DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 7 and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 22, the claims recites “an inclination of the inclination conduit”. The claims should read “of the inclined conduit”.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “wherein pitch indicator is”. The claim should read “wherein the pitch indicator is”.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recites “the horizontal reference plane”. The claim should read “the horizontal plane”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 22 recite the limitation "the inclination conduit". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 14 recites the limitation "transverse to the baseplate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as a baseplate is not introduced until claim 2.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "parallel to the baseplate". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as a baseplate is not introduced until claim 2.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the horizontal reference plane”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-17 and 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiseman US20180164174 (hereinafter “Wiseman 174’).
Regarding claim 1, Wiseman 174’ discloses a device (device-100) for indicating a presence of a directional differential pressure between a first space (room-401) and a second space (external environment-403) separated from the first space by a barrier (Paragraph 0155), the device comprising:
a rotatable base (swivel base-414) configured to be rotatably attached to the barrier (Wall);
an inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) coupled to the rotatable base, wherein when the rotatable base is rotated, an inclination of the inclination conduit is adjusted relative to a horizontal plane (Paragraph 0157, 0160), and wherein the inclined conduit has a longitudinal direction which is transverse to the rotatable base (Paragraph 0157, 0160-0165);
at least one movable element (ball-412) disposed within the inclined conduit and movable from a first, vertically lower region of the inclined conduit to a second, vertically higher region of the inclined conduit in response to the directional differential pressure between the first and second spaces being greater than a threshold differential pressure (Paragraph 0157, 0161,0163-0165); and
a differential pressure set point indicator (inclinometer-200 and 414) fixed to the rotatable base, wherein the differential pressure set point indicator includes a vial (vial-210) shaped in an arc and at least one movable pointer (bubble pointer-212) disposed in the vial (Paragraphs0150, 0172-0176 and 0182-0190). (See Figs 11-16 and 19-23)
Regarding claim 2, Wiseman 174’ discloses a baseplate (mounting flanges-406) configured to be attached to the barrier (attached to wall), wherein the rotatable base (swivel base-414) is rotatably attached to the baseplate (Paragraph 0155). (See Figs 11-16 and 19-23)
Regarding claim 4, Wiseman 174’ discloses at least one of a weighted ball (weight ball pointer-212) in the arc-shaped vial (vial-210) and a bubble (bubble pointer-212) in the arc-shaped vial. (Paragraph 0150 and 0185 , Fig 21-23)
Regarding claim 5, Wiseman 174’ discloses threshold pressure differential values marked (markings-220) along a length of the arc-shaped vial (vial-210). (Paragraph 0126, 0130, 0150, 0186-0187, Figs 21-23)
Regarding claim 6, Wiseman 174’ discloses a pitch indicator (level-419/427) (Paragraph 0169).
