DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 in lines 2 and 5 contain the phrase “a control unit.” The phrase “a control unit” in line 2 should be amended to recite “a sensor unit.”
Claims 2 – 10 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7 – 10 (as best understood); and 11 – 14, 17 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strobel (US 2022/0169254).
Regarding Claim 1:
Strobel teaches a vehicle driving assistance control method comprising: determining, by a control unit (120), a crosswind force (paragraph 0017, strength of crosswind based on speed) acting on a host vehicle in a direction crossing the direction of travel of the host vehicle based on a steering angle and acceleration of the host vehicle (paragraph 0058); and controlling, by a control unit (140), upon detecting at least one other vehicle within a predetermined distance from the host vehicle (Fig 3, see 304, and via 110, 122, 126, 129, 134) and a magnitude of the determined crosswind force being greater than a predetermined first threshold value, the driving of the host vehicle based on the direction of the determined crosswind force and the position of the at least one other detected vehicle (Fig 7, via 710, 720, 730, and 740, and see also Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 2:
Strobel teaches controlling driving of the host vehicle comprises controlling at least one of steering and speed of the host vehicle to position the host vehicle on a side of the at least one other detected vehicle along the direction of the crosswind force. (Fig 3, paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 3:
Strobel teaches controlling driving of the host vehicle comprises, after positioning the host vehicle on the side of the at least one other detected vehicle in the direction of the determined crosswind force, controlling the speed of the host vehicle to follow a speed of the at least one other detected vehicle (Fig 2 – 3).
Regarding Claim 4:
Strobel teaches the first threshold value is set based on a weight of the host vehicle (paragraph 0034, size evaluation).
Regarding Claim 7:
Strobel teaches recognizing a road ahead of the host vehicle; determining a curvature of the recognized road; and terminating, upon detection of the determined curvature of the road ahead being smaller than a predetermined threshold curvature during the driving control of the host vehicle based on the direction of the crosswind force and the position of the at least one other detected vehicle, the driving control of the host vehicle (Figs 1 – 3, via 120, see also paragraph 0051 and via 416).
Regarding Claim 8:
Strobel teaches determining a presence or absence of a front vehicle in front of the host vehicle based on the position of the at least one other detected vehicle; recognizing a road environment in which the host vehicle is traveling; and determining feasibility of lane changing for the host vehicle based on the road environment; wherein controlling the driving of the host vehicle comprises controlling, upon the front vehicle being determined to be present, the magnitude of the crosswind force being larger than a predetermined second threshold value set to be greater than the first threshold value and the host vehicle being determined feasible of changing lanes in the direction of the crosswind force, at least one of steering and speed of the host vehicle to enable the host vehicle to change lanes in the direction of the crosswind force and to position the host vehicle on a side of the front vehicle in the direction of the crosswind force (Figs 5 – 7).
Regarding Claim 9:
Strobel teaches controlling the driving of the host vehicle comprises controlling, upon the front vehicle being determined to be present and the magnitude of the crosswind force being less than the predetermined second threshold value or the host vehicle being determined infeasible of change lanes in the direction of the crosswind force, at least one of the steering and the speed of the host vehicle to move the host vehicle within a current lane in the direction of the crosswind force and to position the host vehicle in a side-rear position relative to the front vehicle (Figs 3, 5 – 7).
Regarding Claim 10:
Strobel teaches controlling the driving of the host vehicle comprises, after the host vehicle is positioned in the side-rear position relative to the front vehicle, controlling the speed of the host vehicle to maintain a predetermined distance from the front vehicle and to follow the speed of the front vehicle (Figs 3, 5 – 7).
Regarding Claim 11:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 12:
See rejection of Claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 13:
See rejection of Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 14:
See rejection of Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 17:
See rejection of Claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 18:
See rejection of Claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 19:
See rejection of Claim 19 above.
Regarding Claim 20:
See rejection of Claim 20 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 – 6, 15 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strobel (US 2022/0169254) and in view of Khayyer (US 2022/0266852).
Regarding Claim 5:
Strobel is silent to detecting a user setting signal permitting driving control of the host vehicle based on the magnitude of the crosswind force and the position of the at least one other detected vehicle, wherein controlling the driving of the host vehicle is performed upon detection of the user setting signal.
Strobel does teach the control system can be applied to semi-autonomous and driver assist systems (paragraph 0021).
However, Khayyer teaches a user setting signal permitting driving control of the host vehicle based on the magnitude of the crosswind force and the position of the at least one other detected vehicle, wherein controlling the driving of the host vehicle is performed upon detection of the user setting signal (paragraph 0060, Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the user setting signal of Khayyer in the vehicle of Strobel in order to control the vehicle according to user preferences.
Regarding Claim 6:
Strobel is silent to detecting a user operation signal for controlling the driving of the host vehicle; and terminating, upon detection of the user operation signal during the driving control of the host vehicle based on the direction of the crosswind and the position of the at least one other detected vehicle, the driving control of the host vehicle.
However, Khayyer teaches detecting a user operation signal for controlling the driving of the host vehicle; and terminating, upon detection of the user operation signal during the driving control of the host vehicle based on the direction of the crosswind and the position of the at least one other detected vehicle, the driving control of the host vehicle (paragraph 0060, Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the user setting signal of Khayyer in the vehicle of Strobel in order to control the vehicle according to user preferences.
Regarding Claim 15:
See rejection of Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 16:
See rejection of Claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747