DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the application 18/944,837 filed on 12-11-2024. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2023/0209255)
Consider Claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic apparatus(see fig. 4) comprising: memory storing one or more instructions; a communication interface; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0079]-[0088]),
cause the electronic apparatus (see fig. 1)to: identify a second location of a user with reference to a first location of the electronic apparatus (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0066]-[0098]);
identify(see figs. 6-9) one or more terminal devices connectable to the electronic apparatus; identify a target location to place the one or more terminal devices based on the first location, the second location, and the one or more terminal devices(see figs. 1-9 and paragraphs[0109]-[0137]); and
transmit(see figs. 6-21), to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising guide information to guide placement of the one or more terminal devices on the target location(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]).
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches The electronic apparatus further comprising: a projector configured to output a projection image, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, audio information comprising an audio signal that is output from the one or more terminal devices; and control the projector to output the projection image corresponding to the audio signal. (see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]); and the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, the audio information comprising the audio signal and audio setting that causes the one or more terminal devices to output the audio signal at a preset audio volume(see figs. 1-9 and paragraphs[0109]-[0137]).
Consider Claim 4, Kim teaches the electronic further comprising: a microphone, wherein the preset audio volume is a first audio volume; wherein the audio setting is a first audio setting; wherein the audio information is first audio information; and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: obtain audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices through the microphone; change the first audio volume to a second audio volume based on the audio data; and control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, second audio information comprising a second audio setting that causes the one or more terminal devices to output the audio signal at a second audio volume(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179])..
Consider Claims 5 and 6, Kim teaches the electronic apparatus further comprising: a microphone, wherein the target location is a first target location; wherein the guide information is first guide information; and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: obtain audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices through the microphone; change the first target location to a second target location based on the audio data; and transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising second guide information to guide the one or more terminal devices to be placed on the second target location. (see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]); and the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on there being one terminal device, identify an imaginary first straight line connecting the second location and the first location; and identify a location distant from the second location by a first distance between the first location and the second location within the imaginary first straight line as a target location(see figs. 1-9 and paragraphs[0109]-[0137])..
Consider Claims 7 and 8, Kim teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: identify, with reference to the first location, a third location of a projection area to output a projection image; and based on there being a plurality of candidate locations distant from the second location by the first distance within the imaginary first straight line, identify, as the target location, a candidate location having a distance that is farthest from the third location among the plurality of candidate locations(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]); and the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on there being two terminal devices, identify an imaginary first straight line connecting the second location and the first location; identify an imaginary second straight line perpendicular to the imaginary first straight line; and identify a plurality of locations distant from the second location by a first distance between the first location and the second location within the imaginary second straight line as target locations(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]).
Consider Claim 9, Kim teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: generate an audio signal corresponding to the target location; and control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, audio information comprising the audio signal, wherein the audio signal is a multi-channel audio signal(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]).
Consider Claim 11, Kim teaches a controlling method of an electronic apparatus(see fig. 1), the method comprising:
Identifying(see figs. 1-9) a second location of a user with reference to a first location of the electronic apparatus; identifying one or more terminal devices connectable to the electronic apparatus(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0066]-[0098]);
identifying(see figs. 6-9) a target location to place the terminal devices based on the first location, the second location and the one or more terminal devices( see figs. 1-9 and paragraphs[0109]-[0137]); and
transmitting(see figs. 6-21), to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising guide information to guide placement of the one or more terminal devices on the target location(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]).
Consider Claims 12 and 13, Kim teaches the method further comprising: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, audio information comprising an audio signal that is output from the one or more terminal devices; and outputting a projection image corresponding to the audio signal(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]); and the method wherein the transmitting the audio information comprises: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, the audio information comprising the audio signal and audio setting to output the audio signal at a preset audio volume. (see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]).
Consider Claims 14 and 15, Kim teaches the method as claimed wherein the preset audio volume is a first audio volume; wherein the audio setting is a first audio setting; wherein the audio information is first audio information; and wherein the controlling method comprises: obtaining audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices; changing the first audio volume to a second audio volume based on the audio data; and transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, second audio information including second audio setting that causes one or more terminal devices to output the audio signal at a second audio volume(see figs. 6-21 and paragraphs[0143]-[0179]); and the method wherein the target location is a first target location; wherein the guide information is first guide information; and wherein the controlling method comprises: obtaining audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices; changing the first target location to a second target location based on the audio data; and transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising second guide information to guide the one or more terminal devices to be placed on the second target location( see figs. 1-9 and paragraphs[0109]-[0137]).
6. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a (1) as being anticipated by Proctor, JR. et al. (US 20220345839).
Consider Claim 1, Jurdan teaches an electronic apparatus(see fig. 2) comprising: memory storing one or more instructions; a communication interface; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0048]-[0058]),
cause the electronic apparatus (see fig. 1)
to: identify(see fig.1) a second location of a user with reference to a first location of the electronic apparatus (see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0048]-[0051]);
identify(see figs. 7A-9B) one or more terminal devices connectable to the electronic apparatus;
identify(see figs. 7A-9B) a target location to place the one or more terminal devices based on the first location, the second location, and the one or more terminal devices(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]); and
transmit(see figs. 1-9B), to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising guide information to guide placement of the one or more terminal devices on the target location(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0250]-[0350]).