Regarding claim 7, Wiseman 174’ discloses pitch indicator (level-419/427) is configured to indicate whether the device is at a desired pitch relative to the horizontal plane, and wherein the pitch indicator responds to gravity (Paragraph 0155, 0158, 0169)
Regarding claim 8, Wiseman 174’ discloses the pitch indicator (level-419/427) comprises at least one of: a bubble level (bubble level-416, paragraph 0179); a weighted ball (weighted ball pointer-212) in a curved vial (vial-210); a bubble (bubble-212) in a curved vial; a weighted pendulum (pendulum-212); and a weighted pointer (weighted pointer-210). (Paragraph 0079, 0150 and 0185 , Fig 15, 21-23)
Regarding claim 9, Wiseman 174’ discloses an additional conduit (conduit-400) which is configured to at least partially penetrate the barrier. (Paragraph 0155-0156, Figs 11-12)
Regarding claim 10, Wiseman 174’ discloses the additional conduit (conduit-400) is configured to pass through the barrier (See Fig 11 which shows the conduit passing through the wall). (Paragraph 0155-0156, Figs 11-12)
Regarding claim 11, Wiseman 174’ discloses the inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) is inclined at an angle relative to the additional conduit (conduit-400). (Paragraph 0160, Fig 16)
Regarding claim 12, Wiseman 174’ discloses the additional conduit (conduit-400) is adjustable in length. (Paragraph 0155, Fig 11-12)
Regarding claim 13, Wiseman 174’ the movable element comprises a ball (ball-412). (Paragraph 0157)
Regarding claim 14, Wiseman 174’ discloses the inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) has a section within which the movable element (ball-412) is free to travel, and a longitudinal direction of the section is transverse to the baseplate. (Paragraphs 0157, 0161, 0163-0165, 0168, Fig 11-16)
Regarding claim 15, Wiseman 174’ discloses the inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) has a section within which the movable element (ball-412) is free to travel, and a longitudinal direction of the section is parallel to the baseplate. (Paragraphs 0157, 0161, 0163-0165, 0168, Fig 11-16, 19-20)
Regarding claim 16, Wiseman 174’ discloses a device (device-100) for indicating a presence of a directional differential pressure between a first space (room-401) and a second space (external environment-403) separated from the first space by a barrier (Paragraph 0155), the device comprising:
a first conduit (conduit-400) portion having a longitudinal axis;
a second conduit (pivot arm-408) portion fluidly connected to the first conduit portion;
at least one movable element (ball-412) disposed within the second conduit portion and movable from a first, vertically lower region of the second conduit portion to a second, vertically higher region of the second conduit portion in response to the directional differential pressure between the first and second spaces being greater than a threshold differential pressure (Paragraphs 0157, 0161, 0163-0165),
wherein the second conduit portion has a travel path for the movable element, wherein the travel path extends transversely to an extension of the first conduit portion longitudinal axis and extends beyond the extension of the first conduit portion longitudinal axis in two opposite directions (Paragraph 0161-0165, 0168, 0173-0175, Fig 11-17 and 19-23)
Regarding claim 17, Wiseman 174’ discloses the second conduit portion (pivot arm-408) is rotatable relative to the barrier (wall) about an axis of rotation when the device is installed on the barrier, and the travel path crosses the axis of rotation to such an extent that the movable element (ball-412) can move completely beyond the axis of rotation in both directions within the second conduit portion (Paragraph 0155, 0160-0161, 0163-0165, 0168). (See Figs 11-16 and 19-23)
Regarding claim 19, Wiseman 174’ discloses the first conduit portion (conduit-400) is configured to penetrate the barrier when the device is mounted to the barrier. (Paragraph 0155, Fig 11-12)
Regarding claim 20, Wiseman 174’ discloses the first conduit (conduit-400) portion is adjustable in length. (Paragraph 0155, Fig 11-12)
Regarding claim 21, Wiseman 174’ discloses the travel path is perpendicular to the first conduit (conduit-400) portion longitudinal axis. (Paragraph 0167)
Regarding claim 22, Wiseman 174’ discloses a device (device-100) for indicating a presence of a directional differential pressure between a first space (room-401) and a second space (external environment-403) separated from the first space by a barrier (Paragraph 0155), the device comprising:
a baseplate (mounting flanges-406) configured to be attached to the barrier;
a rotatable base (swivel base-414) configured to be rotatably attached to the baseplate;
an inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) coupled to the rotatable base, wherein when the rotatable base is rotated, an inclination of the inclination conduit is adjusted relative to a horizontal plane (paragraph 0157, 0160);
at least one movable element (ball-412) disposed within the inclined conduit and movable from a first, vertically lower region of the inclined conduit to a second,vertically higher region of the inclined conduit in response to the directional differential pressure between the first and second spaces being greater than a threshold differential pressure;
a pitch indicator configured to indicate the inclination of the inclined conduit relative to the horizontal reference plane (Paragraph 0157, 0161,0163-0165);
a roll indicator (Marks-424, arrow-425) configured to indicate a roll orientation of the device; and
a differential pressure set point indicator, wherein the differential pressure set point indicator includes a plurality of markings disposed on the baseplate and a marker disposed on the rotatable base.
