DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 11/12/2024.
Claims 1-7 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the limitation "a power of each RB" in line 1. "a power of each RB" was recited before in claim 1, so there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “a wideband RSSI” in line 1. “a wideband RSSI” was recited before in claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Clarification and appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by YOON et al. (US 20190149253).
As of claim 1, YOON discloses a method for computing Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (YOON, Abstract, para [0013] discloses the UE measure RSSI in RSSI measurement OFDM symbols based on the configuration information about the RSSI measurement resource (= computing Received Signal Strength Indicator), comprising:
computing a power of each Resource Block (RB) in a given symbol separately for all the Orthogonal Frequency division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a subframe and for each antenna (YOON, [0027] [FIG. 1] a subframe structure, para [0014] discloses transmitting RSSI measurement resource information including configuration information on one or more time resource units (=resource blocks) for received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurement and including RSSI measurement symbol (=given symbol) information indicating orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for RSSI measurement among OFDM symbols of the RSSI measurement time resource, para [0018], claim 1: discloses each of the RSSI measurement time resource units (=resource block) consist of a plurality of consecutive OFDM symbols and measuring an RSSI (=computing a power) based on the RSSI measurement symbol information in a time resource unit and para [0072] [0063] disclose RSSI is measured over all OFDM symbols in the indicated subframes. OFDM symbols containing reference symbols for antenna port 0, in the measurement bandwidth, over N number of resource blocks which corresponds to computing a power of each Resource Block (RB) in a given symbol separately for all the (OFDM) symbols in a subframe and for each antenna);
averaging a first value across all the symbols in a subframe for each antenna to get a second value (YOON, para [0072] [0063] disclose RSSI is measured over all OFDM symbols in the indicated subframes, Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), comprises the linear average of the total received power (=first value) observed only in OFDM symbols containing reference symbols for antenna port 0, in the measurement bandwidth, over N number of resource blocks by the UE from all sources which corresponds to averaging a first value to get a second value); and
wherein a Wideband RSSI is obtained by averaging across all RBs (YOON para [0072] [0074] discloses the received wide band power, average of the total received power observed only in OFDM symbols para [0075] [0076] discloses RSSI has been configured to be measured in all OFDM symbols of configured subframes. RSSI is measured in a frequency bandwidth of a receiver of the UE. The network designates a bandwidth for RSSI measurement as a broad band to cause the UE to measure RSSI).
As of claim 2, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition YOON discloses the first value comprises a RssiPerRB (para [0111] discloses calculate RSSI per RE (=RssiPerRB) in the configured time/frequency resource).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition YOON discloses the second value comprises a RssiperRBperSF[rbIndex] (para [0072] discloses E-UTRA Carrier Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), comprises the linear average of the total received power observed only in OFDM symbols containing reference symbols in the measurement bandwidth, over N number of resource blocks by the UE from all sources, RSSI is measured over all OFDM symbols(=RssiperRB) in the indicated subframe and Fig. 1 shows Symbol index and RB index).
As of claim 4, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition YOON discloses computing a power of each RB in a given symbol separately for all the OFDM symbols in a subframe and for each Antenna (para [0018], claim 1: discloses each of the RSSI measurement time resource units (=resource block) consist of a plurality of consecutive OFDM symbols and measuring an RSSI (=computing a power) based on the RSSI measurement symbol information in a time resource unit and para [0072] [0063] disclose RSSI is measured over all OFDM symbols in the indicated subframes. OFDM symbols containing reference symbols for antenna port 0 (=each antenna) in the measurement bandwidth, over N number of resource blocks
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if the Applicant overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “computing a power of each RB in a given symbol separately for all the OFDM symbols in a subframe and for each Antenna comprises:
with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 6, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “averaging the RssiPerRB across all the symbols in a subframe for each antenna to get
“with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 7, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “a wideband RSSI is obtained by averaging across all RBs
“with the claimed invention as a whole.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471