DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filled on 11/12/2024 is being considered in the examination of this application.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
a. Claims 1 and 17: the “mechanically activated apparatus with an energy-storing release mechanism that stores potential energy and release it”;
b. Claim 7: the “energy-storing release mechanism comprises one or more springs”.
No new matter should be entered.
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the following as described in the specification:
a. para. [0025]: “The claimed embodiments address this limitation by introducing an automated deployment device equipped with an energy-storing release mechanism. This mechanism stores potential energy—such as in springs, elastic elements, or compressed gas—and releases it upon activation to deploy the life ring swiftly and accurately into the water.”;
b. para. [0034]: “An energy-storing release mechanism is a device that accumulates potential energy and releases it rapidly to perform a specific action when activated. It typically consists of components such as springs (coil, torsion, or leaf springs), elastic elements, compressed gas systems, pistons, or elevated weights—all of which store energy when a force is applied to them. The mechanism includes a mechanically activated trigger or release system, like a latch or catch, that holds the stored energy in place until activation. Upon triggering—either manually or automatically—the mechanism releases the stored potential energy, converting it into kinetic energy that propels or moves an attached component, such as deploying a life ring into the water.”;
c. Para. [0044]: “The first and second telescoping arms are mechanically coupled to the energy-storing release mechanism such that the energy-storing release mechanism causes the first and second telescoping arms to extend when the energy-storing release mechanism is activated and released. The first and second telescoping arms are retracted when the energy-storing release mechanism is storing potential energy.”.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
5. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
a. para. [0041]: “life ring 1020”;
b. para. [0051]: “light 1003”.
Specification
6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
7. Claims 1, 7, 12-13, 15 and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 1, line 4: the term “configured for holding” should be rewritten as --configured to hold-- such that the claim conforms with current U.S. practice, in particular for apparatus claims.
b. Claim 1, line 6: the term “it” should be replaced with the exact structure that is being referenced for the purpose of clarity. Similarly, for claims 7, 12-13 and 17.
c. Claim 1, line 7: the term “configured for activating” should be rewritten as --configured to active-- such that the claim conforms with current U.S. practice, in particular for apparatus claims.
d. Claim 7, line 2: the term “that that” should be rewritten as --that--.
e. Claim 7, line 2: the limitation “potential energy” should be rewritten --the potential energy-- such that there is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
f. Claim 12, lines 1-2: the term “a personal unit worn by a sailor” should be rewritten as --a personal unit configured to be worn by a sailor-- for the purpose of clarity and such that the claim conforms with current U.S. practice.
g. Claim 15, lines 2-3: the limitation “an electronic chart or map” should be rewritten as --the electronic chart or map-- such that there is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
h. Claim 18: the dependency of the claim appears to be a typographical error and should be amended such that the claim depends from claim 17 with consideration of the claimed subject matter already recited in claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
8. Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
9. Applicant is advised that should claim 11 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
11. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. Claims 1, 4, 6 and 17: the “energy-storing release mechanism that stores potential energy”.
b. Claims 1 and 17: “interface configured for activating”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winick (US 4702715 A), in view of Hudson (US 2011/00065342 A1), in view of Liu et al. (CN 106892069 A), hereinafter “Liu” [see attached translational document for any reference made to the text], in view of Kotoh et al. (US 4668200 A), hereinafter “Kotoh”.
14. Regarding Claim 1, Winick discloses a life ring deployment system (Abstract; an automatic rescue apparatus as seen FIGS. 1 and 3-5), comprising:
a life ring (160);
a deployment device configured for holding the life ring and automatically deploying the life ring when activated, the deployment device comprising a mechanically activated apparatus with an energy-storing release mechanism that stores potential energy and release it to deploy the life ring when activated (col. 2, ll. 32-38 and col. 2, ll. 48-63 and col. 4, ln. 14 - col. 5, ln. 1; marker buoy housing 148, launcher arm 150 and tongue 158 prevent left ring 160 from falling away from launcher housing 110 prior to activation via solenoid 112 and release pin 116 as seen in FIGS. 1 and 3-5, furthermore torsional spring 152 as well as springs 122 and 140 each configured to release potential energy to deploy life ring 160 as seen in FIGS. 3-8, furthermore springs are by definition energy-storing release mechanism that store potential energy and release energy); and
an interface configured for activating the deployment device (col. 4, ll. 5-15; radio signals to receiver 103 in the launcher housing 110 and the receiver activates an electric relay 105 which energizes solenoid 112 to activate launcher housing 110 as seen in FIG. 1).
Winick is silent regarding a light, a geotracking unit and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the life ring.
Hudson discloses a life ring (Hudson Abstract and FIG. 9) comprising a light (para. [0040]; life ring 80 including lights 84 as seen in FIG. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Winick as taught by Hudson such that the life ring includes a light in order to improve visibility of the life ring in low-light or night-time maritime environments, thereby allowing rescuers to quickly and efficiently locate the life ring.
Modified Winick is silent regarding a life ring including a geotracking unit and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the life ring.
