Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/7/2022. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rodriguez et al (US Publication No.: 20140379332).
Claim 1, Rodriguez et al discloses
Calculating a speaker feature based on a spoken voice (Fig. 1, label 3), the speaker feature being a feature unique to a speaker of the spoken voice (Paragraph 21 discloses “extracting the features from the detected utterance locally …”. Paragraph 54 discloses “verbal utterances not coming from the (target) speaker but from a user carrying the local device are subtracted from the speech samples … before feature extraction …”. Such paragraphs indicate the features extracted are unique to the target speaker, speaker of the spoken voice.);
analyzing condition information indicating a recording situation of the spoken voice from the spoken voice (Paragraph 52 discloses “feature extraction results in feature vectors comprising parameters as, for example, the MEL frequency cepstral coefficients. Other features that might be transmitted are VAD labels, the SNR, and (energy) saturation values per frame. … transmit extracted features for a predetermined number of frames showing at least some predetermined quality (for example, in terms of the signal to noise ratio).”); and
Transmitting the speaker feature and the condition information to an information reception device (Fig. 1, label 3-5. Paragraph 52 discloses “Other features that might be transmitted are VAD labels, the SNR, and (energy) saturation values per frame.), as information to be used by the information reception device to recognize the speaker of the spoken voice (Fig. 1, label 6).
Claim 2, Rodriguez et al discloses the recording situation corresponds to a condition to be used in calculating the speaker feature (Paragraph 52 discloses “transmit extracted features for a predetermined number of frames showing at least some predetermined quality (for example, in terms of the signal to noise ratio)”. Such indicates the signal to noise ratio or recording situation corresponding to a condition, wherein the signal to noise ratio is used to determine or calculate the extracted features.).
Claim 4, Rodriguez et al discloses the recording situation indicates at least one of a noise level at a time of recording the spoken voice, a microphone used to record the spoken voice, or a data attribute of the spoken voice (Paragraph 52 discloses a signal to noise ratio (noise level) of the audio frames indicating a noise level at a time of recording the spoken voice.).
Claim 12, Rodriguez et al discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium having a program stored thereon for causing a computer to execute the information transmission method according to claim 1. (See claim 1. Col. 2, lines 26-45 discloses non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon and executed by a system comprising a processor and memory.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (US Publication No.: 20140379332) in view of Itakura et al (US Publication No.: 20200160846).
Claim 3, Rodriguez et al discloses an acoustic feature of the spoken voice is calculated (Paragraph 52 discloses “Further features comprise intermediate recognition results obtained by some processing of acoustic feature vectors.”), but fails to discloses the speaker feature is calculated from the acoustic feature using a deep neural network (DNN).
Itakura et al discloses speaker recognition comprising an acoustic feature calculating the acoustic feature of the voice of the utterance (Fig. 1, label 12) and a speaker feature extractor extracting speaker feature of the speaker of the utterance data from calculated utterance data statistic determined from the acoustic feature (Fig. 1, label 13,14) using a deep neural network (Abstract, paragraph 41). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Rodriguez et al by incorporating speaker feature calculation from acoustic feature as disclosed by Itakura et al so to improve the accuracy of speaker recognition.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez et al (US Publication No.: 20140379332) in view of Itakura et al (US Publication No.: 20200160846), further in view of deCharms (US Publication No.: 20160192166).
Claim 11, Rodriguez et al discloses
A speaker feature calculator (Fig. 1, label 3. Paragraph 5,15 discloses local device. This indicates the local device as a speaker feature calculator.) configured to calculate a speaker feature which is a feature unique to a speaker of the spoken voice (Paragraph 21 discloses “extracting the features from the detected utterance locally …”. Paragraph 54 discloses “verbal utterances not coming from the (target) speaker but from a user carrying the local device are subtracted from the speech samples … before feature extraction …”. Such paragraphs indicate the features extracted are unique to the target speaker, speaker of the spoken voice.);
An analyzer (Fig. 1, label 3,4, Paragraphs 5,12 discloses a local device performing the actions shown in Fig. 1. This indicates the local device as an analyzer.) configured to analyze condition information indicating a recording situation of the spoken voice (Paragraph 52 discloses “feature extraction results in feature vectors comprising parameters as, for example, the MEL frequency cepstral coefficients. Other features that might be transmitted are VAD labels, the SNR, and (energy) saturation values per frame. … transmit extracted features for a predetermined number of frames showing at least some predetermined quality (for example, in terms of the signal to noise ratio).”); and
An information transmitter (Fig. 1, label 5. Paragraphs 5,12 discloses a local device transmits to a server, indicating the local device as a transmitter.) configured to transmit the speaker feature and the condition information to an information reception device (Fig. 1, label 3-5. Paragraph 52 discloses “Other features that might be transmitted are VAD labels, the SNR, and (energy) saturation values per frame.) as information to be used by the information reception device to recognize the speaker of the spoken voice (Fig. 1, label 6).
Although Rodriguez et al discloses a local device as the speaker feature calculator, Itakura et al discloses a speaker feature calculator (Fig. 1, label 12) as a component. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the local device of Rodriguez et al by incorporating a speaker feature to calculate speaker features as disclosed by Itakura et al, wherein more than 1 apparatus or components can be used to perform the functionalities as disclosed by Rodriguez et al so to improve speaker recognition.
Although Rodriguez et al discloses a local device as the information transmitter, deCharms discloses a mobile device comprising a transmitter (Fig. 2, label 224). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the local device of Rodriguez et al by incorporating a transmitter in a mobile or local device as disclosed by deCharms, wherein more than 1 apparatus or components can be used to perform the functionalities as disclosed by Rodriguez et al so to improve speaker recognition.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3,11,12,13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10,1,11,12 of U.S. Patent No. 12175984. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the recited claimed language of this application is broader than the patent, hence anticipates the claimed invention of the patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10,13 are allowed over prior art.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LINDA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655