DETAILED ACTION
The following is a First Action, Non-Final Office Action on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 21-37) in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/3/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/30/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information in the foreign language referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 6-8 contain more than one figure.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the basis” to -a basis- in ll. 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the laparoscopic applicator” to -the applicator- in ll. 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the delivery of energy” to -delivery of the energy- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “a delivery of energy” to -delivery of the energy- in ll. 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “the same or different locations” to -a same location or different locations- in ll. 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitations “in contact perivascularly and/or perineurally with a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve or lie against a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve”. First, the limitations of “in contact…with” and “lie against” are the same and thus duplicative. Second, it is unclear if the second recitation of “a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve” is the same as the first. It is suggested to delete one of these limitations within the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “the electrodes of the applicator”; however, claim 21, upon which claim 28 depends, recites “at least two electrodes of the applicator”. It is unclear if the “electrodes” are the same as or different from one another. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “a target vessel or target tissue or target nerve”; however, claim 21, upon which claim 28 depends, recites “a vessel or tissue nerve”. It is unclear if the “target vessel or target tissue or target nerve” are the same as or different from the “vessel or tissue nerve”. For purposes of examination, they will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “the basis of a protocol by means of PFA pulses or on the basis of a protocol by means of a combination of PFA pulses and RF pulses”. First, it is unclear if the “basis of a protocol by means of PFA pulses” is the same as or different from the “basis of a protocol which has at least one pulse of a pulsed field ablation (PFA)” recited in claim 21, upon which claim 32 depends. Second, it is unclear how many protocols are being claimed. Third, it is unclear if the “PFA pulses” are the same as or different from the “at least one pulse of a pulsed field ablation (PFA)” in claim 21. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as “the protocol” of claim 21 further comprises delivery of the energy by combination of PFA pulses and RF pulses, the PFA pulses including the at least one PFA pulse of claim 21.
Claim 34, recites the limitation “perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation occurs by carrying out the denervation”; however, claim 21, upon which claim 34 recites, “carrying out a denervation by delivering energy” when the applicator is positioned “in contact perivascularly and/or perineurally with a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve or lie against a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve”. It is unclear how claim 34 actually further limits claim 21 form which it deepens.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “at a chosen ablation site”; however, claim 21, upon which claim 37 depends, recites the limitation “positioning a distal end of the applicator at a vessel or tissue or nerve of the patient such that at least two electrodes of the applicator are in contact perivascularly and/or perineurally with a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve or lie against a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve”. It is unclear if the “chosen ablation site” is different from the site the applicator is positioned, and also since it recites “ablation” and not “denervation” since no other “ablation” is recited. For purposes of examination, the “chosen ablation site” will be interpreted as being the site of denervation where the applicator is positioned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-22, 26-28, 33-34 & 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weadock (2015/0141810).
Concerning claim 21¸as illustrated in at least Figs. 4A-B, Weadock et al. disclose a method for perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation (methods of providing energy to one or more nerves; [0001]), comprising:
inserting an applicator into a patient (device 100 may be inserted into the body of a patient; [0047], [0063]);
positioning a distal end of the applicator at a vessel or tissue or nerve of the patient such that at least two electrodes of the applicator are in contact perivascularly and/or perineurally with a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve or lie against a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve (clamp-type end effector having contact surfaces 170A and 170B or 175A and 175B are maneuvered in contact with a target nerve; [0041], [0065]);
carrying out a denervation by delivering energy via the at least two electrodes, wherein the delivery of energy is effected on the basis of a protocol which has at least one pulse of a pulsed field ablation (PFA) (Once the nerve component (ganglion or plexus) to be treated is in contact with at least one energy applying surface of the end effector, the user can introduce energy to the end effector and treat the nerve component to be treated, energy applied may be sufficient to cause irreversible electroporation (IRE) with pulsed signals; [0036-0039], [0056-0057], [0066]);
withdrawing the applicator (Once the desired energy is applied to the nerve component or components to be treated, the energy applying device may be removed; [0067]).
Concerning claim 22¸Weadock et al. disclose an irreversible electroporation is carried out ([0056-0057]).
Concerning claim 26¸ Weadock et al. disclose the applicator is inserted and/or withdrawn by means of an open surgical procedure ([0033]).
Concerning claim 27¸ Weadock et al. disclose after the applicator has been inserted, geometric unfolding of a distal end of the applicator is initiated and a form of the distal end that conforms to a vessel or tissue or nerve is thus achieved ([0046-0047]; Fig. 4A-B).
Concerning claim 28¸ Weadock et al. disclose the electrodes of the applicator are brought into contact with a target vessel or target tissue or target nerve ([0041], [0046-0047], [0065]).
Concerning claim 33¸ Weadock et al. disclose a delivery of energy is effected once or multiple times at the same or different locations of the vessel or tissue or nerve ([0058]).
Concerning claim 34¸ Weadock et al. disclose perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation occurs by carrying out the denervation ([0066-0067]).
Concerning claim 37¸ Weadock et al. disclose measuring a temperature at a chosen ablation site ([0061]).
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-32, 34 & 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deem et al. (2018/0311503).
