DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits of Application No. 18/944,797. Claims 1-4 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 and 4/8/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young (US Patent Publication 20130270863).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a vehicle mounting structure for a battery pack (80) comprising a battery stack, the vehicle mounting structure comprising: a pair of energy absorption material members (100) extending in a front-rear direction of a vehicle so that the energy absorption material members sandwich an outer side of the battery pack in a vehicle width direction (Figs. 2-3) and being longer than the battery pack in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (Fig. 2); and a cross member (96) extending in the vehicle width direction, ends of the cross member being connected to corresponding ends of the energy absorption material members.
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses a method for manufacturing a vehicle mounting structure for a battery pack (80) comprising a battery stack, wherein a pair of energy absorption material members are arranged so that the energy absorption material members (100) face in a front-rear direction of a vehicle and sandwich an outer side of the battery pack in a vehicle width direction (Figs. 2-3), the energy absorption material members being longer than the battery pack in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (Fig. 2), and ends of a cross member (96) extending in the vehicle width direction are connected to corresponding ends of the energy absorption material members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the vehicle mounting structure wherein a cross-sectional shape of each of the ends of the cross member is a U-shape that is opened outward in the vehicle width direction, and the ends of the energy absorption material members fit into corresponding openings of the ends of the cross member, in combination with the other elements required by claim 1.
Claim 3 is allowable for being dependent on an allowable claim.
The closest prior art, Young (US Patent Publication 20130270863), discloses the vehicle mounting structure wherein a cross-sectional shape of each of the ends, but does not disclose U-shape that is opened outward in the vehicle width direction, and the ends of the energy absorption material members fit into corresponding openings of the ends of the cross member. More particularly, this modification would change the mounting structure and change the characteristics of the operation of the energy absorption material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kaita (US Patent Publication 20210242524) discloses a mounting structure for battery pack in a vehicle.
Ayukawa (US Patent Publication 20180148106) discloses a vehicle body lower portion structure.
Tanaka (US Patent Publication 20200215895) discloses a vehicle lower structure.
/LORI WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655