Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 11/12/2024.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVito (US4,842,326) in view of Imamura (US5,767,476).
Claim 1. DiVito disclose: A joint structure of a vehicle body (Fig. 1-5), the joint structure comprising:
a front body module (1002B, 4B, 2F, 4F core vehicle comprising of 24, 25 passenger compartment; Fig. 1-5) as a fixed portion fixed to a front portion of an under body (1002B, 4B, 2F, 4F comprising of 24, 25 passenger compartment is coupled to the front of 26 deck area; Fig. 1-5);
a rear body module (101 top, 102, 113 delivery van, 112, 110 station wagon, 108 modules; Fig. 1-5) as a variable portion detachable to a rear portion of the under body and the front body module in a predetermined shape (modules are variable, detachable to rear of 26 and 24, 25; Fig. 1-5);
a roof joint unit (45-54 alignment and connector elements connecting upper horizontal component of 26 first engagement member, Fig. 6-8, 10; and upper horizontal component of 37 second engagement member, Fig. 9) connecting (attachment of modules, Fig. 10) a fixed portion roof structure of the front body module (implicit roof structure of 24, 25; Fig. 1-8) and a variable portion roof structure of the rear body module (implicit roof structure of 101, 113, 110; Fig. 1-3); and
a floor joint unit (29 engagement adapter plate, Fig. 6-8) connecting a fixed portion floor structure of the front body module (floor of core vehicle; Col. 7, lines 48-49) and a variable portion floor structure of the rear body module (implicit floor of module attaching to 29; Col. 7, lines 5-16).
DiVito does not disclose: an aluminum extruding member.
Imamura discloses a method of joining automotive frames comprising of aluminum alloy extrusions.
Imamura teaches: an aluminum extruding member (13 extrusion, Fig. 1-3; aluminum alloy; Col. 2, lines 15-22).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the sheet metal frames of DiVito with aluminum extrusions with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce weight and costs as suggested by Imamura because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 15. DiVito disclose: A joint structure of a vehicle body, the joint structure comprising:
a front body module as a fixed portion fixed to a front portion of an under body;
a rear body module as a variable portion detachable to a rear portion of the under body and the front body module in a predetermined shape;
a roof joint unit connecting a fixed portion roof structure of the front body module and a variable portion roof structure of the rear body module;
a floor joint unit connecting a fixed portion floor structure of the front body module and a variable portion floor structure of the rear body module; and
a side joint unit connecting a fixed portion pillar assembly of the front body module and a variable portion pillar structure of the rear body module (45-54 alignment and connector elements connecting angular component of 26 first engagement member, Fig. 6-8, 10; and angular component of 37 second engagement member, Fig. 9; see previously rejected claim 1).
DiVito does not disclose: an aluminum extruding member.
Imamura teaches: an aluminum extruding member (13 extrusion, Fig. 1-3; aluminum alloy; Col. 2, lines 15-22).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the sheet metal frames of DiVito with aluminum extrusions with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce weight and costs as suggested by Imamura because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 2, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVito (US4,842,326) in view of Imamura (US5,767,476) and further in view of Sohns (US3,397,496).
Claim 2. DiVito in view of Imamura teach: The joint structure of claim 1.
DiVito in view of Imamura does not teach: a fixed portion roof joint extruding member that engages with a fixed portion roof rail and a fixed portion roof panel of the fixed portion roof structure connected to each other; and a variable portion roof joint extruding member that engages with a variable portion roof rail and a variable portion roof panel of the variable portion roof structure connected to each, and is connected to the fixed portion roof joint extruding member.
Sohns discloses a joint structure for interlocking roof, floor, and wall panels.
Sohns teaches: a fixed portion roof joint extruding member (structure of 130 connecting leg, 136 support leg, 138 clip leg; Fig. 5) that engages with a fixed portion roof rail (structure of 124 skin, 126 skin, leg, 134 wall; Fig. 5) and a fixed portion roof panel (120 roof panel, Fig. 5) of the fixed portion roof structure connected to each other (120 and structure of 124 skin, 126 skin, leg, 134 wall are coupled; Fig. 5); and
a variable portion roof joint extruding member (structure of 146 groove, 148 trough, 150 wall; Fig. 5) that engages with a variable portion roof rail (structure of 140 end, 142 leg, 144 surface, 126 skin proximate 144; Fig. 5) and a variable portion roof panel (exterior surface forming the roof panel proximate 146, Fig. 5) of the variable portion roof structure connected to each (exterior surface forming the roof panel proximate 146 and structure of 140 end, 142 leg, 144 surface, 126 skin proximate 144 is coupled; Fig. 5), and is connected to the fixed portion roof joint extruding member (mating structures of Fig. 5 provide a secure joint; Col. 3, line 75 – Col. 4, line 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the roof joint structure of DiVito in view of Imamura with the interlocking roof joint as taught by Sohns with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a secure, weather-sealing joint as taught by Sohns (Fig. 5; Col. 3, line 75 – Col. 4, line 28).
Claim 11. DiVito in view of Imamura teach: The joint structure of claim 1.
DiVito in view of Imamura does not teach: a fixed portion floor joint extruding member engaged with a fixed portion floor panel of the fixed portion floor structure; and a variable portion floor joint extruding member engaged with a variable portion floor panel of the variable portion floor structure and engaged with the fixed portion floor joint extruding member.
