DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 10,12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vain et al. (US 2020/0091565 A1) and Nordbruch (US 2023/0347783 A1).
For claim 1, Vain discloses a robot, wherein the robot is configured to receive electric power from a main battery provided replaceably (Fig. 1, abstract), the robot comprising:
a body having an accommodation space in which the main battery can be accommodated in a withdrawable manner (Para. 0272, where the mobile robot includes space accommodating its battery to be withdrawable and exchangeable with the charging station);
a movement part configured to move the body (Fig. 7); and
a locking part configured to move relative to the body between a withdrawal-allowed state in which the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space is allowed to be withdrawn from the accommodation space and a withdrawal-inhibited state in which the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space is inhibited from being withdrawn from the accommodation space (Para. 0032, where the mobile robot include mechanisms to latch onto the battery within the body of the robot and the fixing unit(s) may latch or unlatch the battery from the mobile robot when performing the battery exchange process). Although the locking part is not explicitly shown in Vain, it would have been obvious that the latch mechanism described by Vain locks the battery in the accommodation space that inhibit withdrawal or allowing withdrawal of the battery when the battery is needed to be replaced. Even so, Nordbruch in the same field of the art discloses a locking part that move relative to the body to allow and inhibit withdrawal of the battery (Para. 0025-0033). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the present claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vain and Nodbruch to provide proper locking structures to secure and release the exchangeable battery in an allowed or inhibited withdrawal states.
For claim 2, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to control the movement part and the locking part, wherein a direction in which the main battery is withdrawn from the accommodation space is a withdrawal direction, wherein the locking part is configured such that the locking part does not overlap the accommodation space in the withdrawal-allowed state, and wherein the locking part is configured such that at least a part of the locking part overlaps the accommodation space in the withdrawal-inhibited state with respect to a side of the body as viewed in parallel with the withdrawal direction (Nordbruch - Para. 0025-0033), and
wherein in response to a state of charge of the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space being a predetermined level or lower, the controller is configured to control the movement part so that the body moves in the withdrawal direction and is placed in a first posture, and then the controller controls the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state (Vain – para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level).
For claim 5, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 2, further comprising a docking detection sensor configured to detect whether the robot is docked with a first station region including a first battery slot in which a first battery (Fig. 6, para. 0041-0043, where the battery station detect the robot is in position for battery exchanges), which is the main battery having a state of charge that is the predetermined level or lower, is accommodated, wherein in response to the docking detection sensor detecting that the robot is docked with the first station region, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state so that the first battery accommodated in the accommodation space can be withdrawn to the first battery slot, and then the controller controls the movement part so that the body moves from the first posture in a second direction opposite to the withdrawal direction and is placed in a second posture (Para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level, the robot is docked properly in order to exchange the battery).
For claim 7, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 1, further comprising a controller configured to control the movement part and the locking part, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine whether a state of charge of the main battery is a predetermined level or lower; control the movement part so that the movement part is placed in a first posture; and control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state (Vain – para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level).
For claim 10, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to: after the control of the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state, detect whether the robot is docked with a first station region having a first battery slot in which a first battery, which is the main battery having a state of charge that is the predetermined level or lower, is accommodated; and in response to detecting that the robot is docked with the first station region, controlling the moving part to move the body from the first posture in a second direction opposite to a withdrawal direction and be positioned in a second posture, wherein a direction in which the main battery is withdrawn from the accommodation space is the withdrawal direction (Para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level, the robot is docked properly in order to exchange the battery and the robot is moved in position to ensure the battery exchange is correctly performed).
For claim 12, Vain discloses a battery swap system comprising: a robot configured to receive electric power from a main battery provided replaceably (Fig. 1, 7, abstract, para. 0002), wherein the robot comprises: a body having an accommodation space in which the main battery can be accommodated in a withdrawable manner (Para. 0272, where the mobile robot includes space accommodating its battery to be withdrawable and exchangeable with the charging station),
a movement part configured to move the body (Fig. 7), and
a locking part configured to move relative to the body between a withdrawal-allowed state in which the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space is allowed to be withdrawn from the accommodation space and a withdrawal-inhibited state in which the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space is inhibited from being withdrawn from the accommodation space (Para. 0032, where the mobile robot include mechanisms to latch onto the battery within the body of the robot and the fixing unit(s) may latch or unlatch the battery from the mobile robot when performing the battery exchange process); and
a charging station configured to charge the main battery, wherein the charging station comprises: a battery slot configured to accommodate the main battery (Fig. 1, 7), a lift platform configured to raise or lower the main battery accommodated in the battery slot, and a docking region configured to be docked with the robot, wherein the lift platform is configured to raise or lower the main battery based on whether the robot and the docking region are docked with each other (Fig. 1, 4, 7). Although the locking part is not explicitly shown in Vain, it would have been obvious that the latch mechanism described by Vain locks the battery in the accommodation space that inhibit withdrawal or allowing withdrawal of the battery when the battery is needed to be replaced. Even so, Nordbruch in the same field of the art discloses a locking part that move relative to the body to allow and inhibit withdrawal of the battery (Para. 0025-0033). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the present claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vain and Nodbruch to provide proper locking structures to secure and release the exchangeable battery in an allowed or inhibited withdrawal states.
