DETAILED ACTION
1. This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 18/944,830 originally filed on 11/12/2024. The amendment presented on 11/07/2025 which claims 1, 3 - 10, 12 - 13 and 15 - 17 are currently amended and claim 18 is currently added is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 - 18 are pending.
Response to Amendments
3. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 07 November
2025, wherein: claims 1 - 18 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3 - 10, 12 - 13 and 15 - 17 have been amended. Claim 18 has been added.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on November 07, 2025 with respect to the rejections of claims 1 - 18 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 3 - 9, 11 - 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato “US 2013/0222298”.
Re-claim 1, Kato teaches a device (fig. 12) comprising:
a touchscreen (fig. 12; the display module 10, which is formed by bonding the window glass 2, touch panel 3, and display panel 4) comprising a self-supporting plate, (fig. 12; window glass 2 and par. [0051] As illustrated in FIGS. 1 to 3, the mobile information terminal in this embodiment has a display module 10 formed by interposing a transparent touch panel 3 in a rectangular plate shape between a sheet of transparent window glass 2 in a rectangular plate shape and a display panel 4 in a rectangular plate shape.)
a touch-sensitive surface (fig. 12; the display module 10, which is formed by bonding the window glass 2, touch panel 3, and display panel 4) provided on a front side of the self-supporting plate, (fig. 12; 2) and a screen (fig. 12; 3) that is arranged on a back side of the self-supporting plate; (fig. 12; 2)
a housing (fig. 12; case 1) that comprises at least one fastening dome; (fig. 12; through hole 1a)
a circuit board (fig. 12; 6) which is provided with a computer, (par. [0021] mobile information terminal has been often determined depending on the area occupied by the circuit board, the battery, and other devices) the circuit board (fig. 12; 6) being fastened to the housing (fig. 12; case 1) via the at least one fastening dome; (fig. 12; 1a) and
at least one flexible spacer element, (fig. 12; 7) a first end surface of the at least one flexible spacer element being affixed to a surface of the circuit board, (fig. 12; 6) and a second end surface of the at least one flexible spacer element being affixed to the screen (fig. 12; 3). (par. [0062] The waterproof sheet 7 has as rectangular ring shape corresponding to the frame rear surface-side outer circumferential part 5d of the display holding frame 5 and the frame outer circumference placing part 1c of the case 1; the waterproof sheet 7 is formed with, for example, a silicone rubber sheet or another material that does not allow moisture to penetrate.)
Re-claim 3, Kato teaches wherein, when the housing (fig. 12; 1) is removed, the circuit board (fig. 12; 6) is floatingly mounted on the screen by the at least one flexible spacer element. (par. [0095] In this embodiment, since the bolts 8 are used to secure the display unit 11 to the case 1, the display unit 11 can be easily detached from the case 1 by removing the bolts 8 and can also be easily attached again; the attachment and detachment can be repeated any number of times.)
Re-claim 4, Kato teaches wherein the at least one flexible spacer element is elastic (fig. 12; 7) so that the at least one flexible spacer element is adapted to be deformed, compressed, or stretched in an assembled state of the device. (pars. [0062] The waterproof sheet 7 has as rectangular ring shape corresponding to the frame rear surface-side outer circumferential part 5d of the display holding frame 5 and the frame outer circumference placing part 1c of the case 1; the waterproof sheet 7 is formed with, for example, a silicone rubber sheet or another material that does not allow moisture to penetrate.)
Re-claim 5, Kato teaches wherein the at least one flexible spacer element (fig. 12; 7) is made of foam or rubber, or comprises foam. (par. [0056] the waterproof sheet 7 is formed with, for example, a silicone rubber sheet or another material that does not allow moisture to penetrate.)
Re-claim 6, Kato teaches wherein the at least one flexible spacer element has adhesive layers on each of the first and second end surfaces. (par. [0056] When, in this embodiment, the display panel 4 of the display module 10 is fitted into the display panel accepting part 5b, the panel inside main plane 4a of the display panel 4 is bonded to the frame bottom surface 5f of the display panel accepting part 5b with, for example, an adhesive or a double-sided adhesive sheet.)