Sohns discloses a joint structure for interlocking roof, floor, and wall panels.
Sohns further teaches: a fixed portion floor joint extruding member engaged with a fixed portion floor panel of the fixed portion floor structure (structure of 34 skin, 46 skin, 48 base, 50 clip coupled to 36 panel; Fig. 2); and
a variable portion floor joint extruding member engaged with a variable portion floor panel of the variable portion floor structure (structure of 34 skin, 38 skin, 39, guide, 40 wall, 42 notch, 44 wall; Fig. 2) and engaged with the fixed portion floor joint extruding member (mating structures of Fig. 2 snaps into each other; Col. 3, lines 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the floor joint structure of DiVito in view of Imamura with the interlocking panel joint as taught by Sohns with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a secure, weather-sealing joint as taught by Sohns (Fig. 5; Col. 3, line 75 – Col. 4, line 28).
Claim 12. DiVito in view of Imamura and further in view of Sohns teach: The joint structure of claim 11, wherein the fixed portion floor joint extruding member includes:
a first engaging portion that engages with the fixed portion floor panel (Sohns: horizontal extensions proximate both ends of 46 is coupled to 36; Fig. 2) and forms a fixed portion closed cross-section (Sohns: interior of 30 is a closed section formed by 36 and 46; Fig. 2); and
a second engaging portion which extends rearward from the first engaging portion and engages with the variable portion floor joint extruding member (Sohns: 48 and 50 extends reward of 46 and engages 40 and 42; Fig. 2).
Claim 16-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVito (US4,842,326) in view of Imamura (US5,767,476) and further in view of Yurgevich et al. (US5,112,099).
Claim 16. DiVito in view of Imamura teach: The joint structure of claim 15.
DiVito in view of Imamura does not teach: the side joint unit includes a side internal joint extruding member engaged with a side external joint member of steel material connecting external sides of the fixed portion assembly and a variable portion assembly, and connecting internal sides of the fixed portion assembly and the variable portion assembly.
Yurgevich discloses a joining member for joining an adjacent pair of plates on a side of a cargo carrier.
Yurgevich teaches: a side internal joint extruding member (82 internal strip of 78 joining member, Fig. 5) engaged with a side external joint member of steel material (80 external strip of 78 joining member, Fig. 5; 78 is illustrated as metal by the cross-hatching) connecting external sides assembly (32 panel, Fig. 5) and a variable portion assembly (opposite 32 panel, Fig. 5), and connecting internal sides of the fixed portion assembly and the variable portion assembly (78 couples to internal and external sides of the panels, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the side joint structure of DiVito in view of Imamura with the joining member as taught by Yurgevich with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a stronger joint and ease of attachment of other fittings or fasteners as taught by Yurgevich (Col. 2, line 64 – Col. 4, line 8).
Claim 17. DiVito in view of Imamura and further in view of Yurgevich teach: The joint structure of claim 16, wherein the side internal joint extruding member includes:
a center engaging portion engaged with the side external joint member (Yurgevich: center surfaces of 82 are coupled to 90 and 92 flanges of 80; Fig. 5);
a front engaging portion extending forward from the center engaging portion and engaged with a fixed portion internal pillar member of the fixed portion pillar assembly; and
a rear engaging portion extending rearward from the center engaging portion and engaged with a variable portion internal pillar member of the variable portion pillar assembly (Yurgevich: structure of the flanges extending on opposite ends of 82 proximate to 86 and 84 are forward and rearward; coupled to the exterior surfaces by 84 and 86 fasteners, Fig, 5)
Claim 18. DiVito in view of Imamura and further in view of Yurgevich teach: The joint structure of claim 16, wherein a weather strip is mounted between a fixed portion external pillar member of the fixed portion pillar assembly and the side external joint member, and between a variable portion external pillar member of the variable portion pillar assembly and the side external joint member (Yurgevich; 104 sealing member between 78 and panels 32; Fig. 5).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiVito (US4,842,326) in view of Imamura (US5,767,476) and further in view of Yurgevich et al. (US5,112,099) and Shono (US8,678,484).
Claim 19. DiVito in view of Imamura teaches: The joint structure of claim 15, wherein a fixed portion internal pillar member of the fixed portion pillar assembly (DiVito: implicit interior surface angular component of 26 first engagement member, Fig. 6-8) and a fixed portion roof rail of the fixed portion roof structure are connected (DiVito: upper horizontal component of 26 first engagement member; angular and horizontal components are coupled; Fig. 6-8), and
wherein a variable portion internal pillar member of the variable portion pillar assembly (DiVito: implicit interior surface angular component of 37 second engagement member, Fig. 9) and a variable portion roof rail of the variable portion roof structure are connected (DiVito: upper horizontal component of 37 first engagement member; angular and horizontal components are coupled; Fig. 9).
DiVito in view of Imamura does not teach: a gusset member.
Shono discloses an upper vehicle body comprising of a pillar coupled to a roof rail though a roof arch gusset.
Shono teaches: a gusset member (25 roof arch gusset, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the upper vehicle structure of DiVito in view of Imamura by including a roof arch gusset as taught by Shono with a reasonable expectation of success in order increase the strength and rigidity of the vehicle as taught by Shono (Col. 3, lines 15-19).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 13-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676