For claim 13, Vain, as modified, discloses the battery swap system of claim 12, wherein the lift platform comprises a seating surface on which the main battery is seated, and wherein the seating surface is configured to be raised in response to the robot and the docking region being docked with each other, and the seating surface is configured to be lowered in response to the robot and the docking region being undocked (Fig. 1, 4, 7).
For claim 14, Vain discloses a method of controlling a robot, the method comprising: determining whether a state of charge of a main battery of the robot is at a predetermined level or lower, wherein the robot is configured to receive electric power from the main battery (Para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level), and wherein the main battery is replaceably provided in an accommodation space of a body of the robot in which the main battery can be accommodated in a withdrawable manner (Para. 0272, where the mobile robot includes space accommodating its battery to be withdrawable and exchangeable with the charging station);
in response to the state of charge of the main battery being at the predetermined level or lower, controlling a movement part of the robot so that the movement part is placed in a first posture (Para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level), wherein the movement part is configured to move the body of the robot; and in response to controlling the movement part toward the first posture, controlling a locking part so that the locking part is placed in a withdrawal-allowed state, wherein the locking part is configured to move relative to the body between the withdrawal-allowed state in which the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space is allowed to be withdrawn from the accommodation space and a withdrawal-inhibited state in which the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space is inhibited from being withdrawn from the accommodation space (Para. 0032, where the mobile robot include mechanisms to latch onto the battery within the body of the robot and the fixing unit(s) may latch or unlatch the battery from the mobile robot when performing the battery exchange process). Although the locking part is not explicitly shown in Vain, it would have been obvious that the latch mechanism described by Vain locks the battery in the accommodation space that inhibit withdrawal or allowing withdrawal of the battery when the battery is needed to be replaced. Even so, Nordbruch in the same field of the art discloses a locking part that move relative to the body to allow and inhibit withdrawal of the battery (Para. 0025-0033). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the present claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vain and Nodbruch to provide proper locking structures to secure and release the exchangeable battery in an allowed or inhibited withdrawal states.
For claim 17, Vain, as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: detecting whether the robot is docked with a first station region having a first battery slot in which a first battery (Fig. 6, para. 0041-0043, where the battery station detect the robot is in position for battery exchanges), which is the main battery having a state of charge that is the predetermined level or lower, is accommodated; and after the controlling of the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state, and in response to detecting that the robot is docked with the first station region, controlling the body to move from the first posture in a second direction opposite to a withdrawal direction and be positioned in a second posture, wherein a direction in which the main battery is withdrawn from the accommodation space is the withdrawal direction (Para. 0176, 0254, 0267, where the mobile robot performs battery exchange procedure when energy level of at least one batteries is below a threshold level, the robot is docked properly in order to exchange the battery).
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vain et al. (US 2020/0091565 A1) and Nordbruch (US 2023/0347783 A1) as applied to claims 2, 7 and 14 above, and further in view of Han (US 2018/0251102 A1).
For claim 3, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 2, but does not specifically disclose a sub-battery configured to supply electric power to the robot, wherein in response to the state of charge of the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space being the predetermined level or lower, the controller is configured to change an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to the sub-battery and then control the movement part so that the body is placed in the first posture. Han in the same field of the art discloses further comprising a sub-battery configured to supply electric power to the robot, wherein in response to the state of charge of the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space being the predetermined level or lower, the controller is configured to change an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to the sub-battery and then control the movement part so that the body is placed in the first posture (Para. 0016, 0017). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Vain to include a sub-battery configured to supply electric power to the robot, wherein in response to the state of charge of the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space being the predetermined level or lower, the controller is configured to change an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to the sub-battery and then control the movement part so that the body is placed in the first posture, as taught by Han to provide a backup or multiple power sources for redundancy.
For claim 8, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to: change an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to a sub-battery provided in the robot in response to determining that the state of charge of the main battery is the predetermined level or lower, wherein the control of the movement part to be placed in the first posture is performed after the change of the electric power supply source to the sub-battery (Han - Para. 0016, 0017, where the power supply switches to the second power supply when and after the main battery SOC below a threshold).
For claim 15, Vain, as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, but does not specifically disclose changing an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to a sub-battery provided in the robot in response to determining that the state of charge of the main battery is the predetermined level or lower, and wherein the controlling of the movement part of the robot to the first posture is performed after the changing of the electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to the sub-battery. Han in the same field of the art discloses changing an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to a sub-battery provided in the robot in response to determining that the state of charge of the main battery is the predetermined level or lower, and wherein the controlling of the movement part of the robot to the first posture is performed after the changing of the electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to the sub-battery (Para. 0016, 0017). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Vain to include a sub-battery configured to supply electric power to the robot, wherein in response to the state of charge of the main battery accommodated in the accommodation space being the predetermined level or lower, the controller is configured to change an electric power supply source of the robot from the main battery to the sub-battery and then control the movement part so that the body is placed in the first posture, as taught by Han to provide a backup or multiple power sources for redundancy.