Re-claim 7, Kato teaches wherein the circuit board comprises at least one fastening element which is accessible from outside the housing through the at least one fastening dome of the housing, the at least one fastening dome being an opening in the housing that forms a channel for receiving a fastener such that the fastener extends through the at least one fastening dome to connect to the at least one fastening element of the circuit board. (fig. 12 and pars. [0093] and [0102])
Re-claim 8, Kato teaches wherein the device does not comprise a frame to which both the circuit board (fig. 12; 6) and the housing (fig. 12; 1) are attached. (fig. 12 and [0095] In this embodiment, since the bolts 8 are used to secure the display unit 11 to the case 1, the display unit 11 can be easily detached from the case 1 by removing the bolts 8 and can also be easily attached again; the attachment and detachment can be repeated any number of times.)
Re-claim 9, Kato teaches wherein the touchscreen (fig. 12; 3) is part of a touch-sensitive control panel which is configured to be installed in a wall recess. (par. [0108] a conductive sheet (shield auxiliary sheet 15) between the board surface of the circuit board 6 and the end of the walls (case-side electronic part covering frame part 1k) of the case 1.)
Re-claim 11, Kato teaches wherein an edge of the self-supporting plate is provided with a layer which is not, or at most partially, transparent. (par. [0051] As illustrated in FIGS. 1 to 3, the mobile information terminal in this embodiment has a display module 10 formed by interposing a transparent touch panel 3 in a rectangular plate shape between a sheet of transparent window glass 2 in a rectangular plate shape and a display panel 4 in a rectangular plate shape.)
Re-claim 12, Kato teaches wherein the self-supporting plate has a circumferential seal which is arranged along an edge of the self-supporting plate. (par. [0093])
Re-claim 13, is rejected as a method as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claim 18, Kato teaches wherein the at least one fastening element (fig. 12; through hole 1a) of the circuit board (fig. 12; 6) is a threaded hole and the fastener is a screw. (par. [0102])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 2, 10 and 14 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato “US 2013/0222298” and Sanford “US 2015/0129401”.
Re-claims 2 and 14, Kato teaches wherein the circuit board (fig. 12; 6) is electrically connected to a touch sensor of the touch-sensitive surface (fig. 12; 3) but Kato does not explicitly teach the touch-sensitive surface and/or the screen by at least one flexible cable.
However, Sanford teaches the touch-sensitive surface and/or the screen by at least one flexible cable (figs. 2-3; 114). (par. [0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to further modify the invention of combination with the teaching of Sanford to improve an electronic device structures.
Re-claim 10, Kato teaches wherein the self-supporting plate (fig. 12; 2) is formed of a transparent material or glass, (par. [0051] transparent window glass 2 in a rectangular plate shape) and
Kato and Sanford do not explicitly teach the self-supporting plate has a thickness of 3 mm or more.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to form “the self-supporting plate has a thickness of 3 mm or more” since it has been held that discovering optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Re-claim 15, Kato in view of Sanford teaches all the limitations of claim 14, Sanford teaches the circuit board is electrically connected to the touchscreen by the flexible cable. (figs. 2-3; 114)
Kato and Sanford do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more flexible cables do not exceed a predetermined length.
However, It would have been obvious matter of design choice the one or more flexible cables do not exceed a predetermined length. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237, (CCPA 1955).
Re-claim 16, Kato in view of Sanford teaches all the limitations of claim 14, Kato teaches wherein the at least one flexible spacer element (fig. 12; 7) adheres or sticks to the back side of the touchscreen and the circuit board adheres or sticks to the at least one flexible spacer element. (pars. [0102] - [0103])
Re-claim 17, Kato in view of Sanford teaches all the limitations of claim 14, Kato teaches wherein the arranging of the at least one flexible spacer element (fig. 12; 7) on the back side of the touchscreen (fig. 12; the display module 10, which is formed by bonding the window glass 2, touch panel 3, and display panel 4) comprises arranging a template on the back side of the touchscreen. (fig. 12 and par. [0102] - [0103])
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 3/5/26B