Regarding claim 23, Wiseman 174’ an additional conduit (conduit-400) which is configured to at least partially penetrate the barrier. (Paragraph 0155-0156, Figs 11-12)
Regarding claim 24, Wiseman 174’ the additional conduit (conduit-400) is adjustable in length. (Paragraph 0155, Fig 11-12)
Regarding claim 25, Wiseman 174’ discloses the inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) is inclined at an angle relative to the additional conduit (conduit-400). (Paragraph 0160, Fig 16)
Regarding claim 26, Wiseman 174’ discloses the inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) has a section within which the movable element (ball-412) is free to travel, and a longitudinal direction of the section is transverse to the baseplate (mounting flanges-406). (Paragraphs 0157, 0161, 0163-0165, 0168, Fig 11-16)
Regarding claim 27, Wiseman 174’ discloses the inclined conduit (pivot arm-408) has a section within which the movable element (ball-412) is free to travel, and a longitudinal direction of the section is parallel to the baseplate (mounting flanges-406). (Paragraphs 0157, 0161, 0163-0165, 0168, Fig 11-16)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiseman US20180164174 (hereinafter “Wiseman 174’) in view of Wiseman US20170067929 (hereinafter “Wiseman 929’).
Regarding claim 3, Wiseman 174’ discloses the device according to claim 2.
However, Wiseman 174’ fails to disclose a lock to hold the rotation of the rotatable base relative to the baseplate. Wiseman 929’ discloses a lock to hold the rotation of the rotatable base relative to the baseplate (Paragraph 0131, 0170, 0182 discloses using recesses/protrusions and fasteners to hold the rotation of the base relative to the baseplate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wiseman 929’ into Wiseman 174’ for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for securing the rotating arm so that vibration or undesired contact doesn’t change during operational use and cause errors.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiseman US20180164174 (hereinafter “Wiseman 174’) in view of Wiseman US5661461 (hereinafter “Wiseman 461’’).
Regarding claim 18, Wiseman 174’ discloses the device according to claim 16.
However, Wiseman 174’ fails to disclose the device is configured to be mounted to one side of the barrier without penetrating the barrier. Wiseman 461’ discloses the device (air flow direction detector-10) is configured to be mounted to one side of the barrier without penetrating the barrier (Col 10 line 38-64 discloses conduit 152 having forward pin-162 fixed to backplane-164 which is mounted to a wall or onto the apparatus-165 and communicates with the space by extension tube-160). (See Figs 22-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Wiseman 461’ into Wiseman 174’ for the purpose of increasing a more secure mounting. The modification would allow for securing the device to a backplane when penetration of the barrier is undesired.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 16-18, 23-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11340127 to Wiseman (hereinafter Wiseman 127’) in view of Wiseman US20180164174 (hereinafter “Wiseman 174’).
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-16, 18-19, 21, 23, 25-27 of the instant application, the applicant claims, a device for indicating a presence of a directional differential pressure between a first space and a second space separated from the first space by a barrier, the device comprising: a rotatable base configured to be rotatably attached to the barrier; an inclined conduit coupled to the rotatable base, wherein when the rotatable base is rotated, an inclination of the inclination conduit is adjusted relative to a horizontal plane, and wherein the inclined conduit has a longitudinal direction which is transverse to the rotatable base; at least one movable element disposed within the inclined conduit and movable from a first, vertically lower region of the inclined conduit to a second, vertically higher region of the inclined conduit in response to the directional differential pressure between the first and second spaces being greater than a threshold differential pressure; and a differential pressure set point indicator fixed to the rotatable base, wherein the differential pressure set point indicator includes a vial shaped in an arc and at least one movable pointer disposed in the vial.
