (US 20070282403 A1; 12/6/2007; cited in IDS) in view of Fischer (US 20140017635 A1; 1/16/2014; cited in IDS), and further in view of Kittrell (US 5693043 A; 12/2/1997; cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tearney teaches a method for treating a disorder associated with a gastro-intestinal tract ([0008]-[0009]; [0065]), the method comprising:
transmitting, using a catheter comprising a laser transmitting element, a focused laser beam in a first direction parallel to a longitudinal axis of the catheter body (Fig. 21-23; [0016]);
impinging the laser beam on a target area in a spiral-like or helical-like pattern ([0018] “helical; claim 9; claim 19; Fig. 29C) by directing the beam in a direction essentially perpendicular to the transmitted beam using a rotatable optical element, concomitantly with moving of the catheter along its longitudinal axis (Fig. 18-20; Fig. 22-23).
Tearney does not teach wherein the focused laser beam has a beam diameter of less than 1 mm at focal length in a range of 2-25 mm. Note that Tearney teaches to "vary the depth of laser damage ... while not significantly altering the transverse extent of injury" ([0110]). However, Fischer teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) teach wherein the focused laser beam has a beam diameter of less than 1 mm ([0018] "may have a diameter of about 0.1 microns to about 50 microns"; [0050]) at focal length in a range of 2-25 mm at focal length in a range of 2-25 mm ([0019]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Tearney to include this feature as taught by Fischer because this is a suitable dimension for laser treatment ([0016]; [0018]). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); MPEP 2144.05.
The combination of Tearney and Fischer does not teach imaging, using an imaging element, at least a portion of laser radiation back-reflected from the target area. Note that Tearney teaches imaging (Fig. 23) but not at least a portion of laser radiation back-reflected from the target area. However, Kittrell teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) imaging, using an imaging element, at least a portion of laser radiation back-reflected from the target area (Fig. 21-23; Fig. 24, 64; Fig. 27). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Tearney and Fischer to include this feature as taught by Kittrell because this enables diagnosis of the tissue (Fig. 24; Col. 18 lines 20-30; Col. 19 lines 27-35; Col. 19 lines 50-55).
Claim 9 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, in the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell, Tearney teaches wherein said laser radiation is configured to heat the area to a temperature above 45° C ([0059] "temperatures in excess of 60-70° C"; [0063] "laser heating...beginning as low as 45° C").
Claim 10 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell teaches wherein the laser beam has a wavelength of 808 nm, 980 nm, or 1500 nm (Tearney [0112] "1340 nm-1570 nm"; Fischer [0051]; In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); MPEP 2144.05.).
Claim 12 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell teaches wherein the laser beam transmitted by the laser transmitting element has a beam diameter in a range of 1-20 mm (Tearney Fig. 27; [0093]; [0129]; Fischer [0025]; In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); MPEP 2144.05.).
Claim 13 is rejected under substantially the same basis as claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 8, in the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell, Tearney teaches wherein the impingement of the laser beam on the target area heats the area to a temperature above 45° C ([0059] "temperatures in excess of 60-70° C"; [0063] "laser heating...beginning as low as 45° C").
Regarding claim 11, in the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell, Tearney teaches at least one pressure-inducing element coupled with the catheter body (Fig. 23, balloon).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of Lane (US 20140074077 A1; 3/13/2014; cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell does not teach wherein the disorder is obesity. However, Lane teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 5D; [0002]) wherein the disorder is obesity ([0002]; [0052]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell to include this feature as taught by Lane because this enables laser treatment for overweight or obese individuals ([0002]; [0007]; [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell does not teach wherein the target area is a duodenal wall. However, Lane teaches in the same field of endeavor (Fig. 5D; [0002]) wherein the target area is a duodenal wall ([0024]; [0055]; [0064]; [0066]). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Tearney, Fischer, and Kittrell to include this feature as taught by Lane because this enables laser treatment for overweight or obese individuals ([0002]; [0007]; [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tearney, Fischer, Kittrell, and Lane teaches further comprising exerting pressure on at least part of the duodenal wall so as to obtain a fixed diameter thereof (Tearney Fig. 23, balloon; Lane Fig. 2, 28; Fig. 5B, 28, 28'; [0008] "tissue expander"; [0068]; [0055]).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792