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Jurdan teaches the electronic apparatus further comprising: a projector configured to output a projection image, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, audio information comprising an audio signal that is output from the one or more terminal devices; and control the projector to output the projection image corresponding to the audio signal; and the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, the audio information comprising the audio signal and audio setting that causes the one or more terminal devices to output the audio signal at a preset audio volume(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0023]-[0048]).
Consider Claims 4 and 5, Jurdan teaches the electronic apparatus further comprising: a microphone, wherein the preset audio volume is a first audio volume; wherein the audio setting is a first audio setting; wherein the audio information is first audio information; and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: obtain audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices through the microphone; change the first audio volume to a second audio volume based on the audio data; and control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, second audio information comprising a second audio setting that causes the one or more terminal devices to output the audio signal at a second audio volume(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]); and the electronic apparatus further comprising: a microphone, wherein the target location is a first target location; wherein the guide information is first guide information; and wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: obtain audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices through the microphone; change the first target location to a second target location based on the audio data; and transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising second guide information to guide the one or more terminal devices to be placed on the second target location(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0250]-[0350]).
Consider Claims 6 and 7, Jurdan teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on there being one terminal device, identify an imaginary first straight line connecting the second location and the first location; and identify a location distant from the second location by a first distance between the first location and the second location within the imaginary first straight line as a target location(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]); and the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: identify, with reference to the first location, a third location of a projection area to output a projection image; and based on there being a plurality of candidate locations distant from the second location by the first distance within the imaginary first straight line, identify, as the target location, a candidate location having a distance that is farthest from the third location among the plurality of candidate locations(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]).
Consider Claim 8, Jurdan teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: based on there being two terminal devices, identify an imaginary first straight line connecting the second location and the first location; identify an imaginary second straight line perpendicular to the imaginary first straight line; and identify a plurality of locations distant from the second location by a first distance between the first location and the second location within the imaginary second straight line as target locations(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0250]-[0350]).
Consider Claims 9 and 10, Jurdan teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: generate an audio signal corresponding to the target location; and control the communication interface to transmit, to the one or more terminal devices, audio information comprising the audio signal, wherein the audio signal is a multi-channel audio signal(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]); and the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: generate audio setting corresponding to the target location; and control the communication interface to transmit audio information including the audio setting to the one or more terminal devices, wherein the audio setting is Equalizer (EQ) setting(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0023]-[0050]).
Consider Claim 11, Jurdan teaches a controlling method of an electronic apparatus, the method comprising:
Identifying(see fig. 1) a second location of a user with reference to a first location of the electronic apparatus(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0048]-[0058]);
Identifying(see figs. 7A-9B) one or more terminal devices connectable to the electronic apparatus(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0048]-[0058]);
identifying(see figs. 7A-9B) a target location to place the terminal devices based on the first location, the second location and the one or more terminal devices(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]); and
transmitting(see figs. 1-9B), to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising guide information to guide placement of the one or more terminal devices on the target location(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0250]-[0350]).
Consider Claims 12 and 13, Jurdan teaches the method further comprising: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, audio information comprising an audio signal that is output from the one or more terminal devices; and outputting a projection image corresponding to the audio signal(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0072]-[0097]); and the method wherein the transmitting the audio information comprises: based on the one or more terminal devices being placed on the target location, transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, the audio information comprising the audio signal and audio setting to output the audio signal at a preset audio volume(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0023]-[0048])
Consider Claims 14 and 15, Jurdan teaches the method wherein the preset audio volume is a first audio volume; wherein the audio setting is a first audio setting; wherein the audio information is first audio information; and wherein the controlling method comprises: obtaining audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices; changing the first audio volume to a second audio volume based on the audio data; and transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, second audio information including second audio setting that causes one or more terminal devices to output the audio signal at a second audio volume(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0023]-[0048]); and the method wherein the target location is a first target location; wherein the guide information is first guide information; and wherein the controlling method comprises: obtaining audio data recording the audio signal output from the one or more terminal devices; changing the first target location to a second target location based on the audio data; and transmitting, to the one or more terminal devices, one or more communication packets comprising second guide information to guide the one or more terminal devices to be placed on the second target location(see figs. 1-9B and paragraphs[0250]-[0350]).
. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2023/0209255) in view of Jordan et al. (US 2002/0136414 A1).
Consider Claim 10, Kim teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: generate audio setting corresponding to the target location(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0066]-[0098]); but Kim does not explicitly teach control the communication interface to transmit audio information including the audio setting to the one or more terminal devices, wherein the audio setting is Equalizer (EQ) setting.
However, Jordan teaches the electronic apparatus wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic apparatus to: generate audio setting corresponding to the target location; and control the communication interface to transmit audio information including the audio setting to the one or more terminal devices, wherein the audio setting is Equalizer (EQ) setting(see figs. 1-6 and paragraphs[0027]-[0038]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Jordan in to the teaching of Kim to provide a system and method for setting various acoustic and visual parameters for optimal or intended reproduction of digital multi-channel surround encoded audio and for optimal or intended reproduction of a visual image from a display device in a home theater system. For example, one feature of the present invention is to incorporate a hand-held remote control device which operates the main surround sound unit (e.g., home theater receiver and/or digital decoder) and the display device via electromagnetic link, for example. Of course, it is not necessary to the invention that the device be incorporated in the remote control device of the surround sound unit, or the display device.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Denninghoff.(US 2023/0401274) is cited to show other related the ELECTRONIC APPARATUS AND CONTROLLING METHOD THEREOF.
12. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 06-22-2026