Claim(s) 4, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vain et al. (US 2020/0091565 A1) and Nordbruch (US 2023/0347783 A1) as applied to claims 2, 7 and 14 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2023/0226943 A1).
For claims 4 and 9, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claims 2 and 7, but does not specifically disclose detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; and control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space. Chen in the same field of the art discloses detect whether the battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; and control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the battery is accommodated in the accommodation space (Abstract, para. 0002, 0066). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Vain to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; and control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, as taught by Chen to verify and properly secure the connection and position of the battery exchanged.
For claim 16, Vain, as modified, discloses the method of claim 14, but does not specifically disclose detecting whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; and controlling the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space. Chen in the same field of the art discloses detecting whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; and controlling the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space (Abstract, para. 0002, 0066). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to modify the invention of Vain to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; and controlling the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, as taught by Chen to verify and properly secure the connection and position of the battery exchanged.
Claim(s) 6, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vain et al. (US 2020/0091565 A1) and Nordbruch (US 2023/0347783 A1) as applied to claims 5, 10 and 17 above, and further in view of Sasu (US 2020/0148073 A1).
For claim 6, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 5, but does not specifically disclose further comprising an accommodation detection sensor configured to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, wherein the docking detection sensor further configured to detect whether the robot is docked with a second station region including a second battery slot in which a second battery, which is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level, is accommodated, wherein in response to the docking detection sensor detecting that the robot is docked with the second station region, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state so that the second battery accommodated in the second battery slot is allowed to be accommodated in the accommodation space, and wherein in response to the accommodation detection sensor detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part switches from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state. Sasu in the same field of the art discloses further comprising an accommodation detection sensor configured to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, wherein the docking detection sensor further configured to detect whether the robot is docked with a second station region including a second battery slot in which a second battery, which is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level, is accommodated, wherein in response to the docking detection sensor detecting that the robot is docked with the second station region, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state so that the second battery accommodated in the second battery slot is allowed to be accommodated in the accommodation space, and wherein in response to the accommodation detection sensor detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part switches from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state (At least fig. 11, 14, abstract, para. 0011, 0206, 0671, where multiple batteries compartments may be presence on the machine that can be exchange quickly). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vain and Sasu to incorporate an accommodation detection sensor configured to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, wherein the docking detection sensor further configured to detect whether the robot is docked with a second station region including a second battery slot in which a second battery, which is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level, is accommodated, wherein in response to the docking detection sensor detecting that the robot is docked with the second station region, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state so that the second battery accommodated in the second battery slot is allowed to be accommodated in the accommodation space, and wherein in response to the accommodation detection sensor detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space, the controller is configured to control the locking part so that the locking part switches from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state to allow easy and quick exchanges of more than one batteries to maximize power usage.
For claim 11, Vain, as modified, discloses the robot of claim 10, but does not specifically disclose detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; detecting whether the robot is docked with a second station region having a second battery slot in which a second battery, which is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level, is accommodated; and after the control of the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state, and after detecting that the robot is docked with the second station region, switch the locking part from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space. Sasu in the same field of the art discloses the controller is further configured to: detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; detecting whether the robot is docked with a second station region having a second battery slot in which a second battery, which is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level, is accommodated; and after the control of the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state, and after detecting that the robot is docked with the second station region, switch the locking part from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space state (At least fig. 11, 14, abstract, para. 0011, 0206, 0671, where multiple batteries compartments may be presence on the machine that can be exchange quickly). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vain and Sasu to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; detecting whether the robot is docked with a second station region having a second battery slot in which a second battery, which is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level, is accommodated; and after the control of the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state, and after detecting that the robot is docked with the second station region, switch the locking part from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space to allow easy and quick exchanges of more than one batteries to maximize power usage.
For claim 18, Vain, as modified, discloses the method of claim 17, but does not specifically disclose further comprising: detecting whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; detecting whether the robot is docked with a second station region having a second battery slot in which a second battery is accommodated, wherein the second battery is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level; and switching the locking part from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space after controlling the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state in response to detecting that that the robot is docked with the second station region. Sasu in the same field of the art discloses detecting whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; detecting whether the robot is docked with a second station region having a second battery slot in which a second battery is accommodated, wherein the second battery is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level; and switching the locking part from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space after controlling the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state in response to detecting that that the robot is docked with the second station region (At least fig. 11, 14, abstract, para. 0011, 0206, 0671, where multiple batteries compartments may be presence on the machine that can be exchange quickly). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to combine the teachings of Vain and Sasu to detect whether the main battery is accommodated in the accommodation space; detecting whether the robot is docked with a second station region having a second battery slot in which a second battery is accommodated, wherein the second battery is another main battery having a state of charge that exceeds the predetermined level; and switching the locking part from the withdrawal-allowed state to the withdrawal-inhibited state in response to detecting that the second battery is accommodated in the accommodation space after controlling the locking part so that the locking part is placed in the withdrawal-allowed state in response to detecting that that the robot is docked with the second station region to allow easy and quick exchanges of more than one batteries to maximize power usage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2025/0303581 A1) Gohl et al. discloses a robot battery exchange system.
(US 2017/0141368 A1) Ricci discloses a universal battery modular power system that provide battery exchangeable system between various machines.
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657