Concerning claim 21¸as illustrated in at least Fig. 7, 14C, 16, disclose a method for perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation (methods of renal neuromodulation; Abstract), comprising:
inserting an applicator into a patient; positioning a distal end of the applicator at a vessel or tissue or nerve of the patient such that at least two electrodes of the applicator are in contact perivascularly and/or perineurally with a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve or lie against a perimeter of the vessel or tissue or nerve (Apparatus 200 comprising trocar 220 and electrode element 230 comprises a laparoscopic or percutaneous PEF system configured for insertion in proximity to the track of the renal neural supply along the renal artery or vein or hilum and/or within Gerota's fascia, where distal section has at least one electrode or groups of electrodes; [0088-0092], [0097], [0104]);
carrying out a denervation by delivering energy via the at least two electrodes, wherein the delivery of energy is effected on the basis of a protocol which has at least one pulse of a pulsed field ablation (PFA) (pulsed electric field then may be generated by the PEF generator 100 to achieve renal neuromodulation; [0103-0104]);
withdrawing the applicator (percutaneously retracting probe from treatment site; [0092], [0105]).
Concerning claim 22¸ Deem et al. disclose an irreversible electroporation is carried out ([0103]).
Concerning claim 23, Deem et al. disclose reversible electroporation energy is carried out ([0142]).
Concerning claim 24¸ Deem et al. disclose the applicator (230) is inserted and/or withdrawn by a laparoscopic procedure ([0088]).
Concerning claim 25¸ Deem et al. disclose the laparoscopic applicator (230) is inserted into a patient's torso by means of a trocar (220) ([0097]; Fig. 7).
Concerning claim 27¸ Deem et al. disclose after the applicator has been inserted, geometric unfolding of a distal end of the applicator is initiated and a form of the distal end that conforms to a vessel or tissue or nerve is thus achieved ([0097-0104]; Fig. 5-7).
Concerning claim 28¸ Deem et al. disclose the electrodes of the applicator are brought into contact with a target vessel or target tissue or target nerve ([0088]).
Concerning claim 29¸ Deem disclose checking a positioning of the applicator by means of a local impedance measurement ([0139]; Claim 68).
Concerning claim 30¸ Deem disclose the protocol comprises only PFA pulses ([0039]).
Concerning claim 31¸ Deem disclose the protocol comprises a combination of PFA pulses and radiofrequency (RF) pulses ([0039], [0046]).
Concerning claim 32¸ Deem disclose choosing whether the delivery of energy for the denervation is to be carried out on the basis of a protocol by means of PFA pulses or on the basis of a protocol by means of a combination of PFA pulses and RF pulses ([0039]).
Concerning claim 34¸ Deem et al. disclose perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation occurs by carrying out the denervation ([0086], [0088]).
Concerning claim 36¸ Deem disclose after the denervation has been carried out, characterizing the denervation by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes (233) ([0042-0043], [0097]).
Concerning claim 37¸ Deem et al. disclose measuring a temperature at a chosen ablation site ([0139]; Claim 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deem (2018/0311503), as applied to claim 21, in further view of Pellegrino et al. (2017/0202613) or Vrba et al. (2017/0348049).
Concerning claims 35-36¸while Deem discloses delivering stimulation signals to interrogate target tissue to determine a need, or parameters, for therapy, as well as to determine impedance of the nerve and nerve electrodes ([0139]), Deem fail to specifically disclose before the denervation is carried out, quantifying a conductivity of the vessel or tissue or nerve by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes and after the denervation has been carried out, characterizing the denervation by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes. However, Pellegrino et al. disclose a method for perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation comprising preoperatively or postoperatively measure nerve conduction at the treatment region using two stimulating electrodes (106, 108) ([0035], [0137]). At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Deem such that before the denervation is carried out, quantifying a conductivity of the vessel or tissue or nerve by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes and after the denervation has been carried out, characterizing the denervation by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes as taught by Pellegrino et al. in order to provide the benefit of determining location for denervation and confirmation of denervation as taught by Deem et al. In the alternative, Vrba et al. disclose a method for perivascular and/or perineural neuromodulation comprising measuring, detect, or monitoring sympathetic tone before, during, and or after treatment to provide information about the procedure. Vrba et al. further disclose measuring conduction along the length of the nerve fibers such that a degree of nerve disruption can be quantitatively determined thereby leading to the possibility of a real-time intra-procedural diagnostic during the procedure. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Deem such that before the denervation is carried out, quantifying a conductivity of the vessel or tissue or nerve by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes and after the denervation has been carried out, characterizing the denervation by means of at least two stimulation and measuring electrodes in order to provide the benefit of the most direct measurement conceivable to determine whether nerves have been ablated or denervated and the neural connections disrupted and in order to provide the benefit of a quantitative signal correlating a degree of nerve disruption as real-time procedure feedback as taught by Vrba et al. ([0433-0434], [0443]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Coates et al. (2019/0223955) teach based on the thermal and electrical conductivity associated with different tissue types identified from computer model 32 of the region of the patient, processor 25 may determine the volumetric reach to which energy or denervation stimulation may be electrically or thermally conducted from electrodes 16a ([0157]). Sverdlik et al. (2014/0012133) teach measuring neural activity, conductivity and/or continuity before and/or during and/or after a denervation treatment, for example to determine the effectiveness of the treatment ([0087]).
/JAYMI E DELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
JAYMI E. DELLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794