Wiseman 127’ discloses a device for indicating a presence of a directional differential pressure between a first space and a second space separated from the first space by a barrier, the device comprising: a baseplate configured to be secured to the barrier such that the baseplate is not rotatable relative to the barrier while secured to the barrier; a first conduit portion configured to be in fluidic connection with the first space; a second conduit portion fluidically connected to the first conduit portion and configured to be in fluidic connection with the second space; wherein the second conduit portion is connected to the baseplate and the second conduit portion is inclined at an angle relative to a horizontal plane when the baseplate is oriented in a vertical plane; wherein whenever the baseplate is secured to the barrier such that the baseplate is not rotatable relative to the barrier, the angle of the second conduit portion relative to the horizontal plane is not adjustable; and at least one movable element disposed within the second conduit portion and movable from a first, vertically lower region of the second conduit portion to a second, vertically higher region of the second conduit portion in response to the directional differential pressure between the first space and the second space being greater than a threshold differential pressure.
However, Wiseman 127’ fails to disclose a rotatable base configured to be rotatably attached to the barrier; an inclined conduit coupled to the rotatable base, wherein when the rotatable base is rotated, an inclination of the inclination conduit is adjusted relative to a horizontal plane, and wherein the inclined conduit has a longitudinal direction which is transverse to the rotatable base. Wiseman 174’ discloses a rotatable base (pivot arm-408) configured to be rotatably attached to the barrier. (Paragraph 0157, 0160-165)
Although the scope of the claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-16, 18-19, 21, 23, 25-27 of the instant application and claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 16-18, 23-25of the Wiseman 127’ patent are very similar, the difference between them is that the instant application utilizes a rotatable base, wherein the Wiseman 127’ patent does not utilize a rotatable base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the teaching of Wiseman 127’ as a general teaching to arrive at the instant application because the same elements are used to arrive at the same invention and it would have been obvious to use the rotatable base of Wiseman 174’ at the time of the effective filing date to create a more efficient device. The modification would allow for adjusting the orientation of the base as needed during operational use.
Independent claims 16 and 22 are rejected for similar reasoning applied to claim 1.
Dependent claim 2 limitations of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of Wiseman 127’ and claim 1 of Wiseman 174’.
Dependent claim 4 limitation of the instant application can be found in claims 7 and 10 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 6 limitation of the instant application can be found in claims 3 and 11 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 7 limitation of the instant application can be found in claims 4 and 6 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 8 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 7 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 9 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 16 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 10 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 17 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 11 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 13 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 18 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 14 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 23 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 15 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 24 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 18 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 25 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 19 limitation of the instant application can be found in claims 16-17 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 21 limitation of the instant application can be found in claims 2 and 24 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 23 limitation of the instant application can be found in claims 16 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 25 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 2 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 26 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 23 of Wiseman 127’.
Dependent claim 27 limitation of the instant application can be found in claim 24 of Wiseman 127’.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sieber et al US20160237563 discloses a thin film deposition system for depositing a thin film on a moveable substrate using atmospheric pressure atomic-layer deposition includes a chamber and a moveable substrate having a levitation stabilizing structure located on the moveable substrate that defines an enclosed interior impingement area of the moveable substrate. A stationary support, located in the chamber, supports the moveable substrate. The stationary support extends beyond the enclosed interior impingement area. A pressurized-fluid source provides a fluid flow through the stationary support that impinges on the moveable substrate within the enclosed interior impingement area of the moveable substrate sufficient to levitate the moveable substrate and expose the moveable substrate to the fluid while restricting the lateral motion of the moveable substrate with the levitation stabilizing structure.
Krauter et al US7819798 discloses an apparatus for storing at least one elongated and flexible object, such as an insertion tube that functions as a portion of an endoscope or a borescope device. The apparatus includes a rotating storage carousel having a base and a peripheral barrier. An elongated and flexible object, such as an insertion tube, is stored along the inner side of the peripheral barrier and the base. The storage cavity of the carousel rotates while accepting the transfer of the elongated and flexible object for storage.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/Eric S. McCall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855