Liu discloses a life ring (Liu Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising a geotracking unit (p. 2; life ring 1 including GPS positioning device 2 which is by the definition provided in para. [0055] of the applicant’s specification considered to be a geotracking unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Winick as taught by Liu such that the life ring includes a geotracking unit and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the life ring in order to facilitate the rapid positioning and recovery of the life ring in conditions where the life ring is not visible to search and rescue personnel.
Modified Winick is silent regarding a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the life ring.
Kotoh discloses a life buoy (Kotoh Abstract and FIG. 1) including a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the life ring (Abstract and col. 3, ll. 48-54; the receiving antenna 15 receives radio waves form a searcher’s radar and the transmitting antenna 17 transmits signals thereto, therefore transmitting antenna 17 is by definition an RF transmitter which is structurally capable of transmitting a current location of the life buoy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Winick as taught by Kotoh such that the life ring includes a light in order to provide a redundancy and means independent of the light and geotracking unit as a safety measure in a scenario where the light cannot be seen and where transmission of location data from the geotracking unit is delayed.
15. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winick (US 4702715 A), Hudson (US 2011/00065342 A1), Liu et al. (CN 106892069 A) and Kotoh et al. (US 4668200 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schelfhout (US 6093069 A).
16. Regarding Claim 2, modified Winick discloses the life ring deployment system of claim 1.
Modified Winick is silent regarding the life ring further comprises a battery for powering the geotracking unit and RF transmitter.
Schelfhout discloses a flotation unit of a buoy system (Schelfhout Abstract and FIG. 1) comprising a battery for powering the geotracking unit and RF transmitter (col. 3, ll. 46-61; flotation unit 20 including a GPS having antenna connected to a GPS transmitter-receiver powered by batteries 28 as seen in FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Winick as taught by Schelfhout such that the life ring further comprises a battery for powering the geotracking unit and RF transmitter in order to supply electrical power to the geotracking unit and RF transmitter for performing operations as intended by the user.
17. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winick (US 4702715 A), Hudson (US 2011/00065342 A1), Liu et al. (CN 106892069 A) and Kotoh et al. (US 4668200 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stewart et al. (US 6935911 B1), hereinafter “Stewart”.
18. Regarding Claim 8, modified Winick discloses (see Winick) the life ring deployment system of claim 1, wherein the deployment device is configured to be coupled in vertically (Abstract and col. 1, ll. 39-43; the automatic rescue apparatus is configured to be mounted vertically as seen in FIGS. 1 and 3-5).
Modified Winick is silent regarding the deployment device is coupled to a vertical post.
Stewart discloses a life ring deployment system (Stewart Abstract and FIG. 1) wherein the deployment device (12) is coupled to a vertical post (11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified Winick as taught by Stewart such that the deployment device is coupled to a vertical post in order to securely mount the deployment system in a stable manner as well as improving the range in which the life ring may be deployed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed (note claim objections and drawing objections which must be overcome).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitation of claim 17. In particular, a computing system comprising a memory, a processor, a display and an RF receiver for receiving RF signals, wherein said computing system is communicatively coupled with the interface.
Claims 3-7, 9-16 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitations of claims 1, 2 and 3. In particular, wherein the deployment device further comprises a pair of brackets to which the life ring is coupled, wherein said pair of brackets release the life ring when the deployment device is activated. Furthermore, the prior art of record fails to disclose the combined limitations of claims 1 and 9. In particular, the life ring deployment system further comprising a computing system comprising a memory, a processor, a display and an RF receiver for receiving RF signals, wherein said computing system is communicatively coupled with the interface.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Jiang (CN 108100187 A), Wang et al. (CN 110127005 A), Wang (CN 116674704 A), Bai (CN 109018255 A) and Huang (CN 108860518 A) individually disclose a life ring deployment system, comprising: a life ring; a deployment device configured for holding the life ring and automatically deploying the life ring when activated, the deployment device comprising a mechanically activated apparatus with an energy-storing release mechanism that stores potential energy and release it to deploy the life ring when activated; and an interface configured for activating the deployment device.
Wilson (US 5197911 A) discloses a buoy deployment system, comprising: a buoy; a deployment device configured for holding the buoy and automatically deploying the buoy when activated, the deployment device comprising a mechanically activated apparatus with an energy-storing release mechanism that stores potential energy and release it to deploy the buoy when activated; and an interface configured for activating the deployment device.
Kowng (US 2013/0231805 A1) discloses a swimming hoop comprising a geotracking unit and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the hoop.
Rajendran et al. (US 2025/0326474 A1) discloses a life ring deployment system, comprising: a life ring including a light, a geotracking unit and a radio frequency (RF) transmitter for transmitting a current location of the life ring; a deployment device configured for holding the life ring and automatically deploying the life ring when activated, the deployment device comprising a mechanically activated apparatus with an energy-storing release mechanism that stores potential energy and release it to deploy the life ring when activated; and an interface configured for activating the deployment device.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or any earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Arfan Sinaki, whose telephone number is 571-272-7185. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm EST.
/ARFAN Y. SINAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642